Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Amsterdam 3 stars

Prins Hendrikkade 130, Amsterdam City Centre, 1011 AP Amsterdam, Netherlands

#220 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3103 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Nice room, clean and neat. The breakfast was great, they refilled with more food up until the very end which was great if you’re a late sleeper. The staff was very helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Our stay was very relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room was meant to have air conditioning but there was non in sight, a fan was provided which kinda did the job, stairs to the upper floors are very very steep and the lift is very very small...but once again it did the job.

    The hotel was clean, beds were comfy and the breakfast included was great. The bathroom was very clean, apart from a couple of lose fixtures everything worked perfectly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    Nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 302 too tight and no curtain for the windo in the floor wich allow for light to enter and didn't make me sleep and the cuppord is too small for clothes

    Nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Lovely weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room that was assigned first was nothing like "Superior", very bad air (no option for opening the window), half basement, basic bathroom. I missed some air conditioning in the rooms as it became very hot during the day and the room didn't cool down during the night. Luckily during our stay, the nights were not too hot so we could open a window (in the second room). The room had windows to the courtyard, so the noise was not bad. Toiletries were "built in", I missed the separated shampoo and soap.

    Nice boutique hotel in Amsterdam city center. Feels cosy, breakfast is average - fresh pastry, bread, toaster, hard boiled eggs, jam, peanut butter, Nutella available. We liked the early start of breakfast as well (7:30). Good location to spend time around the city. Service is good, peaceful at the time of our stay (beginning of July). Soft towels and slippers provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    Worst hotel you can find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management of this hotel thinks that 3 years old child can sleep in between the twin beds of the parents and the small letters of the policy will cover them. Guys, your rooms are just not suitable for 2+1 groups! Stop misleading customers! In addition, first room we got was on the ground floor and its window was next to some kind of chimney filling the room with some kind of steam/smoke of unknown to hotel personal nature. After spending a night in this room and trying to find some air to breath, we demanded to change the room and got a room with a stron smell of paint. Bottom line - worst hotel we stayed in last 10 years

    Maybe there are some advantages but all negated by hotel's quality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    great localisation, nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some people with disabilities could have probles with stairs or low ceilling

    helpful and friendly hotel stuff, very good localisation, very clean room, good and fresh breakfast, safe luggage deposit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    I liked everything about the property the staff was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the property the staff was so helpful and nice. The room was modern and exceptionally clean we had a nice view from our window aswell. I also liked the location it was about a 5 minute walk from the station and 10 min walk from dam square. I’m so happy with the hotel and we would defiantly come back in the future. Breakfast was really nice aswell.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    The stay was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a half basement, accessible by steep stairs, but the staff helped us (heavy luggage).

    The room was nicely furnished, good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Bed comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more generous feel with the little things e.g fridge....tea bags

    Bed comfy lovely open window even though looking in Location excellent Breakfast v good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Lovely stay and would definitely return to City hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing plenty of space, bed was very comfy, bathroom was spacious they only thing that wasn’t good was the view it was of a brick wall but that did not bother us as the room itself was great 👍 hotel is close to the train st and only 5 minutes walk to the red light district, amazing location as very close to everything but also not to close as it was nice and quiet in the evening. Reception staff were great 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stairs, elevator, not enough key cards in the hotel we had to use the keys but didn't work the lights, the manager had to pass his card for us.

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    The property is in a really good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got charged £300 even though booking.com clearly stated it was £280 including tax fees therefore this is pretty disappointing !

    The property is in a really good location! We paid for a superior double room which was lovely, had a bath and a shower as well as a TV and opening windows. The TV signal was pretty poor therefore we didn’t really use it however it was still good. The hotel breakfast was simple and nice. There was staff at the reception 24/7 which was good as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value for Money and Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View, Room Height.

    Was pleasant stay, good value for money, clean and staff friendly and helpful. Didn't seem to be many rooms with nice views and wouldn't suggest staying if your a tall person. But good position not far from train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast ok, staff was nice and loation is great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy: no A/C so had to keep the window open and the other room in the interior backyard were all smoking pot and cigarette so our room was full of smoke in the middle of the night. We told the staff amd they tried to help but it dod not change anything. Matress was like a sponge very unconfortable.Spiders in the room. We did not sleep for 4 nights.

    Breakfast ok, staff was nice and loation is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the water upstairs, every time someone flushed the toilet or took a shower we could hear the water. Quite annoying, as people started getting up from 5 in the morning.

    Excellent hotel, excellent location. Staff are very kind and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Only good thing was relatively close to centraal, max 10 min...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic rooms but expensive. No AC - i have sweated 20 times during the night. From window you can see inside of hotel.

    Only good thing was relatively close to centraal, max 10 min walking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    #1 Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was that there was no AC.

    This hotel was a hidden gem. From the moment of arrival the staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was small but comfortable. Anything we needed they were very attentive to us. Super clean. Breakfast was perfect and a great bonus. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic large room (superior quad room) overlooking the canal. Huge windows so lovely and bright. Very comfy beds. Great continental breakfast. We loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Good for one night stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a 15min walking distance from central station, and there are stairs at the hotel entrance and corridor, not easy if you carry bulky luggage. Food spread is so so but staffs are diligent and friendly.

    The room is spacious and filled with furnitures. The only hotel room that is spacious enough to fit a bed, a desk, a coffee table, a Long sofa and a wardrobe. Sofa is a pleasant surprise!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was in a great location. Close enough to walk to all the main attractions. The Staff were friendly and very helpful. Our triple room was very spacious and very clean. Can’t fault the Hotel or Staff at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a short stay. You won’t spend much time in the room anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess that’s Amsterdam in general but value for money is poor. We paid 170€ for a dark crammed room in the basement that was supposed to be superior standard. Breakfast was also average at best.

    Good location if you’re looking for walkable distance from Central Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Uncomfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The majority of the twin bed rooms are in the basement Although I was later offered a double bed room on the ground floor it was facing a yard with three tall walls and the plaster on the walls peeling off. One dares not draw the curtain.

    Near to Central Railway Station. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Could so easily have been a 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not a good location in the hotel., i.e. in the basement with a small window at pavement level. It was only cleaned once in our 3 night/4 day stay and there was a strong sewerage smell of which the management had to be called. It was rectified though but lingered for a while.

    Very helpful staff and very clean. The sewerage complaint was addressed immediately. Location was within walking distance of centraal station and within easy reach of all Amsterdam had to offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Good room for a short stay in the very center of Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't expect to get a room in the souterrain (basement), but it still had windows that could be opened. The room was a bit small (but not too small) and a bit too warm (due to hot weather).

    The location is perfect, very close to Amsterdam Central station. The room was silent. Personnel was friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Budget but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, some pipe was clicking most of the time, wouldn’t recommend the rooms in the cellar

    We stopped here on our road trip theough Germany. Chose the hotel for llcation and price. We had rooms in the cellar and it was very noisy. Rooms were large but we didn’t get to sleep before midnight and woke up before seven because of the noise. The room was also very hot and we couldn’t leave the window open due to the noise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the evening, no bed for the little one, kept up all night by the people above as the is no sound proofing at all, we were down some really steep stairs consodering we had a child and lots of suitcases this was not good. The spare pillow was dirty and the floor was disgusting

    Big bed that was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, comfortable hotel with good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be handy to have shelves & towel rails in the bathroom. Coffee was bitter and the jam was not good

    Nice quiet room at the back of the hotel; really helpful staff; comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the single room. You shouldn’t be taller than 170cm. The sealing is very low. The size of the room was small, as announced so no surprise and no disappointment about it.

    Nice old building. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Good experience, reasonable price in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think they could include more fruits and vegetables in the breakfast. My room had almost no natural light, and poor ilumination.

    The location is perfect, in the heart of Amsterdam. The check in was easy and fast, the staff is kind. The breakfast is good. The room is clean. The bath has a good size. Amsterdam is an expensive city, so the hotel has a reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A relaxing place to stay with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had 2 single mattresses pushed together so the kept coming apart during the night

    A very good value hotel, beautiful breakfast , really lovely staff, really clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were allocated a room in the attic which required us to go up a very steep set of stairs. The bed in this room was also a bit uncomfortable.

    Great location and staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was also great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Staff and Breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small. Hear people in next room. Very noisy. King Single mattress on a single base and kept sliding off. Would look elsewhere next time.

    Staff and Breakfast good. Close to main attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet wasn't working properly. Breakfast is not very variated or tasty.

    Location is good, rooms are a bit small but just enough for a couple of days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location: in the centre of the city, but away from all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location: in the centre of the city, but away from all the crowds. The train station is just a short walk away. Cozy room with a good sized shower. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was too small. We have paid for a superior budget room but it wasn’t, so we are not satisfied of that.

    Good location close to the city center and everything you want to visit. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice for the price, location and great Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit small...and lack of lift to top floors made it cumbersome to carry bags and stroller.

    The Staff were very helpful and the location is great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about the property!

    Location was brilliant, 10 minute walk from the red light district. Room was cleaned daily with fresh bedding and towels. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    The location was excellent and the room was good size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have had more selection and the dining room was a bit small for the number of people

    The location was excellent and the room was good size (superior).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money - clean, good location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on top floor had a glass window instead of a wall. Although privacy ensured thanks to a curtain sound proofing wasn’t great.

    One of the best breakfasts I have had in Amsterdam. Good location - 5 mins from New Market Sq and the Central Station. Room was spotless.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Had to find somewhere to stay after our airbnb falling through, this was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been until a bit later, im not an early bird and missed it every day!

    Great location, used the maps in reception and walked everywhere. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    I liked the hotel very much I will recommend it to my daughter when she is comming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a single ròom there wasn't a space to move to the sitting area I have to hop on the bed

    The staff & the breakfast was very good & fresh

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was amazing and very comfort while away. Would definitely return :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room needs a little care in some small areas but nothing major that made any difference to our stay (Still love this hotel)

    easy check-in, great advise when asked for help and very good location. easy to get from airport on the train to central station, short walk to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Recommend and will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a dressing gown

    The room was beautiful and the bed was amazing. Didn’t want to get up... breakfast really nice too - would definitely go back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff & ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is ideal,it's beside the central station for all transport and it's only 10 minutes walk to Dam square. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is lovely too. We stayed there for 3 nights and we loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.6
    Apart for the ANTS
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room on waking in the morning was full of Ants needs to be fumigated when I informed reception the girl on duty she was not very concerned even when I showed her a video of them and I also said I would not recommend to any of my colleagues

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very nice, situated near the central station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very nice, situated near the central station and the red light district. All of the attraction are easily reached. The staff is kind, polite and always smiling, willing to help you and friendly. Great bed: it was the most comfortable one we slept on. Nice breakfast, too! Would totally recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    I had a really good 3 night. Deffinitely recommend it. Will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much variety of breakfast however what was there was really nice.

    Very good location. Easy to get to and in the centre of everything. Staff really friendly and would help with any questions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Liked the location, and the beds where very comfortable, as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners going around so early in the morning waking you up at 830 when you’re due to check out not long after and have the day before you catch your flight. :(

    Liked the location, and the beds where very comfortable, as for the shower and bathroom was fab! Would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff in the hotel are so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Breakfast is too simple. 2. The television is out of function in my room. 3. When I use the toilet in my room to flush away poopoo, it will be flushed back in a few hours. So the room will smell so bad......

    Staff in the hotel are so friendly. Also, this hotel has elevator, so you can easily move your big luggage to your room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Better than 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is basically on the same floor level as the toilet, so the water will flood into the toilet. If you can spare a towel, you can mop it up afterwards. They have a bog standard shower gel provided which doesn't smell too nice, but no shampoo. Duvets were very thin and pillows weren't too plump, but with an excellent hot heater, that wasn't a problem.

    The moment you step into the hotel, you are met with the reception on the left and a bar straight ahead. The receptionists are friendly and suggested ways we could get about Amsterdam. The breakfast room could seat a lot of guests. The breakfast itself wasn't big but it was substantial continental. A range of pastries (lovely flaky croissants with Danish pastries) were served with the usual ham and cheddar slices, as well as tea and coffee. I got a room on the 3rd floor attic with a double bed. It was very spacious and the roof was very high up so there was no way we could bump our heads. The windows were very big and it looked out on surrounding neighbourhood attics. There is a heater which kept us warm all night, as well as a kettle and complimentary tea and coffee inside the hotel room. The rooms were cleaned to a good standard and everything was presentable. Along with a safe, alarmed hotel door, smoke alarm and free wifi, I felt very safe living in this hotel. I feel as though it is very good value for money and the best part? It's only 8 minutes walk away from Amsterdam Centraal train station and metres away from the Amsterdam city canals. Trams and buses also stop outside the hotel if you plan to explore further.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, but would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a vacuum cleaner standing in front of our room the full 3 days we stayed there. It was never used, as the dirt on the carpet stayed put. I also suspect the vacuum cleaner to be the source of an odor we smelt in the passage. The safe in our room was not bolted down. So anyone can just come ij and walk off with the safe. We opted to not use it. I reported it to reception, and they said I must report to the manager, otherwise it might not be prioritized. Never saw this person to report to. Breakfast, although good, could do with something warm too. Cold meats, cheese, eggs and fruit on below zero mornings gets a bit boring. I guess the kitchen size does not quite allow for bacon and eggs, but it would be nice. The stairs, as all in the Netherlands, is damn right scary. And the lift can only take 2 people without baggage, one with. Based on the location, this hotel is good value for money. Unfortunately, next time I would rather stay further away from Amsterdam Central and have a better hotel. In this price range there seem to be very few proper 3* hotels.

    The location was perfect. A brisk walk to just about anywhere touristy in Amsterdam. If not, close to the rail, tram and bus services. The hotel is easily reachable from Amsterdam train station. Lots of places to eat around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.0
    Basic don't stay in room B04 on ground floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny and my view was a wall ,bathroom was freezing ,couldn't swing a cat in the room ,plus my room had 2 steps down ,dangerous and I wasn't told at reception

    Closeness to central station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Our stay at the hotel was charming. Upon walking out, one is just blocks away from bustling cafes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only little "glitch" I noticed was that the front glass door to the hotel did not push in as one entered; instead, you had to step back and pull the door out. Not a big deal, but when you have a large suitcase (as I did), it was just a little bit of a tight, awkward space to open the door. It would be much easier for guests to be able to push right into the hotel if the door swung inward.

    The location of the hotel was important to us as well as the cleanliness of the room and facilities. They both met expectations, and in fact, the hotel was a quick 10-minute walk from the train station. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that the breakfast was fresh and plentiful with a large, charming dining room kept clean and well-lit (Forgot to mention, the croissants were delicious!) Another bonus was the very friendly staff at the front desk! They were outgoing and informative. We definitely want to come back to this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    To avoid the hotel due to unacceptable behavior of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rude staff enough to cancel the orher positive benefits of the hotel. Although I paid the breakfast, I could not get it, motivated by the fact that starts very late (7.30!!!) and at 7.15 we went down just to have a cup of coffee, without eating (at 7.20 making check-out and having to leave). Wanting to have just a coffee with just few minutes before the breakfast, we was stopped and apostrophe by a hotel representative, who at 7.15 took the vacuum cleaner in the hotel lobby (although the breakfast was not prepared). We gave up drinking a cup a coffee (repeat, it was not ready with 15 min before the breakfast opened) and we left to the maximum disappointment with such an uncivilized behaivor

    The central position of the hotel, the cleanliness and the comfort of the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean all the time and very helpful staff that do what they can to keep you happy. This is my 3rd time staying and I would definitely recommend to anyone staying as it is great value for money considering it’s only a 5-10 walk from major tourist points

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Liked the central location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with more of a selection for breakfast, plenty of pastried but not much in the line of hot meats.

    Liked the central location and friendly staff. Premises was well heated & clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    it was close to the main part of the city, so it was nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    in the one night stay, i hit my head on the low roof about 20 times, had to walk slouched through the room

    it was close to the main part of the city, so it was nice come and go and see alot of stuff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    3.8
    Nothing to like
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel with a tiny two person lift that only goes to the second floor. Needs a complete refurbishment! Dirty carpets and mattresses! Pictures are very misleading!

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Great value, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom of our room was freezing,not just cold but absolutely freezing! Actually had to wear my coat..

    Great location, very near central station, very friendly helpful staff and clean too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were awfully uncomfortable so we didn't get a proper sleep whilst we were there. Breakfast is very limited & basic.

    The hotel is 5 minute walk from Central station & 10 minute walk to Dam square so ideally located! You can buy attraction tickets at reception & this works out cheaper than paying on the door plus you can then join the fast track queue at Madam Tussauds!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    location,staff,clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at this hotel before on a pay at property basis, this time tho I had checked my account and the property took the money out. When I got there the reception asked for the money for room and I explained and showed my online banking to say I had paid. The reception then told me it was a holding fee which would go back into my account. The payment went back in 5 days later. It was lucky we take my cards and I had extra funds with us. I think you should be able to upgrade to later check in to as we arrived for one night at 11pm and had to be out the next morning

    location,staff,clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Convenient and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although our room was slightly on the small side, it was enough for two of us who didn't spend too much time at the hotel other than to sleep.

    Excellent central location & very welcoming staff that couldn't do enough for you. Rooms were clean and tidy, brilliant value for money! Cannot recommend enough - well done :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Loved my stay in Amsterdam always do great place friendly people and no how to throw a party
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find great location to get to most places within walking distances from hotel staff friendly and helpful rooms cleaned everyday defo stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    I ve been three night with my boyfriend, the hotel is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ve been three night with my boyfriend, the hotel is very clean, is near the Central station and the staff is kind. The breakfast is good and until 10 am. The last day you can also leave in a room the luggage and take them later. Price and quality ok 🖒

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing can’t wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can really say is there was no bin in the room only a small waste bin in the bathroom.

    Room was amazing stayed in room C12, spacious room and spotlessly clean, staff very helpful and grate location. Breakfast was plentiful, grate bar with some snacks available. Definitely one of the best hotels I’ve stayed in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Location was perfect, very close to all main attractions and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dusty, with foot prints on the ceiling:)

    Location was perfect, very close to all main attractions and about 500 meters from Central Station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Small rooms but very comfortable. Great wifi but a not so great bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom had no heating and was very cold! This was annoying as you don't want to be freezing while using the facilities. I ended up turning on the shower for a few minutes to create the right temperature but this would result in a fogged up mirror and water dripping from the exhaust vent, which was right above the toilet. Some kind of shelve to place toiletries would also be a nice addition.

    Free high speed internet was one of the biggest pluses compared to other hotels. Complimentary coffee and tea in the room was also a nice extra. Warm croissants straight from the oven were also much appreciated. The bed was surprisingly comfortable for a hotel bed and might just be one of the best I've slept in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, clean room, nice bed and amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A mini fridge would help

    Excellent breakfast, clean room, nice bed and amazing location. Special thanks to Rosalia for keeping our son happy during breakfast time

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Over priced but has its upsides
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very disappointing and the towels were hard. The rooms were small and cold.

    The mattresses were very comfy but the room was quite cold and very small.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Night time staff was a man didn't catch his name...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No space for a man to pee very tight and hair was all over my radiator otherwise great value for money

    Night time staff was a man didn't catch his name although his English isn't perfect he is VERY helpful hotels need more receptionist like this

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had a bit more choice but was overall good

    This hotel was excellent me and my partner stayed for 3 nights, it was spotless staff couldnt be any more helpfull, the location was excellent, breakfast was good and the prices in the hotel where very cheap would stay here again, my son is going in march and he will be stayong here, dam square a 5 min walk and everything else was a 5 or 10 min walk excellent value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms look differently in photos than in reality. The bed wasn't too much comfort, in my room was a twins beds with a double mattress and at every move will be a hole between bed. To value the quality of rooms and price is too high for what you receive.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Clean, modern hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on 3rd floor and you had to go outside to get to it once out of the lift. In addition the door of our room only just opened due to the small size and double bed in the way. This didn't seem to bother us however as room itself was really lovely and so clean.

    The hotel was in a prime location just 10 minutes walk from the station. Staff were friendly and the hotel itself was extremely clean and modernised. I would recommend for couples and friends to stay here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    staff, location, atmosphere, cleanness is amazing
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too pricy for what you get.. people screaming in the morning... the breakfast is basically cheap ham and cheese from a supermarket, put some love into it

    staff, location, atmosphere, cleanness is amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    - very good location, in walking distance (10-15 minutes) to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Some smell coming from the shower drainage, and not enough ventilation in the bathroom - you will need to go up or down few uncomfortable stairs - one elevator and it’s very small

    - very good location, in walking distance (10-15 minutes) to a lot of main important locations such as central station, red light district, restaurants, bars, sports bars, museums, and supermarkets - room was good size, bathroom with shower, and furniture at good condition - breakfast included in the price - very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse City Hotel Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: