Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Doelen 3 stars

Rapenburg 2, 2311 EV Leiden, Netherlands

#9 of 17 hotels in Leiden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 738 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Clean, good location but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has huge potential - large rooms and original features but decor and furniture outdated and run down. Bedside table on floor as no table. Looks like they have started to refurbish other rooms in the hotel.

    Great location. Nice new bathroom. Clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Leiden
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely, quirky hotel in a great location on the canal. Close to bars and restaurants. Easy stroll to pedestrian shopping area. Staff friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable overlooking the canal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    De Doelen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room close to hotel entrance and breakfast room so was a bit noisy in the morning. Bathroom was a bit oldish

    Staff was nice. Possibility to park bikes in a dedicated facility. Great location. Overall good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    De Doelen in Charming Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints at all.

    I loved the location, central to everything, a 10 minute walk to the train station, a 3 minute walk to the museum, a perfect setying and the hotel had real charm. The staff was personable and quite accommodating. A great experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Ok for one night or two
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit aged and needs a bit of a facelift. The carpets were quite old and i found some insects in my sheets but i think it's because it was summer and insects are everywhere. It was quite warm, even with the window open, as there was no air conditioning so a bit of an update to the facilities would be great.

    Perfect location, great staff, clean room, great shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    The excellent location in central (beautiful) lLeiden and the friendly staff were big plus points
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift and our room was small and slightly dated. It was cramped to move around in.

    exc.ellent location........friendly and helpful staff........good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and lovely breakfast room to start your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly oldstyle hotel close to the centre! It has a unique charm in case you like boutique hotels. The facilities could use some care and the water pressure was very limited.

    Very friendly staff and lovely breakfast room to start your day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    A great find, in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited during the heatwave (38 degrees!) and the hotel has no air con, but they did provide a portable unit for the room.

    The location was perfect for exploring Leiden, the grandeur of the hotel, room 12 with an outdoor terrace, room 13 with a view over the canal. Quiet at night, bathrooms were modern and well equipped. Toiletries were a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    The location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would say this hotel is a bit overpriced for what it offers. It rather looks like a student residence (poor door security, holes in the walls, etc).

    The location is very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We messaged prior to arrival to confirm we had a double bed and ask if it would be ok to have a later check out/ or leave our bags in storage and work in the dining area. They didn't message us back but were really helpful once we arrived so that was okay. The double bed was the two singles pushed together set-up which meant my partner woke up in the crack between them. (Woops!) It also would have been good to know there is no elevator. They are more than happy to hold your bags for you at reception but just something to be aware of...

    The staff were really helpful and let us leave our big bags at reception. They also kindly let us work in the dining area in the afternoon after already checking out which was super helpful. The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Great older style hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs.

    Lovely hotel in centre. No lift and very steep stairs, which would be a problem with heavy luggage.good wifi and reasonable breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly like overall in Holland. Their hospitality courses must be first rate. Bike storage not undercover.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Poorly looked after hotel and not at all good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite run down. Damaged door, very soft mattress and furniture scraped. The shower room was tiny and very dark. The sound proofing between the rooms is poor. I was kept awake by the noise of the hot water cylinder in a cupboard next door and I could hear the people in the next room running taps and having showers. Not at all good value for money at over £100 per night.

    The hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel on the canal
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Comfortable, slightly quirky, hotel in an excellent location on the Rapenburg canal. Close to bars, restaurants and shopping, and an easy walk to the station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Very nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff. Family friendly, I was there with my 3 year old and our 11 month old while husband was away and it was a breeze staying with them. Great location too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave.

    Everything. High ceilings. Super great beds and we would love to know the brand! Didn’t have time for breakfast but the room in which it is served looks lovely. Our new favorite place to stay in Leiden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Central stay in Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was on the ground floor facing the street but surprisingly, I didn't have much street noise. However the room was also across the hall from the breakfast room, so I was woken a little early by staff preparing room.

    Central hotel, only a 10 minute walk from the station. Staff were friendly. The room was very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely being in a family-run hotel that had not been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely being in a family-run hotel that had not been over-modernised. Single room was small but had everything that was needed, except a hairdryer. Very comfortable bed. Extremely pleasant relaxed helpful proprietors and staff. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is superb. Easy to access to Leiden Station and also variable restaurants around. Staff is friendly and provide free coffee even you don't have breakfast inside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location in the city center, convenient to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I find a price a little bit high for small single room with yard view. Weak water pressure in the shower.

    Excellent location in the city center, convenient to discover the city. Helpful staff, quiet hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    Great location, but for the price very dissapointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, cramped room. Two small beds pushed together, old tired furniture with a bed that was so bowed it was uncomfortable and .... a bathroom that smelled of bad drains.

    Location - good proximity to the station and nice canal side setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A blooming,good time,especially at Keukenhof
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The weather! The fact that buses in the Netherlands no longer accept cash.

    Appreciated the tea and coffee facilities in the room,the cappuccino sachet was ample for two delicious cups. Further supplies would have been available from the breakfast room where there is also a coffee machine,but I did not require either. Greatly appreciated the fact that cash payment for the accommodation was accepted - I had stated my preference on booking. Hotel is very central and staff are very welcoming ,but unobtrusive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    the hotel is very conveniently situated and I would gladly visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the bathroom were enormous and very comfy. Amenities included a kettle to make tea in the room (always a bonus for me). The view from the room was beautiful (Rapenburg) and despite the liveliness of the area, the room was very quiet. The staff was very kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice and central for Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The negative side of a 12pm check in is a 10am check out, but hotel is very happy to store luggage at reception

    Attentive staff, 12pm standard check in, free baby cots provided

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Lovely old building facing onto the canal - not noisy at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was difficult at times. I did manage to get reasonably close but the parking meters were recalcitrant - would not take coins half the time and I did not have the right card, it must be maestro.

    Lovely old building facing onto the canal - not noisy at all. Room was charming and bathroom very good size. Breakfast room has what seems to be original wall panels and ceiling, good breakfast. Very well situated for all areas of Leiden. Friendly hoteliers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely quiet former stately home....with many stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was low water pressure in the double/twin room. We asked for it to be looked at on Saturday and left on Monday before it had been repaired

    The atmosphere of the hotel itself, including the architecture and the natural light. The extremely helpful and courteous staff were always ready to answer questions and we chatted about the roles the house had played in the last century or so. I just loved the particular selection of breads in my breakfast basket!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    William, the host, was a totally nice guy and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. View of a back courtyard, not a canal or something nice.

    William, the host, was a totally nice guy and very helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.8
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down hôtel - needs renovation! Stained ceiling Breakfast was embarrassing - old sliced cheese, instant coffee from flimsy machine...

    Location is good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.0
    I can't wait to return!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was like a piece of history come alive, it had a wonderful atmosphere, great location for the university - which was where I was headed - and such helpful, friendly and hardworking staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Very conveniently situated, the hotel was just right for exploring Leiden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was ok, but not generous on a bitterly cold weekend. I would have liked to know more about the hotel building, it had obviously once been private house.

    Good breakfasts, water for the shower was hot, comfy beds Tea and Coffee makings in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    A charming and cozy retreat on a picturesque canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our flight from London was very delayed but we telephoned and they waited for us. Everyone was really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was nice, in a beautiful room. the weather was freezing but the room was warm and cozy (note - taller people might need to duck for the beams). the location is excellent, on a really picturesque canal, 10 mins walk from the station, 5 mins walk from the windmill museum, 1 min walk from the archaeological museum, 1 min walk from the japanese museum, 3 mins walk from Pieterskirk etc. Very central very handy. It is cosy and charming but not deluxe. Everything is clean and well maintained, the beds are comfy, but this isn't a place for you if you like marble bathrooms and gold taps.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    comfortable, close to the main town and within easy walking distance of the train
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs, no lift.

    It is a comfortable hotel, but not good for elderly people unless you have a room close to the ground floor, it is worth asking if your room could be on the ground or 1st floor, as the stairs are very steep and high. The breakfasts were very good and staff very friendly. The rooms were kept clean, but were a little tired.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    A beutiful old building, with ancient furniture and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the bathroom (room 2), although perfectly clean. I would appreciate having fresh vegetables in breakfast.

    A beutiful old building, with ancient furniture and decoration. Friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    good value - central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - room was not cleaned after the first night - room rather small - no elevator (although I should mentioned that they carried my luggage on the first floor, which was very nice)

    - very central location - free wifi (easy access) - modern bath - friendly staff - good value (not spectacular, but if you only sleep there, absolutely fine)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.4
    Location is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in the 2 rooms I stayed in was very bad.

    Location is fantastic. overlooking Rapenburg so bang where anyone would want to stay. Staff where very helpful in that they accommodated my request for a change of room as best as they could

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    perfect location for our extended family group and everyone comfortable, staff very friendly.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast room very dark and breakfast selection not great, tinned fruit only boiled eggs and lots of bread!

    the old building and our room with delft blue fireplace, modern bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed, warm room, short walk from train...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls seem to be very thin because one can hear neighbours very well. I couldn't find a hair dryer.

    Very comfortable bed, warm room, short walk from train station, nice staff who helped with the luggage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    decent stay for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building was a bit stuffy.

    Very nice staff, large room, old and charming building. Good location in the city center near many restaurants and shopping streets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    Good location, friendly people, room an bit of a dissapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower missed pressure and there was a smell of sewer in the room. View was obstructed. Much noise, rolling lugage and people who talked too loud.

    The size of the room was ok and the location was nice in the middle of town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and great location! Leiden is a beautiful old city with lots a character.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't get the bath to work and there was no breakfast before 7:30 a.m. As I had to leave at 7:15 I left hungry.

    The room was fine and everything was clean and quiet with friendly staff. Also an excellent central location for restaurants and bars. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate available in the room. so I will definitely recommend your hotel to others.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Near everything I wanted to see in two days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was ideal for all local amenities, museums , boat trips etc - although an old building some features have been updated and modernized making it suitably comfortable for the price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, good location, good choice for the next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfest until 9.30 only. Jazzuzi was out of order.

    Breakfest tasty only too poor, easy check-in and check out, excellent location very close to everywhere, Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Value for money, excellent service!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was slightly cold on the nights I stayed, so I would have appreciated if the heater was a bit warmer.

    Very spacious and clean. Friendly staff and good ambience with the unique architecture of the hotel. Would love to come back with my family!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    It's a bit dated, but charming, and certainly a good value deal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was difficult to shower without flooding the place. Also, it'd been nice if the amenities in the bathroom were replaced more than once during my stay.

    Bed was quite comfortable - excellent location if you want to stay downtown.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    A comfortable and well-run hotel in an excellent location that maintains its historic associations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have preferred a room with a single bed (rather than twin beds) but sufficient space for my morning exercises - but I managed as it was and understand a hotel's considerations.

    The building, bordering the canal, is traditional C19 Dutch style that has been sensibly/sensitively modernised from its original role as a 4-star restaurant. I enjoyed the very tall ground floor dining room and the sweeping staircase. The hotel is close to Hortus Botanicus - my reason to visit - and the Sieboldhuis opposite proved to be the highlight so from my viewpoint the hotel is a perfect location. (I understand many guests are for the University.) Front of house personnel were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    3.8
    Very strange atmosphere and he had said that Booking.com had not made the reservation!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving after nearly 80 miles of cycling and a torrential thunderstorm just 5 minutes before we reached the hotel wet and cold, to be told that he did not have a booking for us. After showing him the booking confirmation he said he had only two rooms not the required three. Four men had to sleep in one room, two singles a sofa bed and a camp bed not very comfortable. There did not seem to be anyone else in the hotel very strange and very noisy due to Friday night university town the noise went on until 4am in the morning. What a nightmare. If we were not wet, cold and tired we would have gone elsewhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location, ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located just into the historic centre from the railway station (8 minutes walk). Beautiful exterior, small hotel, nice staff and ok breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't really any soundproofing of the door into the corridor. Luckily the other guests weren't noisy late at night.

    Great location, nice big room. There was somewhere to hang outdoor jackets (most unusual in hotel rooms!), shower was adjustable in height (important when you're not very tall), tea & coffee-making facilities in the room. We had a room at the back and were not bothered at all by noise from the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, generous breakfast, good value, super clean and neat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift would have been a cherry on the top but perhaps I am just lazy with a heavy bag.

    Clean, very well located, great breakfast (fruit, yoghurt, cheese, ham, eggs, variety of breads, juices, teas and coffees, helpful staff, nice bathroom, and did I say clean? Very good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    It was a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The mattress and pillow were too soft

    1) Very kind staff 2) Nice spot in the city--not too far from the central station and the university 3) Good restaurants nearbye 4) Clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Double room (12) was ample and very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a double bed but got twin beds. It was a bit noisy, especially when people staying upstairs walked and jumped in their room or corridors, making the chandelier in my room shake and ceilings squeak and creak. This would sometimes happen late at night or very early in the morning.

    Double room (12) was ample and very comfortable. Reception was helpful. Location is excellent. My room was clean and the rest of the hotel seemed clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and toilet was outdated. The water pressure in the shower is not enough.

    The location is close to the station and city center. The building is very beautiful inside and outside, but old and is not very renovated. The view from the window was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    A bit disappointing; facilities tired and not the experience we'd hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This family run hotel needs upgrading. The public areas are somewhat tired and the steep stairs would not be suitable for elderly or young children. The holes in the wall of our room were not good. The room was not cleaned on at least one day, when the staff apparently 'forgot'. The tea and coffee was not replaced at least twice. There was a fridge in the room which was too noisy to run at night. Breakfast was uninspiring though adequate.

    The beds were comfortable and the staff were usually friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Quality and comfort in the Leiden City centre
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There could have been an elevator, but the building is under monument protection...

    The extraordinary friendliness of the hotel owner and staff, helpful in the most natural manner and in any way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    A restful stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good.

    The location was wonderful - a short stroll into the town square and restaurants. The staff were very helpful in all regards and even looked after our parking problem while we went on a long bike ride through the waterways around Leiden. The room was comfortable and reasonable for the price we paid. We couldn't have expected more. Breakfast was available for an extra cost - but we didn't partake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior was dated (especially the rooms looked like they last had a make-over in the 1970s) which was a shame as the hotel itself is located in a beautiful building. Shower pressure was low.

    Bed was comfy. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no ac, so it might be warm in July or August.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The whole place has an old Dutch feel. The location is very Central.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not included. We had breakfast in one of the coffee shops in the center. We really liked the hotel interior, but going up stairs carrying our luggage was not easy and it's not for everyone.

    The hotel is very well located. We could walk everywhere in Leiden. From the airport, it was about 16min train journey and less than 10 minutes walking until the hotel. Our room was a duplex, with a small living room in the upper part. Beautiful views over the street from the window.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    When in Leiden, stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietors of this establishment are enthusiastic hosts! The room we stayed in (#3) was a split level room with a great view and plenty of space. The breakfast is traditional Dutch, though special requests are met with the same enthusiasm the hosts have while heaving your luggage up and down the elevator-less building. The property is conveniently located too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Value for money. Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good 3 star

    Breakfast at 7.50 is never heard of. And it was good! Ham, cheese, coffee, marmalade, egg, orange juice.... I usually pay 25 or more. Don't change this price! Room nice with comfortable beds. Suite recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel and awesome hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was on the second floor on the street. It can get quite noisy, but I would still stay there again!

    Coming from California, I love the old buildings and style. The owners were very friendly. I love the Dutch and I love the town of Leiden. This hotel was perfect. The hosts were lovely! Breakfast was nice and very speedy. We even sat in the breakfast room with some visitors later in the day when it was "closed" and they offered us coffee and let us have a visit. Was very nice of them!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A convenient and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had sufficient space in our room that we might have sublet a corner to a friend. This is a clean, handsome, spacious hotel that is comfortable and doesn't take itself too seriously. But the staff is helpful and their English is fluent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant stay in a period building with friendly staff , close to ameanities but in a quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our bed in room 17 was a too soft. not good for anyone with a back condition. but this may not be the case in all the other rooms.

    A very friendly and helpful family run hotel I would recommend, and would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing. Local information, help with luggage and laundry, and warm and welcoming approach to everything. "No elevator" is usually not a problem for a room one level up, but the ceilings are extra high and the stairs were a large spiral. It was a bit of a challenge with heavy suitcases. The building is in a a great location for walking to any part of the old town and the street parking was not that hard to find on a Sunday. The mattress was a little soft but the room was good size and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Hotel in central position near to major sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed extremely soft. Noise from room above, but fortunately only on last night. No lounge area in hotel.

    Excellent shower room. Clean room. Good breakfasts. Friendly staff. Central location, close to main sites especially the old quarter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel convenient for station and shops/restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like. However guests need to be aware there is no lift and the stairs are quite steep up to the bedrooms so maybe not suitable for less able

    The hotel is run by 2 brothers who took over from their father. They were very polite, helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Tea/making facilities and biscuits provided in the room. Hotel is situated just a 10 minute walk from railway and bus stations and within a couple of minutes walk of many bars/restaurants and the main shopping area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Cosy boutique hotel and breakfast in the grand dining room is a must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a magnificent property and like all places of that vintage (including my own home!), they start looking a little weary. You could see a lot of work had already been done (and was being done) to bring the place back to its former magnificence, which was lovely to see.

    Loved the good quality fluffy towels and that the hotel name was embroidered on them all. Staff helpful and friendly. Absolutely loved the grandeur of the room where we had breakfast. It was actually at floor level so you you see the bustle of the city outside, which was lovely. So many small hotels serve breakfast in the basement but this was not the case here. Breakfast was also good value. Our two kids scoffed all the assorted breads (there was a lot!), and the staff were prepared to top up.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice location in old town, nice city Leiden, good links to Amsterdam 35mins 18 euros return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking, outside limited, only takes Maestro cards, which we could not get in UK, but hotel helped here using their card, & charging to bill, nearest parking about 5 min walk, this works well, takes all cards, about 15 euro's 24 hours, no lift, so the upper floors are a climb, but again staff took our bags up. Rooms basic, but fine for short stay.

    Good continental b/fast, good location 10 min walk to central station, on the canal, nice old building, helpful staff,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Enjoy a Dutch mansion on the most beautiful canal of Leiden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night I wanted to buy a bottle of water at the reception but I was told that they had none! Luckily the shop around the corner was open

    The location of the hotel is perfect! At a walkable distance from the station, the hotel faces the Rapenburg canal, probably the most beautiful canal in Leiden. Just around the corner there are nice restaurants, a shop open also at night, a cinema with films in the original language. I asked for a renovated room and I got one, number 10, which was quite small but very quite, clean and totally renovated. The building maintains its historical appeal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    Large spacious room over looking a canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite bathroom was very dated with a badly fitting concertina style door/screen

    Large spacious room over looking a canal. Very convenient for town centre bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.0
    Shabby chic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower room was too small, the fridge did not work, general décor of hotel was sub-standard, not enough staff (1) for breakfast AND check out. Reception hidden from entrance doorway. I do not enjoy making my own coffee from a machine. Cold toast.

    Room was very large, lots of good standard furniture, quiet room, loved the general building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    Good for a stay in Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room we had was on the top floor two floors up (no lift). The room was a bit disappointing, in need of a serious make over. Bed excellent but we were moved to a much better room on the ground floor.

    Hotel situated on a canal and good for Uni/Eateries etc. The second room we had was on the ground floor and although a bit small was clean, with a very comfy bed, and lovely ensuite shower/bath room! Breakfast was good and the staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.9
    Great place to visit Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoration in breakfast room was ancient but in a poorer state than the remainder of the hotel which was really beautiful. Car parking is not so easy, we parked far and got to visit the Leidse Lente café which is worthwhile in itself.

    Very good location, nice view from the room on the canal. Very nice luxurious decoration (fireplace and canopy bed) in an well maintained, ancient hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Leiden trip
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely, interesting hotel in a central location. An easy walk from the station, and close to bars and restaurants. Large, stylish room with good views over canal. Staff charming and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.3
    Character hotel with charm and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower - not that hot and not much pressure because on the top floor, but managed. Some noise from street below as no double glazing, but not for too long

    Great staff, nice breakfast, hotel has character unlike many others and excellent location in heart of old town and by canals.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had no noise insulation so I heard everything from the room above and beside me, including speaking and showers.

    The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was modern. The location was perfect to see the entire city and close to the shopping and food districts.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse De Doelen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: