Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 5 stars

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 RC Amsterdam, Netherlands

#27 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3056 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine - would have liked a full cup of coffee.

    Most amazing hotel - from the beds to the service. The staff couldn’t do enough for us. Special thank you to Evelin, she made our stay a 10/10 experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 5 star hotel. WiFi signal was poor to nothing on the third floor. Expensive for what it is. Hotel will not held accountable if the valet parking service damage your car.

    Location. Decent valet parking service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a cocktail in the bar one night and was then told the following night they couldn’t make that same cocktail so had to go in the other bar where i had less volume of cocktail but paid loads more!!! Pretentious bartender too.

    Staff were friendly. Room was lovely and very quiet. Location perfect. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooperation with taxi drivers who gave EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE PRICES for their service.

    I liked very comfortable bed and pillows, without bad smelling, like in the other hotels, even with 5*

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few unexplainable noises through the night (and not happy travellers).

    Excellent service provided by friendly and professional staff (housekeeping as well as front desk). The hotel has a lovely light, and buzzy atmosphere to it. Lots of space to relax in outside of your room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that I could complain about were a couple of the bar staff members, not rude, just a little frosty.

    The location was perfect, very central. The hotel has been re-furbed beautifully. Our room was spacious and comfortable. It was very quiet despite the central location. Breakfast was really very good. It has a lovely vibe to the whole place, very chilled and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Even with price of 300 euro/day,breakfast was not included. However,lots of restaurants near by so easily managed.

    Excellent place for stay. Very nice central location.Excellent staff.Very nice rooms. Complimentary tea/coffee in reception appreciated. Wine hour was nice but the time 5 to 6 was not very convenient.The concierge was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk (except for Laura who who i must commend for being very professional as well as kind and friendly) are very unprofessional, cold and not Service oriented. Very disappointed as I expected better Customer Service from such a highly rated hotel.

    The design of the hotel was fantastic. From the lobby, to the common areas , and rooms every single design detail was well thought of.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location was closely opposite Amsterdam Centraal station. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Loved the complimentary wine at 5 - 6pm. The room was comfy. The hotel’s bicycles to rent for the day is complimentary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is very close to Central station, but nice and quiet. It’s definitely worth the money. The staff quickly organised an airport shuttle when our private arrangement didn’t work out. Friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower gel and body lotion were amazing, would have been even better if they had provided it in a small container so that I could have taken it away! The bar was fantastic and they served delicious cocktails. Great seating. I think though that a DJ or louder lively music would have made it even better. Other than that, nothing to complain about!!!!!!!!

    From the moment we walked in, to the moment we walked out, we had the best service ever. We were greeted by Laura on Reception who had upgraded us to Little House, which is part of the hotel and has a historical background. What can I say... STUNNING!!!!!!!!!!! We had so much room, the standard of the rooms is just fantastic anyway, plus lovely bathroom with a great shower and toiletries, sumptuous bath robes and bath towels... the list is endless. We had a slight issue with air con so the lovely duty manager very kindly left us a bottle of prosecco in our room to apologise. So thoughtful and so kind! Just incredible. We also LOVED the staff in the restaurant, particularly two of the gentlemen, both serving dinner and breakfast. We missed the wine hour which was a shame, but the location was so good, we ended up doing quite a lot outside the hotel. It is literally 3 minutes walk to Centraal station which takes you right into Schiphol airport. All in all, outstanding, I cannot wait to return!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for wake up call but never got the call, glad I set up alarm on the phone myself, otherwise I would have missed my flight ! Room amenities is very simple, more like a Hilton type of business hotel. Define not luxury type.

    great location, close to train station , room is clean, big bathroom, staff is friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room service menu could have been a bit better for dinner choices, as they only seemed to list sandwiches for room service at dinner.

    Staff at the Kimpton de Witt were very welcoming and so friendly. The rooms were beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable! The selection from the minibar was very good, and the tea/coffee selection was also good. The hotel is situated less than a 5 minute walk from Centraal train station and many other sights are easily accessed by walking. There is also a small supermarket just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, along with many places to eat or enjoy a drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to be honest. A leaky tap in the bathroom if I was being overly picky.

    Lovely contemporary hotel, rooms were stylish and comfortable. Minutes walk from the station and tram stops in a nice area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably less charming than some of the more expensive traditional luxury options in the area, but good value for the money.

    Clean and New. Good affordable option while visiting Amsterdam. It’s a modern hotel in a newer building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price did not match the one that was on booking.com but this was rectified by the hotel staff and we were refunded the extra amount charged

    Very nice hotel, couldn’t fault it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights snacks with happy hour wine. Simple. Just to help mitigate the effect of the wine.

    Room was beautifully appointed. Bed, bedding heavenly. All spotless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful design, very well thought in every detail for passengers confort. Great breakfast. Good location, and extremely welcoming and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Found it impossible to get onto hotel wifi without joining the loyalty scheme. (Although the website says it is possible and reception gave is the password, the online instructions did not work)

    Loved the social hour from 5-6pm, when we could share a complimentary glass of wine (or two!!) with friends, and other guests in the lobby or atrium. A nice touch. Perfect location for trams and Central Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff weren’t as nice considering we were IHG premium customers.

    Loved the boutique feel. Location was fantastic and the beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spent there 4 nights and paid happily the extra hours for the late check out ( which was limited to 6 pm )but despite that , when requesting for an additional 30 minutes ( which i wanted to pay for !!) we were rudely reminded that it was hotel policy that by 6 pm the room needed to be vacated as they still had to clean for arriving guests ( which was a blatant lie as more rooms were available when i checked). The receptionist showed a total lack of judgement and had no professionalism at all when handling this issue. Surely the extra 30 minutes would have not harmed anyone and they would have had a happy customer at the end of the stay that would have gotten them a very good review. Would i go back? Maybe, as the rest of the stay was good and this hick up should not undo the rest of the great experience! However i ultimately felt like a number ( which to them i probably am but they should try their best not to make that so obvious ) with little appreciation for the fact that i chose their hotel for our holiday.

    Great location as a base to discover Amsterdam. Restaurant staff was very nice and food was good. It was my wife's birthday and we were surprised with a bottle of bubbly in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service menu somewhat limited. Biggest downer: I couldn’t shower properly - the rain shower head just not high enough. I am 6.3 or 188 and never have issues but here in Amsterdam, the capital of the tallest people in the world!

    Great location, valet parking expensive but available, breakfast superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is perfect, near the central station and very close to all the tourist sites and tramway stations. The room is well decorated with a very good taste. It’s very clean and has everything you may need. The staff are so nice that it makes you like home. The hotel offers free tea and organises free wine moment. There’s a bar and a restaurant in the hotel which makes everything convenient. We spent a lovely moment here and will definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large queues at reception but not the end of the world

    Hotel was lovely and breakfast in the restaurant is also fab! Location is great too and there is a free wine hour

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price per night was higher than we had budgeted for but this was our last stop in a 2.5 week trip so we decided to splurge. Then we realized on arrival that it was a holiday weekend in most of Europe so it’s probably not aways this expensive

    Large and very comfortable rooms for Amsterdam, also lots of lounge space downstairs, great bar which opened til late, with the best cocktail mixologist. Very calming atmosphere which is typical of Kimpton. Loved our stay and would stay again without even looking at other places!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't try the breakfast as I found it very expensive (21€ per person per day). However I can not judge it as i didn't give it a try.

    The bed was enormous big and very comfortable. Also very big bathroom with Shampoo, Conditioner, Shower Gel and Body Lotion, all in normal/big size. The stuff was very friendly and helpful with any query you may have. Also they offer free tea during the day - till 17.00. And from 17.00 till 18.00 they offer free wine! How super is this? Last but not least it is in the best area you can imagine. 5 min walk from the Centraal Station and 5 min walk from down town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was so uncomfortable and we saw a rat in the dining room.

    The property and facility were nice and the location was excellent. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers provided in the room

    Location was perfect for both families and individuals. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Free bicycles Information and help with booking tour Tea and wine hour Breakfast was delicious Room was clean and of a decent size considering the location was really central you don’t get rooms this big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no room with balcony was available and the rooms windows do not open (like a jail), the view was very bad, i stayed in much cheaper hotels in Amsterdam with better view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too dark in bathroom- couldn't see to put on makeup. Had to ask for more teabags, not replenished.

    Water availability at entrance, concierge services, good size bed, beautiful teacups in room with good quality teabags, lovely decor throughout. All staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right next to the elevator - It was quite loud at night and first thing in the morning.

    Staff were amazing. The hotel was beautiful. Lovely decor and so clean. They seem to have thought of everything. Loved the free wine in wine hour. Bar staff were very entertaining in the evening. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the guests and the locations was just perfect, close enough to the city without being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The open part of lobby is splendid and everytime you walk in to the lobby it "kicks you" with amazing smell. Whole hotel is super clean and fresh, staff is nice and the location is outstanding, everything is in walkable distance. 10/10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, location, location! This gorgeous hotel is within walking distance to most major attractions without being too close to the busy tourist areas. The staff were polite and friendly and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Bonus, they have a wine hour every evening!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room information- when to check out, bar prices etc. Storage bathroom light arrangement that means if use during the night that it floods the whole bedroom with light. Breakfast staff were quite brusque.

    Great room- very spacious and comfortable. Wine hour for the guests is a lovely idea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottled water in rooms Wardrobe space very limited First room in very small bathroom - shower only no bath

    Bed comfy Staff generally very helpful Good position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff are not efficient! I left very early morning and returned 1:30 pm and my room was untouched! It seems they are understaffing!

    Location is excellent. All shops and restaurants around the hotel. Staff are great. WiFi speed is very good. Room size is decent. My favorite hotel so far in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet door was a little too thin and sharing rooms with a Friend made it quite impossible to be private!

    Tha location was really convenient. Cool bar downstairs and complementary wine for the guests in the afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly. It must be a corporate key performance indicator and staff trained to meet the expectation. Well done. We enjoyed the sundowners every evening. Great idea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, it should have included a light breakfast.

    Beautiful, clean, quiet and very friendly staff. A nice happy hour with wine every evening. The concierge was always available and very helpful. Great location for easy access to the train and airport. Door to train to airport in less than 30 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    5 hour wait to get into rooms no help with baggage glass in bathroom locked windows no fan in bath staff indifferent cups not cleaned ever

    mattress shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service woke us both mornings around 9am but should have put note on door which was provided

    Loved the decor of the hotel, simplicity but had all the essentials, even a umbrella and a mirror for applying my makeup at the desk in room, tv good size, large bed which was comfortable with crisp white sheets, definitely the best hotel I’ve stayed in in Amsterdam, also had free wine hour 5-6pm and free tea/coffee in room and in reception area, also free water dispenser at reception, location was excellent walking distance from all main attractions including central station, can’t fault this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was rather polite, but the service, in general, was not on the level of 5 stars hotel. That excludes the restaurant staff, which was wonderful. The reception desk could be more warm to welcome guests and our luggage was not taken care of.

    The room was charming and well-taken care. The bed was good and breakfast excellent. Umbrellas and bikes are available, which seems to be a necessity for Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception was often very busy and as such, it was often necessary to wait for service. Also, although we had requested/specified in our reservation 2 separate rooms, one with a king and one with separate single beds and reiterated the request on 3 separate occasions we ended up waiting additional time for our rooms and ended up being located on different floors far, far from one another.

    It has a great location. Additionally, it was really nice to be able to take some water in the lobby when coming and going.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got into our room, the room was not ready. Otherwise when we back to the reception, the receptionist not only apologized but also gave us an 15 euros treat card. So that it turns the unlike part to be the like part.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t of great value for money better going outside for quality and value. Coffee wasn’t good quality. Food was just average have had much better. Service seemed somewhat distracted despite not being particularly busy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to Central Station. Wyers (on site) for breakfast and dinner was wonderful. All staff interactions were very courteous and helpful. Concierge provided great information.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be better if provide complimentary bottled water in room :)

    Beautifully designed hotel, comfortable beds, big enough rooms and GREAT location. Walking distance to Red light district, to palace and most main sights. Very good choice. Love the door-knocks by the way. Great restaurant too. Helpful staff put family members in rooms close to each other as well. Thank you for doing that!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough milk in the room. But asked for more and brought to the room immediately. Didn’t like leaving could have stayed longer.

    It was a very clean hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a problem in booking to see Anne frank before going but the consiarge at hotel booked it for me. Lovely food and friendly service in the hotel restaurant and bar staff great. Complementary wine hour in the afternoon lovely extra. Room very comfortable and coffee machine a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    It is a beautiful hotel with loads of little luxuries. Excellent service and smiling staff. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was wide ranging and the whole experience was a happy one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had the hotel breakfast once and felt that it could have been better. The hot food in the buffet was not really warm enough and the fruit was not very tasty although the service was very good there. But we ate breakfast elsewhere on our other days. We wouldn’t let the breakfast put us off staying with you again.

    The staff were all outstanding - extremely friendly and helpful. There was always a welcoming atmosphere in the lobby - the glass of wine between 5 and 6 was especially appreciated. The room was very comfortable and SO quiet - and the bathroom was fabulous, especially the shower. Also the lovely toiletries!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The checking in did not go smoothly - I arrived couple of hours early and after the check in I did not get message about the room being ready.

    The concierge service was exceptional!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air and the temperatuure in the room were rather difficult to operate. As Windows were closed and not opening it is extremely important to make sure the air conditioner works perfectly.

    Nice bed, nice pillows. Friendly stuff, fantastic location. Rather quiet rooms. Wine testing ceremony! Nice breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I prefer a buffet breakfast as as against a served breakfast. Book early "On Line" for the Van Gogh Museum and the Anne Frank Museum. We didn't and had to leave them out of our sightseeing. You cannot buy tickets at the entrance

    Rooms and service of all the staff were excellent. The position is only a few minutes to Central Station where the canal cruises and hop on hop off start and also a few minutes walk to some museums; Dam Square and the Red Light district. Rijksmuseum is a must and also visit the Diamond Museum nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was terrible... We looked onto other bedroom windows and a huge air conditioning fan! Thats it! The window to the room did not open either it was screwed shut which is worrying especially from a H&S point of view!

    The room was very clean and had a comfy bed and a really good shower. Those are the two main things i look for in a room. Overall is it a really nice hotel but its a shame about the views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central, prefect location to walk to all sights, a few minute walk from the train station. Great local information from hotel. Free wine hour between 5 and 6, a great way to finish the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Turn the music down a little in the restaurant area?

    The hotel is beautifully designed and decorated, with stylish modern twists on traditional Dutch materials and crafts. Serene and comfortable with a variety of relaxing public areas. I basically wanted to move in permanently!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staffs at reception are so nice and helpful, very willing to tell you about surroundings and recommend places to go. Really helpful. The hotel is pretty as well, very decent. The location is near the chinatown area, and some shopping area, so it’s very convenient. It’s also close to tram station. Overall it’s great. If I had to peak one thing that’s not so good, it would be the breakfast—— not so much to choose, but still good enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff and reception at the restaurant may be better. Especially at the reception in the hall we found quite different attitude and level of customer service by different staff members. Seems like there are not shared guidelines; anyhow some of the receptionist, and especially the concierge and the night manager were very helpful, polite and friendly

    Location is great, very central and basically near to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little firm for my taste. Cost was at the top end of what I was prepared to pay.

    The breakfast was excellent - don't change the quality of the menu, and carry on serving freshly squeezed orange juice. Complementary wine hour is a welcome innovation. Location very convenient for railway station and for trams into town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given that the hotel was refurbished 18months ago I am so surprised about the poor quality WiFi. The hotel, staff, decor, location - excellent but WiFi is so important to the every day person, they seriously need to increase their bandwidth. We could connect, using their work around url on iPhones (we had to ask about this), but when you connect I was getting a 4mb connection, we were on floor 6 and it was worse up there. The only other tiny issue we had was my wife needed a shower cap, were both well traveled and this hotel provide everything you can imagine...apart from a shower cap. We asked if they provided them at reception and the lady said yes and that they’d drop it in the room but it never turned up. We also asked for a traveller adapter which did turn up. The WiFi is a big issue, the shower cap was just a niggle!

    The hotel, the service, the decor, the staff, the relaxed vibe, the free wine at 5pm till 6pm, the location which is perfect for the huddle and bustle of the main centre but also the short walks to the camels - all of the above were fantastic. I would definitely go back again and would look up this chain when traveling to other countries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat wasn't working one day in the bathroom, though we were given a portable heater and the system was fixed the next morning.

    Wine is served every evening in the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m a non smoker, I really didn’t like that guests were smoking at the entrance to you lovely hotel!

    Loved the extra touches like crystal wine and water glasses in the trim, full size high end products to use too!! And beautifully designed rooms and cosy corners to read with a glass of wine!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don´t like the served berakfast not enbabling freedom in food selection, moreover, in spite of high breakfast cost, some additional payment was required if one wants to eat a little bit more ....In spite of a pleaseant personal, this approach is somehow unfriendly... No bedroom slippers available in this five star hotel...

    The bed was comfortable, the design of the room very nice...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No value for money... what I have paid was for 5 stars but they don’t even have swimming pool room was smaller than in the picture the view is front of another building

    Location and cleanliness is perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking area

    The art deco. The designs, features and layout are amazing. Elegant and calming. One of the best hotels iv visited :) The staff are beautiful, polite, focused and welcoming. Couldnt complain about anything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff. Delicious breakfast options. Simple and elegant decorations every where. Relaxing athmosphere. Cozy fireplace at the lobby. Comfy bed, pillows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark, could of done with a proper light instead of just lamps. Also the view from our room was a brick wall

    Great location & very modern rooms Concierge very helpful recommended a lovely restaurant for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise isolation between connected rooms is not great. I also expected the hotel of this class to have a swimming pool.

    Cleanness and design. Wine hour. Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was not very helpful, there was no manual in the bedroom of instructions to call reception, WiFi etc. No toiletries in the room and no room service to bring any up.

    The bedroom was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a mess. The shower do not work properly since there is no real curtain the entire bathroom floor will get wet every time you shower. Additionally the hair dryer does not work, they only have one brand and is the worst especially if it's winter and you want to dry your hair before going out...If you are a girl this could be a deal-breaker. The breakfast at the hotel was okey, however during the week I was staying there they had no a la cart menu' only a buffet, which was terrible. 21 euros for some toast and a cold coffee.. next time I will definitely go to one of the thousand caffe places nearby. The lady at the breakfast room reception was so unkind she did not even say good morning and I mean if you are a guest staying in a 5 Star hotel, even if you are in a bad mood you should say good morning to your guests. Additionally, I get that we are in Amsterdam and that weed is legal etc, but the guests should avoid smoking in the room. The guests next door to me were smoking all day and night apparently, because the smell was so bad through the entire corridor and inside my bedroom. I told the staff several times, but they did not took any measures against this. It's quite frustrating especially if you do not like to smell of weed...!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The staff was very nice and helpful, they could give me a lot of good information about Amsterdam and how to get to the places I wanted. The hotel is located in a very accessible area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked and paid a room of 29 square meters and I received a room of no more than 24 square meters without any explanation that there would be no available rooms of 29 square meters or other reason. After we noticed this, they offered to change our room the next day, but we refused. I stayed for 3 days in Amsterdam, which is why I was not willing to miss a day packing, moving and unpacking luggage. Last night, our room smelled of food very strong. I noticed this aspect of the hotel management, but some of the hotel staff showed up in our room and told us he did not smell food in the room, it just seems to us. The windows of the camera do not open. To serve your breakfast, you had to present early, otherwise you risk not finding a place and wait half an hour for breakfast.

    The hotel is located in the city center, and there are many restaurants and shopping area nearby. Breakfast is good and varied. The room was clean, overlooking the city. The hotel has two bars and a restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price but it was a late booking so vacancies were few and far between. Other than that the hotel was really a good place to stay and I would definitely stay there again.

    The room and hotel were expensive but the room was really lovely, bright, airy, warm and big, which was a bonus as I don't do well in hotels whose rooms don't have windows that open. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered room service twice which was lovely but expensive - however the evening we ordered burgers we were issued the little sources for 1 person , which had been opened and used and had someone else’s food in - needless to say I didn’t eat my burger !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive minibar and would have preferred buffet breakfast to a la carte. Breakfast was however plentiful and tasty.

    Great central location, near train station and tram stops. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Rooms very clean and spacious with good amenities. Enjoyed the free wine at 5pm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on the first floor and disturbed by the moving of chairs either in the lobby area or the restaurant usually around 4-5am.

    We arrived early and were allowed to Check-in.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: