Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cafe Restaurant Van Den Hogen 2 stars

Haven 106, 1131 EV Volendam, Netherlands

#7 of 8 hotels in Volendam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 290 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was the same on both days, no fruits or veggies, and butter and jams single packed (--> too much waste)

    The view on the harbour from the room was amazing :) The breakfast was good, but on both days the same.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For any one who has difficulty walking the stairs are very steep and and the steps narrow, there is no lift.

    The Hotel is in a very central position with great views from the bedroom window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think the manager will be expecting this comment. When we arrived late at midnight the hotel was shut. I had emailed to say we would be late arriving but got no response so assumed this would be OK. We went to the Art Spander hotel up the road and the night porter there was excellent. He sorted us out for the hotel vollendam on the outskirts of the town. This was the ONLY hotel not booked up so we were so lucky to get a room and finally check in 1.30 in the morning. I am only so glad I was not travelling with elderly or very young relatives. We had a 2 mile hike in the dark to the hotel vollendam but this was an excellent hotel and made up for the mess. We went back to van hogen on the Friday morning since we had no choice - the hotel manager was very apologetic but we could have literally been homeless for the night - does not bear thinking about. The hotel itself was very nice but please be really careful when booking in case this happens to you.

    The location was excellent and the breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were uncomfortable because they made double bed with compund two single bed. I do not like it.

    I loved the view and it is in the centre. I think best place for Volendam. Breakfast was enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is situated in the great location. If you are lucky, you will get the room with the waterfront view. Volendam is very cute. Breakfast in the hotel was good, and staff was helpful. Would recommend it for 1-2 days. For more it will probably be a bit small.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    uncomfortable bed, very small room,

    Centre of location, scenery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE breakfast was simple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect room overlooking the harbour. Lovely breakfast in comfortable surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The veiw

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from our room was great, good breakfast. Volendam is beautiful city, we liked it very much

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed vere comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the room the staff the breakfast

    We love the place

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds, broken tv, door wouldn't lock, beds too small

    location was ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The right place To stay in volendam!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow stairs

    View and location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shops close early in volendam,the bed should be changed from 2 single beds to a kingsize bed.

    The hotel is lovely,staff great,breakfast great,location superp.hotel overlooks the habour.volendam is a lovely place to stay.its about 30 mins by bus from the central station.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs to get to the room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and friendly staff. They offered a secure place to store our bikes overnight. Delicious food!

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Avoid the Saturday night - too loudy because of the close nightbars. Matresses are too soft.

    Excellent view and location. Cute litlle hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As others have mentioned, street below is rather noisy.

    Watching the boats from our window was most interesting.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy, very steep and narrow stairs (no elevator), uncomfortable beds

    Nice view, good location, comfortable bathroom

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Browse Hotel Cafe Restaurant Van Den Hogen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: