Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B De Baronie

Kalkmarkt 2, Amsterdam City Centre, 1011 BC Amsterdam, Netherlands

#210 of 250 B&Bs and Inns in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 86 B&B reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -steep stairs and outside toilet ,however the shower and sink were in the room( it is one room per floor so it isn't a big issue, the building is from the 17th century )

    -excellent location in a peaceful neighborhood in the center of Amsterdam -Big Rooms -beautiful view on the canals -building is from the 17th century, the first owner was an Admiral(rich history,) -excellent host !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom and wc need a renovation quickly

    in the center of city, in the apartment the are hair dryer, fridge, tea and coffee (of course electric kettle also). very dutch place - typical Ams flat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had very steep stairs

    Very lovely studio, the pictures don’t do justice to the actual place, neither did I know that the building has long history. The manager was very friendly and polite, I couldn’t fault our stay, it had very steep stairs to get to the studio, I did find it a problem but others may with poor mobility or those who have had a few to drink. I will certainly stay here again, it’s very close to central station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To expensive for what it was. From the pictures it looked great, but you come into an old house. When people come in you can hear everything, even at night you can wake up to the noise of the other guests. The toilet room was so small you could barely sit on it. Definitely it did not fulfill my expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra for pet which wasn’t mentioned on Booking.com website. Bathroom a bit run down.

    Very old traditional Dutch canal house. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the age of the property it has a lot of very steep stairs. This was not a problem for us and actually added to the experience. But it's something to bare in mind for others who may be less mobile. Also the room we stayed in (the suite) had a bathroom with a sink and shower, but the toilet was in another room opposite the landing. This was no big issue in itself as we had the whole floor just for us, but I was wary that the people staying upstairs may see me sneaking to and from the bathroom. The property would be improved if a toilet was in the suite.

    The property is a 17th century building with a lot of interesting history. This fan clearly be seen with the original pieces within the property and the style of the decor. The location is fantastic and took us less then 10 mins to find it from the central train station. Also local to all tourist attractions. The landlord was very friendly and welcomed us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Received no info regarding access to 4th fl with extremely steep and narrow steps.Could not stay there.Depressed ambiance. Extremely low maintenance standard.Below minimal security standard especially due very low window.Defect lighting. No sink or mirror in shower/toilet. Toilet outside unit.Extremlyuncomfortable beds.No place to put things next to bed. Stains on carpets.Old Towels and very small- notmeantfor showers.misleading pictures- "public area" was his private home we could not really. use.repairs of plumbing . -.during our Rent

    Besides location nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged £30 per night for a 3 year old who slept with us... no extra bedding or towels supplied. Was advertised as a B&B ... they wanted £17 per person extra. Linen was fake satin polyester... awful...obviously not heard of Cotten bed linen Feet dirty after walking barefoot in the room Toilet smelt

    Location was good... shower was strong.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower and toilets oustide of the room, in the corridor, old, extremely small (around 2 metres square for both toilets and shower) and uncomfortable. No washbasin, we had to toothbrush in the kitchensink. Tissue of the sofa and chair in the room stained. The price is far too high for this level of accomodation.

    location, space in the room. staff is ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room/toilet was cramped and could have been to a better standard.

    Quaint room in a lovely old building, with a nice canal view. Large studio with kitchenette made for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about this B and B is fabulous! Just a short walk to the train station and Amsterdam center!

    The owner was fantastic and willing to help you out with directions/everything. He let us keep our cases the last day so we didn't have to lug them round all day! He also bought some milk especially as that's how I drink my tea and brought it up to us! Hotel room had a fabulous view out over Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the lights were not working. No basins or mirrors for shaving. External bathroom without heating. Window glass cracked letting cold draft

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is horrible I had worst experience staying there stare case is like mountain climbing

    It is horrible I had worst experience staying there stare case is like mountain climbing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the surprise 300 Euro deposit as a penalty for smoking in the suite. I have never seen this before and it will make me think about other locations next time. We really enjoyed our breakfast, but its odd to have to pay extra for it, and at 15 Euro's fairly expensive for what one gets.

    Fantastic Location in a old heritage house, right on a canal. We had a suite, so wonderful windows overlooking one of the major canals. Tuhami was really nice to deal with and very helpful. We had left left some clothes inadvertently behind when we left early after a few days there, and he was very accommodating at facilitating a time for friends to pick them up a few days later.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was perfect. We loved every part of the house even our shabby little shower room. We felt like we were "Home from home" in our studio suite on the top floor. The staff are very helpful and just so lovely we will definitely be returning to the fabulous city of Amsterdam and staying right here again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful interior design, clean, central location, close to Amsterdam Centraal public transport, doctor located next door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean bed bath all equipment not good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like

    A lovely old property with original features a lot of history and lovely owner made to feel comfortable and welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Great position for Central city, nice and friendly lady.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are outdated

    Great Beds!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs renovation a bit

    Place in general and it's location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, had everything we needed. Maybe make the sign on the front more noticeable.

    Great location, host was really friendly and helpful. We stayed in the studio which was on the top floor of the nice old terrace. Had our own little kitchen and bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double bedroom had two single beds pushed together, but considering the narrowness and steepness of the stairs, this was understandable! The towels provided were very thin and old, though clean, and the mugs for tea and coffee were chipped and not matching, a very small gripe, but it would have been nice. Again, a small gripe, of the 6 bulbs in the chandelier, only 3 were working. Our stay coincided with the painters doing the outside of the building and scaffolding and netting spoilt the view, but we were out most of the time so it didn't affect us too much, and we appreciated it had to be done sometime, so it was just bad timing and not a complaint!

    Very friendly and helpful owner and his sister there to help out. The house is a beautiful traditional Dutch building built in the 1600's, with very steep stairs, an original feature. Our suite overlooked the canal and was very well placed for walking into the main town, only 5 minutes stroll. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as well as a mini bar in the room. The shower was large and a limitless powerful supply of hot water. The lounge was large and comfortable with a colour tv.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fixtures and fittings broken or hanging from the walls, dirty carpets, no private toilet as they were located in the corridor for anyone to access. workmen being able to peer into our room from construction work on the premisis who were happy to start work at 7 and almost shout at each other. It seems like the pace used to be nice but has had lack of maintenance

    Amsterdam itself, not our accommodation

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cups in room for tea and coffee were chipped and stained. We would have liked fresh milk for our tea/coffee in our room each day.

    The beds were comfy, the room was very large, breakfasts were delicious and the shower was hot and great. The stair well was an experience that got better each day and our host was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Very small bathroom with no handwash or mirror and outside the room. -No wifi on the 4th floor. -The view was covered with a cloth from a repairment construccion outside our window. -Breakfast too expensive.

    Location and comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cleanliness, heating, bathroom appauling, internet doesn't work on 4th floor, for that money I would expect at least heating in the bathroom and internet

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location next to the canal and the view was great! The room was spacious and comfortable and the manager was very welcoming and friendly. The building is maintained in an old fashioned/traditional style which was ace!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you have a problem with stairs then maybe its not for you. Some traffic noise.

    The owner put us in different accommodation to the original booked but within the same building, this actually suited our needs better. The first impression of the exterior didn't excite us but once in the apartment it was clean and very, very spacious. Very Happy, perfect location for main attractions.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very poor hospitality from the owner. We arrived late due our flight being delayed and he was complaining about not being informed in a very rude way. The bed was not a double bed but two single ones close to each other. The heating went off early in the morning and it was freezing cold afterwards. Also, how can you call a place Bed & Breakfast if you don't provide any breakfast?

    Nothing at all.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The original stairs are narrow and steep. I needed to use the vertical hand rope going up and down the stairs - not for the physically-impared, to be sure. However, if the physical challenge is not too great, the property offers an unique experience not readily found in our globalizing McWorld. homogeny.

    Excellent location and nice and quiet. Close to everything of interest and secure. If you want to experience 'old' Amsterdam, this is it! Beautiful building from the 17th century in mostly original condition. The staff are friendly and helpful. The studio on the 4th floor is roomy and the view from the large windows is stunning -- boats up and down the cannal, Amsterdamers on their bikes, and an old warehouse of the Dutch East India Company opposite. Many good restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like the small blankets and the separate beds

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    stair case very cramped and didnt have a toilet in my room had to use one across the hall

    Suite very luxurious

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful, old building, stunning canal views, amazing, quaint old building, central location, loved it

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was really big felt like an appartment. Location was great and he building was gorgeous.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse B&B De Baronie traveller photo gallery