Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of art hotel Spaander 3 stars

Haven 15-19, 1131 EP Volendam, Netherlands

#6 of 8 hotels in Volendam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2150 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Room was too dirty and dusty. I think they didn't clean the room before we checked in! - The hotel and rooms were too old. -The rooms were too noisy!!

    The decoration of the hotel is nice. The location is good. That's all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have been serviced better. I am certain that the floor of the room was not swept during our entire 4 night stay. There were bits of paper on the floor that were there from the first night. You didn't want to walk in your bare feet. This was disappointing as the first night we paid 127.50 Euro (the price dropped for weekday nights). The internet connection to our room was not reliable. We were required to refresh the WIFI on a regular basis.

    We selected Volendam for our accommodation while visiting Amsterdam to reduce overall costs. This property does provide good value. It is a short walk from the regional bus route and right in the heart of the restaurants of Volendam. Bus transportation to AMS will run 10 Euro per day for a daily pass. Our room was 'cozy' and in an older section of the hotel. We had a very small balcony with no chair and virtually no view. There were other rooms with larger balconies and chairs which would have made the stay a bit more pleasant. The beds were comfortable and the staff was very helpful with questions. They even have a supply of bicycles you can rent (9.50 Euro per day per bike. It is an easy bike trip to Edam and Marken. There is a large buffet breakfast available at a cost of 12.50 Euro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the room could have been better just a cursory tidy up very dusty under the beds as though they had not been touched

    The hotel was an experience the staff were lovely the location was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it there.

    This is a hidden gem. Great room. Excellent facilities, from paintings, to furniture all around the hotel. Beautiful basement swimming pool, steam room, sauna. Excellent location, relaxing, great walking and biking trails. Awesome waterfront view from room with balcony. Staff was friendly and efficient. Highly recommend. Many food choices off site, near by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to the sea, and the town where it's located has very distinguished architecture. It has a big restaurant for itself but we arrived there at late night so we couldn't try it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was not working at all, bathroom is quite small, understandable in such a building, but still. No airconditioning, but didn't dare to open the balcony door due to musquitos. And at 5 in the morning very noisy people standing outside on the terrace, it felt like they were next to my bed.

    The welcome at the reception was very nice, the view on the Ijsselmeer was fabulous, the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The meal (fish and chips) we had on our first evening had cooled down before it was served.

    Good Facility for keeping bikes in a lock up overnight. Bedrooms were cleaned well daily. Loved the outdoor terrace. The bedrooms facing the city tend to become very hot in sunny weather so suggest the cleaners close the curtains when they finish the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great central location in the beautiful village. We only regret the weather was so cold so we cant have a breakfast on the wonderful terrace with sea view. Swimming pool and sauna is great bonus when weather is chilly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be more cleaner and the photos on booking.com are not the same as we saw (probably the photos are from the suites etc)

    Great location, nice staff and good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a thick later of dust under all the beds. One bed sheet had a long tear in it. We would have appreciated tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in the shower. There were insects in the room and bathroom. No air conditioner or a fan, so the room was hot and smelled of fish. Very noisy.

    Nice interior.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is noisy, staff is not friendly, cleaning is not good, first day nobody clean the room!!!! You need to ask for everything - Calte is in deman

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of welcoming hospitality (which you find everywhere in The Netherlands). The restaurant facing the water needs a facelift, as do the rooms.

    Great location in a popular Dutch fishing port. It’s actually on the pier, overlooking Waddenzee. Nice traditional cafe with lovely painted portraits of Dutch farmers and fishermen, distinguished ladies and craftsmen. Rooms with a smal balcony are Nice of course.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony actually can access from outside. Danger. No lift and we carried luggage to second floor. No cups in room. No hot water boiler. Towel smell like harring fish.

    The bed pillow decoration location ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a large room with a lake view but were given a ultra small room with refusal to move us to what we paid for..I have stayed many times before and was never treated this bad. The hotel is a disgrace. I will Never stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was our third stay at the Art Spaander and I get the feeling that standards have slipped since my last visit. The fixtures and fitting in the rooms are tired and marked, the pillows were dreadful flat and lumpy, there was a layer of dust you could write your name on at the side of the tv, (see pic) and the toilet was basically, filthy. The toilet brush was sitting on a puddle of excrement and water! (see pic) and the radiator next to the pan was covered in pee stains. There was also mildew inside and outside of the shower screen. That does not happen overnight. This place desperately needs a DEEP clean. We were there for four nights but there seems to be a huge, (ie a coach load) turnover of tourists who only stay one night. That does not bother me but think it might explain why they are not cleaning properly.

    The location is excellent and worth negotiating the traffic light operated one way system along the dam. The property itself is like a page out of a history book and all the better for it. A real character property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deluxe room was a deluxe price but did not meet expectations. Deluxe criteria is having a bath which was dangerous to get in and out of, having a sea view the window was so small you had to stand at it to see out, the room was far too small for two adults, the carpet was marked and scruffy.

    The location, near all bars and restaurants. The swimming pool and sauna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed for two nights but surprisingly didn't found Cleaning staff coming & cleaning our room second day.

    Hotel is located at wonderful location. Back side of Hotel is Sea Front. Hotel is very nicely maintained with lot of antiques. If travelling from Marken to Volendam by Ferry then hotel is located just at 2 minutes walking distance. The room size were sufficiently big. I am very happy with my decision of not staying in Amsterdam city center but preferring to stay in small town like Volendam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service in the restaurant NON EXISTANT ! When you ask for sevice they take it personally and even fight back with lame excuses ! Room could do with a dusting and vacuum . Carpet filthy ! Disappointed in the room in general . What a shame.

    Comfy bed. Lovely art .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got two rooms without seaview. The mattresses were very uncomfortable and one of the rooms was a bit scary with all those pictures. It was like sleeping in someones old house. The children could not sleep. It has character but not for us. Maybe the rooms with seaview are different but unfortunately we were not offered that option.

    Location. Outside was cold but rooms were warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The location was perfect and beautiful. The staff was incredibly helpful and kind. The room was large and comfortable! Everything was above excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not have any troubles!

    Balcony view is beautiful, the whole place is very pleasant, the art pieces are good and entertaining. Staff very welcoming and informative. Bicycle parking was a useful and nice surprise!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures for classic rooms in the booking.com were not the same we stayed. The entrance for our rooms were in the middle of the restaurant, not the hotel side. The room was cold, uncomfortable and the furnitures were old and not seem like guest room. The price we paid for that room was not worth it.

    Close to restaurants & bars.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room that faced a brick wall for a view 😒. The rest of our group were offered an upgrade but we weren’t 😩 classic room was very basic but clean and warm. Down side cold vinyl floor! The concertina door to the very very tiny shower room was broken and the radiator was a noisy! But for the amount of time we were in our room it didn’t really matter.

    Staff were very friendly. Hotel and lovely rustic charm. Breakfast a bit pricey but a Good choice and buffet style so all you can eat!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked based on the pictures and reviews we had seen on booking.com and were looking forward to a lovely experience. However our rooms were nothing like those pictures. They were old, cramped and had no view. The interior design of the public parts of the hotel were also a disappointment. Yes, there were many interesting pieces of furniture and art but they were not put together very well. We would not stay again.

    Location and parking (though the barrier was not always working). The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no body soap/shampoo in the shower. we checked in late at 23.00 and all they could do was give us some soap bars.

    beautiful hotel on a great location. breakfast is a bit pricey at 14.50, plus parking 7.50 per day, but they also have a nice sauna and swimming pool. Don't forget your swimming gear for the pool!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was very warm despite the cold weather ourside. also the bed was really comfy. bathroom was clean as well. the hotel was better than expected (after checking the comments here we were expecting the worst)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiators in the room are covered by curtains which may reduce heating efficiency causing energy wastage.

    The hotel is in close proximity of shops and sightseeing facilities of Volendam. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the last morning we had no hot water,we were told that someone would come up to the room,they didn’t,when we asked in reception they said the system was down,we had a really long Day travelling ahead of us and none of us could shower before heading home!

    The hotel and location are gorgeous

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really interactive rooms; many objects to experience pleasant tactile and visual sensational information through. The direct oxygen access was highly profitable to one's biological maintenance, resulting in satisfactory mental regeneration.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quails eggs were a bit brown on the edges and although i usually love aubergines, i did not like the texture of the 'aubergine caviar'.

    The public spaces of the hotel were beautiful. Better than the pictures The de lux rooms were great but ask for a room with a view of the water and a full balcony. I had one with a half balcony, and asked to change and the full balcony was much better. The bathroom although adequate could be improved with better bath mats, softer toilet paper and small bottles of shower gel and shampoo and small bars of soap.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can only enter the road to the parking of the hotel 10 minutes per half an hour. We had to wait half an hour before we could enter the road...It was said in the description, but the hotel should better send an extra email with the timetable to emphasize this more. The rooms were outdated, I had the impression I booked a more modernised room (photos did not correspond). The rooms were spacious, clean, good beds but not too modern any more.

    We liked the location directly at the lake and in the centre of Volendam. The art and atmosphere in the lobby, restaurant etc is very warm and stylish and suits well in the 'old Dutch style'. Especially the art works were very impressive. Good breakfast with nice views on the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music below the rooms until 11.30pm was not fun. My suggestion is check with the hotel on music events when booking and certainly if you like peace and quiet don’t stay there on a Saturday night.

    This hotel is nice and central however, it’s hit and miss with the staff. Some are friendly, others aloof.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reservation department not very organized. Wanted to extend our stay, got different prices, confirmation and then suddenly the hotel was fully booked. It was our second stay in this hotel, but felt not being taken care of properly. Parking situation is very complicated, but there is a public parking some 300 meters away (with steps involved). Be aware that during the day there are many day tourists coming from Amsterdam in buses.

    Nice location at the harbor. Interesting atmosphere, lots of paintings and old furniture. Good breakfast buffet. Many dinner options around harbor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. Very difficult to drive there because of limited access hours. Note you must pay for parking!!

    Great location at heart of tourist district. Nice pool and sauna. Good balcony view of sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar opens at 18:00 closes at 23:00 also opens around lunchtime . No facility to get a drink in the hotel outside these hours. No night porter beverage service. The hotel services close down outside theses hours

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was nothing like the advertised pictures; spider web on ceiling, shower did not even have a curtain, soap dispenser was either broken or empty. We asked to change rooms, the second room was slightly bigger but not better. During the move we've left a sweater in the first room which we reported on the same day but it was never found! The reaction of the staff was totally unprofessional without the slightest care for the satisfaction of the guests, we ended up with some receptionist saying that they don't have 'Magic' to bring back the lost (stolen) sweater. There was no proper apology, no offer of the slightest compensation, absolute disappointment. We even sent an email to the hotel management to complain, we never received a proper reply. Definitely NOT recommended!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not fully accessible, some stairs you still have ti climb.

    The old styled design is beautiful, and its not mentioned but the restaurant is a recommended by the Michelin guide almost every year. The food is really good and of quality. Nice small rooms with comfortable bed and porch with an ocean view. Great suana and pool open until 11pm!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fridge would have been useful. But there were no real bad points.

    The location was good, not too far from the bus stop at which I arrived in Volendam, and it is down on the front, where most of the shops, restaurants and bars are. Room was OK, albeit nothing overly special. Bed comfy. Good TV. No fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't that impressed with room pretty basic. Complained that it wasn't like picture on booking.com couldn't move us as they were full but gave us a free breakfast. They should update picture.

    Loved the quaint ness of the hotel right near shops and bars. The hotel had a lovely bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view was disappointing as it looked out onto more of the building... maybe worth paying more for a sea view. The bathroom was adequate and clean but a little outdated.

    Hotel was quirky and old fashioned but still very comfortable with a friendly atmosphere. The room was a nice size and beds comfy. The staff were helpful and there was a choice of menus as there was a restaurant and a bar. The restaurant was more pricey but looked good, we chose the bar and it was good value and nice food. The swimming pool was an adequate size and very clean. The town was very touristy but still quaint and fun to walk through.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very tiny. Extremely loud music until 10:10 on arrival night.

    The hotel is an old classic and the walls are covered with beautiful pieces of art. The history of this place is amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The schedule to go in or out at certain times. But in the end it is manageable.

    Very well kept classical hotel, on the waterfront. Clean, good atmosphere, beautiful view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    on arival we saw the shower head was broken and we had to go down to pool area to have a shower,we are 66 years old we told the people on the desk but nothing was done and was still the same when we left .we have come to volendam for a good few years and always have a deluxe room but we were very disappointed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fair amount of noise early morning which disturbed sleep, unfortunately deliveries have to be made so one has to be tolerant.

    View from the hotel room was out over the lake. Beds were comfy and the public areas interesting with great paintings to view from wherever you sat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish there was a small breakfast or coffee included.

    Central location in the cutest town of Volendam. We walked everywhere from the hotel. It's a great price for the area, and having a restroom/hot shower in the room was amazing. Wifi worked great. They also have an elevator which was helpful for my pregnant self!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let me start by saying that this is an entirely personal experience and the review will be based as such. My sister who had also stayed in the hotel had absolutely no problems and a pleasant room. I wish the same could be said for me. I made the booking through booking.com and opted not to choose a deluxe room because the classic room seemed pleasant enough if the pictures were accurate. They were not. I have never stayed in a hotel with rooms of this poor quality before and I have been travelling for most of my life and this hotel formed part of a 2 week Europe holiday and has been unfortunately the worst place I've stayed in for the most amount of money. Now, If they had put the realistic representations up on booking.com or any other platform about what their classic rooms ACTUALLY look like, I would have forked out the extra 20 euros and gotten a deluxe room. Honestly these rooms were not worth the 74 euro and 90 odd euro I paid for them. Real pictures displayed below. Firstly, we stayed a night on a Thursday and the room they gave us was so abysmal I believe it had actually been an old storage room they merely converted. It was tiny and shabby and not at all the room I thought I had booked. I honestly cannot justify spending the amount of money I did on that room. No air conditioning by the way, No kettle or fridge either but anyway. And if you opened the window it was way too noisy. It was noisy! I stayed in room 51 and it looked right onto the street where there were restaurants and constant foot traffic. On top of that you can hear quite eloquently what your neighbours are doing beside and around you. My mother was unable to sleep in the room so we requested a bed to be made for her in my sister's room, which was fine. After complaining twice, They agreed to move us to another room but only on the second night of our stay as the hotel was fully booked. Fine ok... despite the fact that I had booked this over a month ago.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the worst hotel ever!!!! We couldn't sleep all over the night because of noises from the hall and outside. Noise protection was poor as TENT..... We heard every people TALKING (NOT SHOUTING), bell ringing (every hour), door shutting (every guests passing by hotel restaurant door), trucks unloading (from 5am)......ect. *Street was not too crowded, it was just normal street but windows doesn't protect any single sound. We just wanted to SLEEP at night but it was NOT POSSIBLE at this hotel. I still can't believe that hotel gives this kinds of room to guests.......

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The automated road closure could have been communicated as we sat there for about 15 minutes waiting for the bollards to automatically drop before we could go on to the hotel. Recognising the age of the hotel the room was okay but lacking in some areas. There was no coffee or tea making facility which I would have expected for the room rate. The shower was fitted with a curtain and a very low step so that water poured over the floor. Juggled to get a parking space in a large car park.

    The location is excellent within the quayside area of Volendam with numerous bars and restaurants. The excellent bus service to Amsterdam was efficient and close to the hotel. The restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity were varied and the people very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi could have been stronger in our room - we were unable to connect. The room could also do with an extra clean. We parked at a friends place and walked to the hotel - there is a large parking area out the back, but due to the traffic controls on the dyke it can be hard to access (street closures happen at certain hours).

    Fantastic location at the end of the dyke in Volendam. The hotel is very cosy and the atmosphere is great. We had a budget room which was obviously budget - the room was small and showing it's age. It was clean but there were spider webs in the corners. We walked past the more expensive rooms to get to our place and they definitely looked very nice. We couldn't connect to the free WiFi in our room as the signal strength wasn't strong enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels on arrival after a sweaty bike journey and took a while to be delivered.

    Excellent location in the heart of Volendam. Nice terrace to enjoy a drink. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV channels as above

    The TV system is really poor concidering a lot of international visitors China Germany Swede and NO CNN ARD ZDF all 3 free of charge in the sky just to pick it up

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast.. On the Saturday evening, there was a function on. This was very loud and did not finish to 1am, during which the fire alarm went off twice and we had to leave the room, although not the building. Needless to say, it would not have been possible to sleep before 1am!

    Breakfast was poor on the first morning, despite arriving an hour before it closed at 10.30. There was limited choice and little was replaced, even though i asked. There were no clear tables and we had to wander around to look for one, even though staff were aware we were there. The following morning we arrived at 8.30am and this was better; more choice and quantity. Again tables not set and therefore we assume this is hotel policy, but we would have expected more. However, the hotel did give us a free upgrade as this was a special birthday treat, along with a free drink in the bar. Staff were generally friendly. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. There is a nice pool in the hotel although we did not use it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was situated next to the kitchen extractor fan making the room very hot and noisy so affected our sleep. Try avoid room 54.

    Volendam was a beautiful friendly place to stay away from the crowded city of Amsterdam but close enough to visit for the day. We got a return bus ticket for 10 Euros each which allowed you to get on any bus in the city, brilliant value and the bus driver took his time to explain the process. Only a short 20 minutes by bus to the centre of Amsterdam. I would definitely stay in Volendam again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be better and refilled more often.

    The whole atmosphere in this hotel, its classic and friendly staff. just enjoyed the view from the terras.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very confusing getting on the property. Only available access fifteen minutes before the hour and fifteen minutes after the hour. We had no idea how to deal with the barricades and when i called front desk the receptionist acted as if we were to know this and she was quite short with me. It would be helpful to know what to do before arriving.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    General cleanliness. A lot of spider webs and the biggest spider I have ever seen. Maybe 10cm of diameter. Very dirty and dusty. Bathroom was almost impossible to use. By far the worse hotel I have ever been to. We decided to leave one day before. We just stayed the night and didnt go to another one because it was not another option at 11pm. Besides the parking is confusing and the access is very limited.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the shower in room 225 needs to be improved with a safety handrail as floor slippery. Also water escaped under the shower curtain onto the bathroom floor.

    the views overlooking the Usllmeer were lovely. The evening meals were good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sameness of cooked choice but most guests were on a 1 or 2 night stay. 5 breakfasts and I would have appreciated a choice of eggs other than scrambled or boiled.

    Reasonable choice. Dutch bread is so tasty and plenty of variety.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The heating in the room did not work, although they provided a separate heater 2. We found it difficult to get hot water in the shower

    The view from the balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so large I couldn't find the reception desk..

    A beautiful old hotel that has had some very clever modern upgrades..The location is ideal..the buffet breakfast was big and varied..meats,cheese,yogurt,coffee, juice, eggs, and boundless breads...Both cold and hot breakfast is very very good...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was more a Disco than anything else. It was supposed to be a relaxing evening/ night in the hotel however there was a wedding celebration just below our room during the first night. The noise was unbearable, so the staff changed our room the following day, because another wedding was also planned (unbelievable!!). What the manager did not know was that the new room was located above another event room in the same hotel. They were completely laughing at our face cause HOW CAN A MANAGER NOT KNOW that on that day they were 2 panned event ??? I would say they were unprofessional annoying unhelpful and crappy old fashion hotel. As I told the staff, I would never recommend it to anyone

    The hotel was more a Disco than anything else. It was supposed to be a relaxing evening/ night in the hotel however there was a wedding celebration just below our room during the first night. The noise was unbearable, so the staff changed our room the following day, because another wedding was also planned (unbelievable!!). What the manager did not know was that the new room was located above another event room in the same hotel. They were completely laughing at our face cause HOW CAN A MANAGER NOT KNOW that on that day they were 2 panned event ??? I would say they were unprofessional annoying unhelpful and crappy old fashion hotel. As I told the staff, I would never recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was terrible. Stayed 2 nights and they didn't even clean the room. Due to a booking mix-up no lake view and reception refused to move us saying they were fully booked even though lots of rooms available on booking.com for this hotel. We paid over 100 per night for a view between two buildings. No manager on duty to take complaint. They would not even contact them. One to avoid for me in future. If you have a valid complaint about a hotel, they should at least try to do something for you.

    Location is lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic. The wardrobe had a terrible smell and we hung our clothes on the handle of the wardrobe door instead. The bed was ok and our room has a small balcony that would comfortably fit 2 persons. The views were nothing to write home about. You will see the carpark first and then in the background the water. The toilet is rather old. Overall, the hotel is in need of a refurbishment.

    The hotel is sort of beside the water - there was a large carpark between the hotel and the water. There is a lot of antique art in the hotel lobby and restaurant, and if you like that sort of thing, this hotel will interest you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    not nice, old feel to the room; very strong musty smell; the rooms could really use a new coat of paint on the walls and some new furniture; it also wasn't really clean...

    great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could have been cleaner. There were hair and shaved beard in the shower. However the lake view was amazing and the beds were really comfortable.

    This hotel was a big surprise to us, especially the town of Volendam. We were going to visit Amsterdam but we decided to go a little further to pay less. The 25 minutes of bus are worth it! Little town by the lake, with good restaurants, we recommend for a weekend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is inside the bedroom, not in a separate bathroom. That can be a bit unpractical sometimes

    The place is awesome. An old lodge building next to the sea. Free indoor swimming pool and sauna makes the place a must in the area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom small because it is an older hotel and the bed was a little soft.

    Room overlooking water and location of the property. Beautiful dining facilities and lobby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the stairs if you book the cheapest rate offered (genius.. which is not!) no kettle is ok but when asked hot water from bar, asked to pay euro10... kettle only cost you euro7/- hihi funny?

    by the lake, nice view, spacious parking, stay here more than 10 times,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Art hotel Spaander was such a cozy, artistic and comfortable hotel. You can find the most welcoming staff and inspiring interior decoration with amazing arts. The location of this hotel is just excellent. You should spend a night and early morning here before travelers fill up the area to enjoy the purest atmosphere and night life of this street as well as the village. A stay here lightened up my journey a lot!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast too much expensive, so we didn't take it.

    Amazing hotel on the brink of water, in the center of Volendam's life, but very quiet and cosy. Due to the complicated parking rules we were not able to use the hotel parking and parked on Parallelweg, it was free and quite close (5-10 minutes) on foot to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Parking is not easily accessible. City has installed a pole mechanism to regulate the traffic that allows access from time to time. Moreover, the street to pass by the pole system has the same name than other street (with no exit) in the city. Instructions given by the hotel staff did not take this into account and we spent 1h30 in finding the correct path. - There are no double beds in the hotel. - Heating worked so slighltly and did not warm the room up at all. - At 8 am workers were placed right under the window making noises that woke us up. - There was a flag in a mast made of metal. Since the weather was so windy, the flag was bumping into the mast and making metallic noises all the night.

    Bed was confortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom might not be the most modern if that's what you're looking for, but it is clean and works.

    The hotel has a beautiful interior, comfortable bed and if you take one of the deluxe rooms with balcony and seaview, it's even better. The rooms have a nice bath and clean bathroom. Overall good quality for price paid.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had a connecting door which mean noise could be heard from next room. Shower head wouldn't stay in upright position. Not a lot of choice on food menus.

    Plenty of character. Beautiful period interiors and artwork. Great views and balcony. Great location, great breakfasts (taken in huge room overlooking lake).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was located next to a very-very noisy exhaust system. Got another room middle of the night (since sleeping next to a vacuum-cleaner is quite impossible), where the heater appeared to be broken so tropical temperatures.... The whole night people where yelling outside the room, apparently non-guests had sneaked into the hotel and staff was banging on doors to make them leave. The restaurant is downright ridiculous. Slices olives straight out of a jar are sold as 'marinated olives', as 'tapenade' they serve a cheap chutney and tried to convince me tapenade and chutney are basically the same. This place is geared towards tourgroups who won't come back anyway.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse art hotel Spaander traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: