Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Die Port van Cleve 4 stars

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 - 180, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#188 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2317 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Truly Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    well there is not much things to say here but amsterdam central station is a bit far for walking with your bags we took the metro from the airport to the station then went to the hotel walking dont do that just take uber or taxi it wont cost much

    Wow amazing hotel, I mean seriously the staff the LOCATION ! it was beyond expectations near dam square the room was ready on time we arrived the food in the restaurant was super cheap the room size is very good and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was, no mini bar existed.Well actually there was one small containtment but it was tiny micro bar :D and not cooling anything even itself. Rest was Ok and perfect.

    Behind Royal Palace. One of the best place overall. It was clean and comfy. Highly recommended. Bed, Shower, Staff, Hotel itself

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent. Close to Amsterdam Centraal and the other attractions. Walking distance from Anne Frank huis and stone s throw from Dam square. Staff was helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Very Well Located Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Unacceptably small room. The room did not fit us, two adults, with our luggage. -No where to place luggage, we had to keep it on the floor (which was tiny itself). -The elevator needs to be fixed urgently, it is super slow. We considered using the stairs, which were narrow and steep. -There's a clause in the check-in paper we had to sign, saying that the hotel is not responsible for the loss of any item from the room during the stay. We expressed to the receptionist our concern about it. He was very rude to us. -The mattress I slept on was parabolic (you could see it not only feel it while sleeping), it caused me back pain. I did not contact the hotel about it however.

    -The hotel is in a beautiful historical building, amazing exterior and entrance. -Superb location, just off Dam Square, with a tram stop right in front of the door. -Always a plus when the hotel provides complimentary water. It was placed by the elevator, in addition to wet napkins, ponchos when it rained. It was just perfect. -Very good shower and spacious bathroom. -Some of the staff were super polite and kind. -Professional luggage storage, and provision of umbrellas.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea/coffee/sugar in the room wasn't replenished during our stay. Not a big deal as we were only staying 2 nights, but it would have been nice.

    The location was excellent, close to all places of interest by foot. Very clean. The Blauwen Parade bar in the hotel was excellent. The steak in the hotel restaurant was amazing! The staff were friendly, especially the bartender in the Blauwen Parade.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Massive room in Amsterdam and a lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldnt fully open the windows to look out at the street below.

    I have stayed in Amsterdam before flying out every year the past 5 years and I always find it alot pricier than other cities. Whilst everywhere I have stayed has been fine, this hotel room was huge! 1 place was so tight we couldnt fully open suitcase. Die port Can clieve we had a lounge with couch with our room. The bar downstairs is pleasant for a couple of drinks, it's an easy walk dragging your bag to and from train station or the trams are right outside of you prefer to use them. There is a big mall right next door for shopping and the location is perfect for walking everywhere in town. I will definitely try to book here again. Alot of traditional Amsterdam places have steep staircases this hotel has a lot of you prefer not to use stairs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    If it was a 3 star hotel I would have no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable, decor in corridoors seriously outdated, bathroom smelt damp/sewagey.. not what I would expect from a 4 hotel and for the price

    Friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we can think of ... but for the price I think breakfast could have been included.

    Location, comfort, de Blaue Bar, restaurant. Everything was very professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Smashing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property is very central to all you could ask for in Amsterdam. The staff are really friendly and welcoming. The Rooms are very comfy and the air-conditioning was worked perfectly for the hot days I stayed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 3 nights in late August and loved it. The room was HUGE, it was very quiet and clean. The bed was the most comfortable one we had during our 7 night trip around Belgium and The Netherlands. We did not pay for a breakfast plan, but were given vouchers for free coffee and croissants each morning nonetheless. Also were given a voucher for two free drinks in the bar, but we did not use them. The location is excellent with a tram stop directly in front of the hotel. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff friendly and professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is located very much in the centre of Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a room on the fifth floor towards the street. The windows of the room could not be opened but were screwed shot, so one had to run the AC all night. Also, the (small) street window hat to be blocked completely by a curtain (which was there) and additional pillows to block out the very bright spotlights which were illuminating the facade and were positioned basically directly in front if the window.

    Hotel is located very much in the centre of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Location, general layout of the room, room size adequate for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a damp smell in the bathroom, seemed to be coming from the drains when we arrived, however next day after housekeeping tended to the room, the smell left. Several Shopping bags from the previous occupant were left under the bed?? No ironing board in room, although available from reception.

    Location, general layout of the room, room size adequate for our needs, bed comfortable, quiet despite being in busy area, reception staff friendly and helpful, tasteful decor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money; seems rundown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and had little decoration. I felt like I was in a YMCA. It is in great need of a face lift. Everything seems so old. The WIFI is very slow and the hair dryer was just a hose that blew a weak stream of hot air. It took forever to dry my hair. The hallways were also old looking and a little scary.

    good location!! nice staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Great and looking forward to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having also coffee available at the room would have been great since I'm not much a tea drinker. Not having the parking space at the hotel is not convenient but there are several parking around so it was not really an issue.

    The location is great and the accommodation was good enough . Water was provided along with tea. Great for a short stay and fully recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch/evening menu choices made it hard to cater for all memebers of the group, put plenty of restaurants in walking distance.

    Great location! Walking distance from train station and main streets. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful Rooms were clean and very comfortable Nice atmosphere Close to restaurants and cafes

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think there was anything negative to call out.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is just around the corner from the centre and close to everything we needed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Very reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a single room the bed was by the wall, which is unusual, but still comfy. And the restaurant isn't perfect for dinner (there are better places in Amster), yet for breakfast it's more than enough.

    the location is awesome- 10 min walk from the Amsterdam Central, and next to Magna Carta. Despite of the central location, rather quiet! The lift was pretty cool, you should see it :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location, the staff is very nice and the bar is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests in the opposite side were very loud and noisy!

    Perfect location, the staff is very nice and the bar is super cool!! A hotel to return, for sure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleanliness and the tidying up of the bed, the noise coming from the next rooms, the temperature at high night in the room ( I think they turn off the air conditioner), the absence of amiability when I was checking out.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is located in the very heart of Amsterdam city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bartender who served us wasn’t the friendliest and did not make us feel welcome. The light in the room was poor; was quite dark in the room especially on a cloudy day and in the evenings.

    The hotel is located in the very heart of Amsterdam city central - very close to Dam square and has a tram stop right outside. We were able to upgrade our room to one with a balcony (it wasn’t the biggest one, but was good enough) for a reasonable price. We received 1 welcome drink and a free coffee with a croissant, which was nice. The view was amazing from the room, couldn’t ask for a better one really. The hotel itself is very nice and has a great atmosphere. Rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and the shower was amazing :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    Very expensive for the service offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very expensive for the service offered. They treat you like nothing at the check-out. The air-conditioned system does not cool well the room, the bed is not comfortable. There is a photo in the description of the hotel with a beautiful lake canal, the lake is 10minute walk from the hotel. Very disappointing experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice, but with a lot of problems and with bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered 3 rooms with 2 separate beds each, We get 3 rooms with 2 separate beds but that pushed together in a way that isn't possible to separate them. Every single thing that the reservation promised the hotel didn't know about (early check-in, rooms together...). After we did the check-in at 4 pm (even later than the normal check-in) the rooms we got was without air-conditioning. When I complain to the manager, she told me "listen, that I it's work in Europe, the more you'll complain, the less I'll do".

    After I talked with the person that in charge of the manager, everything was ok, and the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. And after all we got new rooms with air-conditioning, not good ones but better than before. The rooms are nice (not what we ordered but good, practical rooms if it's what you want). The hotel is across the street from Dam Square.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    adequate, hotel ground floor has ben renovated but rooms need upgrade to 4 star standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom was modern enough but the room whilst quite spacious was basic and was in need of some refurbishment and modern upgrade as the hotel is rated as at least 4 stars and is expensive.

    good location, across the street from the Palace and a large church, walking distance from the railway station. near large plaza, good restaurant within hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was a deluxe double the only down side was that it was very dark there this may have been down to the small window as we were on the 5th floor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location , would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were rather dark and small The automatic light in our wardrobe had a mind of its own and would turns its self on and off every 5 minutes which was a pain at night.

    Amazing location , couldn’t get much closer to the dam square. Hotel staff were brilliant Easy to find

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    It is a phenominal experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a smokers area.. as at night we have to sit on pavement for a quick smoke..

    Personaly the reception (Karim) and the rest of the staff are exceptional... they really take care of their guest needs.. eg. They helped me to engage with KLM after a major issue of denied boarding of my children happened in Cape Town... they are in amsterdam now enjoying my wifes birthday... as a note we left the hotel to go to zandvoort but canceled after 1 day and now back at the port van cleve

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, the restaurant of the hotel is great, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air flow in the room. The staff opened the window with a key so there would be a little slit. There wasn't enough air for last week heat wave. Also the room could be cleaner. The room window faced inward to some kind of patio so it faced other rooms in the same hotel. It was not possible to open the curtain in the evening

    Great location, the restaurant of the hotel is great, the staff is very nice and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a couple wanting to stay somewhere nice and explore Amsterdam for a few days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice authentic hotel. Great facilities on site with an excellent restaurant & bar - a perfect mix of classic and modern clean style. The staff throughout were excellent and helpful - a very pleasant stay all in all and would recommend and use again. The location was superb for exploring Amsterdam, walkable from the train station and everything else easily accessible in a great central location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent! Not too far from central station, right next to dam square. There is a tram station right outside as well! Restaurant was brilliant! The food was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Service with a smile
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location ,within walking distance to all the sights and a tram stop at the front door The room was clean and tidy I would recommend this hotel for the fantastic service alone The staff greeted you with a smile and were so helpful It was the small things like complimentary sun cream and cold bottled water available in the foyer to noticing a post card in my hand and offering to supply a stamp and post it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice but cramped
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of the standard room. Very small. So small in fact that the desk chair couldn't be placed in front of the desk because that's where the foot of the bed sits.

    Lovely staff - always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were traveling with a baby and we booked the large superior room with more space 22sqrm (twin beds) as our 1 year old started walking and likes space. As soon as we arrived we were put on a very small room (422) that had stairs inside and almost no illumination with a very small window. Extremely dangerous room for babies and very very small! Not even close to the size booked. We complained as we had informed and paid for the baby (20EUR for the crib), and they took a while but shifted us to room 327 which was even smaller but at least had no stairs. This small room had its windows to the interior and there were guests on the room above us having a room drinking party until 3AM so none of us was able to sleep because of the noise and heat. The AC was not working properly in the whole property, and they said it was because of the heat. The hotel AC did not have enough power to handle hot weather we were informed! We choose this hotel because of the location, room size and AC but it was a disappointing choice. They later shifted us to a large room - 425 which was good in size but in the annexure of the hotel. The room was hot. And I mean HOT!!! The baby, my wife and I were sweating through the nights and it was impossible to stay in the room during the day. We tried opening the windows and mosquitos came in. It was overall a horrible experience from beginning to end! When you are paying EUR240,00 per night we have at least the expectation of being able to sleep during the night and that was far from met. We advise to stay somewhere else if you are going there on the summer, to contact the hotel if you are with children and assure there are no unsafe stairs in the room and that you are getting what you paid for regarding room size.

    The hotel location is excellent. It is centrally located just near a supermarket, the mall, and in front of Dam square. It could not be better located. The airport drop cost us EUR47,50 and was much cheaper than the EUR70,00 we paid for the taxi from the airport to the hotel. The rooms were nicely cleaned daily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.3
    Only location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- I think the given room was next to Hotel’s main garbage, which you must go out of corridor to reach the room. 2- The room was to hot, Air Condition was not cooling, we requested to change the room but the staff were so rude and only sent Fan. 3- We requested the receptionist several times to find solution for cooling system at the room and the only reply we are getting “We cannot do anything to you and you have to accomplish yourself with situation”. My advise to everyone, don’t through your money at this rubbish hotel. I believe there are much better hotel than this.

    Only location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Very clean and tidy, very pretty decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window looked out onto other windows. Lighting in the room was very very dark.

    Very clean and tidy, very pretty decor. Central location and easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    The location was perfect, to go back and forward.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had an attic shape, so the bed was under a weird angle that makes it complicated to get in the bed every night.

    The location was perfect, to go back and forward.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location for everything you want to do in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with a bit of modernisation however this was not an issue just an observation.

    Amazing location, staff super friendly, walking distance towards everything you need!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no water available in. The room! Really, I don’t mind paying for water.. it just needs to be available.

    The location is great! Very convenient and easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    It was in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dark and dingy , very disappointing and our water , coffee and tea weren’t replenished after the first day , they also took 150 Euros off my Debit card additional to what we paid for the hotel , then there was city tax 30 plus euros . Not value for money at all

    It was in a very good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    A verry good hotel (nice and clean) in the perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reservation was made by another person and at the reception they asked to be the person (absurd) or the card of that person. So it was the non-refoundable payment and it was already done

    Breakfast in 4 variants plus croissant and coffee at your discretion. Friendly and helpful staff. Tram stop in front of the hotel. 50 m from Dam Square. Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Adequate but I would probably still look round for other hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were smaller than i had expected from the photos on the website and were expensive for their size but Amsterdam is expensive

    Good location in the city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great location, reasonable price and we'd sure come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the sink shelf is small and not enough room to place your toiletries.

    Very good hotel. clean, comfertable and spacious. perfect location right next to dam square attractions. great service and attitude by the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room The price was high but at the city center Breakfast not included

    Great location Although the room was small it had everything Friendly staff Breakfast was not included but they offered a complimentary croissant and coffee

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly And helpful staff especially the young guy at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The black out curtains in the room where scratched from everywhere so when the sun came up it’s efficiency didn’t exceed 50%. ‏ The bar of soap in the bathroom melted after three days of my stay , until the fifth day the housekeeping didn’t replace it !! The lifts are too slow.

    Very friendly And helpful staff especially the young guy at the reception. Great location near everything you can think of. Very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    The location was perfect and the staff were very pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms appeared clean at first glance but the places that were not so obvious like shelves etc were very dusty and did not appear to have been cleaned for a long time.

    The location was perfect and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    HOUSEKEEPER.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    HOUSEKEEPER. it seems she/he does not change the towels. just fold the old one as evidenced by the makeup i removed using the towel. then the next day the towel we had had a makeup stain on it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, but in room facilities not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was broken, the shower head would not stay up high. Water leaked from shower and no mat to step out on after shower. In room tea / coffee was appalling. Fridge wasn't clean.

    Lovely reception area and bar, friendly staff, comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    poor service when looking for anything outside the norm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor service when looking for anything outside the norm. Had to call twice to get an iron. The kitchen did not want to serve me room service at 11pm even though I was told they do it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.6
    Mean and Rude receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mean and Rude receptionist. She wasn’t helpful when other receptionists were trying to be helpful. I wouldn’t pay 250 euros a night for the crappy room i was given. My friends paid the same they got a great room! I won’t recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Poor value for money/rooms never cleaned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't cleaned, despite chasing and being available to clean for 5 hours during the day and then was told, they had run out of time. For €400 per night, this is ridiculous. Trays of food left all day in the hallway. Aircon was useless and it was 28 C when we were there. We had someone else's room service bill (€50) put on our bill. Our breakfast card was never collected from our door, so we didn't get the breakfast we ordered.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Very poor service for the price (expensive)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't cleaned even after telling reception. For €400 a night this is not acceptable. Air con was useless in 28 degrees. Room service card for breakfast never collected = no breakfast. Someone else's room service bill €50 on ours.

    Location good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was TINY, the hotel lobby was renovated but the rooms and corridors are terrible, very dated and not clean. Definitely not worth the money I paid for it. In addition to that, there was a problem with the Booking.com website, and my reservation was not processed until the evening! So I couldn't get into my room when I arrived

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Rubbish
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired hallways dark and dingy rooms small Expensive for what it was. Lack of any real ambiance. Bar closed to early. Would not stay here again

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was out of service once but it turned out that they have another one that we used .. the rooms were a bit small ..

    The staff were really nice and friendly... the location was close to almost everything specially shopping centers and touristic areas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Far from 4* hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from 4 star hotel: Quite old facilities, need renovation; Bathroom (the water in toilet was not flushing out easily which created discomfort at some point, the floor in the shower was not clean as had permanent spots from bathroom carpet (???); the pillows and blanket were old and smelly; Early check-in was possible for other people at 11.30 but not for me; I would not recommend the restaurant or bar at the hotel, just for coffee - otherwise go to eat around.

    You pay only for location in the heart of city-center and quite friendly stuff; Also liked fluffy croissants and great coffee in the morning which are served for free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.6
    Will never go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and uncomfortable. No space between the end of the bed and the wardrobe. The foyer was being renovated and was a mess. Our room was located through a walkway to another building. The walkway was smelly and awful. Very expensive hotel that didn’t deliver.

    The hotel is in a great location. Close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in super location just minutes walk from Dam Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outlook from room.

    Great location, nice room, small but had everything we needed. Great bathroom with super shower. Ate in restaurant and food and service were good. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of restruction works at the lobby, out of hot water for a day! Could offer us a free beverage for our incovience for the hot water! No hospitallity

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved Amsterdam only there for 3 days but found everyone very friendly and helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant a bit more expensive to eat in not much choice of food. But food we had ordered was very nice and restaurant lovely and clean with pleasant staff.

    The bed was lovely & the pillows great sleep nice and quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location, pleasant staff but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally very tired decor. Lobby and entrance a mess although the site had warned work was in progress. Room facilities acceptable but no better. Generally consider the hotel to be overpriced

    Good central location. Housekeeping kept the room clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay here a lot, in spite of the minor problems we encountered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had already paid the bill, but they said that we should pay the city tax separately when we arrived. There even seemed to be an expectation that we should pay it twice. They said this was Booking.com's fault as they should not have taken the tax from us when we booked. Breakfast was good, but a little haphazard. We ordered the 'healthy breakfast' and got different food each time. At first, they didn't seem to understand that gluten free does not also mean lactose free

    An extremely comfortable and attractive hotel, though quite expensive. Very friendly and helpful staff. A reasonable position on a main road down from the station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Gem in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is located right in the city Centre, very close to the shopping area, water canals, flower Market, Red Light District, and is 10 min walk from the Train Station. The room was very clean, spacious (not usual for the hotels there), very comfortable, with a small balcony and lovely front view to Nieuwe Kirke. You'll get a personalised letter from the Manager, free drink, a very warm Welcome from the staff and tulip bulbs as a souvenir :-) I would definitely recommend it and will book it again next time I visit this fantastic city!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water during my stay for 200 Euro a night and couldn’t have a shower on check in or in the morning before traveling to airport. This made my stay really uncomfortable :(

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location easy from station and to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was stated to be included but is limited to a single croissant. So the description is deceiving.

    Great location easy from station and to the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were amazing! Nothing was too much trouble. The location was spot on and central to everything. The hotel restaurant (although we didn’t eat there) was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner in the restaurant was of a better standard and value for money than is usually found in hotels. Good breakfast options. Friendly and efficient service. Refurbishment work ( of which we were warned in advance) was managed very well so as to minimise impact on guests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    Not a four star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too noisy,reception work taking far too long to be completed and breakfast not included when it was for the majority of guests.

    Excellent shower room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    Does not live up to the 4 stars or the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -Too noisy rooms, bad sound proofing, creaking ceiling, almost impossible to sleep! -No proper ventilation in the bathroom so the vapor stays in after the shower and makes everything wet. -No heating in the bathroom, we guess they bet on the vapor :) -Wall to wall carpet. -The heating in the room was not on when we came and the heat setting on the AC did not work, We slept in a cold room the first night. In the morning when we told the reception they immediately turned on the radiator which we couldn't find the first night. The heating should be turned on when the guests arrive! -The construction that was going on at the hotel meant we had to enter and exit through the bar. Seeing construction panels in the reception area was not inspiring. -All of the above might be acceptable in some cases. The problem here is that this hotel is in Amsterdam and because of the city's price situation it is very very very overpriced. We paid more than 160euros a night to not being able to sleep and hoping every night that the neighbors sleeps quickly. A 4 star hotel that costs this much can not be like this!!

    -The staff was very friendly and helpful -The location is almost unbeatable close to most attractions and hubs in the city -The building looks beautiful from the outside -Beautiful bar at the entrance. -The bathroom was newly refurbished.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Spectacular hotel with perfect location and the best staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Its location is the best , in the heart of City center just a small walking distance to Dam square , touristic area and shopping stores.It has classic furniture with extra clean rooms .The best thing in the hotel comparing to even 5 stars hotels in Amsterdam , is the hospitality and kimdness of all the staff .Although it is always full , but they treat their customers with respect , friendly and professional manner .I had a lot of luggage , the manager herself helped me with it .She upgraded my room so thay it can fit my luggage and really made my stay memorable .The hotel recommendations with the tourist tours were great .I liked amsterdam due to the staff of this hotel especially the manger who is a role model

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, able to walk everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Was not told the hotel was being refitted during our stay. builders in everyday. however staff coped very well, but should have had small refund. was offered free coffee from 7am - 9am not sure if this was to compensate us.

    Location was perfect, staff were great. bedroom a good size although very hot as the windows were all sealed up. Air con was not that great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems like a 3 star hotel, I mean the halls, rooms and facilities etc. but location makes it 4 star.

    The location is perfect! Staff is always nice and friendly. Even the booking.com room price is not included the breakfast, the hotel gave us croussant&coffee coupons for our entire stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, great location, clean room, comfortable bed and struggle free login to Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was amazing! Friendly staff, great location, clean room and comfortable bed! Did I say the staff were great? They have it all. Although we experienced 'the hotel from the hell' before we came here, they made us forget all that trouble we went through! The restaurant staff were really friendly and knowledgeable of the city. Even the WiFi login was simple and struggle free :) Definitely will be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone who's heading to Amsterdam!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    Poor and incredibly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I genuinely feel like I’ve been robbed, I’ve paid an extortionate amount of money for what’s basically a travelodge. I’m so disappointed... The room is dark, I couldn’t even do my make up properly. It’s ugly, tired and how this is a 4* hotel I will never know. I will never trust booking through this site again.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    All facade, never again! Terrible value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facade of this hotel is beautiful but it all stops there. 230€ a night gets you a very small bed that felt like a fold-out ikea sofa, on carpet that must have been beautiful when laid in the 1970's. At that price, not even one little bottle of water in the room. The bathroom is less than 4m² and improperly ventilated. The dingy smell couldn't be aleviated by the window which was defective and couldn't be opened. This is the worst value for money I have ever had personally and makes me seriously question whether booking.com evaluates hotels closely enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was alright but had issues with the bill which...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very unhelpful when I asked for a late check out - was told when I checked in that I could check out at 1pm - when I came back to the room the key did not work and I was told at the reception that I should have checked out at 12 and I needed to go get my bag straight away - as I was in a hurry this involved having to run up and down 5 flights of stairs twice

    Breakfast was alright but had issues with the bill which ended up with me having to go back to pay in cash

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    3.3
    Not the greatest experience....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was smelly the windows were screwed in so no air could come in. Also one of the complementary water bottles had been opened already or was not sealed correctly. The initial staff was nice but when I told them about my bad experience they did not seem to care to much and did not offer me a better room for the same price..... Or did not offer anything to keep the customer happy.

    The bed was nice but the smell from the bathroom was not great at all and the bathroom was close to the bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Die Port van Cleve traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: