Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sara's Boutique Hotel 3 stars

2e Helmersstraat 6, Oud-West, 1054 CH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#254 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel away from the madding crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could probably do with a spruce up. Wall paper was ripped in places but it was clean enough.

    Great location close to Leidseplein but away from the noise in a leafy suburb. Room was plenty big enough with a huge bed perfect for sharing with our toddler. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Convenient hotel close to Leidseplein tram stop. Short walk to Leidseplein Square and Jordaan areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night. Although bed was very comfortable, you had to walk sideways along the foot of the bed the get to the closet, desk and window. There was about 1 foot of space between the foot of the bed and the wall. Pillows were too thick.

    Friendly staff. Convenient location. Bed was very comfortable. King size. Bathroom was modern.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    choose rooms with balcony facing the courtyard.a very noisy Italian restaurant opposite to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No air conditioning, very stuffy. Very small room. No for 2 adults and baby child definitely. There is only window leaf can can be opened in the rooms without the balcony, it is impossible to open the whole window completely. There was balcony in my booking confirmation, but we have got the room without it. Considering that we were staying in a hotel with a baby child, the staff did not suggest us to replace our cramped room with another room with a balcony and windows facing the courtyard rather than a noisy street. Very disappointing.

    really large and comfortable bed. pretty nice location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location but question whether it's worth the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just felt that we didn't receive everything we was suppose to and that the website said one thing but on the other hand you got something else or nothing at all. Complimentary toiletries let down, and coffee making facilities were poor.

    Very clean and lovely style rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice and neat boutique hotel with perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking in Amsterdam is very expensive (€40 per day). Good possibility to P&R at Olympisch Stadium for €1 per day. But complicated system to be eligible for this. Good help at "I Amsterdam" at the central station. Very (too) small washrooms.

    Perfect Location for exploring Amsterdam - just outside the "Grachtengürtel", very near the central place "Leidseplein". Very neat location with friendly staff and a balcony into the nice backyard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and helpful, always available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in single room, very small. Good though and nice bathroom, but no coffee making facility. Organizing a coffee making facility for this room will improve it a lot.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, always available. Street nice and peaceful but near main areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel I have ever stayed in! Seriously over-priced Very cramped room Bedroom and bathroom not cleaned or bed made after our first night No shampoo or shower gel One glass, no cups, no coffee stirrers

    Comfortable bed Good shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    The price is too high for the facilities and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Doesn't worth 210 euros per night, gave me worst room, poor attention to single guest. Water all over the bathroom from the shower and bad smell in it; Too noisy; Tea-bags - but no boiler for water to make a tea, lol. But the main issue for me was the air: in one room the window was not closing - they said it can be repaired next morning (on check-out), in another one they placed me it was not opening at all - how did i suppose to refresh the stuck air in the room ?

    Dolce gusto coffee machine and interesting design of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told(don't know if it was booking.com's fault, ours or the hotels) that city tax was not included in the price.

    Bed was very comfortable Reception staff v nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    The location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the stairs are very steep and the elevator is so slow it's useless. The staff were nice but not at all knowledgeable about the local area. There was not enough sound proofing between the rooms.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location, great staff, meager accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was the slowest I’ve ever been on in my life, when sitting on the toilet my face was less than an inch from the sink, literally had to swerve around it to sit down, bathroom shower only had a half plate of glass with no curtain so water would go everywhere, tv in room was mounted an inch from the ceiling so constantly had to look way up, lastly the room was so small that the ikea coat closest blocked the one window from being opened.

    Great location, very friendly staff, no longer than a couple minutes to ever get an uber, less than 10 minutes walk to all the great restaurants in city center and the museums.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Cozy room. Accommodating staff. Good location. Thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are paper thin. This may not be a problem for some people, but as I go to bed earlier than most, I woke up a few times in the middle of the night to hear other hotel guests as they arrived from late nights out in the city.

    The room was cozy and comfortable. The hotel is in a good location and it makes it easy to get around and travel from. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Overall, it was a good experience and I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice room, but not designed for wheelchairs! Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for an accessible wheelchair room. The bed was so big it blocked access to the toilet, which was extremely small and hard to access in itself. Not suitable for wheelchair, really.

    Great bed and excellent situation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely hotel, comfy and spacious - Over priced and not worth the money I paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found a used condom wrapper on the floor in the room, the hair dryer didnt work and the hotel doesnt supply ironing boards although it has irons.

    The room was lovely, really nice having a balcony, the bed was really comfy, the wet room was great, love the drench shower, overall alovely hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Good: Small Hotel , In good location not far for the center ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad: very very expensive , dirty , the lift it’s terrible

    Good: Small Hotel , In good location not far for the center , good size of the room the staf helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the price. Not at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is a joke, it soaks the bathroom totally. Not that it matters, as there are no hooks, no shelfs, no paper bin or anything else that can get wet. The very not-so-luxary shower gel/shampoo doesn't add to the spirit. No reading lamps. The door closes so hard that you can hear it a kilometer away. They stairway is so steep that you would take the elevator anyday, if it wasn't the worlds slowest one. I mean it. All this would have been ok, if the price hadn't been rediculously high.

    The room was pretty big, and the bed pretty comfy and the curtains keeps the light out. It is also clean. Here's where the positive ends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location and beautiful little boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room.

    Bed very comfortable however a little disappointing we were given such a small room as there were much larger rooms available. Fantastic location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    I expected more for what we paid for (715 euro for 3 nights!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was impossibly so tiny. There's no threshold between toilet and shower flooring, wetting the whole when taking a shower. When one sits on the toilet bowl, my left shoulder touches the lavatory sink.

    Staff Cindy was very nice and accommodating. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely, pleasant area and surroundings, lidl supermarket a few streets away. Nice overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty used cups from the previous guests and no fresh tea and coffee to put in the coffee maker. We had to go downstairs to ask for it. No phone in be room. And only gripe was the lift has to be closed from the outside before it can move. Very old lift

    I like the friendly reception guy he was cool. We arrived very early from London before the check in time but luckily our room was ready and we could chuck our bags inside before venturing out around amsterdam we had a concert to go to the same evening it was a very pleasant room nice big bed lovely hot shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    2.9
    There is nothing "boutique" about this hotel, don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was uncomfortable, LOUD, inconvenient, dirty and not well maintained. The staff was not helpful. The website said there was coffee in every room but I had a single room and there was no coffee. When I asked for coffee I was refused because "coffee was only provided for double rooms." When I showed them my iPad said coffee in every room, they still refused to provide it. My travel companions had a double room (with coffee) but the furniture was broken and falling apart and the wallpaper was scratched and peeling off the wall. It was gross.

    Nothing about this hotel is worthy of praise. It is, in a word: Terrible. Inhospitable. Uncomfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was ok for the money. Staff very friendly and helpful but room needs redecorating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls could hear room next door; talking, TV and hairdryer. Room was a little tired, wall paper was peeling off.

    Comfortable bed and dark curtains

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location , friendly and helpful staff, comfiest bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a little bigger, loved the fact that the bed was big but did take up space and had to manoeuvre around it!

    Probably the best bed in any hotel I've stayed in! Really friendly and helpful staff, remembered that we weren't bothered about having the room cleaned every day but loved the coffee so always brought more for us :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    2.9
    Terrible! Actually I had to make some pictures of the room to show you how dirty it was!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As soon as I entered the hotel, the receptionist was more interested in his phone than on my arrival. In the morning another receptionist was there and he also was more interested in watching television and his phone than paying attention to his guests. The furniture was very dirty in the room. On every chair there were dirty spots, the wall was damaged and even the with textile covered nightstands were pretty dirty. The floor had a black grind texture, so you could see how clean it was as well. In the shower there was no table / space left to place your stuff. If you came out of the shower the floor before the sink was all wet. There was no breakfast available in this hotel, only a refrigerator with some cans of soda at the reception. This hotel is a typical case that someone wants to take a piece of the pie in the tourist sector in Amsterdam without having any experience or knowledge of the hotel sector. Rebuilding a house, rent out a the rooms and stating you are a boutique hotel doesn't work. They really need to improve the cleanliness and hospitality!!! With other words this is not a hotel how it should be managed. With a little bit of work and some attention this hotel good be a very nice. But definitively the management style need to change.

    The shower was ok. But that was it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside draws a broken, balcony door not working properly, lighting is all or nothing so there is no bedside lamp for low light and NO MIRROR WITH A DECENT LIGHT TO PUT MAKEUP ON. You only get supplied with 4 sachets of sugar and 2 green tea bags! Oh and 2 things for the espresso machine so take your own tea bags if you want a brew on arrival. Bit too far away from everything so expect to spend your time finding the tram stops that go in the direction you want them to!

    3 or 4 out of 5 needs some money spending on it. Very comfy bed, nice shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel, in good location to enjoy Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky would of liked hot drink making facilities in room.

    Staff were excellent and friendly. Location excellent. Property was clean and well maintained. Cost of stay was superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    3.8
    The is no sitting area, no facilities, no phone, TV is very off and weak system, very bad elevator (
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The is no sitting area, no facilities, no phone, TV is very off and weak system, very bad elevator ( it is industrial elevator ), no cups and fridge, no iron Nothing in this hotel !!!! Nothing !!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Was absolutely lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have really liked a balcony but it wasn’t a problem as we could just go downstairs and smoke outside!

    The bed was absolutely unreal. Woke up in the same position I went to sleep in! Extremely clean room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely friendly hotel. Rooms clean and spacious. Perfect location. We walked everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a link with a local cafe/restaurant for breakfast. Or even a continental breakfast left outside the room. Coffee machine didn’t work too well but didn’t affect our stay.

    Room was spacious, clean and bed was very comfortable. Bathroom and shower were great too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location, bikes for rent, staff were super friendly and the room was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor which allowed for a little noise outside when guests checked in but it wasn’t much of a problem. There was no cupboard space bar two small draws in a bedside table which sufficed for 2 nights but anymore might be uncomfortable living from a suitcase.

    The staff (one woman in particular whose name I do not know) were excellent; very informative and arrived to make our stay as easy and seamless as possible. The bed was very comfortable and large and the shower in the bathroom was powerful which can be unusual in some hotels. The room was a good size and tea and coffee in the room was a sure comfort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for short solo trip :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Think the walls are pretty thin - I could hear a baby crying one night and on Friday when people were preparing to go out it was pretty loud with music and people talking.

    I Think the room.is perfect for a solo traveller on a short trip - simple and small but comfortable and gives you good privacy. The bathroom looks very new and clean and the decoration is simple but stylish

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud hostel. paper thin walls. Wear ear plugs unless you hate sleeping. Said no charge up front but actually took £150 out of account for 14 days

    Leaving

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Sara’s hotel met all my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pair of slippers would be great.

    Sara’s hotel met all my expectations. Very comfy beds and a clean warm room in the freezing winter season deserves its price in all terms. Its great location can take you to everywhere at city center in just a few mins.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    When in Amsterdam for a short stay consider going here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is miniscule- wash your hands sitting on the toilet... No tissues or glasses

    Nice room; good space decorated with taste; comfortable big bed and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    The Staff at the lobby was absolutely delightful with us, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff at the lobby was absolutely delightful with us, I would recommend to anyone who wants a cozy room to rest after visiting Amsterdam to book this hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was quite unfriendly. Expect one girl who was there in the mornings. She was great!

    Nice big room, great shower. Location is good and really close everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall it was a great little hotel. Would definitely consider staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin and you could hear absolutely everything that went on at the hotel.

    The bed was nice and big! And extremely comfortable!20 min walk to Dam Square but got to see all the lovely sights on the way as well as a few Botique shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    Next time I travel, I am finding a different place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My first reaction when I opened the door to my room was, "where is the rest of my room?" It was soooo small. Also, the elevator was very loud and slow and you can hear everything from the rooms next to mine. Also, the stairs were crazy narrow - I am surprise no one has had a serious accident yet (or maybe they did).

    The staff was very friendly. The location was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice Hotel in a good area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first checked in we were given an attic room on the 4th floor, which was not the room with a balcony that we had booked. When I asked to be moved I was told there was nothing available until the next day. The next day when get got moved to the correct room our stay was more enjoyable.

    Easy to get to and comfortable clean rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms downstairs have thin walls was very noisy throughout the night with all the people in and out of the reception, going up the lift. The shower room leaks into the rooms floor

    The bed was very comfortable, room was very clean, staff were very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    Don't stay here in a single room unless it is room 2 on the ground floor which I saw.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single room I was put into for these 3 nights (I stayed the previous night too in a double room) was absolutely tiny. Didn't even have a chair, as no room for one. No coffee machine such as is in the double rooms - but again: no room for one.

    good position

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location near the museums but a Spartan stay for the single yravelker
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t stay in this hotel as a single traveller unless you can get room 2 on the ground floor. There is no breakfast and only double rooms have a coffee machine. Avoid room 12.

    I actually stayed for 4 nights in this hotel in total on 2 bookings. The first night I was put in a double room by myself. All fine, lots of space. When I came back the second day from work, my things had been moved to a tiny single room without even space for a chair and with a window that did not quite fit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.6
    We were put in a room right at reception so we could hear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a room right at reception so we could hear absolutely everything, people coming and going and talking on the phone. We were a bit late checking out which I understand is annoying but when we went to apologise the receptionist didn't even acknowledge we had spoken or look up from her phone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.0
    The area was very central and hotel modern but needs efficient staff for cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom was not cleaned in 6 days that I was there. It simply is not good enough to staighten the bed linen and put fresh towels. No hooks for towels and no soapdish in shower. Wallpaper peeling on wall so needed some maintenance. I had to clean coffee machine myself as it was not clean.

    The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    4.6
    2*
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were behind on what to do at front desk took money out of bank when asked to pay cash were bitten by bed bugs all over or something in the room not nice very basick and not value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.8
    Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and large styled window which was not always appropriate to open, next to a busy road so traffic noise was a problem would highly recommend getting air conditioning. Poor selection of coffee and tea just thrown into a box.

    Room was nicely set out and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.0
    Rooms need sound-proofing. Would not stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are all off of a small landing. With very, very little noise insulation it was impossible to fall asleep until late into the evening when guests were no longer running up and down the stairs and talking loudly in the corridor. This could have been an isolated evening, but it was extremely noisy. There is also no bolt available on the door - had a staff member open the door at 11pm without warning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Boutique stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge in the rooms, I specifically choose that room and hotel because it had a balcony but when I got there they said all the rooms with balconys was taken. Had I known this before, I wouldn't have payed the extra for a hotel with balcony and saved me some money, the lift takes 74 seconds to get to the 4th floor and isn't a nice experience especially if you don't like small spaces I think it's a nice hotel but overpriced especially for September...

    Location was nice relaxed and not to far from Dam central about 15 minute walk or catch a tram to Lendsplein, bed was amazing and comfortable, shower nice and hot and the room was emaculate and cosy, beautiful property but overpriced unfortunately....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom cabinet was damaged

    The coffee machine was amazing, just what I needed after a long day, the bed massive and sooo comfy and the shower.... Just wow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    This was the perfect hotel and would definitely stay again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its a shame the hotel does not offer breakfast, or tea/coffee facilities in the room

    The room was exceptionally clean, smart and comfortable and above all very quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.5
    Total disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing we liked about this hotel it was a disgrace.

    The bathroom was dreadful the water was either cold or almost boiling so you could easy scald your self. The hairdryer did not work in fact the electrical fitting in the bathroom where the hairdryer was connected was hanging off the wall. The television had no remote control device and they were unable to provide one. The room was on the ground floor by the front door and very noisy the window was straight on to the pavement. This was by far the worse hotel we have ever stayed in and over the years and we have stayed in hundreds. We left after the first night even though we had paid for the second night and checked in to another hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to my worse enemy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    City holiday in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room comfort is limited. Room for 1 person is really small. There is only one small closet to store your stuff. When sitting on toilet bowl, the sink comes so close in front of you that it's impossible to sit normally, but try to fit there ridiculously sideways. For some reason, my room was not cleaned on the second day of my stay. Perhaps I didn't quite understand that cleaning was offered when a lady came knocking on my door and asking do I need toilet paper of coffee. The lift is located just behind a thin wall and every move causes quite annoying noise into this room. There is no air conditioning in this hotel and even in August the room got very warm especially in the evening. Not much to do than try to sleep window opened.

    A basic hotel with a walking distance from city center and most of the typical attractions. Hotel has a lift which is not very common in Amsterdam city area hotels in this price category. Room looks nice and it has stylish vibe in its interior. Hotel is located in a quiet side street with some distance to more crowded Nassaukade. Hotel is also easily reachable by trams and buses. Airport bus line 197 runs nearby and nearest stop is just a few minutes of walk away from the hotel. Staff was very friendly and even borrowed their own phone charger after I broke mine :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Huge and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staircase is narrow and steep, like all converted houses in Amsterdam. However, there is a (slow) elevator. We also had some trouble with the window.

    Huge and comfortable bed. Close to rijksmuseum, vondelpark and van Gogh museum but on a quiet side street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Thank you for a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower plumbing was backed up.

    We were just here for a night. It was comfortable...the elevator was a little slow, but we were grateful to have one! :) Bathroom a bit small and the plumbing needed some work in the shower. Water all over the floor!? It was great for our needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    We loved the rain shower🙂
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it's a bit overpriced. The room was extra small, there were no glasses for toothbrushes and we had to ask the staff to clean our room between nights. Plus, it was very noisy and hot - no air condition!

    We loved the rain shower🙂

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.4
    There must be better options in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally very expensive for what was fairly budget accomodation Plastic floors throughout look cheap and nasty Very small room

    Good location just outside of the main canal ring and near to museums Great shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.0
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact the safe did not work, also i left English money on the side table as the safe didn't work and went out for the day to return to find my English money missing I searched the whole hotel room and still couldn't find it but the maid had been in to tidy the room. Also the "balcony" more like scaffholding door was comin off the hinges and when we told staff they said it should be okay just to push in the door when we closed it. The bathroom although was nice when you put on the shower the whole room would flood as the shower did not have a proper shower screen. It was not worth nearly £900 for 5 nights.

    I liked the location it was pretty close to the centre. Lovely scenery. I liked we had outdoor space although was not the best.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.4
    It was ok...not Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lift was VERY slow... they had one iron for the whole building... narrow stairs... thin walls, I could hear people having sex in the next room. I would not stay here again.

    Nice comfy bed... clean...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Weekend Trip to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom size / shower

    I would recommend Sara's Boutique Hotel for a short city trip. The area is super as everything is in walking distance. The hotel room is nice and the bed very comfy. The only thing is the bathroom-it is veeery small and after shower everything is wet ..for a short trip it is totally fine though. I had a good stay and would totally come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Bigger bed, clean room and modernised facility and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their strict rule of check in time 3.00 pm, even if u make a request for 1-2 our early checkin when u travel with kids and toddlers and on top of it there is no place to sit or wait at reception

    Bigger bed, clean room and modernised facility and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Location great, hotel ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wet room was really wet! A triumph of style over function. The shower head would have needed the pressure of Niagara Falls to fill and the poor cabinet was falling apart through water damage. There was no soundproofing and as we were on the ground floor we heard everyone at reception. That said it was a nice quiet hotel so this didn't bother us very much.

    Location was fabulous - we walked everywhere. The museums were really accessible but we were still able to meander up to the old town with needing the trams etc. There is a nice (though pricey) restaurant opposite and a lovely little 'plaza' a street away with several local cafes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    4.2
    There must be better places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels are small and thin. Not boutique hotel material. No robes or slippers. I was promised a room with a balcony. The staff tried to give me the absolute worst room right next to reception on the back. Everything is getting shabby. This hotel will be a wreck in 12 months but will still want the premium price. There are no safety deposit boxes in some rooms, they are randomly thrown in the garden. The one in room 11 is not secured to anything. This hotel would not even have shown on my search had they been honest as it's one of my filters. Toiletries already half used and never replaced. Two mean little coffee pods (never replaced) and paper cups! Paper cups. In a boutique hotel. Seriously. They have a booking.com score up in reception but it's for the location. It's abut disingenuous, after all you are already there so you know the location. It was seriously overpriced for what it was.

    This says it's a boutique hotel. It had luxury beds and a nice mirror and picture. The lady who spoke with us on day two is the only reason this place did not get all unhappy faces.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Shortlist but check suitability
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor provision of ventilation in the room (4th floor, 18), no Air Conditioning, ceiling fan or stand alone fan. The smallest wash basin I have ever seen. Very small and extremely slow lift. (Stairs not an option due to steepness)

    The location was perfect for our needs and the Hotel was very clean. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Sara's Boutique Hotel an Amsterdam gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of anything!

    Quiet, lovely and unpretentious but well maintained. Loved the size of the room, the little balcony that overlooked a courtyard, the sounds of birds in the trees outside in the morning, the friendly concierge, even the very slow elevator was fun!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    4.2
    Thoroughly disappointed with my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room unclean, bathroom provisions weren't refilled, no A/C or fan made it very stuffy and uncomfortable with the summer heat, the elevator is painfully slow and very annoying

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.3
    Amsterdam is a beautiful city and I will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was beside the reception and we could hear everybody that came into the hotel.

    There was no food at the property and the room was very small.the bed was very nice and comfortable and the shower facilities was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    2.9
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was awful small room on ground floor kept awake both nights by the staff next door as well as other guests going in and out. Had shower bathroom was that small the water run out into bedroom. Husband left money in his pocket and was taken !! Leave nothing in room. Room had no tv remote asked for one got it but as soon as we left was taken out of room. Box with plastic cup and two coffee capsule such a pity as has a nice coffee machine. !!

    Amsterdam was a goregous city

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Cute but costly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a cute hotel. Clean room although dusty. I don't care for so much fabric furniture as it contributes to bedbug risk but again it was clean. The bathroom looked new but no shelfs or anywhere to set stuff. There were drawers however. And although the shower was as nice the water runs out all over the bathroom floor. Floor mats would be good. Fans should be in every room in hot weather although the receptionist gave us one which we appreciated. Although nice, not worth $300 for just one night. We stayed in Swiss resort towns for that price for two nights .

    Cute place and very helpful and kind staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    A little gem in a quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they could put a coffee machine somewhere, maybe downstairs....there is no cafe nearby and for a caffeine junkie like me....

    Very friendly and helpful reception. The room was advertised as "small" and yes, it was. But the bed was comfortable and the bathroom very well thought out. It is a typical narrow townhouse with steep stairs, so I was happy about the elevator. The location is excellent, nice for walks, some small restaurants in the area and most attractions either reachable on foot (main museums for ex.), or if not: tram station is close by. - Accommodation in Amsterdam is very expensive so I can't really complain about that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.7
    Lovely little hotel, but choose your room wisely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms on the ground floor (rooms 1, 2 & 3) are noisy: you can hear EVERTHING that happens in the lobby/reception. Even if the people are talking in a low voice and are trying to be quiet. I was woken up by a guest asking reception where he could buy a coffee. The walls are thin, and there is no carpeting anywhere to help absorb noise either. I bed felt like it sagged (I was in a single). There is no safety box in the room. There are no coffee/tea supplies in the room.

    Lovely decor, great location, friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small and price is high for such a room Although in line with the Amsterdam expensive hotels .

    Location is great!!! We love being close to everything. The rool is clean and staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    Not boutique, just small and very limited facilities. Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 15, 3rd floor. Very hot no air con. Open window good, but then very noisy mid week. Only 2 paper cups and 2 pods of coffee no tea/kettle. No other glasses/cups at all. No fridge. Had to ask for hand towels. No bin in bathroom - not very hygienic, only one in bedroom. Very narrow place to pass at end of bed and wall mounted TV stuck out so hit ourselves a few times. Furniture very cheep and falling apart, very dark the room decor is black, no dressing table/mirror.

    Good Wifi. Slow but good lift. Large and comfortable bed. Very close to public bus to/from airport and all other trams etc. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, good bed , room style and location (easy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms at ground floor you can hear people waiting at reception for checking in/out...

    Friendly staff, good bed , room style and location (easy airport transportation and near the city center).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was brilliant, excellent location, very friendly staff, rooms were huge bed was so comfy, toilet was great lovely shower would recommend to anyone. We stayed on the third floor, stairs are very steep but a lift is available. It is very small and slow but is fine

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    6.3
    Good location, cosy bed, but noisy rooms on ground floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were put in a room on ground floor on the first night and it was right next to reception so was extremely loud. We complained when we arrived but were told we had to wait to see if we could move until the manager came the next day so didn't sleep great that night with the noise. It also had a back door in what appeared to be someone else's back garden. Complained again the next day and we were moved to a room upstairs. The rooms are a tight squeeze and the room floor was like a cold bathroom floor.

    Most of the staff were friendly and when we arrived the man on reception was extremely helpful and pointed out every area to us on the map. We arrived early so it was handy to leave our bags in reception until 3. The location was perfect. We had a nice balcony the second night and the bed was very comfortable. Amazing brunch spot around the corner called Ted's! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    Great for quick visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin doors and walls. Fine with ear plugs at night, but depending on the crowd I could see it being pretty bad. Fortunately our night was pretty quiet, but we did hear every thing from the surrounding rooms.

    The room was nice a expected and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sara's Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: