Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel D'Amsterdam Leidsesquare 3 stars

Tweede Helmersstraat 4, Oud-West, 1054 CH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#216 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1073 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was broken so had window open. Was noisy at night can hear people returning up the stairs. Room was small but ok.

    Close to the tram stops and nice area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately our stay was ruined by the loss of property from our room to the value of 500 Euros which the hotel staff and owner refuse to accept responsibility for. Despite a police report from the local police station and an honest estimate of the value of the property missing from the room the hotel refuses to accept responsibility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionist advised a parking in the nearby undergroung garage - it was some 500 metres from the hotel and did not mentioned the only possibility pay through mobile app, which was not working without local phone number - we finally get out from the garage...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so much smaller than appeared on booking.com Dark colour made room appear even smaller, making it feel a bit claustrophobic!

    Shower water was always hot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The décor is a little bland The shower door in our en-suite was really difficult to move. Most importantly, one of the bannisters on the (very steep!) stairs was loose and could have been really dangerous.

    The bed was really comfortable, and we had a decent (oblique) view to the canal. The location was excellent - really easy to walk into the centre and explore this great city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and not well light Breakfast was basic Stairs a nightmare but it appears that is common to Amsterdam

    The location was accessible to most things

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite constricted and a little worn. One of our sheets was torn and the tv did not have a very good picture quality.

    The staff were incredibly helpful when I lost my passport. The beds were SO comfortable and the presence of a lift was so beneficial for my parents.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with a balcony and expected one that you could at least stand on. The balcony was as big as a window sill.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and small bed. It is not worth what we payed. The hotel personnel told us that they have an agreement with the taxi company they are cooperating with and the price is always 35 Euros to the airport, but the taxi changed us 45 Euros.

    Very nice lady at the reception when we checked out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever.

    The staff, comfort & location were excellent. The breakfast was good value. Having an elevator wes a big plus as the accommodation is on 4 floors. Will definitely stay here again next time we are in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There really is nothing to complaint about. Would have liked a mirror in the bedroom near to a plug point, prefer ceramic mugs instead of plastic/paper and plastic cups in bathroom were cracked. Just minor details.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are slightly small as is bathroom but wouldn't call this problematic as the were very clean.

    Good Location - 20 minute walk to center and 10 minute walk to museums. Staff were friendly and attentive, as our flight was cancelled due to weather the hotel did all they could to accommodate our needs. Nice quiet area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of bathroom. Tiny. Hard to turn around without bumping into something.

    Proximity to art museums, bus stop from airport (#397-€10 back and forth) to avoid central station and Jordaan neighborhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arrival we had to pay a city tax (around 12 euros), which would have been nice to know about in advance. It wasn't included in the hotel price apparently.....

    The staff was very nice, the receptionist told us how to get to all the famous landmarks and where to grab a bite if we are hungry. The location is great - 10-15 min walk to Museum area and Leidseplein (shops and cafes, restaurants). There is also a Lidl and AH supermarket nearby, which was very convenient. The bus stop for the connection bus to the airport was also a 10 min walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing we do not like is that the parking in Amsterdam is very expensive Next time we will not hire a car before we arrive in the city.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep narrow staircase and wobbly bannister. Used the lift instead. Balcony with a view of the back of the surrounding buildings.

    Location to the restaurants, museums, bus route for airport and canal cruise make this a good place to stay. Small and quiet with very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff banter could have appeared rude to some. Asked for a couple of teabags and the reply was "No tea?". My reply was "Preferably teabags with the tea contained within them please". No big deal but felt like a little dig at the English language

    Very good hotel. Nice bed, clean room and working lift.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom are very small, this is fine for a short stay but difficult with large luggage during a longer stay.

    We were only here for 1 night but were happy enough with our room and the location in the quieter part of town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we didn’t have a double bed, instead two single beds were pushed together. Also the only mirror was in the bathroom and when we seen the room with a double bed there was a mirror on the wardrobe.

    Staff were really helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entire hotel and our room is covered in a thick blue carpet which looked very dirty. The walls in our room were blue as well and the room is small so with those colors and the carpet it has a very gloomy and dirty feeling. Our room was not vacuum cleaned properly, there were smoking papers on the floor and the remote control was sticky. We were very disappointed.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having paid double for the room as to what we paid for our room at autograph Nassau in Breda i was disappointed. Agree location and dates will effect price bit was a bit of a let down. The room was small, but bedding etc was clean. The noise from outside was bad, the room had a little damp and the condensation on the windows was really bad but we couldnt open them. There was signs in rooms for no smoking with fines of 150€ however our room often smelt of smoke... coming from room below. Being asthmatic im very conscious of such things. We didnt hav breakfast so cant comment... access to more vending machines would hav been beneficial i.e. bottled water, snacks.

    Location, easy to find/get to. Lady on reception on arrival was nice, pleasant... chatted to us about our plans and gave recommendations etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better tea and coffee facilities in the room, as when we arrived, we only had one tea bag and one sugar, and two paper cups.

    The room was ideal for our needs, very clean with a comfy bed, a great sized bathroom, a TV and a fridge (which was a very helpful bonus). The location of the hotel was excellent, so close to the city and within walking distance to some of the main attractions and some really good restaurants. Within a 5 minute walk you also had great little supermarket and the bus stop for going to/from the airport. The hotel also offered bike hire which was great. The staff were very polite and incredibly helpful, and we would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pour breakfast and stairs are to small and narrow. Of you afraid elevators witch is also small, and you are staying in the 4th floor as i was, forget it.

    Good Locatiot and Hotel is clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was dreary.

    Room was warm and cosy , staff very helpful, location was just right if you don't want to be right in the centre. Our first time here so was very careful of the bicycles.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room decor could do with updating to flow nicely with the reception area which clearly has recently been updated. However, the room was clean so it did not bother me at all.

    The staff were extremely helpful upon arrival. They give you a map and explain where all the main tourist attractions are. The location could not have been any better and the bed was comfy and the shower nice and hot. Although the rooms are small they are perfect for what you need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft. Room was way to small. Also, the room made noise in the middle of the night. I think this was when the upstairs room would use their bathroom, the pipes etc would moan and groan for a while after.

    Staff were really great. Very knowledgeable of the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small issue the double bed was 2 single mattresses together and 2 duvets

    Plenty of room, very clean, has a lift (stairs are very scary) staff wrre very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is okay, yet for a young crowd like us we could have done with being closer to the red light district

    The staff were so helpful and nice, rooms are a nice size and beds are very comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Loved this hotel, perfect location and Reasonably priced. We landed late in the night and the staff (Flora) was very helpful with providing us with the necessary information. The hotel was tidy and clean and the bed was comfortable to sleep in. The hotel is located in the centre of Amsterdam so everything was a walking distance away from Coffee shops , nightclubs and foodshops. Definitely would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was super small and dark, requested a high floor with view, received the lowest floor with view to a garage(?) and a tree in front. Found trash under the bed from previous guests and found spides webs in the bathroom.

    The location of the hotel is very nice, quite near to the city center..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would love it if the water pressure of the shower can be higher. It’s a clean bathroom.

    The room is just like what you see in the photo. Lift is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staircase is extremely steep with very narrow steps, but there is a lift so not a big problem

    The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was continental style but there was plenty of choice and empty dishes were refilled throughout service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with most hotels in Amsterdam, you can hear doors opening and closing but it wasn't too bothersome

    Great location and good price for Amsterdam!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains are not dark enough for me.

    The rooms are big & nice for Amsterdam. It’s great located, very close to the Leidseplan & the shoppingstreet. We slept very well! You can rent bikes. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked that hotel. The staff was very friendly, responsive and helpful. We got a comfortable room with a balcony facing the street. It was pretty quiet and warm in there. The hotel has great location and transport accessibility: several tram and bus routes within 5 minute walk, easy to get to/from the airport - bus 197 going to Schiphol has a stop nearby. The building is in traditional Nederland architecture so the staircase is so steep we never tried to use it. Thanks God there is an elevator!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, could hear every footstep from neighbours. Two single matress that kept sliding apart

    Amazing staff,helped us alot,including the housekeeping guy. Very clean. Comfy and cozy hotel. Had safe, tv, wifi every thing you need

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far out from Amsterdam city Centre but the walk in and out is pretty nice provided its not raining

    Good spacious room, nice and clean, comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is in a lovely and quiet neighbourhood close to some very good and reasonably priced neighbourhood restaurants. With Vondel Park and the museum district next door and 5 minutes walk to Leidseplien it is pretty ideal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two twin beds that were pushed together to make a double was not great and easily came apart when in the middle. One bed was much too softbwjile the other was very firm.

    We were offered a bigger room. Shower was nice and big and had plenty of shower gel. Clean toilet and use of hairdryer. Having a safe was nice to hide our passports and cash.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower door was missing a panel, so impossible to shower without water pooling on the bathroom floor. Because the bathroom is small and has a step down into the room, water pours into the room, onto the carpet. When I mentioned it as feedback during checkout, I was told that they knew about it but didn't have a chance to fix it before I booked. I said it would have been nice to know about it and was told that if they fixed it before, then they wouldn't have had a room available for me. Not a particularly satisfying response. I had to move furniture around to plug in bedside lamps. Only 1 had a lightbulb.

    Very friendly staff member to check me in. Really helpful and welcoming. Room was clean and a pretty good size for Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and nothing fancy, breakfast not worth it.

    Very good location, but room is small, nothing fancy at all, and breakfast is not worth it. Staff is extremely friendly, very positive point - Flora, in special, was really helpful and patient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was tiny and the stairs were the steepest I've ever seen Teabags not replaced daily I had to ask reception for some

    The location The beds were comfy The girl who checked us in and out was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floor in the shower didn't feel as clean.

    We stayed in the twin beds room. The room itself was clean, comfortable and spacious. The location was nice and quiet. We were able to walk everywhere. Good value for your money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, Very friendly and helpful staff, we paid 7.5 extra per person for the breakfast and it worth it. Very residential area where we felt very safe with lot of restaurants (Kartika, Sea food Bar) and supermarkets around. Bus 197 from airport to Leidseplein and we used tram 1 to go to central station. Vondelpark and the museums are very close. Don't miss excursion to Zaanse Schans. Only 4 stations by train from central station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff, nice rooms and bathroom with good shower and a tiny sink. Breakfast wasn't included which was good because it was quite disapointing so we only had it once. Over all a very nice stay and I did recomend this hotel for a friend to stay. Good for the price, allmost perfect 4,5/5.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was just a one night stay before leaving the next morning. No coffee in the room, only tea. The room was quite small, no closet. The lady at the front desk pointed us in the direction of restaurants but we never found them. Went a different direction and finally found something to eat. We thought this location would be closer to lots of dining options, but it wasn't.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was well situated near the museums, Vondelpark, The Jordaan. The 197 shuttle bus from the airport stops about 5 minutes from the hotel at the Leidseplein stop. The Superior Double Room was roomy, although the bathroom was a bit on the small side. Bed was comfortable. Continental breakfast was simple, but enough to start the day. Staff was very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mould in the shower on the ceiling in our room. The stairs are pretty steep so be careful.

    The location was great 5 mins to the tram station. Hotel room was sweet and cosy. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service did not change the towels

    The receptionist was really nice she managed to check us in earlier when we requested it as we were tired from our trip, she was also very helpful and friendly! The room is of a good size and beds comfy! It was very easy to reach the hotel from the central station by tram and the location was very close to one of the main squares.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV signal wasn't fantastic and not a choice of many channels but this is only a minor fault

    Really comfortable bed, air conditioning helped those hot nights and perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was great!

    We loved this accommodation. We were upgraded to a free room when we arrived and they were very accommodating as our plane landed early and we wanted to drop off our luggage. Our room was ready to go when we arrived and the staff were amazing, great with recommendations about what to do in the city and where everything is.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel was excellent, very close to public transport (catch bus 197 to Schiphol Airport without any change!) and city centre. The rooms were small but clean, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay or a business trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Cleanliness can be improved as upon check in there was a stain on the toilet seat which was cleaned the next day

    - Flora at the reception gave us a nice surprise at check in by upgrading our room - The beds were comfortable and the upgraded room was spacious - Internet was free and unlimited - Close to Vondelpark, and around 20 minutes walk to all other attractions (De Wallen, Anne Frank's house, etc.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than breakfast. More food or drink to buy at the hotel as there was only a drink machine and whilst we was there shop down the road was shut.

    Size of room was perfect, out exploring all day so had the facilities we needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Inflexibility of Reception staff in extending time even by 1 hour even though I had given request 2. Breakfast not available at 10.30 AM on Saturday, it is crazy. And I did not get even though I have paid.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't cleaned during our stay - 4 days and the room wasn't cleaned every day either

    The position was good and it was a quiet location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small double bed

    Great location - easy to reach all sights by walk. Friendly stuff, quiet room, elevator. Bus Nr. 197 takes you within 30 minutes to the airport. Breakfast buffet was adequate for reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small hotel close to all Amsterdam attractions. Bus to airport (and Keukenhof) at 250m. Excellent value for the price. We had a small problem and the staff was very helpful in resolving it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only but good choice and very fresh and refreshed frequently. This hotel has a lift . Location good - near trams, buses ;few minutes to museums quarter and big food area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 50 euro late arrival fee, the supposed room upgrade was two single beds pushed together, breakfast cold boiled eggs and spam

    It was near the van gough museum

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inside noise, there is no sound insulation so you hear all the doors slamming, people talking, kids screaming etc. putting signs on doors to ask people not to slam them does not work. This place needs much better sound insulation work.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House cleaning was sub-par, no clean towels even when left on the floor for collection. Staff behind the desk were unknowledgable about the city and unhelpful. The location is fine, although definitely about 30mins walk from the city center. We would not stay here again. There has to be a better experience for the money.

    It was a bed to sleep in at the end of the day. The staff was well intentioned.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's in the small print but nevertheless the idea of a hotel charging a late check in fee (if you arrive after 10pm) is absolutely disgraceful. The rooms are comfortable enough but noisy due to old air conditioning units, and there was no proper maid service during the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an extremely small room, but it's all we needed for 2 nights.

    Bedding was nice and we got a room facing the street which was great. A staff member was able to accommodate our early arrival. As soon as one couple checked out, our room was cleaned and we were able to get into the room right away! It was so appreciated after a 7 hour flight.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty cold.

    Very nice welcome and good information about everything at check-in. Thank you Flora! Great job! Breakfast was very ok for that price, too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattress was very soft and resulted in a painful back. Suggest that mattress renewal policy needs updating

    Location excellent. Room quiet. Stairs were a challenge but good exercise!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little too small for my liking and breakfast is too expensive. But I would reccomend it to my friends, next time I would rent a bigger room. Overall its easy to get to, side view of the canal, and affordable room.

    the bed was really comfortable. The receptionists were very kind. The location was easy to get to and very convinient

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel for the price paid. Also the possibility to get a simple but more then complete breakfast. Location nearby the Leidseplein and Museumplein.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vending machine could of had more than just fizzy drinks as I don't drink fizzy drinks.

    The bathroom was lovely, the lady who greeted us was welcoming and great with telling us where is good to go, I will definitely return to this hotel next time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but very clean and had everything we needed. Perfect location. Not too noisy at night time but walking distance to pretty much everything. A short walk to a strip of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow cover had some obvious brown stain on it that probably did not come out from previous washing. They should have put a new one and be paying more attention after washing. The floor in the bathroom cabin was in a pretty bad condition.

    Friendly stuff, spacious room, great location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you check-in you need to pay "city-tax", in cash, some 13 euros or something. Just came as a surprise since room was already payed with creditcard.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't quite cover the whole room and the shower stream was kind of weak, but those are very small complaints.

    The staff was very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the room was very small but the real problem was the bathroom - we almost didn't fit in the tub...!

    - the bed and pillow were very confortable - wifi great - very good location!! Walkable to everywhere - the staff was very helpful - the hotel has bikes to rent and it's quite cheap - very clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't clean our room despite notifying we needed it doing.

    Really nice bed. Good size room with working air con. Came with a little fridge and the area was quiet at night. Plus there was a Lidl nearby!

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel D'Amsterdam Leidsesquare traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: