Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Resort Citta Romana

Parkweg 1, 3221 LV Hellevoetsluis, Netherlands

#3 of 5 hotels in Hellevoetsluis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 309 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre Doppio (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house needs a make-over. New paint would be needed, carpets in bedrooms in this day and age I personally find a no-go, wardrobe only has one shelf so if you stay for a week you still live out of suitcase. Gas-cooker which I find dangerous with children, washing machine and dish-washer very old (but still handy to have). Spider-webs were all around the place, even though the rest was clean. Low water pressure in the shower. There was not a proper shop on site like advertised. The shop was a small room adjacent to restaurant where you could get the very basics like bread and milk and another few bits and pieces. So if you arrive late or on a day the shops in town are closed make sure to bring all you need to cover 2 days. The beach that is supposed to be close by is not a beach, a local man descriped it as rather a lake. Water doesn't get much higher than you knees, so no swimming. Lovely beach in Rockanje though, enjoyed our day out there.

    The staff was very friendly, the food in the restaurant was good, the holiday park next door had indoor playground area which our kids (7,9 and 10 years old) enjoyed. The house and its garden were quite big. Washing machine and second fridge with freezer in the house. Equipment of the kitchen good enough for a holiday home (obviously you always miss sth when it's not your own kitchen ;-))

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The nearest beach is not good for bathing, you can only walk there. The nearest nice beach is in Rokanije. Though with a bike is not such a big problem.

    The place is very nice, we stayed ta a house overlooking the water and where were a lot of birds so amaizing! Very spacious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The weather. I don't think though that we can hold Citta Romana responsible for that one ;-)

    The house had everything we needed. It was set on the lake and we found it to be very comfortable. Could see the spiral staircase being an issue with small children or those with less mobility but this did not effect us (I believe they have other property configurations that would overcome this). The Park itself is well kept with amenities onsite and others close by. It was perfectly situated for us to explore South Holland and is only a couple of hours drive from Amsterdam. Had a lovely visit to a seal rescue centre and there were plenty of lovely historic towns to explore. The staff were always very friendly and polite. I would recommend Citta Romana to families or groups of friends

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday home Forum (6 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside the swimmingpool closes at 17:30 at the weekend the kids where not happy.

    A nice quiet park with good holidays houses to stay with your family. The bar and restaurant are good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home Castello (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location, great for walking and exploring local area and town of Hellevoetsluis. Staff friendly, helpful and informative. Accommodation very well appointed, most enjoyable return short-break.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home Castello (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -It wasnt very clean. There was a pot of very old tobacco in our room under the nightstand. It seems this was forgotten for at least a year ago. We were on our own, but imagine if kids saw this thing and went to play with it. -The store was very expensive -The appliances in the storage room with the washing machine, mirrors and extra fridge were dusty. -You get plenty of meat for the barbecue but i dont think it's worth the price. You're better off buying your own meat. -We were there for christmas and applied for the lazy sunday, but didnt get breakfast, because it was full. We offered to pick up the breakfast ourselves, but this was also not possible. We got a discount of 5 euros per person, but I think the breakfast is worth more than that....

    -I totally forgot that a bungalow is not like a hotel and that you need to bring your own soap and shampoo, but there is a small store on the location where you can buy soap etc. -You can order food on Thuisbezorgd.nl and they can bring it to your bungalow -It was definitely an adventure for two people in a four-person house. We build a pillowfort and used all the blankets -The BBQ for an extra 18 euros p/p was amazing, you just have to pay 50 euros deposit for the grill and you get it back if the grill is returned with no damage. -The house is very warm and uses floor heating, the warmth feels amazing against your feet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday home Forum (6 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist that greeted us in the evening, were superb and were helping us too. But unfortunately the employees reception in the morning they are not polite, and not friendly and their words with us dry and unwelcome us. We checked out of the resort and did not take advantage of the activities offered by the resort. We were frustrated and influenced by our children so much. Be aware there is no soap in the bathrooms and Champoa. There is also no air conditioning.

    The location is excellent. Good swimming pool. The breakfast is excellent and varied. Services near you.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A take away menu is available in each house. But when we called to place an order, they said that cannot fulfill it because it's too busy. If you place a menu in each house, you SHOULD expect a high demand in season and you SHOULD be prepared for it. Given that there are not so many options to eat out in the area. We ended up eating in the hotel's restaurant, but the food & service were average. Also no toiletries and no hand towels are provided. Only 2 coffee filters were available in the kitchen.

    Big house in a nice area close to the beach. We enjoyed the garden with a view by the lake.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    - villa's amenities are a little bit shabby - breakfast can be better, only for emergency cases

    - the territory of the village - green, well-groomed, with rabbits, ducks and even deer (see once) - the villa is very well equipped with all household tools (though no hairdryer, that was rather strange) - authentic dutch atmosphere - the staff is friendly and helpful, kind of family attitude

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Holiday home Forum (6 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning outside of the housing; 10 Euro/bike/day:

    Location fine nearby Rokanje; Ouiet; Swimming pool; To reach 'Havana Bar / seaside at Rokanje you need at least bikes as parking space in front of this area is very rare after 11 am.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday home Forum (6 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would expect the house to be cleaner than our was. Looked like all that was done was bed sheets change. Definitely not clean enough for guests to move in.

    Great location, nice complex of holiday homes. The beach closest to the place is not breathtaking, but quite empty and had great water park for kids. Other, beautiful beaches 5 minutes drive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre Doppio (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or Aircons

    Location is the very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home Castello (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre Doppio (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to the beach. Not something they can fix but bring a bike or car.

    Really friendly/helpful staff. Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Group
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was OK

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi didn't work in the bedroom upstairs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home Castello (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property could do with better maintenance and be a little better presented

    Location and very quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Houses arepretty close to each other

    Friendly answered all questions before by phone, efficient, conform high expectations

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home Castello (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not for business trip

    Location, nice cottages, close to the beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home Canna Palustre Doppio (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice house and good service for any needs we had, would always come again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When I initially booked, I booked a house that had one bedroom downstairs so that my 86 year old mother would not need to climb the stairs. When we arrived we received a house with all bedrooms upstairs and were told that no other houses were available and that this is was what I ordered. Also, it was not clear to me how far this resort was from Amsterdam. It came up in my search for properties in or near Amsterdam and yet it is 2+ hours' drive away. I know, I should have checked google maps before booking...:)

    Getting a 3 bedroom house for a reasonable rate was great. The common area was comfy and roomy and the kitchen was well supplied with appliances and dishes. Having a powder room besides a full bathroom was also a plus. The cottage was pretty and had free parking by the cottage. It was perfect for the first night of jet lag, where three people could each sleep or not sleep and not disturb the others.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location to explore this part of the Netherlands. Good facilities, clean and comfortable accommodation. Excellent communication from the resort before our stay

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have been to citta romana many times. The whole site is now looking tired although still clean and tidy but both houses and site in need of re - vamp.

    Swim pool. Warm house. Close to hellevoetsluis.nice area for walking cycling.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not all rooms were heated, so some of us got sick. Not enough water pressure. Ordering bread for the morning did fail while the order was approved by mail.

    Nice Appartment with enough space for the Family and pretty landscape.Also Kitchen, TV, Wifi, Parking spot and the location was good.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation well equipped but furnishings looking a little tired in places.

    Situated in fantastic nature environment, set around lakeside. Facilities located centrally - good for couples or families.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All the basics were there, but no extra's. Linen and towels included, but no towel for the toilet or in the bathroom. Only one kitchenknife. No washing powder etc.

    Accomodation is spacious. Park is clean and tidy. Silent at night.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a really a great experience. The villa decor was a bit tired, but still comfortable and accommodating. We would still recommend this place to everyone.

    It was a very peaceful location. Each villa had a private garden with a view of the lake. It was perfect for our dog and for relaxing. We saw wildlife in our garden everyday, which was really perfect. There was a 10 min walk to a small beach, and the surrounding area was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Local area appears to cater for younger children (under 12s), quite a remote location with limited on site shop and basic indoor pool.

    Lovely quiet community estate with central reception/restaurant hub. Nice houses with cable TV and wifi. Approx 90mins from Amsterdam and 30mins from Rotterdam enough local attractions to keep you busy including the excellent Rotterdam Zoo.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The resort is so beautiful. It feels like you are living inside a fairy tale. Every villa has a beautiful lawn with a small river with ducks. The living room is very nice and comfortable, and the kitchen is fully equipped. There is also a washing machine, a dryer and a freezer. You can park your car right next to the villa.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It could have been a bit cleaner -- perhaps freshened up as there were a few cobwebs and spiders about; however, these were minor inconveniences. The only real negative is that there are few windows that open in the house -- the doors all open, but as we have dogs, it was difficult to get air moving through without having the dogs on leash. Next time we come, we will bring baby gates to keep the dogs in. Again, just something to know if you travel with pets.

    The house and location was fantastic -- precisely as described.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very little to do on site, and they still allow smoking in parts of the bar, so rarely used. Shop tiny

    Quite, nice houses although some of the equipment a bit tied.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had problems with the heating and warm water supply. We asked for help but the result was not satisfying. The reception is only open during daytime

    Spacious and clean

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just 2 bad things about it. It's far! Really dificult to go by your own on public transports, but if you have your own car and gps it will take you right there! 2nd thing, they will not give you the wifi password unless you ask or guess (that's what I did)

    Well I found this place by chance here at Booking.com, and it came to be a great surprise! In general we liked everything! It's kind of a "private" rural city, with lots of "small houses" that they will rent individually. It's very comfortable, clean and with great views. There is a lake surrounding the houses and a near beach, so it's quite impossible not to like it!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I did not like that there was no heating in one of the bedrooms + a miss understanding from the staff and only gave us a rooms for 4 people.one of the couples needed to sleep separate. But apart from that it was quite ok. And the hour of check out was a bit early if you ask me.. you only had from 08:00 until 10:00 to check out...

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    everything!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Was a lovely, clean apartment. Well positioned close to the beach, walks and Rotterdam centre 30 mins away. Heated swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bike rental was to much

    all was good will def visit again

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Group

    Carpeting upstairs should be replaced.

    Quiet, peaceful!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very spacious property, with a drive for the car and space in the garden for a BBQ and the supermarket isn't too far away to stock up on goods.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was just a short walk from the beach which was great.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Spacious and quiet

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great thatched roof cottages, plenty of space and lovely private outside space

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Central heating

    Almost everything

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed are not comfortable and all single beds.

    Are is nice. House is large.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    In house everything you need. Nice calm place.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Resort Citta Romana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: