Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Continental Centre Hotel 1 stars

Damrak 40 - 41, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 LG Amsterdam, Netherlands

#343 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1704 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.0
    Only stay for the location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps up to your room are incredibly steep and windy, sometimes with no hand rail. The rooms are tiny with no table or anywhere to unpack. They’re sweltering hot constantly so it was so hot to even put make up or change clothes and there were bedbugs and me and my friend got bitten

    The best thing about this hotel is definitely the location, that’s the only good thing. Step outside and you’re right in the centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.2
    BAD EXPERIENCE - ONLY LOCATION IS GOOD - DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny. The two single beds were also tiny. I couldn't turn in bed as there was no space. The mattress was horrible and worn out. The bathroom is renovated and in ok state. No toothpaste provided

    The "Hotel"was awful. Super-uncomfortable and tiny beds. The higher the floor the stinkier it was. The extractor fan just allows smells from outside to reach in. The Location was very good. NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Decent place given the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with most hotels in Ams, there was no elevator and we had to carry our luggage up 2 floors by a spiral steep staircase. The room was notably inclined to one side...

    The staff were very helpful and offered to store our luggage for 3 days after check out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    An affordable place to stay in Amsterdam. Overall a good deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little short because I am tall. The room was smaller than I expected. No elevator.

    Friendly staff, laundry washing machines right across the street, good location to stores and restaurants, appeared to be a safe area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    The position is really good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was really small for two people and uncomfortable if you travel with big luggages, because there is no lift and not much space in the room. I personally traveled alone with only a backpack, using a double room, and that was ok.

    The position is really good. Close to the train station and at 15 minutes walking from the main square for night life.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs were very steep and tight for space, as were the rooms. No air con, we were on the top floor so it was very stuffy and hard to sleep. Beds were small but OK. No complaints about the staff

    The staff we helpful and reception was open 24/7

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was extremely small, barely larger than the double bed in it. Wifi signal was very weak. Simply was too expensive for what you recieve.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    Bed bugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed bugs, bed bugs, bed bugs, and one more... bed bugs!!!! I do not recommend this place. In addition we had a room with a window towards ventilation machine, so no sleep for us. I have stayed one night in this hotel. One night too long.. I strongly advise to invest a bit more money and find a better place to keep your memories from Amsterdam positive....

    Location is the only positive thing about this place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    had a good time in the city but the room was very over priced and dirty the staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was tiny, was not very clean, there were bugs in the bed.......

    the location was great, very central to the main attractions and central station. open 24 hrs and coffeeshop next door was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Location is perfect and staff are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are cramped. No lifts , very hard to carry luggage in a narrow staircase. Bathroom and toilet is cramped . Paid 100euro for a night . Don’t think it’s even worth 25!!

    Location is perfect and staff are good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    The property was in a great location, staff excellent to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in a great location, staff excellent to speak to, will help out with anything, as well as being able to leave valuables without worrying, all around nice people and nice place to stay I have stayed here twice now.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall I love Amsterdam the hotel was Just somewhere to sleep for a few hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could of been a bigger shower, less floors to climb up and down on, bigger/ wider stair cases and bunk beds need to be more secure as the bunk bed was wobbling everytime we moved around.

    The matteress was memory foam and not spring

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very helpful and offered us fans for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were difficult to manage with all of our luggage and also the rooms were quite small so there was limited space

    The staff were very helpful and offered us fans for the rooms due to the extremely hot weather

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Bé careful. Request to disinfect beds and sheets against bugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thé bed thé sheets thé Room cleanliness thé toilet floor. Bed in our room has bugs and has bitten my toddler and husband.

    Location and staff. How they propose / handle plan B from unexpected problem encountered AT 1am.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.0
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairs we found on our bed and in the room and the not so clean sheets. The room really wasn't clean and it was tiny. It was a very tight squeeze for two people with luggage.

    This is a really great location especially for a shorter stay in Amsterdam. It's just a couple of minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station and a couple of minutes walk from the canals and Red Light District. The staff we met were fantastic, really friendly and helpful. This is a really good option for being close to everything during a short stay in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    This place really recommend for you that had low budget but...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place didnt have elevator, so not recommended for child and older. The stairs not comfortable.

    This place really recommend for you that had low budget but want to stay in central , you will find many store around that hotel, the store sell many things in a good price. Near the hotel, you can get a really good Fries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    The localization is good, near the central station not so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't clean, there was some insects in the room, bathroom wasn't clean and o lot of noise from the people inside the hotel every time, include night and daybreak. Some staff people wasn't polite with me. Sincerely, I do not recommend this hotel.

    The localization is good, near the central station not so far that red district and some restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Location, it is at the central, 10 minutes walk from train...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms did not have any fan (it was so hot, we had to sleep in the heat). The stair case was so narrow, almost impossible to bring up my big luggage (thankful for help from friends).

    Location, it is at the central, 10 minutes walk from train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.3
    The only thing was location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fore your one seak stay away from this hotel! It was hot! Stinky!The beds was dirty! The 2 guys that work there in the evening/night was very rude! I have travel a lot! This was my worst hotel experience ever! I swear if they had give me a rom there later fore FREE i had never taken it! That’s says a little bit about the hotel and the staff!

    The only thing was location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    The location is in the middle of the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staircases were very steep. One of them was narrow with a hairpin turn.

    The location is in the middle of the city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stiffling rooms too small for purpose, no air con and window wouldnt open all that much . In 30 -35 degree heat in july it was extremely uncomfortable in the room. Met a few cockroaches too !

    Location , Staff and the cat in reception .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Total ripoff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excessively overpriced for hostal accommodation (160€ per night) 72 very steep narrow steps to top floor rooms No air-conditioning - room was 30° + Very small shared shower with toilet

    Good central lication

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    More like a Hostel than a Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is extra small, no ac, no ventilation. There was a cockroach in the room when we first came in.

    Prime location. Walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal and Red Light district

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect, perfect, perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, you get what you pay for. Budget, clean, fresh towels daily, lovely staff, hotel central to everything.

    Lovely staff, best hotel basic, comfy and clean. Solo female 50yr 💗💗 this hotel, location perfect, damrak noisy, adds to atmosphere and ambience of this hotel. Big thanks to Stephanie and staff, and a special thanks to happy cleaning guys. I would recommend this place and will certainly be back in the very near future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    It’s in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor service and facility however staff was good but they are not enough to provide service to the guest, with the family I’m not preferred to stay in this hotel

    It’s in the center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and service minded staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and service minded staff . Could have had better pillows or extra pillows . I never asked for extra pillows so not fair to criticise. Nice renovated bathroom but not enough light in the bathroom , especially in the shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Very clean and great service at front desk and with the cleaning people. Our room was cleaned everyday and new towels were provided. The only negative would be the stairs, but that wasn’t an issue for our group but could be an issue for the elderly or people with injuries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    great location, over priced for what you get though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too small for 6 people, Could only sit on the bunk bend with a constant bent neck. TV did not work. i paid over £800 for 3 nights for this small room and the fact that it had cockroaches didnt go down well with us. the staff are ok apart from one that had an rude unfriendly attitude when you stroke the cat in reception

    The Location, wifi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Hotel continental
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was 28° even with window open making it very uncomfortable to sleep at night (outside temperature was 21°) room no.25

    Great location. Great showering facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    Dreadful...the best bit was leaving. Our stay in Amsterdam ruinef by the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except location. See previous section for detail. Truly awful. Worst ever. Please de-list them

    The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Dont go there. Up 3 flights of narrow steep stairs with no lift and no help with suitcases. Dangerous. And the furnishings just dresdful. All for around 150€ per night. No food at all in the hotel. VERY narrow twin beds. TV high up on wall and NO remote control. No water even to buy, let alone free. Yes, near the station. So pleased to leave.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    Good area to stay in, close to the central railway station, nightlife and transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs were very steep, the bathroom and shower floor was very slippery when wet and the shower curtain was mouldy and stiff. There were no complimentary toiletries only a liquid soap in the shower and hand basin. No shower caddy for your shampoo etc. They only supplied one towel each. There was no hand towels or bath mats. I had to ask for them. The room was very small and one window which looked out into a small service area. The room was very dated but the bed was comfy and clean. There were no bedside lights. There was a smell of gas coming in through the window occasionally which we reported. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Location only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    would not do it again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room unbelievably small and hot, bathroom incl toilet shared - clean but even too small to sit on it; did not feel to safe there

    the location was good, generally clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location but unsatisfactory bedding, sink and linen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old and rusty. The room is small, about 10 square meters. The beds (bunk beds actually) were a little uncomfortable, were not provided with access ladders and not so clean. Although the toilet is clean, the sink or lavatory is so small that you can't get water using a regular-size glass. There wasn't enough linen so the floor got wet when using the shower and sink. There's no elevator (although this info was revealed in the hotel's info/facilities), luckily we were in second floor only, but it was so difficult to bring our luggage, all 5 of them, into and out of the room. There was noise outside even at 2 am due to drinking people along Damrak stores.

    The location is very convenient to the places of attraction and eating places. It was close to Damrak where many things are happening and the tourists many. The eating places are close, just along Damrak. We also found a number of grocery stores and souvenir shops that are convenient to tourists with young children (14-16 years old) like us. It was giood that a self-service laundry was just in front of the hotel. The staff was accommodating to our request for printing online tickets and have our luggage stored for 1.5 days after checkout.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    2.5
    “No good service , No good attitude”
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not recommend to stay here is quite expensive than any other Airbnb , and the staff treat you like they are doing you a favor, the rooms are super small, I mean if you are two and have a big luggage, no recommend it. Shower is disgusting, seems like no body have clean it in months , it have a curtain that smell a fungi and it is really dirty. If you travel with family don’t do it. Clearly in this place Tourist are not welcome.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blankets are dirty inside and pillows are as thin as a piece of water. We saw 2 cockroaches in the restroom, room is super small, windows can’t open all the way. Air circulation is bad. Water will come out from the shower due to short curb.

    Good location, nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location, very easy to find , 2 alleys away from my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right next door to a fast food shop and their generator is going all night long, the rooms are insanely hot even with the windows open.

    Amazing location, very easy to find , 2 alleys away from my favourite cafe, right next door to another cafe called 420 , straight across the road from one of the canals & very helpful staff , even after we checked out the reception staff saved our luggage until we needed to leave for the airport which was handy, clean towels every day, we were told it was a shared bathroom online but we ended up with a private one for no extra cost, even the steep stairs aren’t a problem to go up, they play music in the day in the corridors and it’s actually good music that they play, brill hotel for how cheap it is :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    2.9
    Absolute nightmare
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely everything, ranging from services, to quality of room service, to outdated and horrible washrooms, non sound proofed rooms let us hear drunken neighbour yelling, no AC, horrible heat off pipes that are in front of the windows, horrible state of rooms after they are "cleaned" absolutely no space to turn around, broken beds, non working tv, I could go on and on. Just horrible. Humongous card charge just because we did not pay cash. The only + it had it's location in the center, but the hotels location itself is horrible, inside a narrow alleyway right in front of 2 coffeehouses that are full of intoxicated tourists.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    $800+ for no AC, shared bathroom and single beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t know how many stairs we had to climb. Then we paid for a private bathroom and still had to share. No kind of climate control. Single beds for my wife and I, Flintstones style.

    Reduced parking rate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Location, very close to central station and canal cruise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very basic, hostel style, bunk beds without ladders and rails. We booked a family room for 2 nights, it is on the main street side, very noisy all night long with windows open as the weather was hot. No AC or fan in the room. We had to pay extra to swap to another two rooms by the side street the second night. We were travelling with young children and elderly by public transport thus wanted something close to train station and main attractions. The location is great but too expensive for what it is.

    Location, very close to central station and canal cruise pier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Basic hotel/hostel, not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went in the warmer months so it was reaching 30 degrees and higher, however there was as no air con, which meant the room was absolutely boiling. We had to keep the window open, which didn’t stay open so we had to prop it open with something. Also with the window having to remain open, this meant our whole room permanently smelt of weed. The room had 3 beds but definitely would not be big enough for 3 people to stay in. There was no mirror in the room, only a small one in the bathroom. No hair dryer in the room but was given one on request. For people that struggle with stairs, this hotel isn’t for you, as they are very narrow steep stairs, it was a struggle lugging suitcases up and down. We were told not to use our adapters as it blew a fuse, the staff member who told us this came across very rude. Overall the stay was average, basic, standard hotel but is ok for 2 night stay. I wouldn’t recommend It though, there are plenty of other hotels to stay in Amsterdam and even nice hostels.

    The location was it’s only bonus, in the fact you could walk to every where and it was located just a 5 minute walk from the train station which was ideal. However in regards to the location, it’s only a few minute walk from the red Light District and the street it is situated on is full of bars and weed shops, so as you can imagine the smell was horrid. The room was cleaned daily and replaced with new towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Not if you want to sleep....
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like sleeping next to the M25! It was very hot during our stay and as there was no air con/fans we were forced to sleep with the window open. I didn’t sleep for the first 2 nights. We weren’t given towels until day 2, so had gone and bought some. The whole place is really shabby. The shared shower we used was tiny and as it was across the corridor and through 2 doors from our room, trying to dry off in there was almost impossible. If I’m ever back in Amsterdam, I won’t be staying here again. I’d rather stay further out and actually get some sleep!

    Location in terms of being central. It was clean. Beds were comfy. Helpful with luggage storage and we checked in a bit early. The pancake place a couple of doors up is good for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    The property has a good location, central train station is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for money. The conditions were like for a hostel. Small and warm room, no AC in the room, no stairs to reach the upper bunk beds

    The property has a good location, central train station is about 10 min walk, lots of shops/ places to eat around. Friendly personal!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location for a last minute/late night booking/arrival, not a place of comfort though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was more a hostel type atmosphere, bathroom needed updating and could have been a little cleaner. The hairdryer didn’t work, the staff at the desk gave us another one which also didn’t work (it got so hot it could have started on fire) and finally after another trek down the the winding tight stairs we were given another hairdryer that worked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Amazing location, staff very nice. But for the price compared to room I wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were average at best but were effective. On a hot day it became very unpleasant with no air con, fan or breeze through the window. The only thing you pay for is the location but even then I think it is overpriced.

    Amazing location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location, dirty bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtains had bad smelling mold so taking a shower was a mission. Also, if you want a quite night rest then I would say book elsewhere because the bar right next door can get really really loud.

    The location is amazing! There is a bar right by the hotel,coffee shops, food and Amsterdam Centraal is a 5 minute walk.GREAT LOCATION!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.5
    Dusty, disgusting and dodgy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not really friendly since check in. I never saw anyone at reception. However, when we met other customers we were asked to show them how the key card worked to open their rooms, as reception could not show them and leave reception unattended. As soon as we reached the room, we realised it was dirty, badly kept and not close to what the pictures we showing. Room size was around 7 sqm, barely fitting the two beds. The room was dirty and linen had not been washed properly. The toilet was not at best conditions either, with hairdryer cables and plug sockets dusty and dirty. The shower was rusty. The next morning we also realised that none of the plugs worked: our phones and external batteries hadn’t charged. We would have spoken to reception if only someone had been around. The best part of our stay was hearing other (drunk?) guests taking showers, laughing and scream at 6.50am. As a genius booking member, I feel utterly disgusted and disappointed for a 200€/night (ex VAT and other tax). I think this property shouldn’t be on booking.com

    WiFi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Despite this hotel's shortcomings, it's hard to beat for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Linen and towels rather tired. Floor not exactly clean. Access only by very steep narrow stairs (but that's typical of all these small hotels in the centre of Amsterdam). Other guests rather noisy thanks to creaky floors and little inter-room sound isolation.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent location. Only 5 minutes walk from Central Station, or if you don't want to walk, one tram stop with the stop virtually outside the hotel. Restaurants and bars within 100 metres, plus supermarket about 500 metres away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location to have a long weekend of sightseeing or partying in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    super-small room. only the 6-bed room has a private bathroom - the others sharing one per level

    perfect location, everything is nearby. the 6 bed room is a must take - if you are 6 friends and this room is available, then book immediately. (It has private bathroom!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    Most money per square foot I ever paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, only the length of bed. No room for luggage. We paid over $200 per night, but same day rate was $125 on booking.com. Never stay there again.

    Central location. Nice ensuite bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    The only positive thing is the location, very close from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms; MANY stairs; no friendly for people with mobility issues; very expensive for the type of rooms offered.

    The only positive thing is the location, very close from train station in the heart of Amsterdam. The personnel is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, the poor attention of the staff. In fact, the people in the reception was kind, but there was no more people to attend the more basic problems.

    The photo show a two bed room and the room had just one The light of the room did not function. At 6 pm I asked to the staff to fix it, and they were to fix it at 1.30 am The wifi was so weak that never could go in any internet page

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    The position in the city centre close to Dam is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We don't like there's any breakfast including the price, any elevator and the place could be more neat and clean. During the last day, a beetle comes out from the shower

    The position in the city centre close to Dam is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    -
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator and small stairs so difficult for carrying luggage, poor air ventilation so it was quite hot (uppermost floor)

    helpful staff, not so far from the central station, near the city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.8
    Was very basic and we where put to the very top of the...
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived and struggled to carry cases to the very top of the building with no help from the person on reception, we would return back to this hotel

    Was very basic and we where put to the very top of the building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One remark: no lift,so bring only carry-on baggage.

    Extremely great staff,the receptionists were kind and helpful. Great location ,in the centre but the rooms are quite.The central station,Dam square,red light district and shopping area are in 5 minutes walk.The hotel is a good place for those who want to explore the city and do not want to spend much money for public transport. Although the rooms were tiny but the wash basin and the hair dryer were a big help. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels were changed as well. The shared bathroom was clean and we never had to wait for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.8
    Pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs. Was worried about this dive so I used the towels to try and block off the gap down the sides of the bed and lay on top. Was only sleeping three hrs and got bitten face feet and arm. Paid 120Euro for the pleasure.

    Pleasant staff. Little did I know I was walking into an infestation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathroom were horribly small. Bathroom was very slippery. It's better to sleep in Amsterdam central station than in this hotel. For next time I would prefer to pay the same money and stay in a hotel bit away from central station comfortably and a day ticket.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location if you can tolerate all the rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect for short time, not adapt for families, shared toilette, shared showers, work in progress in the outside. More like a camping than an hotel. The smell of fries was always there because of the restaurants in the street. The thin walls allow to hear all the other guest noise. I think this is standard if you want to stay close to the central area.

    Good Location and close to the main station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location, staff really friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a noisy street

    Good location, staff really friendly! Very basic but everything you need for a short trip. Fresh towels everyday was a nice surprise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    Tiny tiny room in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was 2.5x2m with very narrow bed. There was only one shower and one toilet it seems for the entire floor.

    Great location near Central Station. Room contained a wash basin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, reasonable price, very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was heavy maintenance work on the outside of the building. Workmen used loud tools and made substantial noise that started in the morning and lasted a few hours every day directly outside our room window. This work didn't bother me too much as I was up early and I am a heavy sleeper anyway, however I would have liked to have been made aware of this work as I am sure some would not have been able to stay there and my friends (two women) admitted they would not want to be in staying in the room on their own with the builders directly outside their window.

    The hotel is perfectly located to be a great base for a day of walking around Amsterdam. Everything you could need is close by and for three friends who just needed somewhere to sleep while exploring the city it was ideal for us. We paid a bit more for a private bathroom however the shared bathroom was right by and hardly seemed to be in use so I am sure sharing a bathroom wouldn't have been a problem. The staff were all very friendly and always happy to help. We arrived in the morning to drop our bags off as we were a few hours earlier than check in however our room was ready so we were given our keys straight away with a warm welcome. The room had everything you could need the T.V didn't work but I wasn't bothered so admittedly I didn't even let anyone know. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable enough. Small but big enough sized room and bathroom which was all that was needed. There are lots of tall narrow staircases (which is typical in Amsterdam buildings) so I suggest you stay somewhere else if you are not prepared to climb them but for me it wasn't any problem even with my suitcase. Would recommend if you care more about the location and price than the luxury of an expensive hotel, for all my needs this place was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    It made a brilliant experience even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in a strange position so arkward to use and seat didn't fit properly. No floor towel/mat after shower (slippery floor). The stairs hahahaha (because they're the same everywhere!).

    Room was warm. Bed soft and cozy. Tv (bonus). Hot water. Clean throughout (reception and room). Being able to leave bags before/after check in/out. Lovely friendly staff always happy. Sneaky morning cuppa if required. Reception open 24hrs so always someone there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Perfect position, but small and noisy rooms. Very pricy.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. The first night we slept in a room facing the outside street, so it was very noisy until 4 a.m. and in the morning we were waking up by workers climbing the installations leaning the wall (they are renovating the facade). Second day they moved us in a better room. Better from noise point of view, but still, small bathroom, and only one towel, without an extra towel for the face/hands, and without a small towel to put on the floor for the feet after the shower.

    Perfect position, right in front of the conference center. Close to many restaurants and pubs. Two steps from the train station. Kind staff, they held our luggage during the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Excellent friendly staff and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed before it’s in an excellent location close to train station and coffee shops. The staff were excellent very friendly. We had clean towels everyday and our room was cleaned everyday would definitely stay again. Brilliant value for money if your looking for a standard hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location and great friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical of Amsterdam there was no lift and a small staircase which was difficult with the larger bags. The staff was very good and helped without being asked.

    Great location and great friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    2.9
    Filthy dirty smelly hotel that is not only expensive but only marginally better than sleeping on rh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy the whole place smells like a Chip shop. Very very noisy. Very very dirty. Horrifically expensive only marginally better than sleeping on the street

    Leaving the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    OK value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoking in the rooms and cleanliness of the shared bathrooms

    Smoking in the rooms and cleanliness of the shared bathrooms was an issue. However, I wasn't expecting much from a 90 Euro rooms for two people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a nice birthday welcome from them an a breakfast payed from the owner great man he was recommend anyone to stay will stay again in the future 👍🏼

    Was in the centre of everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    2.9
    It was so poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly rooms, dirty bed linen, mouldy walls, rotting wood and freezing cold rooms with no heating in minus 15 degree weather. Left unwell and upset.

    Nothing apart from the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Amsterdam is some spot 😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely perfect place to put ur head down for a few nights. Staff were so nice and friendly and very helpful 😊room was small but it was perfect nice and clean and warm & we had our own bathroom & shower whuch was perfect for 5 girls overall I would give this hotel (hostel)10/10 also perfect location😄

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Great but knows when people are accusing someone of something there not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suspicious staff that were accusing me of being some sort of drug dealer as they have never meat a young Asian tourist with with a professional career before, The fact that the advert stated breakfast included but never gave us the option to have any, I have the same problem of racism in my small home town of Carnoustie in Scotland. To the point where people and the police say I am a drug dealer. Out of racial hatred and jellosy. The Asian and half cast Black members of staff are obviously not native Dutch so they can take a step down too. The blonde receptionist looks down on people which is obvious. So what do I do now,?? Let them all know I'm home safely and interpol never found any evidence of the accusations pointed at me. Sincerely Shuayb Ashraf

    Being so close to the red light district and centre of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is very strategic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two or three buildings from the hotel there is a coffeeshop, and it was not suitable for our under 6 years old children when we passed.

    The location of the hotel is very strategic. About 7 minutes from Amsterdam Central Station. There is a self laundry in front of the hotel. Various restaurants and supermarket are very close to the place. The shower and the toilet were clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Staff very helpful, friendly and polite especially Mario. Basic hotel, somewhere to put your head down. Cheap and cheerful. Room clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    Location great but that’s about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really uncomfortable and one of them had the hot pipe for the radiator right next to where you sleep, the hotel was really noisy, loud noise til 6:30am one morning, the hotel had a very strange smell like a deep fat frier, the shower was mouldy and the view from the room was horrible.

    Location was great, allowed us to late check out by 2 hours for free and stored our bags as we had a late flight, staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn't go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole hotel smelt so bad Found a pair of dirty underwear in our room when we first got there Stairs are very steep and difficult to climb with a suitcase There was a cat and I am allergic

    Location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Continental Centre Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: