Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Canal Rooms Amsterdam

Brouwersgracht 124, Amsterdam City Centre, 1013 HA Amsterdam, Netherlands

Review score

Based on 197 B&B reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bathroom is so small that you cannot have a shower without getting caught into the shower curtain, which is obviously not brand new. The room is filled byt the bed, has no table to sit and write or consult a computer, the road is noisy, the windows cannot be opened and the air of the room gets stiff of your own breathing, The electronic lock is a nightmare.

    it is central and the furniture and furbishing is elegant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was lovely in a quieter area but within a short walk to main station and busy area's. Room was quiet and comfortable, bathroom was on the small side but this did not impact on our enjoyable stay in a lovely old building in a lovely city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfriendly and even rude attitude of the BNB start up company to us. We received from them promises that were not being fulfilled, contradicting check-in rules in different mails, a violation of the agreed timing terms of security deposit and its refund.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom is a tiny plastic box. Entrance is by an app on your phone which works fine as long as you ensure you have charge on your phone at the end of a long day. One night I had to take my charger and charge up whilst out to ensure I could get in at night

    Excellent location close to the centre but in a quiet and beautiful canal street. The room was a bit dated but was clean and bed comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very very small. The desposit was rather large and I did not realize until after I had booked (I should have read the terms and conditions) and took 3 weeks to be reimbursed to my account, however it was reimbursed in full.

    Annette the host was fabulous very easy to reach via whatsapp. The view from the canal room was beautiful. Very central location, we walked everywhere! The Nuki app to enter the apartment is very handy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed's very narrow and far too soft. Nuki app for lock inconsistent, had several issues trying to get in on different occasions. Toilet insert in room tatty and out of place.

    Room decor good and location was excellent - really central, only 10 minutes from the station on foot and loads of places to eat/drink nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner terms and conditions are not mentioned on booking.com website as they charge you more for safety debosit from your card right after you book which does not allow you to cancel and that is a violation of the customer rights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff on site, no welcome book explaining how things worked, no internet details, had to text some one to get details, no coffee or milk, tv never worked, all facility's looked a little tired.

    Location was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ended up having to make a lot of costly phone calls to the letting agent as the key system was down. Was very noisy during the night and early morning. Small bathroom in need of repair.

    Very convient place to stay, beautiful location. Basically had everything you needed. Was nice and warm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall our stay was very negatively impacted by 2 things: 1. The property owner demanded we sign a second, and then a third, rental contract, including sending her photos of our passports via whatsapp! This is likely not only illegal, but dangerous to the consumer. We book through booking.com so that we only need to trust booking with our personal data. 2. The door key was an electronic lock that required a smartphone and internet connection. This was not only a nightmare to set up, but required having battery left on the smartphone at the end of the day, not to mention paying for roaming data in order to have internet on the mobile. We ended up getting stranded outside the door, unable to get in, for over 15 minutes under heavy rain, waiting for someone to come in and solve the problem. Plus, because the room required a second, normal physical key, there was no point in providing the electronic lock. We appreciate that the owner was trying to do her best, but really needs to work things out for her guests to love staying there.

    The location was very good, and the room was clean and facing the canal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have had to open a fraud case with my bank as my deposit was not refunded. There was no problems with my stay and the host assured me I would receive my deposit back in a couple of days. I'm still waiting....

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never used the 12 inch tv, the single beds were pushed together and way too soft. From our perspective the bathroom was less than ideal, too small, it may have measured 3 foot 6 inches by 4 foot 6 inches, a large body person would not be able to use it at all. The mattresses were very soft. The Nuki lock system was poor, if there was ever a fire and u needed to get out quickly, a person (at least our experience) had to use a smartphone from inside to get it opened. In an emergency, the last thing u need is something to slow your escape. Our difficulty to get keys to get inside was due to our smartphone having no cell coverage and needing it to use the Nuki app. The room was excellent in terms of being close to downtown. We never met our Host, apart from someone arriving to open the door.

    The room location was fine, easy walking to downtown, to get to canal tours, to get to central train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smartphone key was not for me. Twice I had issues with battery life and had to sit in a bar to charge my phone in order to open the door. I also found the communication messy. Way too many emails with lots of information and requests. Lovely people but stressful procedures.

    The location was stunning!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to go somewhere different for the key and then pay for baggage storage. The apartment was in a lovely building in a great location but really does need some TLC. It was also given as an option to pay on arrival when I booked. As there is no one to meet you this is not an option.

    The location was brilliant. I am so pleased that we stopped in this beautiful area. The room had a view of the canal and all the lovely house boats. The bars nearby weren't as 'lively' as some of the other parts but so much better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lacking in comfort as bathroom is actually a little shower/toilet box planted inside the room, taking away room space and privacy. Broken kettle, old tea/coffee bags and very small old tv in the room.

    close to everything yet quiet neighbourhood

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Host required cash payment, but the Booking.com confirmation stated that cards were acceptable. Also, the bathroom/shower unit was extraordinarily small.

    Excellent location, reasonably-sized room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was extremely small - but that probably can't be helped. It was fine for a couple of nights, may have struggled any longer. Some soap and shampoo would be handy in the shower too, but overall great value for money, lovely place. Would recommend!

    The location has to be the best thing about this place. Quick and easy route to Amsterdam Centraal - which has many transport links and tourist info. The Jordaan District is beautiful, full off cafes and canals - and just on your doorstep! The host was welcoming and helpful, and was kind with our check in/out times. The room was clean and tidy, beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom needs maintenance and refurbishment: mold/mildew stains on the walls and ceiling, also in the tile grout. Unpleasant shower curtain. Exhaust fan missing (only a hole in the ceiling.) The studio's almost new furnishings would look even nicer with a fresh coat of paint and a bit of maintenance.

    Excellent location in a quiet neighbourhood; close to railway station and within walking distance of museums and sightseeing. The owner was helpful; glad that she doesn't tolerate noise or smoking. Good coffee machine and coffee. The studio has relatively new furniture and carpet. Was great to have the dishwasher and washing machine. Owner kindly allowed us to leave our luggage until we went to the airport in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Basement Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi signal and you have to becareful if you enter the apartment because the ceiling to the entrance is quite low. But overall it is great apartment

    Great location, all places in the city can be accessible by just on foot.a very cosy apartment. Complete facilities; you can cook and even spacious space

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not clean: Cobwebs, thick layers of dust in corners and under the heating, a (clearly fresh) stain on the sheet, traces of something in the fridge... No possibility to wash the dishes one could use. Cleaning of the room (whatever that means, there) only every other day.

    Nice location - 12 minutes walk from Amsterdam central station. There were a fridge, microwave, coffemashine and watercooker as well as coffee and tea and each two bords and cups.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suppose to be de luxe which it was far from. Very dated and tired. Hallway looked like it needed a good scrub. Although the room was clean. Bathroom was tiny and looked like it was out of a caravan(small one at that)

    Quite near to the centre

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!Everything was perfect!!!

    Everything was great!Near the station and the main attractions, Hot cofee everyday,comfortable mattress,quiet place,so nice staff,little bathroom but for us was a nice situation.We'll surely come back!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain could do with replacing and the towels/bed linen could do with an upgrade but it didn't spoil the stay in any way - just some constructive feedback 😀

    Beds were comfy, loved the location on the canal - we had a canal view room and Ivana was most helpful on arrival and during the stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, location, location - absolutely loved the location. Room was very clean, and young lady managing was very good at her job. Easy walking distance to Central Station, and everything that we wished to see in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was slightly larger than an airplane bathroom. Room was old and beds were very soft.

    Great location! Close to everything. Hostess was friendly and thorough.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basement Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is really problem. Cause the room is at basement, sometimes it is airless, needs fresh air.

    Location is perfect! Very close to central station and main streets, 10 min walks to Dam Square, near to canal and you feel yourself like to live in Amsterdam. Even it is in dawntown, the apartment was very quite for sleeping and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basement Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved staying here! Ivana was so friendly and accommodating. The location was fabulous and it was so cool getting to stay in a beautiful canal home. The basement suite was perfect. It gave us a perfect amount of privacy while still allowing us to be as social as we chose. Would stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were filthy & we had to wrestle ours open/closed, the bathroom was a prefab unit plonked in the room which was tiny & we had to put our hands in the flush mechanism to flush it, all of the sockets were either hanging off the wall or filthy, none of our dirty dishes were ever removed nor did we have any way of washing them, we were right by the front or so we had to listen to the door creaking open/closed at all hours, it was hot & no air con or even a fan was provided & the wife hardly worked. All in all a terrible stay in a terrible place.

    The location was ok - this is about the only thing I have anything positive to say about this place & even that wasn't life changing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a bit small but enough for the weekend

    Ivana, the owner was so welcoming and gave us many advises for our weekend in Amsterdam. The hotel is very well located next to everything but at the same time in quiet and calm area. We ll come back and give the adress to our friends

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I would add would be a dustpan and brush so we could clean up our crumbs after we had eaten in the room.

    Ivana was waiting for greet us and made us feel very welcome. She also did her best to accommodate our luggage when we left. The view from the front room over the canal was lovely to enjoy and not noisy at night as I had expected. The fridge and coffee were also very useful as well as the crockery and cutlery.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small table and more dish and cutlery options ie cutting board, sharp knife, to prepare meals or snacks would have been nice but we managed.

    Room and location were excellent! Very picturesque and quiet neighbourhood, within easy walk of the central train station, Anne Frank Haus, ( make on-line reservation for Anne Frank if possible) Easy to reach Hop on Hop off bus and boat. Ivana was very helpful, she arranged a ride for us back to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, free Nespresso coffee, plenty of space and storage. Great location close enough to lively areas but quiet enough to get plenty of sleep!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restroom was very small. Beds were overly soft and easily tossed one on the floor.

    Location was excellent. Facilities were charming. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too soft, the coming and going was difficult and the bathroom was tiny.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff and door opened only if u have wifi and mobile Bathroom is very very small and uncomfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed, bathroom, table.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricey, tiniest bathroom ever

    Mattress

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the added in bathroom was small

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast Got two single beds rather than a double Some facilities didn't work Small bathroom

    Bed was comfy Nice view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny but perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay

    The beds were super comfy and the hostess ivana was lovely and friendly close to station

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check inn time

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basement Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The photos don't do it justice. Beautiful little apartment in perfect location. Everything was as we wanted it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location!!! clean room! friendly service and helpful! safely! fully equipped room! I totally recommend this place!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located near the Central Station and Noordermarkt . Completely quiet. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom was too small! (1mx1m)

    nice room in front of the river

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basement Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great flat, lots of space and central.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None

    Great location, yet quiet, friendly & helpful host

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked we had a big fridge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Basement Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved experiencing the everyday life in Amsterdam. Ivona, our host was extremely helpful and gracious.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Structure needs to be refurbished

    Staff and position.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basement Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was blotchy and hard to connect to.

    quaint,accommodating and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and shower facilities were very small

    Location is fantastic and the owner was great throughout the whole process. Great if you are on budget

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location...our room overlooked the canal. We could walk everywhere. Annette was extremely helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you want to stay at an authentic canal house in a regular neighborhood - this is the place to go! Our room was clean and beautiful with high ceilings, high windows and shutters, chandelier and all amenities. The room is cozy - as any Room you would stay at in Europe. The bathroom is small, but serves it's purpose. The price is right too. Location was perfect near Central Station and 2 blocks from Harlemmer Street with restaurants, shops and grocery stores. Ivana was a wonderful hostess. We cannot wait to go back to this gem of a place!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property was clean and just what we expected ivania was nice was and friendly and after the welcome we was free to come and go as we pleased

    The property was in a perfect location close to train station not to far of a walk to take in and enjoy what's on offer an see some wonderful sights

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom was very compact but very clean.

    Perfect location for a short stay. Very cosy and Ivana lady who runs the house was very friendly lovely and very helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a few things can be described as "a little tired"

    excellent location! 10 min (less?) walk to the station, lively neighbourhood with bars, restaurants and shops nearby, quiet room with nearly everything for "living" provided.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff accused us of smoking cannabis even although we weren't, stepped outside our main door to go to the centre and there stands a mature couple smoking a joint that we got the blame of because our room was at the front door and we are a younger couple playing music. Also 60 euros was misplaced and never found. On the day of check out it was till 11 at 10.50 we go for coffee and we come back and the owner has been in our room moving our bags and things etc. Had no padlocks on it or nothing and after the money situation we were not impressed. The chandelier in the room will squash the next guests in there as it's hanging on by a thread and the beds are two single beds

    Not a far walk from city centre

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Beautiful room, lovely view over the canal, wonderful staff, and in a great location. Only a 15-20 minute walk from the train station, but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Will definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The photos on the booking webpage show spacious, well appointed rooms. We stayed in a horrible, tiny little room with an ridiculously tiny little bathroom - about the same size as an airplane bathroom with an equally small shower. Horrible bedding. Stayed for 3 nights - no service at all to clean, make the beds, provide new towels.

    Convenient location right on a canal and close to the central rail station.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a very old building and in need of repair. The room was very basic and the bathroom is tiny and not really a bathroom at all.

    The location was ok for getting around and Ivana was very helpful and nice.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pillows are too soft.

    The host, Ivana, is helpful & nice. Very responsive to our need when we contacted her. The room is spacious, with basic cooking utensils provided. Nice restaurants are just around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom is tiny. But it was expected.

    Location is 10 min from CS. Nice room. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Room had garden view. It was quite even if window is opened.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We dont like the bed, two single beds were put together for couples.. İt was easily seperated. If you are a couple do not chose studio room. And to be honest, the room was not well furnished, it should be improved

    Lady called Ivana ( the only staff) was a nice and helpfull to us from the arrival to check out. We stayed at a studio room, it was enough for a couple of day for two. The location is fantastic, you can go anywhere by walking max 15 min walk. There are nice shops and bars around but it was quite at the same time. It is possible to have a breakfast or meal at your room , the kitchen equipments are adequate. We are glad to stay in Canal Rooms.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was called 'de luxe', and we were made believe there was a view to the canal. However, the window got its light from a small light shaft, no view. And the 'bathroom' was a tiny fibre glass booth, less than 1,5 m2., sitting right on the floor of the room.

    The location can hardly be better. 'Canal Amsterdam' at its best, at the junction of three canals, with four bridges within app. 50 meters. Beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basement apartment was rather noisy, even plumbing sounds were surprisingly loud. Wifi didn't cover the sofa section of the apartment and access to internet was somewhat random overall. Probably upper floor rooms are better in this regard.

    Hostess was very kind! Basement apartment is comfortably large for two persons. Location couldn't be much better.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was awful- the mattress was going to fall down several times. It was a big spot on the sheet. It wasn't very clean in the room, the lid on the coffee jar was dusty. The price was too dear for this quite shabby room. The room looked much better on the photo. We were disappointed at first look at this room and tried to change it but the girl who let us in said available room wasn't ready we had to stay.

    Location was good.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warning, on the UK site the description of this flat is not truthful - it is only one room - no separate bathroom and definitely no dressing room. There is a shower and a toilet but they are in a cupboard the size of a small wardrobe. The extractor fan did not work and I felt we were being blamed for breaking it! With the toilet and shower in the room you need an extractor fan. The wires to this fan were exposed where a previous repair had taken place. The toilet flush was also in a poor state of repair.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Studio a little tired round the edges but this is a small issue compared with all the pluses.

    So convenient. Lovely area with loads oif nice shops, bars and restaurants. Close to staton and you can walk to the centre easily. A beautiful old house.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds very soft 2 singles for a couple. Strict non smoking made things quiet difficult

    Great location. Very private room outdated rooms but that doesn't make an impact clean room and bathroom tea coffee all supplied. Very good for the price.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I had to be picky I would have liked a bigger bathroom but it was good enough!

    The location, it had everything we needed so we couldn't fault it!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very comfortable accomidation, quiet and very reliable people managing the house. I already stayed there in summer and will always go back, the best in town!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Terrible management, very disorganized. Beds are uncomfortable bathrom is a mobile bath within the room, very small therefore unconvenient to use not recommended

    Good location

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Canal Rooms Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: