Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Saillant Hotel Maastricht City Centre

Vrijthof 32, Maastricht City Centre, 6211 LE Maastricht, Netherlands

#46 of 51 hotels in Maastricht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 332 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Not suitable for anyone with mobility or breathing difficulties
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked this hotel as a special treat for my Mother as I was taking her to see Andre Rieu in concert for the 3rd time in Maastricht. She was finding walking difficult and I wanted a hotel much nearer to the concert. Sadly she died unexpectedly the month before but friends persuaded me to still attend in her memory. Upon arrival I was dismayed at the steep/large stairs she would have had to climb to get to the bedroom and had she made the trip with me I think it would have been a nightmare with her unable to access the bedroom (which was the lowest available). It is not suitable for an elderly person with mobility or breathing difficulties. Secondly there was no air conditioning in the room and for a hotel in this budget range it is expected. The bedroom was unbearably hot and when we opened the windows, even more of the post concert noise from the square and the streets flooded in making for a totally sleepless night!

    Staff were lovely and being within the 'inner circle' of the concert zone with special wrist bands to allow us entry in and out made for a fun evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit cramped. No parking.

    Location is OK. We had the top floor suite, it was very spacious but it was quite a climb! No lift so have to carry your luggage. Not recommended for people for heart or lung condition!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and contributed to the whole Andre Rieu experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They warn that there is no lift and the stairs are steep. We had the room on the top floor and the size of the room (huge) compensated for the walk up the stairs

    We stayed for the Andre Rieu concert and so the situation was not 'normal' for a hotel right on the square. The bath was fantastic. More comfortable that it looked on first impressions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are elderly perhaps the stairs are an issue to get your luggage up to your room. No lift.

    Great location. Room no 7 overlooks the Vriethof with lovely big windows.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Very steep stairs - very dangerous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs - very dangerous !! No air con No water in room Right near church with bells that ring every half hour on the hour throughout the night. Rooms look nothing like the brochure

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfy bed, huge room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The huge room and bathroom could have been decorated more, looked too empty. A sofa and chair would improve comfort. Not keen on carpets in hotel rooms

    Comfy bed, huge room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    maastricht city center hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was noise -loud music until the early hours sounded as if there was a club next door ,but we were not sure where the noise was coming from. no parking and the closest parking was 35 euros per night No lift

    perfect place close to shops and restaurants ,lovely staff and great cocktails

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Mixed feelings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very steep stairs. Breakfast not ready on time. I asked for a cup of tea and was given a hot cup of water with nothing in it. Had to ask for a sachet of tea then sugar and then milk. On one occasion was given green tea in the breakfast with milk in it.

    The staff were generally friendly the property/location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    2.9
    Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pubic hairs in the shower, the old interior of the suite and the fact that electrical wires were hanging out of the ceiling of the bathroom.

    I never write a review but this hotel has changed my mind as nothing to like about this hotel, Rooms are old and dirty, as well understaffed and not friendly at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.6
    Poor value and cramped
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really expensive for such a tiny room not big enough for 2 people. A real hike up 5 flights of narrow stairs it really needs a lift. Breakfast was a real disappointment considering the hotel had its own restaurant.

    The location was good on one of the main squares with plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Their is not lift and the stairs are steep. Staff does not offer to help with luggage. Breakfast is 17 Euro and is very basic no value for money. You will find much better breakfast around in the restaurant around for this price.

    Very nice location on the main square, clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Well worth the stay for a well earned weekend break!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs up to the top floor. No lift, The hotel is in the perfect spot for Andre Rieu concert and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Because they want to ensure everything is ready for concert evenings sometimes their attention was on other things. The room on the top floor is at the back of the hotel and faces the church. We were serenaded every hour with the very loud bells. Not to some people's taste but beautiful to get to know the traditions of a lovely Dutch custom.

    Hotel location perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely room at a great location for fit people who can climb stairs
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator to take you to the attic. It is a challenge to take your suitcases up to the attic on the third floor on a steep and narrow staircase. My room was not made up when checking in at 7 pm. The staff was not even aware of this, because they don't take you up to the room personally. And there is no phone or intercom in the room, so I had to go all the way down to the reception again to inform them and wait for the housekeeping staff to make up the room ...

    The room and the bathroom were very spacious. Lovely attic room with a view of the Vrijthof.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.4
    Located in the center which also means quite noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very warm and provided with portable airco which none worked Soap and shampoo bottles were empty.

    Located in the center which also means quite noisy at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location to visit a lovely city! Don`t be put off by first impressions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom spotless, beds very clean and pristine, so the essentials catered for - but not everywhere cleaned thoroughly, a bit dusty and grubby in corners and the veranda hadn`t been swept. Tea cups weren`t replaced and teabags/coffee. I think a thorough spring clean needed for the holiday season. Very first impression was poor as carpet in hallway stained and very dark, we thought "Where have we booked?"...pity this would put people off coming in to what is actually a delightful small hotel!

    Very comfortable beds, good power shower. When we realised there wasn`t a lift the hotel made sure our elderly parents had a first floor room so very accommodating. Excellent location in the main square. Still quiet and restful though. Would recommend for a short stay in the city. Breakfast adequate, staff friendly and helpful. Quiet hotel, nice and small and cosy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.7
    Heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak Internet. The room was not that clean when we check in, next day housekeeping improved service with stay over cleaning.

    The location is very good, heart of the city. Typical Dutch design.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely Warm Welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had was our room was extremely warm and had no air conditioning unit

    The hotel was in a great location, the staff were friendly and room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location, room view as the best we could ever had !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only one issue with the room, which was the fact that the windows did not have a acoustic insulation and sometimes the noise on the square or the street invade the room during the night or in early morning. I believe that this should or could be fixed easily to grant a perfect quality of sleep.

    Location is perfect and room was awesome - size was bigger than I expected, so I was positively surprised. We loved it. In the past I stayed in another hotel in Vjrithof and this one is by far much much better. Hotel crew was also helpful by providing a solution for a queen bed. Room view is excellent - you can see the square from your window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.4
    Good location, small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for value was off. The room was very small and the bathroom was not as clean as should have been.

    The bed was good. The location of the hotel is in the city centre but no noise in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    6.7
    good location, but hotel not made for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift, we were on the 3rd floor and people with handicap would not be able to reach their room, the room was very cold, wind was coming through the windows, breakfast is limited to basic stuff but the price is one of the big city

    great location in Maastricht

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.3
    Nice located hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of the stair case and the room was awful! There is a very narrow stair case and no elevator. Not so comfortable to climb up to the 3rd floor with suitcases.

    The location of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location and nice rooms. Let down by lack of on site manager, shabby communal areas and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi and no lift.

    Good location. Nice big room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Internet didn't work in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn't work in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had trouble finding it (including the taxi) VERY small sign outside

    Perfect location, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall in line with our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three flights of steep stairs to reach the room. Church bells outside the window.

    Room was spacious. The location right in the main square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    The room was brilliant
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything

    The room was brilliant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for an iron but they didn’t have any.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Not impressed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and difficult stairs, very cramped room, mediocre breakfast, very expensive for the level of accommodation and service

    The Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was lovely, room was comfy and the atmosphere was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the centre. Visited during the christmas markets were on. Was a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    When disappointed with room, staff were most willing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    When disappointed with room, staff were most willing to change to much better one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Clean, great location, super view of Christmas Market!
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hanneke was extremely kind and stayed open for longer than usual as we could not get to the hotel before 10pm. We were so grateful to her.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location and ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi didn't work

    Location and the room was spacious and beautifully lit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    irrational bathroom architecture, water bounces out of the (good looking but inefficient) sink, almost no hooks for towels and clothes

    a lot of room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good service, and excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs,, very small for two people, no storage for bags in room.

    The balcony overlooking the Vrijthof

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in ideal location for Maastricht city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be better

    Location excellent. Hotel superb with friendly efficient staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    3.8
    The Internet connection was completely unavailable, there...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet connection was completely unavailable, there were no elevators, no phone in the rooms and no possibilities to buy water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.5
    The bedroom was large, airy, and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For room number 8 there were many flights of narrow stairs and initially there was no offer to help with the bags. Later on, a second person half-heartedly said she could get help, but then disappeared. The whole feeling we got was of stinginess. We had to pay up front before even seeing the room, and when we asked for a receipt of payment, we were told we would receive it the next day when we checked out. Breakfast was minimal, with a tiny cup of coffee. We did ask for a second cup. It might have been nice to have been offered a second Demi-tasse. In the room there was a coffee machine but we had to ask for capsules for the machine as there were none. Tried to eat dinner in the hotel and it was not possible....already filled to capacity. The next night we stayed in a Radisson and it was so nice to be treated like a welcome guest! All I can say is good luck!

    The bedroom was large, airy, and clean. The bed was very comfortable. There was a tea kettle and a nespresso machine.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    6.3
    Proximity to centre -
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No lift and 44 stairs to room 7 which has a toilet in a closet - not good. 62 stairs to room 9 - a challenge for less than the fit

    Proximity to centre -

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.3
    Location of the hotel is in centrum .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The name of hotel doesnt exist entrance of the hotel. First floor of The hotel is restaurant . There isnt any sign of hotel in the entrance . It was diffucult to find the hotel .

    Location of the hotel is in centrum .

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    7.9
    Great location, beautiful, stylish room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast ist hyperexpensive: a few pieces of dry bread, cheese and sausage for 19 EUR pp...? Absurd, worth no more than 5 bucks.

    Great location, beautiful, stylish room.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.9
    I was helped by a very competent front-office employee...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heating was not working during the first night

    I was helped by a very competent front-office employee called Chiara who fixed the problem with the heating in a few hours and gave me some nice tips about the city

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.9
    Localisation is the best what this hotel can offer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the room No.4 you can smell everything from the restaurant and bathroom. The view is on the wall. They didn't want to print the final facture an evening before the leaving. The next morning everything took time twice as they didn't put the proper address down (although I particulary for that purpose gave my bussines card at the arrival).

    Localisation is the best what this hotel can offer. Suprise gift is waiting for the guest in the room. Coffee and tea self-servis in the room.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    9.0
    Very friendly staff, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It would have been nice to eat at the Hotel restaurant but the choice for children was limited.

    Very friendly staff, clean rooms. Great location and Qpark outside hotel!

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    8.8
    The cleanliness of the hotel was really of a good standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not having our room taken care off the following day with the request card hanging outside to make up the beds, to have fresh towels and added tea/coffee!

    The cleanliness of the hotel was really of a good standard. Also the central location of the hotel will make us choose for this hotel again with a next visit.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    5.0
    There was no warm water in the morning because of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no warm water in the morning because of construction. This is not acceptable

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    5.0
    Super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the entrance to the room, the hotel could be much cleaner; impression to be understaffed

    Super location

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    6.3
    Room seemed to lack a hotel's 'put togetherness'...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room seemed to lack a hotel's 'put togetherness', bathroom was dirty with hair and spots everywhere

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    7.9
    It is really in the city centre and the breakfast and...
    • Solo traveller

    There are too noisy at nights and windows' quality are not enough.

    It is really in the city centre and the breakfast and personels are good.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Young people, not pro

    Location

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    5.0
    The location is good in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very very small, when you looked out of the window nothing to see looking to a wall very depressing

    The location is good in city centre

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Saillant Hotel Maastricht City Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: