Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Campanile Hotel & Restaurant Leeuwarden 3 stars

Wergeasterdyk 1, 9084 AS Leeuwarden, Netherlands

#20 of 22 hotels in Leeuwarden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 835 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wooden floors so a bit noisy occasionally.

    Well sited and convenient for my purposes. Staff very helpful. Shutters on the outside of the windows meant it was almost possible to black rom out. Would use hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power sockets were available in the room (just one in the bathroom). Room was clean but decoration was a little tired.

    Arrived late for a one night stay, staff at check in were friendly & quick. Parking was available right outside the door. Room was adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a packed breakfast due to an early departure. Discovered this was only available after 6.30, which defeated the whole point.

    The restaurant offered very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For that price you could include breakfast and maybe give guests some discount too on diner. Because the rooms are outside it's quite cold inside, the desk over the hearing is keeping the warmth from getting properly in the room and the door inside and outside , the small hallway is letting cold air through and then it's quite cold inside as well. The complete building could be closed with glass construction to let air not penetrate the rooms and improve security as well. An elevator could also be useful for people with disabilities and a lot of luggage for example. This could easily be build next to the stairs I think. The inside of the rooms need reconstruction here and there.

    The water boiler, bath tub, free cookies, water, tea, coffee, free WiFi, and ability to turn two separate beds into one.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Decided to pay on the second day but the sum was still withheld from my card because I had a room bill and I wasn't informed of this. Had to call my bank to ask about the sum I couldn't spend and then had to make rearrangements to my budget because I was suddenly short. There was quite some dust under the bed which my partner didn't appreciate. The lack of refrigerator was a bit noticeable.

    Room as stated in the info given. Warm and comfortable beds. Very clean bathrooms. 2 doors to enter the room which keeps the warmth inside. Cleaners left towels everyday. All the staff was very friendly and spoke really good English. The breakfast was really nice and the dinner options were pretty tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel needs a bit of tlc, it is old and worn down, the restaurant isnt that great

    good for value; bit run down, but bed was ok and shower was hot ;) parking next to the room, only 20 minutes walk from the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit run down, restaurant isnt that great, stairs are a nightmare, ask for ground level room ;)

    the campanile is a bit old fashioned and needs some tlc, but the rooms are clean and the bed is comfy enough. you get what you pay for ;) it is great if you are over for business or seeing friends but dont expect anything new or spacious. it is 20 minutes walk from city centre and parking is easy and safe. i dont eat here as it dont think the standards are high enough, but great places to eat in the city .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight room contrasting with its nice look on site, poorly illuminated and a little bit noisy. Old furniture and some defects into bathroom.

    Friendly staff, very clean room, coffee and tea in the room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    to much plastic during breakfast (marmelade in plastic, butter in plastic ...) - could be more environmentally friendly

    very friendly staff, good price-perfomance ratio, clean and comfortable rooms, perfect for short stay in Leeuwarden,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fixtures and fittings were the same as when we visited in 2006 so some things were a little worn like the shower fittings and taps.

    Friendly staff.good service.the

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is more like a motel which was not clear when I booked the room. Rooms and furniture are outdated. Rooms are noisy, so better to have a room with calm neighbors in the night ...

    Very friendly personnel, price-quality ok, good breakfast, coffee and tea in the room, good shower, spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bit expensive.

    The best of this hotel are people who work there. Always smiling, very kind and polite. Location is good, easy to find, free of charge parking is advantage (in Holland most of parking with charge). Very close to Leeuwarden center. Wifi is excellent. Breakfast was good. Food in restaurant very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was next to a MacDonalds restaurant on the edge of the town which seems to be a hanging out spot for local youths. One evening there were some boy racers revving their engines and racing up and down for a while. It didn't last very long, but it was loud and irritating.

    Clean room and friendly staff. If you are driving, it would be a convenient location. It's very close to the river, which is good for walking along and has some convenient picnic benches.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is only one electrical socket in the room so you can't plugin and charge two phones simultaneously. The hotel is almost outside of the city and not so easy reachable by bus.

    Quiet room with dense curtains so you can sleep well regardless the early sunrise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just an observation: in order to take a shower you have to climb into a rather small bathtub with a very high rim. You should be aware of that. And a request to other travellers: as with most accomodations in the Netherlands, the walls are paper thin. Please, if you feel frisky late in the night, there is no need to be that vocal! Apart from the moaning - I learned Dutch words I really never wanted to learn...

    The Hotel is very conveniently and yet peacefully located, very friendly and welcoming staff. Tidy and neat room, superb mattress. Good choice in this price class

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room faced the parking lot, which in our case was fine since we had a heavy inflatable boat that we moved from the car to the room. It was a bit chilly in the room and the duvet was not very warm. I would have liked an extra blanket. The pillows weren't great either. Regardless, the price was low and in the end, it was all fine. If you want cheap accommodation with a nice breakfast, I would recommend this place.

    We went to this area in order to purchase an inflatable dinghy, so since we drove there, this location was perfect. It was right off the main road and not far from the city. I preferred staying just outside the city, since the city seems a lot noisier. This is a basic motel and you get what you pay for, with the added bonus of the nice buffet breakfast, which is worth the price of €14 for two people.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were not very comfortable and quite noisy. The Hotel overall requires some renovation.

    It is a budget hotel located in a quiet area. It is worth the money spent. The Personnel was friendly and willing to answer our questions and spoke good English. We were allowed to bring our dog paying a fee of 5€ per night. Parking and WIFI connection is provided free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Well, I tried the restaurant .. and the first night I took a Ceasar-salad, .. and to be honest, that wasn't the best thing. I really like the salad, so I try it every where, .. and this was until now the worst I had. BUT .. maybe the other food is great, .. I went the other days in the city to grab some food! That's the only - i can tell!

    the staff is very, very friendly ... and you would go back for them, because you really feel like they care!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buildings are a little out-of-date. It was quite difficult to get our luggage upstairs via a steep outdoor staircase. However, it was a pleasant surprise to find our room was basically a mini apartment!

    The staff was very helpful and clearly took pride in their work. The gentleman who looked after the breakfast was a case in point. Also, we arrived just after the check-in deadline but arrangements were made over the telephone and since staff were on site when we arrived they still assisted us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    run down, in need of some tlc, no lift only stairs.

    easy access, close to the city and free car parking, good value for money, all rooms have access to balcony; so just pop out to smoke on the balcony :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The flexibility of the the campanile organization!!!! due to family reason we could only stay one night, instead of the two that we booked. Restitution was not an option because , because we had booked!!! and it was not refundable!!

    being a little late for, although sufficient before closing time the choice was reduced.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Really nothing bad to say. Excellent price/quality ratio. Perhaps it seems like that it is a bit far from the center, but when consider the price one cannot complain. It also pays of to take breakfast. It was 14 euros for 2 persons open buffet, again good price/quality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold when we enter though we arrived at 1800 at the hotel.There wasn't more blankets or towels though we booked for 2 persons. I also asked for a 2 bed room and they gave as a double bed.Moreover the only place to charge our mobile phones was inside the bathroom. Not value for money if you ask me. Also when we ask if we could go by foot to the center of the town we were told for a distance of 20 minutes and fortunately we took the car because we did 10 minutes...

    _

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs needed some maintenance. The surroundings were not very inspiring.

    Everything was ok, it was simple but convenient. The size of the room was modest but everything we needed was there!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    de lunch was nogal pover

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Space on both sides of bed

    Convenience of restaurant on property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good

    Nice room friendly staff great location all good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have no idea how to deal if you have a problem with your booking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit out of town-car essential. Room a bit small

    Really friendly lady at reception. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Location. Staff. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's about time the bathtub taps are polished

    location,good price-quality level

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light didn't work, there was some dark wall in the bathroom but not that much.

    The staff was extremely kind and patient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is uncomfortable, the room is not clean and very old.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal Accomodation and atmosphere at the restaurant Poor accomodation of the room Dirty floor (lot of hair)

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I was staying in the hostel. hey increased the price two and half times on one weekend.that is not a good busness.

    Staff members are nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, nice and comfy room and brilliant service!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No refrigerator.

    Dinner was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motel like

    Basic ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Amazing staff, but uncomfortable bed and breakfast was not according to basic standards ..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the room is everything you need.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ideal for short stay when you are on a long trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance between rooms and there was no lift to go upstairs with baggage

    The rooms were clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of police cars and ambulances during the night

    Its a nice location with good connections to motorways

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was old, but clean!

    The breakfast was perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed creaking all over probably needs to be replaced

    breakfast plenty, frisian quality!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very helpful staff, excellent value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enoght lights and not qualitty in resturant

    Everyday roome service was ontime and good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very basic

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Cleanliness and the coffee in the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs to be cleaned inside and outside. It gave a poor impression. Too bad as location is good. Breakfast overprized.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good value for money, great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rudeness of the girl at the front desk upon check-out

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was far away from the city centre and from the festival grounds of Dokk'em Metal Fest where we had to be.

    It's cheap!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didnt find a trashcan.

    Friendly staff, plenty of parking space

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is gedateerd

    Ligging, rustig

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Nice, cosy restaurant facilities and a very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Last stay was 12yrs ago and accommodation block appears not to have been upgraded like the many other campaniles my wife and I have visited throughout Europe, that is a shame as staff clearly are a bonus and deserve the recognition! Come on Campanile, Leeuwarden deserves a remodel.

    Staff were very welcoming, nothing too much trouble. First class service and it was very much appreciated. Beds were very comfortable and WiFi a plus. Restaurant evening meal and breakfast were very tasty and a good choice overall.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The soundproofing between floors is nonexistent with every movement of a chair or hard shoe heard, the soundproofing between adjacent rooms is better.

    Cleanliness and the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so easy to find from main road. The curtains are think and light through. The church clock every half an hour. 8am in the morning, it knocked 148 times to weak us up. A bit too much sound for weak sleepers.

    Comfortable and clean. It has a little kirchen with water cooker and coffee machine. Hotel staff came to give us the keys in 2 min after we called. Comfortable beds, warm and thick blanket.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had Aberdeen Angus burger in restaurant ,it was tasteless and rubbery.....come on you can do better than that!

    Campanile provides basic comfortable accommodation at a good price

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need air conditioning as we had to keep the door open in order to keep cool!

    The staff at this hotel are excellent. Friendly and very professional. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the Hotel overall is looking a bit tired!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything. By far, the best Campanille I've ever stayed (three different ones this vacation). Friendly staff, delicious food and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception personal wait for us more than an hour because we are arrivin beyond 23:00 and reataurant waitress was very friendly too.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Faultless for my requirements!

    Good restaurant/bar on site

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very poor quality towels room looking a bit tired

    comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was very calm

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clean rooms, helpful staff, good breakfast and great value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    With that amount they should have been breakfast included .

    More friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception away from the rooms, ie the plan of the buildings. Not properly secured

    Parking Facilities and cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Group

    Good

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    External envirement

    Good bed

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was a bit smelling sigarets in the room.

    Location, room, parking, breakfast, service

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Couple

    The room was clean

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A short bus ride into town

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: