Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carlton Square Hotel 4 stars

Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, Netherlands

#6 of 16 hotels in Haarlem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1491 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was terrible, attached to bath taps & constantly changed temperature. I only used the bath in the end as the shower was that bad. Pillows too soft & only one each.

    Friendly staff. Good bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    I had great time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some noise from the other rooms. I expected more variety in breakfast

    Location was great near the downtown, staff and cleanliness were just excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Very conveniently located and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blankets were of a bed quality, make you feel too hot and sweaty, very uncomfortable

    Very conveniently located and clean. Comfortable beds and pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful city , relaxed pace and perfect place to hire a bike for a day and explore the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location : nice park opposite and easy walk to center of city . Very clean comfortable room and friendly staff. Would stay here again and would definitely visit Haarlem again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Happy Customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were perfect, really clean and cleaners came everyday. We got bottled water left in our fridge everyday and a sweet on the beds. A very nice thought. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would hope to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Really good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really .... all good. Decor was a little old fashioned I suppose but so comfortable it didn’t matter.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable bed and quiet, spacious room. Good location. Bus stop for Amsterdam just around the corner and a pleasant walk that wasn’t too long into the main square of Haarlem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Everything we needed and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was walking distance to the center of town and transportation. The restaurant and bar were very friendly and the choices of meals was good. The staff was very friendly in all areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location for the flower festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for the flower festival.. and downtown was easier to get to for dinner and touring. Frans Hal museum is just across the river. Breakfast is excellent and well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    parking was really expensive. In Rotterdam we paid same price but was true 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    3 star hotel for 5 star price. Overall it was ok but the rooms really needed updating. Wall paper was coming off the wall

    Bad scrambled eggs. The mix stuff was not too nice. On morning one I asked for two fried eggs. At 9 am they only had one egg left so the cook added the flat scrambled mix around my fried egg

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Central comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in restaurant was pretty average. Breakfast OK but nothing special. More of a corporate hotel than for leisure. Our room seemed pretty outdated and could have done with a refurbishment.

    Good location close to centre. Friendly check-in and seemed like a well-managed hotel. Room very quiet and spacious, had everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Really nice stay on business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable with good room and hotel facilities, nice location but 20 min walk from train station. Hotel and restaurant staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    I was having a lovely time until the mouse situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a mouse run around the restaurant. More importantly than that to have a member of staff brush it of with a stupid answer.

    While sitting in eating area after having our meal which was nice. I seen a mouse running across the floor. I told a member of staff and the answer I got was wouldn't worry about that sure we get mice that come in from the park all the time. My self and grown up Daughter were shocked at that answer. Needless to say we did not eat any other time in the hotel. We ate out in the local place around the hotel. Up to that moment we had been enjoying our stay. I frequently use other carlton hotels in Ireland and have never had any complaints so that's why I booked carlton hotel in Amsterdam. I would like to think the mouse situation was dealt with and didn't fall on deaf or ridiculous response to what I think is not acceptable having a mouse run around the restaurant even if there is a park accross the road.. Margaret from Ireland 🇮🇪

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only disappointment bad View , towards the other part of the building and low deck, but that's not so important.

    Very friendly staff, nice room, comfortable bed, bath excellent, cleanliness above expectations...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable. Convenient. Pleasant helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have some fresh milk in the fridge for our UK tastes!

    All parts of the hotel were very clean, well kept and checked by supervisors. All staff were pleasant and helpful, for example looking up the day's weather forecast for us. A wide selection of breakfast options. A convenient car park under the hotel. Our room was quiet, spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Great sleep..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated rooms..

    Rooms (executive suite) was a bit dated...needs new carpet and wallpaper and furniture if they want to be a top hotel...Very quiet, which we loved, but No view other than the back of other office buildings..Restaurant was fantastic...Staff Lovely...Bed very comfy so we slept well..Free Mini bar nice, but add some wine....less soda...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    #escapefromthekids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was perfect with just a short stroll to the old centre. Parking was convenient under the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite.. our huge room was exceptionally comfortable with a seating area, complimentary bar, nespresso machine and brilliant sparkling bathroom with rain shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All great. Spacious room with very comfortable bed. A complementary bar with beers, juices and soft drinks. Fully fitted bathroom with a bathtub and a separate shower. Nice restaurant open till mid night with amazing helpful staffs. Various options in the breakfast. Would definitely like to come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel. Good food be friendly staff. Smooth stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must have 240v power outlet near the bed. To put your phone. The mini bar must have better drinks. Like free wine for example. Improve the furniture a little bit

    Bathroom was super clean. Bed was comfortable Area was super silent. Also bed room. Close to the market

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is costly.

    I loved the hotel. It was very clean and tidy. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable. They serve food at the restaurant till mid night. They had good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent views, great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit misleading. Believed parking was with the hotel, but instead it is a neighboring parking garage which is a bit pricey. Location was ok

    Excellent views, great rooms. Bed was a bit rough, but overall comfortable. Restaurant is fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    3.8
    The hotel tried to charge us with another room close to ours...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel tried to charge us with another room close to ours just because the person who stayed there told them that we will pay. That delayed us for 15 minuets. They kept making mistakes in our bill. We only stayed 1 night 2 rooms it someone con art them and we had to suffer

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    We had a special event (birthday party) 4 course dinner at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a special event (birthday party) 4 course dinner at Zochers. The special events manager, wait staff and chef all performed above our expectations. We would highly recommend this hotel for short or extended stays.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    wouldn't want to spend this amount for this type of mattress. It was not a bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was not a bed. it was just a simple roll-up mattress. it was not the spring bed itself. i don't understand why toothbrush was needed to get from the front desk and in the end there are no other amenities provided besides shampoo, bath gel , lotion. there isnt anything such as comb for girls, cotton swapes for ears. there isn't even indoor slippers!!!! there are a whole bunch of hair in the bathtub drainage, if you open the drainage system...(i had to do this as the bathtub was flood with water when i take showers I don't understand how is the price compatible with everything that should have been provided but in the end it provided basically nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great Experience, great location - Highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missed the Whisky bar - spent many memorable times there, but the bar in the restaurant was a great meeting place for all our friends to meet.

    I LOVE THE LOCATION OF THE HOTEL. WE HAVE STAYED THERE NUMEROUS TIMES OVER THE YEARS AND EACH TIME THE EXPERIENCE GETS BETTER. STAFF ARE SO FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. WILL BE BACK AND WILL HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE HOTEL AND HAARLEM ITSELF

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    large group loved Amsterdam but was nice to stay a bit away from madness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about just like most hotels would like An earlier checkin apart from that all good

    Great hotel just twenty minute stroll to train station. All the madness of Amsterdam twenty minute spin on train. Nice to come back at night plenty of bars and restaurants round more chilled atmosphere than Amsterdam. Would recommend and would definitely stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Highly recommend Carlton square hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of Hotel. comfortable beds,facilities excellent as in restaurant and bar. Variety of foods to choose from for breakfast , might seem expensive but definitely worth it, value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location of hotel is perfect in Haarlem great for shopping beautiful town and only 15 minutes by train to Amsterdam city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little on the soft side for my back. Lighting in the room could have been better around the chairs and table.

    Lovely positions. Near relatives we were visiting and near public transport. Good sized room and free mini bar was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    What a pleasant treat!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff didn't tell me that the bar was complimentary.

    Bed was extra cozy. Nice fluffy pillows, bathrobe and slippers will make you feel pampered. Complimentary bar was a bonus, Rug on the floor and pretty drapes and furniture gave a cottage feel but with style. Decor was a combination of old world charm and luxury. Spacious and modern bathroom with all of the necessary toiletries made my stay extra comfortable. Didn't eat at the restaurant but is looked like it had a lot to offer. Had a nice, trendy look.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice comfortable hotel with attentive staff but predominantly a corporate hotel for business clients
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite receiving an email from the hotel confirming parking that was not the case. It is a public car park with no reserved spaces and we were sent back by reception to purchase a weekly ticket from the machine.

    Helpful staff and convenient parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no complaints at all.

    Quiet and peaceful but near the town centre, a very good place to stay in Haarlem. Room was recently decorated and clean, and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Decent stay for a short trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't any toiletries like toothbrush and toothpaste, only soap, body wash and shampoo

    Breakfast was delicious, although missing hash brown. Shower pressure was excellent and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    excellent location comfortable hotel good food but breakfast service poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at breakfast was very poor.Cooked eggs either came too fast or too slow and the waitress service was dreadful.

    pensiveon site parking was excellent but rather expensive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    I want to stay here again next time we go to Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Don't overdo it on the breakfast or you will have no variety. I ate EVERYTHING the first day, but since it was always the same food, it worked better to pick and choose day to day so I had variety.

    Breakfast was amazing, the room was comfortable, the staff was helpful. We loved being in Haarlem away from the bustle of Amsterdam. Though this is a 22 minute walk from the central station in Haarlem, the buses are really great, and the 3-day pass makes the transportation convenient and inexpensive. You are a short ride from Amsterdam and a short ride from the beach, plus Haarlem itself is a great destination.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice restaurant, very complete breakfast with "on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The underground parking, although very close to the hotel (straight under the hotel) is quite expensive (25 EUR/day) and no special conditions apply to guests.

    Nice restaurant, very complete breakfast with "on demand" eggs the way you like them best. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to stay. This was my second stay here in as many years. The staff are extremely accommodating and really friendly. Brilliant customer service from all members of staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    A top pick for Haarlem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated. Could do with a freshen up.

    This hotel has large spacious rooms and comfy bed. The free mini bar was also nice and something I have not seen before. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Great location, comfortable in every way/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was comfortable, well situated and worked out for us in every way.

    Very comfortable bed, nice colors in the décor, up-to-date bathroom was clean and well-stocked, very helpful people at the front desk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.7
    Great hotel but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room for my parents that was suppose to be the same room as mine. However, it had no balcony and the window only opened the slightest bit which made it very hot in the room. Also the first night we arrived we ate at their resturant. We were seated by a window that was extremely warm, and with a baby. The sun was beaming on us making it hard to see and they acted like there was no where else we could have sat and there were plenty of tables open. My baby couldn't even stand it so I had to take him up to the room so I had to have my husband bring up my food to me. The hotel staff was usually great but the resturant staff could have been improved, a lot.

    I loved our room. It had a balcony which was amazing to let in air. I also loved the shower and that it had a waterfall shower head. Breakfasts were very good. My dad was also having problems with his allergies and everything was closed so the hotel staff gave him some medicine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Another excellent stay at the Carlton Square
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient location with a short walk to the square you'll have access to a wide variety of shops and restaurants, friendly staff and excellent service. Have stayed at the Carlton Square several times and will return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Far enough away from Amsterdam to feel like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far enough away from Amsterdam to feel like the 'real' Netherlands but close enough to Amsterdam to take advantage of all it has to offer. Great place to stay. Haarlem is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful comfortable hotel in a really nice area of Haarlem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of a thing

    Love the flavoured water in the lobby, and the free Gin Fizz dispenser in the bar. Now the gin was spared, shall we say, but it was a nice touch. Breakfast is really good. Loved the salmon. Beautiful selection of breads.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Quality hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of parking-25 euros per 24 hours--but cheaper than the on street hourly rate. I had to drive but probably easier to fly to Schipol--only 25 mins away by public transport. The price of breakfast-£19 euros--walk up into town---having sais that couples we talked to who had the breakfast were impressed with the quality.

    The happy and friendly staff and the bar/restaurant. The no3 bus takes you through town to Haarlem station-2.30 euros.-and the bus stop is only 50 metres from the hotel. Can hire bikes at the hotel if you prefer not to walk. Haarlem is a lovely town with a great atmosphere.--and a nice park opposite if you have young children.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decoration could be updated but this did not negatively impact our stay.

    Quiet; comfortable bed and pillows; mini bar and safe. Delicious breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice out of Town place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would not advise to walk with travel bags from Train Station to hotel. Too far. Once you have settled in it is a brisk walk +/-2 KM (Not too sure) between train station and Hotel.

    Although the property was outside Amsterdam and we had to take the train in and out everyday it was nice and quiet at night. Haarlem is a beautiful town and lots of shopping to be done in shops different from Amsterdam. The hotel's restaurant is also very good. All and all it was nice to come back to this hotel after a long day with lots of tourists.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with underground parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No problems

    We based ourselves in Haarlem to enjoy the Netherlands tulip season & stayed at the Carlton Square Hotel. The location of the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the heart of the old town, an ideal location for discovering Haarlem as it is very walkable. The room was a reasonable size, well equipped and well maintained. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Worth noting the free Wifi was good. If you are driving, this hotel has a public underground carpark at a charge & direct access to the hotel. If you are staying 3 nights or more it is beneficial to buy a weekly parking ticket rather than a daily. All in all a great hotel in a fairly central location, it's certainly worth considering if you are staying in Haarlem. We would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely Room, nice size, comfortable bed and good mini bar and tea and coffee provisions. I only had the breakfast on the last morning but it was a good range and all very tasty. The bar and restaurant downstairs does good food and is a nice relaxed place to have a drink at night. It's a bit of a walk from the train station but Haarlem is a lovely place to walk through so not a problem. Very easy and quick to get into Amsterdam from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.9
    A bit of luxury in a nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was not within easy walking distance of the train station, although there was a bus nearby which we learned to use after we arrived. The hotel is a bit pricey but all facilities are excellent.

    Easy check-in with friendly staff. Nice jug of flavored water waiting nearby. Huge, stylish and comfortable room with free mini-bar. Nice restaurant attached - breakfast was pricey but good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive to park close to the hotel. We parked about 10 minutes walk away in a free area.

    Friendly staff, well located close to the city center and nice rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Excellent choice for Haarlem, especially without a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was convenient but very expensive.

    Really comfortable bed. Room had plenty of space and looked out over the lovely park. Convenient to ride bikes into town or all around north Holland. We enjoyed this hotel a lot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.1
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the firs floor, very close to the elevator and sounds was qiute distorbing. The view from the window was right to the windows of the hotel or office building. The furniture is not modern.

    Location is perfect. Hotel is near the city center and park, close to the public transport stops and shops. Good bed and addition pillows. Kettle and tea in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My son would have liked some fitness activities but that was a small point and did nothing to deter us recommending this hotel.

    The staff were all excellent and provided help throughout our stay. There appeared to be a real ethos of helping guest that ran from the Management through to the room cleaners. Made us really welcome and helped us enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    8.3
    OUR THREE DAY STAY IN HAARLEM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor use of space in the room. There is a large wooden, somewhat dated, construction that houses the TV but takes up much room unnecessarily. The space could be better used putting a flat screen TV on the wall and freeing up much space that could be used for wardrobe hanging and storage. Decor rather dated and highly patterned. This hotel could use a makeover.

    Hot drink facilities in room much appreciated. Little balcony was nice. Very nice bathroom. Shower excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    Good value not far from city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms look a bit 90-ish, but still clean and comfortable

    Nice value for money we spent, close to the park, good restaurant downstairs opened till 11, nice bathroom in the room, quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    Lovely RainShower,comfortable bed, great value breakfast in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked dated, wallpaper peeling in places , budget quality/size towels.

    Lovely RainShower,comfortable bed, great value breakfast in a pleasant restaurant/bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.1
    Great Stay on New Year's Eve weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, comfortable, professional. Quick to get to Amsterdam by train and better value than hotels of the same grade there. Beware: trains stop running after 8pm on New Year's Eve.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.3
    Great location, close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a bit smelly. Perhaps someone smoked in the room before we arrived. Furniture was a bit outdated in our room.

    Great location, close to the city centre. The breakfast included lots of tasty options. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Positive surprise - much better inside than outside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking - the public garage next door is very expensive

    Comfortable and quiet room New walk-in shower Very cosy restaurant with good brunch downstairs

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We were going to spend 2 days in Amsterdam but there was high prices because of new year holidays. So we decided stay in Haarlem in Carlton Square. It has good price, exellent location in the center near park, in quite and beautiful city. And it is only 15 min by train to Amsterdam. Hotel is comfortable. Breakfast is good. Can highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at The Carlton Square for the New Year celebrations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minor thing that I thought could be improved was the towels, as they were small (we are used to a bath sheet size) and they were not very luxurious (not very thick or fluffy).

    What can I say ? Excellent hotel, being modern all the facilities you would expect. Reception staff welcoming and efficent. Bar and restaurant area attractive, comfortable and relaxing. Staff pleasant and friendly. Our room was at the front of the hotel but we heard minimal noise from the road nearby. The room was furnished nicely including a lounge chair and an office type chair and table (suitable for a business person to use if need be whilst staying in the hotel for business reasons ) and Wardrobe etc. The Bed and pillows being memory foam were so comfortable that my wife and I slept really well (not always the case for my wife). The bathroom contained a shower that was lovely, the water was hot and helped warm us when we returned from our trips out. Another great feature was the lighting and the three mirrors which my wife said were great for applying make up. Both the bathroom and the room were warm. The free Wifi (a must have feature for us when choosing a hotel) was great, we had no issues with the speed or any problems logging on to it. And lastly the location was excellent as it was only a short walk into wonderful Haarlem.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and helpful staff, good service. The location is also convenient, quiet neighborhood, the public transport can take you to city center/Amsterdam without any barrier. Really had a great experience in Calton

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    A gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Excellent reception . All staff very proactive . Nothing too much trouble . Had a group of Dutch members of the family over for breakfast and the staff could not have done more Ate in the restaurant twice as food very good and cooked in full view - as was breakfast Had always stayed at a competitor but unavailable on one occasion and ate now converts Thank you and see you soon

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    weekend visiting friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice place to stay, we saw a lot of comments about anti-social behaviour and we can honestly say we saw nothing or heard nothing and we right on the front of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    Must stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only problem was no having an outlet next to the bed to plug in my laptop.

    Bed was quite comfortable. They upgraded my room so I can't complain. The room I got was quite spacious. The bathroom was also great with tub and separate shower. TV channels in french, dutch, german and English. Theread is park across the street, a cannabisshopand bus stop right outside. I got in late and hungry and the restaurant had closed,but the still kindly served me some appetizers and wine :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice place close to a shopping street.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey. For the second time they charged more than for the first one and room was less nice.

    Nice place close to a shopping street. Beds are extremely comfortable, bathroom is great. I loved the breakfast. Wifi is strong. Clean, quiet, staff is helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.1
    The staff was nice, the hotel is quite cosy, especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main issue (an omission or a negligence) was that when checking in they asked to pre-authorise the card without mentioning that they are also taking a guarantee in the form of the full amount of the reservation. This was not mentioned on booking either. Was a bit strange to omit such an information. The room was a bit outdated, definitely not a 4* hotel - for example we stayed at the top floor and there were visible traces of an old leakage on one of the walls.

    The staff was nice, the hotel is quite cosy, especially the bed was very comfortable and the location is pretty okay, close to city centre

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely staff providing a very warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is pricey (we did not take it and went to excellent local cafes)

    Lovely staff providing a very warm welcome. No problem to have a late checkout, when wine was not replaced in the minibar double quantities arrived pronto.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    A very relaxing and interesting stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought that the whole style and service at the Carlton was excellent, and we had no complaints, only praise for the service provided by the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Excellent location, spacious rooms, very clean, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, spacious rooms, very clean, with attentive and helpful front desk staff. It was wonderful to have bikes available at the hotel for rental.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Good friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like.

    We've stayrd here a few times now and like everything about the hotel. The Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    A pleasant, well located hotel with welcoming and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few tea bags with no variety, few coffee sachets, no biscuits in room. Kettle with very short lead almost impossible to plug in

    The friendly and helpful staff.excellent location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    We enjoyed our stay at the Carlton Square Hotel with its excellent location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything we didn't like. However, in parking our car underneath the hotel we could not find the betal machine when we wanted to leave the garage, as there were no signs there which indicated its location. Luckily, after driving around the garage a couple of times, we found someone who could tell us where to find it outside.

    The staff at the desk and in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and nicely furnished. We liked the rain shower head in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Great Dutch service at a solid 3-Star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially we had a small room with an awful view & asked for an improvement. Staff were quick to oblige though we had two single beds pushed to ether for the 1st night.

    The staff at this hotel are wonderfully efficient & helpful, with a nice dry sense of humour. The hotel is less than 10 minutes from the station via bus & you can walk to the old town in 5 minutes. Though we did not eat at the bar & restaurant, the food looked good. We also left some goods at the hotel & the staff were kind enough to post it home to us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Big Time in the Beautiful Haarlem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a great experience, and we cannot complain about anything.

    The hotel is well located: few minutes walk from the center and in front of a beautiful park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.5
    exquisite hotel, complimentary minibar is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had an executive room with full free complimentary bar, a very generous one at that. large, quiet and comfortable room only 10 min walk from haarlem centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.2
    Good choice in Haarlem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, only there for 1 night but no problems at all. Friendly staff, room was comfy. Also has a good-sized restaurant and bar which was handy. Short walk to the city centre, quiet location opposite park.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Carlton Square Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: