Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of citizenM Amsterdam 4 stars

Prinses Irenestraat 30, Zuideramstel, 1077 WX Amsterdam, Netherlands

#63 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4977 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    It was very high tech and modern room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is more out of the city then I expected. This isn’t the hotels fault of course because we booked it knowing that but the transportation was very easy to use to get there.

    It was very high tech and modern room. It was pretty small but spacious enough for everything. It was also very clean and the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I find the batteries on the iPads are old and don't hold a charge for very long so running TV and blinds is way more difficult than it should be. I have a suitcase that folds so no where in the room to store it once it is open.

    Bed was big and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    2nd great stay @ the CitizenM near Amsterdam Zuid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy bed, great blinds ! and the amazingly comfortable Eames armchairs in the lobby, coupled w/ good Wifi and the best G&T from the bar. last but not least, the always friendly and helpful staff. All in all a really great 2nd stay and looking forward to many more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    I did not like the Idea of entering the room through the...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the Idea of entering the room through the bathroom. The rooms are tooooop small no Place to store ones clothes, you Walk on top of each other.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Good upper-mid budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The computer based check-in was very off-putting, even though the staff were extra friendly and helpful. I really didn't like it and would prefer to have more staff. The bedrooms are rather small and cramped.

    Excellent staff, really friendly and helpful. Good food for breakfast and a reasonable range for dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    FABULOUS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything about this hotel, I will definitely recommend it, and go back anytime.

    Is there room for 6 star? The staff is with a big smile & efficient, the room with an amazing set up, the only thing I would give less star is the choices for breakfast, this could be improved.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Good as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No answer from the staff to print plane tickets (we had to ask three times). Same for the cab (but it was for a very very early departure). It can happens during high-season, last time we came it was easy to get free access to print the documents by ourselves.

    Nice as usual. Not perfect with some things to improve (nothing dramatic) but quiet good. We'll definitely come back here. Easy to come by train, shuttle or cab from the aiport, near to the places of Amsterdam (Museumplein, Vondelpark, Rijks Museum, Van Gogh Museum...) by tram or walking. CanteenM was very good as usual.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Wow! This was a great experience with self check in and out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wow! This was a great experience with self check in and out system and smart control of room. Interior was cool and very well thought out. Location is also very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    The bed is large and very comfortable, the room is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is for adults, not for young kids. My 6 y.o. daughter had to jump on the bed, it was too high from her. She had a hard time brushing her teeth as the washbasin was too high as well and there was no chair to climb on. Other than that we had a pleasant stay.

    The bed is large and very comfortable, the room is very clean, modern design. The location is great, 5 min walk from the train station that is, in turn, 5 min away from the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Almost perfect for young dynamic people looking to do a short city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Insonorisation wasn't always great. The toilets in the room don't offer enough privacy (Neither for the person inside nor outside)

    Hotel room was really design and clean, it was almost perfect. The tablet allowing to control everything is clearly great. Good movie catalog also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all

    The hotel is very modern, comfortable and clean. The room is not very big but has everything that is necessary. The staff is very nice and helpful. The lobby is very convenient - you can comfortably wait there. The storage room allows to leave there you luggage, spend a day in the city and then come back, pick up your bags and go straight to the airport. The location is convenient: Zuid station is very close and you can go in 7 minutes to the airport or 20 minutes to the center. I stayed there 3 times already.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff on arrival. Lounge and eating areas were comfortable and functional with interesting features, ornaments and books to look at

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    The team's exceptional attitude creates a good atmosphere and compensates for everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room is small with no cupboard and only one chair and most importantly everything is operated by tablet so not everybody is capable to operate it. This hotel is perfect for single and young couple.

    Excellent hotel friendly and helpful staff and perfect location, excellent shower. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Modern hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are too small, was difficult to stay with a child as others can see you when you are in the toilet or shower!M

    Very friendly staff. Excellent location next to conference centre and tram line nearby. Nice atmosphere in hotel. Breakfast was tasty but not huge variety. Modern design. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being a design hotel, it takes time to adjust to the type of room (especially to the toilet in the middle of the room). I didn't find everything as comfortable as I would've liked. The hotel overall is fine but I would recommend it to younger people.

    The staff was extremely helpful and gave us all the information we needed. The location is great, it's both close to the centre and to tram stop and train station. The shower in the room was great and same for the view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Great facilities but maybe more privacy for the bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet and shower gave little privacy was fine for myself and my partner but probably not great if you were traveling with friends or on a first romantic break!

    Ipad in the room are awesome, also the lighting and chosing your mood. Loads of films to watch on demand for free!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Easy, funky and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great really and super easy. Coffee was good too!

    The room smelt quite strongly of fragrance - which was nice but a little overwhelming. I asked a staff member about it in the morning and she was able to have housekeeping make it smell more neutral. It was super efficient and easy and friendly too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Helpful staff but too busy, there should be more staff...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price for that tiny room :/ and breakfast was not included . No refundable- at first,they said refundable but for a spesific date.

    Helpful staff but too busy, there should be more staff available to help. Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Very conveniently located, close to the WTC and the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and showers are incorporated into the room instead of being a separate area as in traditional hotels. It is a bit awkward if sharing the room with someone. Not my favorite setup.

    Very conveniently located, close to the WTC and the convention center. The metro station is just 5 minutes walking distance and the tram to the city center is just across the street. The bed is confortable, the room is clean and quiet. Nice lounge area in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Not what I expected, services not adequate, not recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV did not work, the room is extremely small, no place to hang clothes for 2 persons, room amenities really basic.

    The bed was very comfortable, the ligths in the room also amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Practical venue
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally situated for RAI, easy check-in and out, really helpful and friendly staff, food and drink available round the clock, great WiFi, lovely lounge area in which to work and socialise, super comfy beds, rooms with great sound proofing and quiet air conditioning, excellent in-room entertainment. Easy to get into central Amsterdam from hotel on no 5 tram though it is close to plenty of shops, bars and restaurants, and opposite a lovely park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    We loved our stay here and would highly recommend, will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!

    We loved our stay here and would highly recommend, will definitely be staying again when we return to Amsterdam, the staff are so great, very friendly and more than happy to help with anything. Modern and very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, modern hotel to rest my head for a couple of days of business meetings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The in-room shower made the room smell musty when the doors were open (which is needed to stop the room feeling too small), and the sink was a bit smelly.

    Staff were very accommodating. Due to an unexpected extension to my stay, I needed some laundry washed same day, which they ran through their housekeeping wash for me. Most kind! Hotel had a very modern vibe to it, great in-room facilities controlled by iPad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Book definitely of you are a single professional. I presume that's the target population of this hot
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouls suggest to book a room there when you are alsone, if you are a couple who knows each other for years and years or family-but in any case you should be able to feel comfortable to stay in the room if the other person wants to use the toilet. As I travelled with a colleague and we stayed in the same room ,it felt not very comfortable at tines as it was a double bed not a twin and also one of us at times needed to leave the room so the other can use comfortable the bathroom as a curtain only separated the two. Also the glass around the toilet seat and the shower was not very firm so u could still see the shadow of the other person when using the toilet.

    Great location for the conference at RAI and great communication with the city centre. Great staff..very friendly and we had extra pillows when asked for it. Wi fi was brilliant everywhere and we stayed on the 5th floor. We haven't tried food there so unable to comment but looked very nice-maybe next time. Great features and facilities otherwise as an ipad exists in every room. There are plwnty of movies and music collection and there is also a way to connect you one ipad..computer to the tv screen. A real smart room.. Jjust felt uncomfortable as bathroom is not really separated with the bedroom area. Great for single professionals I would say. Rooms were clean overall but not exceptional. There is room for improvement there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.5
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet pod in bedroom-not at all private!!!

    Very friendly relaxed atmosphere Staff great and very helpful Only 2 minutes from tram where you could access everywhere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Cool and friendly hotel. Didn't like the room as much.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really don't like the toilet and shower in the middle of the room. And found the iPad room controls confusing.

    Friendly and helpful staff, cool and fun vibe. Very handy for the RAI and next to a beautiful park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    This hotel has a different proposal and deliveries it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had issues with my TV (noisy even when turned off), someone came to try to fix it, but as it was already late, I asked to move to another room. In the new room the TV was not making noises, but still not working properly (Movies suddenly stopping and not continuing anymore).

    This hotel has a different proposal and deliveries it. The room is very high tech, even though it is small you can’t really feel like this. The staff is always read to help. And in my last day they offered a take away breakfast as I was leaving before it started.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Great trendy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little bit hard.

    Really cool trendy hotel. Room facilities were controlled by an ipad. Great common areas. A few minutes walk to a tram that will take you to the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Very hip and modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from the center but its 2 mins walking from the tram stop so still very good.

    The room was very clean, great bed and pillows. Entertainment was good as well, lots of latest movies. The bathroom was very interesting but amazing with different mood lighting. And almost everything can be controlled thru the ipad provided. Great bar as well, there's even a microwave you can use. Will definitely come back here and even my 2 friends who i booked another room for were very happy with their stay. Thank you to Ben for helping us with to check in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    They never have bycicles available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They never have bycicles available. I guess they only have 4 and everytime I asked for one they said they don't have anymore available and suggested me to go rent one from a store 10 mins walking distance away. The price to rent a bike there was 17.5 eur/day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was woken up with the shower dripping and the toilet would run. Had to fiddle with the flush. That's the only negatives and would just need basic maintenance.

    Very nice hotel. Would now look to stay in citizen M hotels when I can.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    The room design was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in there was tissue inside the toilet bowl. The bed was not made up properly everyday. The sheets were not properly tucked in

    The room design was great. Staff were friendly, alert and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Great stay as a couple for a few days to make a citytrip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff couldn't speak Dutch. No refrigerator or minibar in the room. There are almost no electricity sockets in the room to charge a laptop or phone.

    Nice innovative concept. Cool modern rooms wich are very quiet. The controls with the tablet in the room is amazing. Great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    A unique experiance and a stunning surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its very convenient to get to the airport but quite far from the main tourist areas, I would suggest that you take the tram (it costs Euro 3 a trip, if you stay a bit longer its worth getting an OV Chipkaart).

    An unique experience, and if you told me upfront about the concept I would have never booked there! I’m so glad I did. Super-compact rooms and glorious common spaces with a real sense of community! I’m not someone hanging around in a pub – but here, I spent at least two hour every night, footsore upon my return from doing touristy things, speaking to the awesome staff or other travellers. Exquisitely designed with modern finishes and super tech (everything in your room is controlled from the in-room I pad!) Please do try a Citizen M at least once, if it’s not for you, it’s not for you. I certainly will return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    perfect place, really nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if we have to say something is the volume of the TV. we watched different movies with the volume at the max and sometimes was difficult to hear well the sound. We understand that probably is the max permitted to avoid sounds to other rooms. Is just and observation, not a bad thing If someone expects to be at the center of the canals this place is not for you, although with a nice walk you reach the center in 30 min or with the tram or bus in few minutes. We liked the area because was quiet and far from tourists but is not the center

    we loved the vibe from the very first moment, Diego and Marta were super friendly with us and we felt like staying in a place with friends. The room was really nice, little but perfect. We loved the iPad with all the things that you could do with that. Control the lights, tv, curtains, etc. Amazing. Super modern

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Modern and Urban hotel with high tech rooms and fittings. Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly bar/bistro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern and urban hotel with high quality fittings in the room, wc and shower in spacious capsules that open and close and are part of the room. Bar / bistro with generous opening hours, and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Fab! We’ll be back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Realising we could have both slept with heads to the window and avoided one scrambling over the other to get out of bed at night.A handy tip for any couples not of the same gargantuan heights as our lovely Dutch hosts!

    Splendidly comfy bed; compact room but with all you needed to hand - fab small space design.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff excellent, breakfast very good, room comfortable, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not sure the wall to wall bed is my thing. Means climbing over the bed (and your partner) to get to the, 'facilities,' which may or may not be everyone's idea of fun. At 3am.

    Staff excellent, breakfast very good, room comfortable, very close to tram network for central Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is quite expensive for Amsterdam. The view outside the window is not very inspiring as you mostly see a construction site.

    Excellent hi tech style design. Unusually transparent shower looks interesting. The service and cleanliness deserve a high five!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Seriously amazing! I was so impressed with the wonderful service I was provided by the CitizenM staff. Truly felt taken care of half way across the world. I even missed my outgoing flight, they helped me book another one and made sure I ate breakfast, and then called my room to ensure I didn't miss the next flight. So kind, so helpful, so welcoming. I will definitely be staying here every time I go to Amsterdam, and now I want to try the other CitizenM's across the globe!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel stay completely exceeded my expectations. Everything was perfect ! Location couldn’t be better. 7 minute train journey from the airport, with a tram across the street with a direct tram like to the city centre. Rooms were perfectly comfortable and enjoyable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Okeish stay. Will not use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air supply/air-conditioning system was faulty and the machinery was pumping cold air into our room. The setpoint was 25 degrees but the temperature was only around 22 or 23 degrees. The problem was reported twice but friendly staff only suggetsed increding the setpoint. This was not good enough as my wife is pregnant and it even difficult to take a shower due to cold air coming from the ceiling vent.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Very modern hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is super modern and staff very friendly. The lounge area is beautifully decorated with tv and computer areas and big couches. The bed is awesomely big and comfy! :) There's no wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom area, so if you are not very intimate with the person your travelling with, I wouldn't recommend staying in the same bedroom (I'm not sure if they have rooms with different layout). The hotel is about 7 min walk to the Zuid Metro + Train station, which is 9 stations away from the Centraal Station (M51 metro), and 6 min away from the Airport by train. There's a 24h bar/snack bar, which is very helpful. Good selection of food (sandwiches, salads) and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The room was awesome.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower kept leaking so we had to clean the floor multiple times with our clothes being soaked as result.

    The room was awesome. You could control almost anything with the iPad and the design was just beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    -Very close to Amsterdam Zuid station, so easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Very expensive - No cash payments

    -Very close to Amsterdam Zuid station, so easy access to everywhere. it's only 3 minutes walking and you may find a couple of supermarkets, cafe, and restaurants over there. -With a couple of minutes walking, Beatrix park is available that is a perfect place with a good restaurant. -The perfect new lighting and media system in the room. - Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just wish I could stay for free lol :)

    Everything! It was my third time staying. I visit every year for my birthday. The location is great, the staff are always friendly & helpful. Always clean & comfortable. I would recommend to anyone :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    That's the second time that we stay in this hotel and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although ok, the breakfast could be a little bit more diversified.

    That's the second time that we stay in this hotel and most definitely not the last time. It is very conveniently located: well connected to public transport (one train station away from the Schiphol Airport and 15-minute away from the city centre by tram); very quite area (away from the city noise and tourist-free); right across a very nice park and 5-minute away from RAI. The staff is always smiling, very helpful and prompt. There is a sort of very positive vibe that comes from both interior design, friendly attitude of the stuff, and quietness of the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    The lobby is perfect - the variety of seats and tables and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite being perfectly insulated, having the restroom in the middle of the suite is still awkward. Almost as much as the shower with a clean and transparent wall...

    The lobby is perfect - the variety of seats and tables and their configurations enable discussions of any kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Just love this place :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the simplicity of it all - I'm quite independent by nature, so frankly, self management is my thing... the super helpful humans were lovely though :) I like your concept too - again, compact and succint! Love it! If only you were a little cheaper... sigh ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    The bed was very comfy and the flow of water from the shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very over priced for what it was, no kettle in the room & room was very cramped

    The bed was very comfy and the flow of water from the shower was strong

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, can walk to most things within 20 minutes,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were so small! They have everything you need, but I could barely roll my suitcase past the bed and wall

    Good location, can walk to most things within 20 minutes, lobby really pretty, rain shower really nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent option for a speedy transfer to Shiphol Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our first night, it remained cold in the room even after we had tried to adjust the temperature.

    Wide and comfy bed. Good choice of movie entertainment. Excellent position next to Zuid Metro/Train Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Loved it so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very unique and staff were more than friendly and helpful. The room - AMAZING. Me and my boyfriend LOVED it. You can pretty much control everything with the iPad; lights, blinds, tv, channels, alarms, it even shows nearby restaurants and things to do! Its also a literal 3 minute walk to the tram stop which takes you to Centraal station in under 15mins! We love to walk and the walk was no more than 40 mins with so much beauty and peace to see! Our flight was at 7pm so late check out (4pm) was amazing! Didn't try the breakfast as we are not early birds, and Dunkin Doughnuts was more appreciated! There is a thin curtain which tries to separate the toilet and shower as its all in one space. Overall, hotel was edgy and cool, location was great and THE BEST IS HUGE!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    I would stay at this hotel again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The iPad controls in the room didn't respond very well, blinds had a mind of there own, alarm settings a bit hit and miss. stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and the previous pads that were used worked faultlessly changing light settings, adjusting blinds etc.

    All very clean and tidy, very helpful staff nothing was too much trouble for them and they are an asset to the company, at breakfast liked the strawberry cakes with pistachio nuts, I had a different breakfast every day because of the selection available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Would like to come back in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could be more variant . Power system of the whole bar area was under renovating during my stay, so I had to eat with only candle light.

    excellent facilities. most of stuff are very kind and helping (except one girl is obviously arrogant).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall okey, staff made it better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms can be updated a little bit, spots on the curtain and the bathroom floor, they could also use new bedsheets.

    The staff were so friendly, all tee staff that worked the bar went out of their way every time we ordered!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, 20min tram ride to the Centre of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and toilet design in the middle of the room and not like other CitizenM’s I have stayed at. It’s clever however personally though I found it in the way.

    Quiet, 20min tram ride to the Centre of Amsterdam

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    still my preferred hotel in amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the toilet flushing system was not functioning too well....... the water will flow non stop. i figured the trick to stop the water from flowing so did not inform the housekeeping staff.

    The comfortable bed, the ipad which controls everything, easy check in process. allowed me early check in as they had rooms available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    this hotel is what you're expecting when you visit Amsterdam (wierd and unusual)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 'toilet place' is not cosy ((

    The hotel is really unusual. I liked the lobby area, the staff, checking-in and -out. The mood lights are nice. The train station, underground, tram are very close. The hotel is in about half an hour walk from the museums. The room is very clean. But it's definitely not for staying with children. Oh, and I liked the notes on the soap and shampoo bottles, they are funny

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing room(iper technology, very clean and king size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total absence of intimacy on the wc.😂 Far from the city center but is very easy to reach it with the transports(next to the hotel)

    Amazing room(iper technology, very clean and king size bed❤️), kind receptionists, big shower, fast check-in and check-out, very nice hall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the staff pulled it out of the bag and added lovely touches to celebrate my partners birthday. Easy to get into town but quiet where the hotel is so can get good nights sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Everything could not say a bad thing about it Highly...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s isn’t anything I didn’t like could not fault this hotel what so ever

    Everything could not say a bad thing about it Highly recommend 5 star service I will be staying there again when I go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    As always almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only drawback is maybe the location, it is not that you are surrounded by things to do, restaurants & shops. But with the "tram", you are within 10min in the city centre. But... this disadvantage is of course advantage for car parking :-)

    Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Highly recommended for younger, single travelers, not so great for older couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room with interesting but not very efficient 'high-tech' design. Very little room to move around or store anything and no toilet/ shower privacy, therefore better suited for single traveler than for a couple. Car parking around hotel is a problem (nearby World Trade Center advertises 24/7 parking garage, but proved practically inaccessible outside office hours and charges 60 Euro/ 24 hours).

    Convenient Amsterdam South location, near Tramline 5 (15 minutes to city centre) and convenient for airport (took us 20-25 minutes total to Schiphol airport, including walk from hotel to Amsterdam Zuid railway station, buy tickets at vending machine, and 5-minute train ride).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful, always smiling and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is in the room and isn’t sound proof. I think I just expected that as it was going to be in the room. Probably better for single people travelling.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, always smiling and on hand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Easy check in, nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Phone didn't work in the room and the toilet was broken as once flushed it would get stuck and keep filtering the water. Irritating at night when you want to go back to sleep!

    Staff were really attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    How a hotel should be run
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at this hotel are a model for how all hotel staff should be. They were friendly and engaged without seeming "fake" and could not do enough to help you. Smooth easy self check in and out with staff on hand if you have any issues. The close proximity (less than 200m) of one of the main tram lines into the centre of Amsterdam make this a superb base if you aren't out partying till post 1 AM when the trams have stopped, as there is a tram every ten minutes. Just a short 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Zuid station which is only ten minutes from Amsterdam Schipol on the train. Staff were keen to help with transportation on the last day as we had a late flight out and if we were just going one way into the city they advised good options for travel cards, etc. I will definitely stay here again on my next Amsterdam trip! One point to note is that the rooms may not be to everybody's taste as they feel like box-type modules but to me they are fine and functional but some people may not like the bed where one person may have to crawl over their partner to access the rest of the room - again not a problem for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and great location right next to tram stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to make a cup of tea in my room. But was always able to buy one at the bar.

    Concept of the whole place. Different from the normal motel. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    location, bed, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is not addressed to couples, as the toilet is in the middle of the room with a "wall" made of glass...almost see-through... no window inside the room and too much expensive for what it offered.

    location, bed, facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    As Free as a Citizen should be. Great Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to complain or dislike. Always a pleasure staying there.

    I could use my China Union Pay debit card to pay for the stay. That was really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, good location, worth to pay for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could be a bit bigger. Also separating the toilet in the room a bit more would be good.

    Great staff, good location, worth to pay for breakfast. Ipad to control the room was awsome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean, quiet, new, very comfy bed, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not good for people who dont know each other because bed, toilet and shower is in one room.

    Clean, quiet, new, very comfy bed, great breakfast. Everything is controlled by tablet. Location is great because it is 1 minute walk to tram and you got 20 minutes by tram to Centraal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Great friendly staff who’s always there to support our needs...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friendly staff who’s always there to support our needs especially Tudor, he’s such a great help and very knowledgeable to share with me what to do in Amsterdam , providing me with Maps, direction and how to commute since this is my very first trip to Amsterdam . He is very patient and had great communication skills - hope he will be a fine manager soon 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and the staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many comfortable chairs to sit on in the lounge area . They were working on it so the area was blocked off.

    The bed , the shower , cleanliness and having fresh coffee from the Bar area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location, great staff, loved the smart room (I say brilliant); happy to be a citizen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the lack of option for a two-bed room for me and my female coworker-friend.

    The bed was amazing; an extra large king - but sandwiched between two walls. Not sure if there were any rooms with separated beds, but the king worked for me and a friend. The ambassadors were friendly and helpful. The canteen and breakfasts and dinners were great and open 24/7. The coffee offerings at all hours were perfect. I loved the smartness of the room, a welcome surprise. Recommend all visit a citizenM hotel to see how a customer should be treated! Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse citizenM Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: