Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandton Hotel de Roskam 4 stars

Arnhemsestraatweg 62, 6991 JG Rheden, Netherlands

#3 of 3 hotels in Rheden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 655 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    3.3
    The only nice thing was a nice personel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated next to a busy road and it is really loud. Breakfast was rather simple, without any vegetables. In our room there was even a broke glass in a window... It was also not really clean. Nobody cares. General impression really poor.

    The only nice thing was a nice personel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Perfect family stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I could say here, all very much exceeded my expectations.

    Beautiful hotel, perfectly equipped. We have also used the spa and wellness offering (massage and pedicure), it was all very professional and at a more than reasonable price. The best part of this hotel was its personnel - very friendly and helpful! We had an issue to get a taxi to get us to the train station, and so the cook from the hotel dropped us immediately. If I ever come back to the area I am definitely staying here again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    We left earlier due to unbearable mosquitoes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room full of mosquitoes due to the lack of airconditioning. The vent in the door just invites them in. No possibility to make coffee /tea in the room, 1 type of soap hand/body/hair works for men but not so much for women.

    The area is beautiful and hotel provides ebikes 27,5 per day a bit pricey but worth it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    It was OK and with a little effort could have been excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SOME of the reception staff need to smile more and make an effort - one did and saved you from a disappointing score at reception. Good breakfast experience and security of bikes.

    Once checked in, Reception Staff were helpful and sorted out some food for us from an external supplier - we were late arriving.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Okay hotel, but the cheaper options are the better options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite clean however there were multiple cobwebs on the ceiling. We booked the Deluxe Double room, which was more expensive but had less useful amenities and a horrible view, compared to the cheaper rooms (the standard double and the comfort double room). The restaurant has good food but the service isn't good enough for the price you pay.

    The room was nicely decorated with a comfortable bed. The bathroom is small but it has a good shower. The pool area is nice with a steam room and a infrared sauna, very comfortable after a day of hiking or biking. There are bikes available for rent, and it is easy to find a nice route through the national park from the hotel. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    A great experience, good hotel and awesome nature!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is indeed troublesome. The pillows are really high and hard while the mattress is quite soft. I had trouble sleeping but that was the only issue. There aren't many nearby restaurants, specially if you want to spend less than 50 euros per person. I recommend going near the Rheden Station, there are supermarkts and cheaper restaurants over there.

    Room was great, staff was very helpful with our requests. Pool is small but warm. Wet and dry sauna (both small but also really nice). Beautiful hotel, easy access to nature for walking and cycling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.0
    Good for the price and location but very very old hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old intallations. Need a big refurbish. Workers seemed to be very unhappy to help us. Things falling down in the room. Towels smelling VERY VERY VERY BAD!!!! Sauna doesnt heat up. Turkish bath whit broken things and they dont seem to be worried to fix it. If you want to stay 1 night its ok but for long stay no.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was great and the staff was very friendly. A lot to choose from at breakfast, and everything was delicious. We also enjoyed the wellness facilities and the restaurant right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    the bed was very comfy, so for that I would recommend the...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light was flashing in the bathroom which was very annoying because it was the only light which was able to switch of on the wall. The other lights didn't work and we had to put them on with turning the light bulb in the lamp and turning it als of within the lamp. The lights of the sauna of the facilities were broke as well.

    the bed was very comfy, so for that I would recommend the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    I had a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It may be difficult to get to this property by public transport in the late evening. But you may take a taxi from Arnhem.

    I had a pleasant stay. BTW, there is a huge park right near the hotel, so you can rent a bike and have a great time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's restaurant was fully booked for a party both days and there aren't enough places to have a meal around so we had to get food deliverd and eat in the room. The hotel should have informed us beforehand that we wouldn't have access to the restaurant.

    Good location. Swimming pool and steambath.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    The place is OK for an overnight stay, but I would not recommend it for longer hollidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room. Poor light in the room. The price is high for the quality offered in comparison with other establishments in the neighbourhood ( 99 E for 1 night)

    Very helpfull staff. Nearby the nature park " de Veluwezoom"

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    It was a nice stay with family, worth the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the cleaning should be better, I saw a insect in the bathroom. and the room floor is quite dusty.

    The beds are very comfortable, and the swimming pool is nice !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.4
    the worst 4-star hotel so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the worst 4-stars hotel so far (and I travel a lot)! I have booked this hotel because of pictures on booking.com, 4-stars, swimming pool, saunas etc. I have booked a "Deluxe Double Room" with balcony view (as presented on photos) and instead I have received a room in "old part" of the hotel (first I took it as an advantage) with parking lot view (from a window). The room was not even a 2-stars quality (It was important for me as I had to surprise my wife for her birthday). Room was old and some lamps were not working (dark in the room), floor was ruined by time and bathroom was really bad. Swimming pool is really small in reality! I could put even more information but I am still pissed as for the same price I had so many better hotels... I will never visit this hotel again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Outstanding hotel in a great location outside of Arnhem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Staff was particularly helpful and the location was great for visiting the local area. I used the hotel as a base for the Vier-daagse.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    COMFY COUNTRY RETREAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air-conditioning, and no tea making facilities (we travel with our own). There was some noise from the road (but not late at night) and from passing trains, but if you closed the terrace doors all was quiet so I don't complain on this. Breakfast was offered but the charge was too high for us so we declined. We found a "minibar" in the wardrobe, but this was not connected, so we dragged it into the room and commissioned it to keep our water and milk cool (but we hid it back in cupboard when we left). Don't let our "dislikes" put you off, this was a great stay for us and we nearly extended our stay.

    The room was a generous size and had a balcony. The sauna, steam room and swimming pool were great and were very clean. There was plenty of lounge space. Lots of space to park (free), space for your bicycles. Good location in countryside but near to main routes. Friendly staff and very helpful. Our room was comfortable, and the bath was very long

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice location, just at the foot of the Veluwezoom national...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really warm, despite no heaters were turned on and outside temperature was only 13 degrees during daytime. We had to sleep with the doors to the outside terrace open because of the heat, also because there were no windows we could open, only doors.

    Nice location, just at the foot of the Veluwezoom national park. Hotel has a lot of facilities like swimming pool and sauna. Breakfast was decent too and the rooms are spacious with extra seating area and at 1st for where our room was located, we had an outside seating area as well, really nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    No access to room there than several flights of stairs.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No access to room there than several flights of stairs. Older part and so stairs quite small and awkward. Was disappointed that the powdered milk in room was obviously a bit old as it was solid in the paper tube.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    We stayed there after our wedding and were pleasantly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there after our wedding and were pleasantly surprised to find the room decorated with rose petals on the bed and floor and a nice bottle of bubbly :) :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    The hotel was good but massively over-priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ... the price

    The hotel was good but massively over-priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was amazing The staff was so helpful and so sweet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Look forward to staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor noise insulation between adjacent rooms.

    War, friendly efficient staff. Very comfortable bed. Fabulous pool and sauna facilities. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Secure bike storage close to national park cycle track and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All OK

    Secure bike storage close to national park cycle track and Arnhem. Restaurants in village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Calming and lovely view of tree nursery across the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had seating area and small balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice location, good breakfest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no ir condition, can't open window due to moskitos

    Nice location, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is located apart from city centre of Arnhem good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located apart from city centre of Arnhem good for people like to by quiet and easy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast was too little , and not in time filled up.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was too little , and not in time filled up. The bathroom has to be renewed , having a shower in the bath is not very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    No Tea or Coffee making facility in room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Tea or Coffee making facility in room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Would definitely visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facility

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast ok, but rooms dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ok, but rooms dated. Not coffee or tea in room, no a/c

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    3.8
    Below expectations for a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds unconfortable, room too warm, poor breakfast

    The swimming pool was very nice and open the whole day

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.8
    Cozy and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy because of the nearby road.

    Great wellness facilities and cozy lobby. Very friendly staff. Clean facilities and rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    6.7
    Close to satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant. Menu so, so. One waitress (glasses) needs re-training in customer service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.9
    Location, comfortable bed, view from the room, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite noisy rooms, especially the doors and neighbouring guests, old-fashioned (but very clean) bathroom with mixing taps

    Location, comfortable bed, view from the room, the restaurant, ambiance of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    We felt the staff at the hotel were very accommodating and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleanliness of the first room we were allocated to was quite poor, so we had to move to another room.

    We felt the staff at the hotel were very accommodating and the lounge area was very impressive.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    7.9
    We had a great dinner in the restaurant, you can rent bikes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi on the top floor practically does not work.

    We had a great dinner in the restaurant, you can rent bikes and explore the surroundings, nicely furnished.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.5
    Comfy bed, excellent restaurant, free parking, infrared...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free lamp with electric cable floating in swimming pool !!! Breakfast room outside main building...

    Comfy bed, excellent restaurant, free parking, infrared sauna, sound breakfast, helpful staff, best price vs money you can get...

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.1
    Location, no noise, parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of an elevator to the room in our section of hotel despite advertising that lifts are available. Well, they are not in all areas of hotel.

    Location, no noise, parking

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, clean rooms, lovely pool/wellness,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only thing that we throught was odd, was that we had to pay for the pool table.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms, lovely pool/wellness, perfect location for hiking, tasty breakfast. Kids played a lot of chess in the lobby.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.7
    Close to mountainbike route, which is one of the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fact of being a hotel chain I don't really like. I really love the old building but not the extra, in my opinion ugly, modern construction, it doesn't give the hotel a real romantic and authentic sphere unfortunately. And it's a pity there is a very busy road in front which we heard all the time during the night.

    Close to mountainbike route, which is one of the most beautiful MTB routes in the Netherlands. The old authentic building is beautiful. Sauna & pool were nice extra's facilities.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    Good lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Laundry is charged at dry cleaning prices, which is pointless when you're only trying to do socks etc. Double room was two mattresses pushed together which was odd.

    Good lounge. Reliable WiFi. Great location for walks. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, nice room ("Charme Room" #2) with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, nice room ("Charme Room" #2) with big bath and simple but welcome fan, and double doors to a big (shared) balcony. Well located for walks, but not perfect: the Veluwe Transferium is a 5m drive or 20m road-side walk away. Very good value for money, will come again.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    8.3
    De aardigste nachtportier ooit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ontbijt duur in verhouding tot wat het was

    De aardigste nachtportier ooit Mooie ruime kamer met eigen terrasje Schoon Geen geluidsoverlast De 24uurs receptie

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    5.4
    We liked the location, parking and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not like the staff that seemed trained to present an invoice padded with an expensive breakfast we had clearly declined. Also with a small donation to the hotel's favorite cause. I like to choose my own fault or its and quite able to. Two new invoices needed to be made As a result. Also the room was scarcely equipped and lighted.

    We liked the location, parking and spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    5.4
    Nice old building, good taste decoration in the 'charm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a charm room, more expensive, situaded in the lovely old part of the hotel. The room was totaly cold when we entered it, without any heating at all. We putted the heather, and went to eat (very expensive restaurant, but at least good quality), After 2 hours, the room was still cold with heather at the max. Very unpleasant feeling. When we entered the room, all lights was not in use, because the plugs was not in. First activity: : ramping to find them and plug them. Tv remote control doesn't work. Very small bathroom. No bathrobe included and sleepers, would be good to reach the wellness area. In wellness area, not a single hang for towels... etc, etc... Place is nice, could be perfect with all small details that are ignored.

    Nice old building, good taste decoration in the 'charm room', small swimming pool but great light in the swimming pool area. Nice staff in general.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    5.4
    The quality food in the restaurant was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The hotel was extremely noisy. We came for peace and quiet, but above our room was a family with young children who ran in circles and kept us awake from 7:30 a.m. 2. The hotelroom was much smaller that is suggested on the site. The TV was tiny, there were no comfortable seats, the lighting was terrible. All very basic and minimal. 3. The hotel was understaffed resulting in unnecessary waits and unfriendly approach to guests.

    The quality food in the restaurant was very good The location is beautiful (though it would have been nice if the hotel had placed some hiking tips in the rooms....)

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff that accommodate your needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff that accommodate your needs.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    7.9
    swimming pool, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    sauna stream bath not working, elevator not functional

    swimming pool, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.9
    The food was excellent though a bit limited in choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No coffee/tea in the room

    The food was excellent though a bit limited in choice.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.8
    room and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room and staff very good dinner as well

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bigger rooms are directly at the roadside and thus a bit noisy due to traffic already early in the morning.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    x

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.9
    Relaxed quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom functional.

    Relaxed quiet location. Good room sizes also nice to have a balcony.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    7.9
    Accommodating with my bicycle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing stands out.

    Accommodating with my bicycle

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.6
    the Breakfast was excellent as was the service fromall the...
    • Solo traveller

    a little too far for Arnhem

    the Breakfast was excellent as was the service fromall the staff

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff speaking very good English
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Without a car it's a bit far from the centre of Arnhem; 35 min bus ride 3 euros or taxi 45 euros

    Friendly staff speaking very good English

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.7
    Eating breakfast outside in the sunshine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish there had been a chest of drawers in the room. Nowhere to unpack underclothes etc

    Eating breakfast outside in the sunshine!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    6.7
    Oke location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed too soft and restaurant (attached bistro) understaffed and therefore slow.

    Oke location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    7.5
    Great location, restful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location, restful place

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    6.3
    Staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant expensive, especially wine

    Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    7.5
    Nice location and good parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was too soft.

    Nice location and good parking. Room spacies enough and open doors for good ventilation.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: