Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Gulden Leeuw 3 stars

Merk 2, 8711 CL Workum, Netherlands

#6 of 11 hotels in Workum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 282 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Its good for business travels.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not as complete as I expect, no vegtable (not tomato or cucomber or similar where available)

    I like the place. Basically every thing was how it should be in the 3* hotel. I was confortable there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    Typical Inn on the old market square
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was distinctly firm. Room 1 was next to a door leading from many other rooms to the stairs, so was quite noisy when people left, as a group did rather early in the morning.

    Excellent breakfast. Also nice restaurant and bar for dinner with a varied Dutch menu. Bedroom was spacious with a modern, well provisioned shower room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Good atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was outside hotel restaurant/ bar closed ad 21.30

    Friendly people, location in the middle of town.food was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice clean rooms but the stairs to the rooms very steep; not for older people or families with small kids. Very friendly personal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    difficult to find the way to go out. inside of the Hotel looks like labyrinth there is no any bord to show exit. The rest is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, beautiful location, clean and comfortable rooms and good breakfast. And possibility to park my motorcycle inside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Hairdryer
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.6
    Great location overlooking the cafe square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have nothing I can say that I did not like!

    Great location overlooking the cafe square. The room was extremely comfortable and the breakfast (included in the room price) was a huge spread of extensive variety. I will go there again if I visit Friesland.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    4.2
    The owner was grumpy and not to friendly when the hotel got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owner was grumpy and not to friendly when the hotel got busier - the first day they didn't make our beds and I wasn't to happy about that - but the breakfast was amazing and the bed so comfortable - but climbing the stairs to the family room was too scary and I didn't enjoy that - the window in the room was broken so we couldn't have fresh air and I hated that Not worth the price

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    8.8
    the bathroom was really nice and the breackfast is awesome.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The stairs are too much steep, if you hava a big bag could be dangerous.

    the bathroom was really nice and the breackfast is awesome. The staff was nice and helpfull. They talk really good english. The city is really really lovely.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    Lovely cosy comfortable hotel in a lovely location.
    • Couple

    Was perfect for my needs

    Lovely cosy comfortable hotel in a lovely location. Food was good & the staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    8.3
    spacious luxury room, quiet even though it was right on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    spacious luxury room, quiet even though it was right on the central plaza

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location. Large Room overlooking square. Good Value.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Room aircon was brilliant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room aircon was brilliant !! Location could not be better and a secure lockup for the bikes .. Nice to have coffee faculties in the room

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.5
    The room has air-con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The baby-cot is not clean. I can see brown stains on the babybed.

    The room has air-con.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Browse Hotel de Gulden Leeuw traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: