Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ss Rotterdam Hotel en Restaurants 4 stars

Derde Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, Netherlands

#24 of 61 hotels in Rotterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3148 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    Unique atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit far from city centre; fridge out of order

    Good location for feeling like cruising, walkable distance from/to Rijnhaven Metro station (20 min); very friendly and efficient staff; excellent breakfast, a wide variety of hot and cold foods; very clean and cosy double room with a seating area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    3.8
    Overall very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hard pillows in the room & the bed was more like a twin room with single duvets. Cocktail bars couldn't make the drinks because no ingredients. Couldn't get into the al a carte restaurant because they said it was fully booked on all 3 nights & when we went to look at the restaurant there were over half the tables empty at 8.30pm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    A unique experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The driving entrance to the ships dock said "free entry". We assumed as we were staying here parking would be free, unfortunately that is only to drop off people and the parking was Euro 15 for one night. So how much is the parking cost if we stayed 5 nights. They offer tours of the ship to the public, the cost of Euro 16 per person seemed quite high, and they don't offer any better rate for customers staying in the hotel. More information on the ships history through more photos and displays would be great. The ship did a number of around the world trips, there must be lots of photos of the ship is ports around the world.

    The ship is furnished to a very high standard, and it is nice to see many of the original fittings still in the rooms and public areas. There is such a lot of history to enjoy. The boat taxi to the centre of Rotterdam centre is very convenient, as they pick you up from the boat. I only wonder if they could offer a group rate, as otherwise the costs of Euro 4.50 per person each way quickly add up.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.1
    Interesting stay on a retired cruiseliner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected more facilities available, not all bars were open and pretty quiet. A little far from city centre but transport for a fairly small fee is available such as taxi, water taxi etc.

    Good sized double room and very clean bathroom. Restaurant and bar on board were nice with friendly staff. We enjoyed the audio guided tour of the ship.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    A great choice for our wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The inside cabin (our choice) was a little gloomy, and on another visit I would probably opt for an outside cabin. We personally found the evening menu a little expensive, but there are many alternatives ashore, but not close by.

    As an ex-mariner I really enjoyed the s.s.Rotterdam. Much of it can be explored through the tours, and there is considerable free-movement around the ship. The breakfast was particularly enjoyable. Fast links to the city, via water bus/taxi, and the enjoyable walk over Erasmus Bridge (for those with moderate mobility) meant that the quieter location of the ship was a bonus. Car parking was very convenient, and not expensive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed my time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not entirely walkable - like if you’re carrying much, or tired from long day. It’s a good hike to the Metro the shuttle is excellent option, but there’s only one.

    Friendly and professional staff. Charming and well appointed rooms. Clean, comfy, and the food and drinks were of high quality. The bartender really tried hard to please.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location, nice room, service could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be more forthcoming when guests enter the breakfast room and show them where to find things. In our case we had to go look for coffee & juice, since they were situated on the other side of the room. No problem in itself, but it would have been nice if a staff member could keep an eye out and help guests. I would have expected better service on the SS Rotterdam. Also, the Club Room restaurant was closed on Monday night. We were given no proper reason for this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    Spending 1 night at the real cruise ship, you have to try it! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the middle of the ship with no windows at all. It's quite unusual to wake up in pitch darkness. Also, it's a bit far away from the nearest metro station, but there is a bus station in front of the ship or you can use a 'water taxi'.

    It's a real cruise ship and it's exciting being there inside and have a clean, cozy room with all the amenities. There is a 'water taxi' departing from the ship regularly and it's highly recommended to use it if you need to go to the city center as, in fact, it's comfy high-speed powerboat and it's a good opportunity to have a ride through the Rotterdam canals. And it's only +1 EUR more expensive than a single ride on public transport. Ask about this at the reception. ;-)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    I had twice written direct to the SS Rotterdam to inquire...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had twice written direct to the SS Rotterdam to inquire about staying, never received a reply, so did my booking with Booking.com - excellent service from them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ship should have a inside pool. That would be nice if that would be available as well. Food tasted ok but was a bit over cooked.

    The location is great. I do like they put an old magazine in your room. Staff also very helpfull (no room service but they did bring the food to our room)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location, the food was OUTSTANDING!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t have a window so was quite dark and a little oppressive at times. Also the rooms were a little dusty, could just do with a bit of a once over.

    Beautiful location, the food was OUTSTANDING! Staff very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    I would deffinatley stay here again, as the bad are outweighed by the good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening menu was quite expensive and not as varied as we liked. This meant us travelling into Rotterdam for a selection more to our taste. Parking 15 euro per day or part day?

    Breakfast was exceptional, the beds were very comfy. Great relaxing place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice concept but not customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swiming pool is located between the restaurant terasse. The upper sponge on the bed is not fix and always moving. no help for the luggage. And the lift was not working I was oblige to use stairs with a foot problem and to take our luggage down. Paying 15 Euro for the parking for the customers is not fair.

    Nice concept with the boat. The breakfast was good and complet. The Taxi boat stop direct in the boat is very nice to discover Rotterdam.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff are VERY friendly, room service, receptionists and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was kind of expensive, if they add more activities will be better, the air conditioner wasn't cooling good but ok. I wished I could stay longer.

    The staff are VERY friendly, room service, receptionists and waiters all of them were very kind, we chose rooms with river view but we found them small so we asked for bigger rooms but the view was to the port which is fine because the rooms was very cozy and comfortable. It's very suitable for families

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Reception staff were friendly & efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting staff seemed inexperienced and the layout out of the bar was disorganised leading to very long waits

    Reception staff were friendly & efficient. They have their own water taxi. Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    SS Rotterdam and the NSJF
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The deck bar could stay open longer.

    Firstly, the friendlimess of the staff from the moment you arrive. The ship, overall, is clean and the amienities very good. I look forward to next year and have already booked my room. Thank you for a great time during my stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    The lido deck was amazing for cooling off and great sunset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in room.. but it meant a good sleep! Most rooms have portholes I believe.

    The lido deck was amazing for cooling off and great sunset. Food and drink is pricey but was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable short break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about the Hotel I didn't like!

    The hotel room was amazing, the staff were friendly and polite. I thoroughly enjoyed the Snack Platter which you can get in the Captain's Lounge or Terrace Lido. There is a regular hotel shuttle bus that takes you to the nearest station Rijnhaven. From Rijnhaven it's a few stops on the Metro to Rotterdam Centraal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.5
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    CHECKING IN:, we had to move room three times before we got one where everything worked, this put a real time on the day as it took as over an hour to settle in when we finally got our room. We felt this could have been handled much better and not just casually brushed off as just one of those things!! one change I can understand but three!! A complimentary coffee or a drink on the house would have been a nice gesture and good customer service. would I go back? sadly no.

    LOCATION, SHUTTLE BUS SERVICE

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    The whole experience, water taxi platform, area, atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Takes a bit used to being in a room with no windows, especially when walking down narrow corridors. That's part of the experience though! Also, many rooms are not available for viewing, only possible if you buy the tours.

    The whole experience, water taxi platform, area, atmosphere, lido terrace

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    A unique experience staying a little piece of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lido restaurant was very busy and crowded so try eating later at 20:30. The food was very good but rather expensive, even in the Lido.

    A unique experience staying a little piece of history. Quite quaint and old-fashioned but in a good way, the ship has been beautifully maintained and it feels quite grand. The location is also fine being close to an up and coming area of Rotterdam.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location & rooms, badly integrated with museum. A few changes would make it great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Museum tickets not inlcuded in Hotel price. As a hotel guest you could just walk where you wanted to. Not enough information regarding how the museum worked as a hotel Guest. Parking options not explained. NO AIRCON in rooms and with the current heat of 28 degrees could not sleep. resturaunt also hot. They did not care to ask why i was leaving 1 day early just checked me out. Could not swim in pool on deck, for kids only.

    Location is great and that its an old restored ship with lots of history. Rooms very clean and nice size. Tour of Ship was great and very informative.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    The fact that it was a functioning boat was very cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the service, the food or the fact that to tour the boat while being a guess areas were restricted and I had to pay to hang in other areas with the public that were not staying at the hotel! Highly disappointed and not worth my money!

    The fact that it was a functioning boat was very cool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    The great ambiance of the ship, the watertaxi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com should have notified us there was a Beachvolleyball championship right in front of the Ship during the whole weekend we booked! We had to find out via Social media! Tourneys were played upon late in the evening incontrast to the information from SS R'dam staff by phone. The upperdeck was not permitted due to VIP reservation for the championship. Our stay at SS R'dam was not as pleasant as earlier visits, this really should have been communicated......

    The great ambiance of the ship, the watertaxi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Great breakfast, Good location. Different to stay on a ship. But service can improve a lot though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked for a double bed and got two twins, had to get a mattress topper to cover that and make it "one". Then had to ask for king size duvet and only got it on the last night. This was rather annoying. Because my husband and I had to sleep with one single bed duvet for the two nights. Very uncomfortable. And we were celebrating our anniversary. Nothing romantic about chasing a duvet trying to cover up all night. I just felt like it wasn't a priority for them to make our stay memorable in a nice way. We hired bikes and one broke down 2km away from the hotel. We were charged for the hire and not refunded for the broken bike. There was no accident/ damage from our side, it just stopped pulling uphill so there was clearly something wrong and only became evident on our trip. Felt a bit ripped off. 15 euros is not small change. Had to park both bikes and catch taxi back to hotel, extra expense.

    The breakfast was good. Nice variety of food and drinks and fresh fruit. The location was also not too bad. Close to walk to places within 3km or if you mind walking they have a shuttle to the nearest metro (train) station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    The best place to stay in Rotterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Location was ideal for North Sea Jazz Festival and quick access to Rotterdam centre (especially by water taxi). Bags more character staying on-board a ship, with a rich history, rather than staying in a non-descript hotel. Shuttle bus to the metro was a real bonus and always available even in the early hours. The volunteers (often former crew) who helped the passengers were marvellous, always engaging and informative. After-show parties in the late bar was another bonus and great opportunity to mix with other guests and compare notes about the Jazz Festival. I shall stay again next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Really loved the experience of staying on this beautiful ship, food good, staff friendly, amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to get a bus to go into town, but that wasn't so bad, because the bus stop is so close to hotel, and comes every twenty minutes

    The room was nice, we had a room on the main deck, which was close to reception & the main doors to enter and exit this beautiful ship, there was three restaurants, (Lido ) for casual dining, ( Club room ) was more for formal and looked expensive, ( which we didn't visit) and one outside on the terrace , to sit and relax and watch all the ships go by! The mini bar in the room wasn't free, we stayed for three nights, Wed.Thur.and Friday night , there was music in one bar on the Friday night, jazz music , didn't start till 12 midnight! Overall we really enjoyed the experience on this hotel , and would definitely return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Sleepless mosquito invested nights on cruise ship turned into hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This former cruise ship SS Rotterdam should not be rated a four star hotel. The room we stayed in was not only very dusty, but also mosquito invested. During many sleepless hours we killed during one nightly hunt at least fifteen(15!) mosquitos as well as other flying insects, and more were still flying around. We discovered, that the insects originated from the corridors. The uncomfortable bed probably dated from the time the ship was built in the middle of the last century. The main restaurant was closed one Tuesday night, because as we were told, it wouldn't be profitable to operate as no prior reservations had been received.

    nothing to be liked during our 4 nights stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    kitchen and food is very good, the rest is really up to tast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast for the price is basic and the hotel is worn out. apart food in the restaurant this is just one night experience. nothing special.

    kitchen and food is very good, the rest is really up to tast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Variable - excellent front of house staff but let down by kitchen and restaurant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered breakfast in bed to have a lazy lie in. The order did not arrive and we had to chase it resulting in a very poor breakfast delivered 1.5 hours late just before check out. However the hotel staff have been very efficient in dealing with our complaint

    The reception staff were very helpful and could not do enough to help and accommodate us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay on a classic heritage ship recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ship is located away from the centre and away from public transport. The river taxis are recommended and a great way to travel but can involve a wait at busy times.

    Had a great stay on this classic heritage ship. The ship has a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Historic stay for those enjoy something else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ordinary for a 4 star. Towling in bathroom poor quality. Air conditioning of bedroom rather limited in cooling capacity to cool the room.

    The ship/hotel self-rates as a 4 star - our view is that, in comparison to other 4 star locations, it doesn’t quite meet a 4 star rating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was great, great variety of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected more facilities and activities. Yet it is not a real cruise afterall, most of the rooms and areas were closed.

    Breakfast was great, great variety of choices. Dinner at the restaurant was one of the best meals of my trip!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Love that it was a boat! The staff were perfect 😀
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the breakfast card wasn’t put in my room 3 times so I had to call reception- but no big deal.

    The staff were the best thing- so friendly. I was on my own and they made me feel really comfortable! The hotel itself being a boat was fab! Breakfast in the room was massive and tasty!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    A boat but you cannot breath sea breeze at evening, must stay inside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a wonderful cruise boat, but at evening you cannot go outside on the deck to look at the see and breathe fresh air. You must stay only inside, really a pity.

    Furniture is new, service and staff very pleasant and efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    I liked the way we were treated bij the Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matresses on the bed. I’d rather had one big matress than 2 seperates. It made sleeping less comfortable.

    I liked the way we were treated bij the Staff. The staff is very helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    The structure is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a general lack of attention to detail. The cleaning lady would clean, but leave empty bottles on the desk. Or would refill the fridge, but not make the bed. The staff is not very attentive and the restaurant kitchen is open up 22:00h. After that you can’t get anything to eat. There is no room service, which is ridiculous for a hotel on this category. Get delivery food (I’ve tried only Uber eats) is also not an option due the distance the ship is from town and most restaurants in Rotterdam close their kitchens also around 22:00. The staff appearance also lacks attention. The impression is of a great infrastructure poorly managed.

    The structure is good. The ship is beautiful as is her history. The rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Reception staff not great customer service- my friend had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not great customer service- my friend had her bill of over 800 Euro debut twice on her card. She phone them had no apology just wanted her card number

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time. Only problem was the underperformance by housekeeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of housekeeping in the room; on the first day we found a plastic object in the drinking glass in the bathroom, and on subsequent days used glasses were left in the room, despite our having reported this more than once at the reception desk.

    Pretty much everything. The room was extremely comfortable and the bed was great. The staff were outstanding; efficient, courteous and friendly. I would single out Mariette Winters on the reception desk for a special mention; she was unfailingly helpful and patient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff were excellent and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say it would benefit from another resteraunt or cafe on board

    The staff were excellent and very helpful. The food was amazing with a good selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice place for a specials experience but once is enough, you get nicer rooms in the city for this pr
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some drawers were very dirty with lots of dust. The clean clothes were not clean anymore when you wanna put them on 😞 The service in the restaurant Lido was not the best for dinner, we had to wait at least 20Min.till we could order something and the quality of food was ok but not the best

    It's a great location for a special experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Interesting historical site
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Lido restaurant is about ok for breakfast. After that awful bad mannered staff at all other times of day. Some staff at noon is OK and all of the staff in the evening. At the end of my meal I asked for a bottle of water to bring back to my room explaining that I wanted it charged to my account. Request refused "sorry the till is closed". Enough said. The food at lunch is ok as is breakfast. Meals in the evening are ALL served cold. The waiters and staff are so useless that no tip should be given. Hopefully they will choose some other profession but I doubt it. They work unsupervised and get paid to be useless. It's the equivalent of winning a lottery ticket.

    Interesting historical site

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    I would return if they change the Lido cafe' staff. Otherwise, after 3 stays, there won't be a 4th!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant staff needs to be better trained both in terms of waiting upon guests and just in terms of manners. There were 10 of us that went to the Lido for dinner. There was a highly unpleasant waiter (from someplace in the far east) that found every possible way to discourage us from ordering anything. Strange behavior for waiting staff. The cherry on the cake was when I asked for bottle of water to bring back to my room (there would have been no cash payment as I had asked for it to be CHARGED TO MY ROOM). My request WAS DENIED !!!!! I was told "we have already closed our till". The most stupid remark I have ever heard uttered by somebody who works in the "service" sector. The issue of how unpleasant the staff at Lido is (not all as the morning staff is fine) can also be ascertained by reading some informative TripAdvisor reviews. Real patrons of Lido are not complementary. I am starting to wonder whether not all the glowing reviews have been prepared without some form of bias.

    The food served was OK but NOT excellent. Often tepid (NOT HOT).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast at €17.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it has to mention what room type you stay to let reader to get a realistic view. Some reviews say spacious, brilliant, clean, etc., they might stay in a deluxe/executive rooms whereas standard rooms do not! It’s old and not very clean. The shower basin door was broken which leaked water when having shower but no repair during my six nites stay. I don’t like that.

    Breakfast at €17.5, food compares with price is just fair deal, not outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved the Ship, my best stay on my tour of the Netherlands!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were super helpful and friendly! The Ship on board is stunningly beautiful, this one really took my breath away! I have nothing bad to say about my stay on the SS Rotterdam at all! (apart from having to go back because the stay was too short)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel in Rotterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could of been better. Fly like I was going to fall off anytime sleeping on a double bed.

    Great views.. great staff. Just like titanic. (Except it didn’t sink)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    Unusual p
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the drinks in the bar where very expensive. Also there was a private party on one night and the noise was horrendous and this didn’t stop till 1am

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    A very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is somewhat isolated from walkable restaurants and entertainment.

    The hotel is well kept abd a throwback to cruising in more luxurious times. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The SS Rotterdam is a bit of a way out of the centre but the surrounds are fine and there is a shuttle which will take you to the nearest metro, from which it is a 20 walk into the city if you want to walk.

    Very big room and good sized bathroom. Quiet and comfortable. Real atmosphere of being on a boat but not actually at sea. Staff very friendly and Lido restaurant excellent, we did not try the other one. Nice to have a Nespresso machine in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    The experience of staying in the SS Rotterdam was unique and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff patrolling other floors were not particularly friendly.

    The experience of staying in the SS Rotterdam was unique and fun. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms clean and nicely decorated. Staff checking in and in restaurants were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice nostalgic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A wonderful stay on a beautiful ocean liner, now transformed into a hotel. These were and still are the most beautiful cruise ships full of romance and luxury for his time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Short getaway in a historic environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No surprises, really. Taxi to center is far more expensive than the water taxi, which is also quicker.

    Great breakfast and very friendly and attentive staff. Everyone on-board was very helpful, and always stepping in to check if there was anything needed. The tour to engine room, and overall around the ship was almost like traveling back in time..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Special experience to share with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would've preferred a harder mattress, but it wasn't a big problem since it was just for a night.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful, despite it being such a busy weekend. The choices at breakfast were amazing and tasted really good (well worth the money). Also, the rooms were spacious and very much soundproof. All in all a special experience to share with family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect start for a cruise from Rotterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could be a tick cleaner

    Excellent Breakfast, perfect ambiance to start a cruise, nice to do the ship tour around the engine room and bridge, nice and friendly service staff, perfect located to cruise terminal, rooms are well equipped with TV, Wifi and we had a wonderful night sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice and funny floating hotel in a central location, but connectivity needs significant improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi is made with Radio, but waves don't penetrate steel-made ship cabins... more hotspots are needed, and cellular coverage system to enable phone calls too.

    Excellent breakfast and unique view from an unusual location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Amazing other than 1 2 small things
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact there is not one section in the entire ship where you offer drinks all time round

    Can have vending machines with snacks and drinks.... Went to the reception expecting that I will be able to get hot drink or soft drink but was told they don't have any

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    It had all the glamour, style and opulence of being on a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy - I was in room A021 and it sounded like there was some kind of service access door beneath my cabin, which sounded like it was in constant use from about 6:30 in the morning - constantly banging!

    It had all the glamour, style and opulence of being on a cruise, but right in the heart of Rotterdam with stunning views of the river and city - the food in the dining room was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    Great stay, but general upkeep of the ship and room was not up to standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was not my first stay onboard the SS Rotterdam. Honestly, this time I was disappointed by the general upkeep of the ship and in particular the upkeep of my room. From scratches on the furniture to coatracks coming loose, the upkeep was not up to standard. Also, the ship was decorated with Christmas ornaments but the decorations were lacking taste and seemed geared towards young kids. SS Rotterdam also recently partnered up with toy brand Playmobil and they have created a nice Playmobil play area. However, to gain access to the play area kids have to go through the Cocktail bar. This seems somewhat odd. Also, I feel that the hotel would offer her guests much more value if they included the ship tours in her pricing or offer room rates which includes these tours. Many of the areas onboard the ship are not accessible to hotel guests but only to visitors with ship tour tickets. All in all, I always enjoy my stay onboard SS Rotterdam but was somewhat disappointed with my recent stay. There is definitely some room for improvement.

    The SS Rotterdam, also known as "The Grande Dame", guarantees a unique hotel experience. Easily accessible by Rotterdam's Water Taxi (the hotel has her own taxi dock), the hotel is a must-stay for ship enthusiasts and for those who are keen to experience what it's like to stay on an ocean liner. Although facilities are not that plentiful onboard, there are a few very good restaurants and late-night bars sometimes even with live entertainment. Staff at the SS Rotterdam was very friendly and welcoming. The food quality in the restaurants was very good and breakfast in the morning is plentiful and tastefully presented.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic, will recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much at all, ran out of a certain bottle of whiskey, they weren’t able to restock it for the next night but not the hotels fault.

    Beds are so soft, rooms are perfect for what you need. Always clean! Shower always bad hot water. WiFi in the room is brilliant and around the hotel. Loved the style of the hotel. Staff are very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    Something different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not allowed to view much of ship due to it being sectioned off extra-paying tours

    Something different Good price Free shuttle bus from train station with very friendly driver Clean and spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    I would definitely stay again..new year fireworks were amazing looking from the boat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds put together. Price of breakfast. Price of bar.

    The double room was 2 twin beds,that was in every room our group of 10 booked.so for a couple a bit uncomfortable. Expensive bar with slow service. But this boat had the wow factor from the moment we arrived.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Dirty towel on the shower floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty towel still on the floor of the shower, does not give impression that cleaning is done properly.

    Taking the watertaxi to Hotel New York - nice ride :-) Pianobar in the evening on board.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Great nostalgic place to stay for one or two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn’t have a window. It’s not really possible to visit all the different outdoor decks only the one at the back.

    Clean and well maintained room. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    super nice view and overall experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    two mattresses on a king size bed leave a gap in the middle which is not so nice. Also, the heating didn't work properly, even if we signaled this to the staff for three times.

    super nice view and overall experience!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Interesting hotel with nice restaurant on board a quite impressive ship.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ship is situated a little way away from the central hub and buzz of the city of Rotterdam

    Professional & helpful staff. Large clean and comfortable room on board an iconic ship. Attended a conference on the ship and the catering and facilities were really great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Everything, superb comfortable room, mine was the Double...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave

    Everything, superb comfortable room, mine was the Double Superior, very clean and with plenty of room, personnel on board extremely professional and helpful, wonderful free shuttle service to the nearest tube station, less than five minutes away from the ship, superb breakfast, you can't get any better and very good food all on the main restaurants, entertainment is also quite good Friday and Saturday nights with a local pianist/singer on board.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant - I would recommend it to a business colleague.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was very pleased that my note about reduced mobility resulted in an adapted bathroom - that was very helpful indeed. One tiny thing - it would have been great if the bed was higher from the floor - it was a little low to get up from. However, it was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Great staff, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was extremely uncomfortable and the mattress very soft. Another negative aspect was the noise from the restaurant while we were in the room, even if we were separated by a deck. In the evening and early in the morning the noise was really bothering.

    The room was clean and well equipped. A special place to spend the night and enjoy the food from the restaurant. Great breakfast! The taxi boat is stopping at the boat, so you can arrive Very fast in the center (5 min).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Outside downtown, easy access, super breakfast, but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the room price is good, you'll have the less confortable one, be aware of. Dusty rooms, so if allergic to dust, take your medecine with you.

    Super gorgeous breakfast. Quality and variety. Awsome place to have breakfast! Cosy bar aboard, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Fancy from the outside, but not so good from the inside.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got dirty towels upon check-in. Since I had early flight, I asked for a prepared breakfast a day ahead and was promised it should be ready. However, in the morning, the staff "forgot" to make it and I wasn't compensated in any way for that.

    Good location, very scenic and interesting to see as the ship is also a museum in itself.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Great stay on the SS Rotterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everybody talks dutch which I don't really understand. I'm lucky that my boyfriend can talk because I am not sure if anyone can talk English in there. Like they were talking to us and they were looking at me like if I understand what they were saying but I had no clue. We did the guided tour in the machine room and our guide ONLY spoke dutch even if there were people who didn't understand. I think it's a shame to do one hour tour which you paid for and don't have a clue what the guide is saying. The should hire guides who speak other languages.

    It's a great experience spending the night in a boat which used to sail to new York. We spend one night in a standard room and we liked it so much that we decided to stay another night. The beds are really comfortable. The rooms were clean. You can make coffee and tea in the room and you have a large choice on tv channels. The standards rooms are not very big but it's just what you need. The bathroom was a really small. The second night there were no more standard rooms available so we got an upgrade where the rooms were a bit bigger and in the bathroom you had plenty of space. The restaurant is great. At first we taught it would be really expensive but the prices are actually ok and the food is really good. And it's the only place where someone talked English to me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    The staff are really nice and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room that we stayed in, the bathroom floor doesn't drain fast enough so you end up with a pool of water to your ankles while in the shower.

    The staff are really nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    What you see is not what you get !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the fact that you cannot actually visit and "LIVE THE IDEA" of staying in a legendary cruise ship. The boat is not open to public -except for some selected times- and for a RIDICULOUS EXTRA FEE !! You basically have access, and the right to sleep in the basement of a closed museum. That is all !! Sorry, if you cannot have a beer on the deck after a day's work. Why should you walk the extra two miles to stay there !! ?? Never Again...

    only the "IIDEA" of staying in a boat

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Location and atmosphere of the boat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ability to have a complementary tour of the boat for staying guests.

    Location and atmosphere of the boat. Ease to drive and park at the location and ability to use water taxis to travel to functions away from the boat. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Cleanliness could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness could have been better. The restaurant had limited choices. The menu was the same for 10 days. Restaurant was expensive. Service at the restaurant was fair.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ss Rotterdam Hotel en Restaurants traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: