Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western City Hotel de Jonge 4 stars

Brinkstraat 85, 9401 HZ Assen, Netherlands

#7 of 9 hotels in Assen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 803 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    This is by far the best hotel in assen it's like going...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like about this hotel it's fantastic

    This is by far the best hotel in assen it's like going home the staff are helpful and friendly. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Perfect position in fact couldn't get a better city location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    We had a fantastic stay in Assen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airco blows to much on the bed and if you put it off it makes noises during the night. Rooms are a bit noisy.

    Beautiful spacious room, very nice and comfy beds. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Great service, large room and comfy bed. What more can you ask for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were really nice, helpful and informative, helping us with bis timetables. Room was very large, beds comfy and all facilities spotless, a lovely hotel. Will stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for a night in Assen, before or after the TT or any other time really
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Parking, lack of and a bit of a walk to the nearest available for a 2m high. Not sure where we could have parked if over 2 m....!

    Huge rooms, big screen TV

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    I think the hotel is located in a great area in the city...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion, it was quite expensive. Slippers were not provided.

    I think the hotel is located in a great area in the city center. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    Would choose differently next time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Massive re-construction going on (April/May/? 2018), no warning/info beforehand. First room offered had naked floor in the combined shower/WC, was said to be 'industrial design' typical for NL. Old building with thin walls, in room second floor you heard doors slamming at ground floor. Needs refurnishment, e.g. new carpets. Not meeting Best Western standards for the time being. Night club/Disco in building next door.

    Location is great, for example for Drents museum

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, we stay here very year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English breakfast tea in the rooms would have been good. I'm not a fan of flavoured teas or coffee first thing in the morning

    Lovely big rooms and very clean. Stay were great and very helpful. The best thing for us was the location - right in the heart of the action and so all bars/restaurants were easy to walk to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for those who want to stay the night right in the centre of Assen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing comes to mind

    Beautiful modern large clean room with great wheelchair accessibility in the center of the town near to the museum and shops. Very comfortable beds and a large bathroom with all the extra's provided plus coffee and tea in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to check out! ! 😉😍

    Breakfast amazing, continental and cooked selection. Exquisite freshly baked warm rolls, bread and croissants. Great location. Lovely happy staff. Lift to upper floors, stairs if you prefer. Stunning wet room in our room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended, great location
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge at the hotel, not even a small one, so we couldn't keep anything cold like drinks. And I thougt the breakfast was expensive 13,5 euros per person

    The location is perfect, lovely staff and good food, I had breakfast abd dinner at the hotel and it was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    We had a very good time at the BW and in Assen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our stay the hotel was under renovation, but room was newly remodeled.

    Excellent location, a walk from the train station, on the edge of the Centrum and at the local Wed & Sat Market area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    I would definetly come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in the room was split (toilet seprate). Didnt like that idea, but thats personal preference only. Missing a small refrigerator in the room

    Amazing location Amazing staff Very clean room Very cozy feeling

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont exchange money. There are problems with some credit cards as American Express. ATM also don't respond to Am. Ex. Banks don't change to Euro from dollars and also not the hotel.

    Nice hotel, good location, nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.6
    Horribly outdated. Don't stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really don't understand this hotel has good reviews and it's classified as a 'best western'. It's completely outdated, the hallways look extremely dirty and the whole place needs a major renovation. Don't be fooled by the pictures on the website as these are of the renovated rooms only! Not recommended, spend a few euros more and go somewhere else.

    Staff was nice and location is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad drainage smell in bathroom and bedroom. Unable to change rooms as hotel full. After speaking to management we did get a discount though which was appreciated as room and breakfast not cheap. Lots of flies around breakfast.

    Central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.0
    Dissapointing after previously been treated very mich better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I've stayed here a few times and in the past I got a a free taxi to the NAM office, this time I was told you can only get this is booked through NAM, the free morning taxi was one iof the reasons I chioase tis hotel, I am backk in Assen this week and have booked Van Der Valk. Aember of staff told me if I phoned I would get the a special NAM rate and when I tried I was told they needed an e-mail from NAM. I work at NAM as a contractor and as such NAM do not book my accomodation, very disappointed with tyhe conflicting information.

    Everything was OK

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Summervacation in May
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfastcrew seemed to be understaffed, so the buffet didn't get refilled on time. The people working the breakfast shift worked really hard so no blame on them whatsoever.

    We had a really nice room, comfortable bed, nice tub. Location of the hotel is good, plenty of things to do in the area. It was quite hot outside. The room had a fan, so it was nice & cool there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Our Home-Away-From-Home in Assen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Some shelf space by the sink would have been useful; was a little tight for two people. An area rug in the room would be gezellig; the hard floors underfoot not so much. Breakfast buffet was convenient and tasty but was too expensive in our opinion.

    Staff was always friendly and helpful in many matters relating to English speaking tourists in the Netherlands. Jackie and Anita were especially charming. Room was quiet and comfortable - slept very well each night. Hotel very convenient to stores, restaurants in Assen Centrum as well as the Drenthe Museum (which was well worth a visit). Lekker ice cream parlor around the corner too. We visit family in Assen every couple of years. The BW De Jonge will be our home-away-from-home again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a tea addict i would have liked to have black tea and milk in the room, There was plenty of coffee and fruit tea though.

    Fantastic location. Our room was really spacious and nicely decorated. Comfortable bed. The staff were brilliant, really really helpful and every one of them was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having a safe in the room would have been nice for storing valuables. The hallways were empty, paintings on the wall would have made the walls more interesting.

    The room was spacious, and the couch sat nicely. The tub and shower were very nice too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location, good experience the previous stays, just not so good this time.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of the first room we were given. They were aware of the issue and still gave us the room.

    Staff acted professionally upon a serious issue.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable enough stay in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower curtain getting old. Toilet brush holder badly stained/rusty on top.Very bland decor - needs a print on wall. Light over bathroom mirror did not work. Shower controls screeched at times. Still had to close window at night as voices on side street even though asked for and was told it was a quiet room. I suspect ones on west side would be quieter.

    Large room, towels soft and bed linen very good quality. Bed comfortable. Suggest different thicknesses and density of pillows. Great that window opened and heating very good. Breakfast fine. Great to have kettle and biscuits.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff who will help with anything and the...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of breakfast was a little too much for the quality of it and the price of the rooms although not ridiculously expensive were more than I would have liked to pay, if the cost of the rooms included breakfast it would have been perfect

    Very friendly staff who will help with anything and the rooms were very comfortable and finished to a high standard

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Rooms were extremely comfortable and staff were very...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abit loud on Friday nights because of nearby club, but location in regards to everything else makes up for one nights disrupted sleep

    Rooms were extremely comfortable and staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no decent coffee nor a coffee maker in the room.

    location, staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Modern rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding felt damp. Air Con digital readout lights up the room in the dark so had to turn it off. Therefore didn’t get much sleep

    Modern rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Very clean and tidy and the staff were really helpful and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and tidy and the staff were really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Prima hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prima hotel

    De grootte van de kamer was perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    The location is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very convenient. Very friendly staff and modern room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Good overnighter
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room (especially bathroom) was almost too big but all in all a pleasant stay.

    Freindly staff. Large rooms. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in the very centre of Assen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Renovation works in the area.

    Located in the centre of Assen, 10 minute walk from the train station, very convenient. Spacious room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Would like to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no negative comments, all was brilliant

    Staff very helpful. Spacious room, good service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little way away

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting a larger buffet with more options at breakfast, but it was good

    I enjoyed my stay; even if it was short

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Simple, nice, comfortable and large rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Simple, nice, comfortable and large rooms. I love this hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Large rooms in the middle of Assen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large rooms in the middle of Assen . Cheap parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast in a cosy cafe was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some issues with charging the phone while the lights were off..

    Breakfast in a cosy cafe was nice. Staff was lovely, bed was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    Big room, good location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle didn't work.

    Big room, good location, great staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The city

    Staff were excellent and very friendly especially Bart. Rooms were great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Best location in Assen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No car park

    Best location in Assen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Good location; large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convenient location, close to all amenities. Large comfortable room. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Aanbovolen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Goed hotel in het centrum.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic hotel in the middle of Assen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Real large rooms. Very quiet in the middle of Assen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location,good service and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no heater in the room,the airco is a bit noisy at night.

    Great location,good service and clean room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brakfast form 7.00, Reception not 24/7.

    Good localization.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Big bedrooms and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big bedrooms and comfy beds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, good staff, good room and bed, good position,...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much hot in the room

    Good hotel, good staff, good room and bed, good position, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Perfect stop over before flight home the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really friendly and helpful stafg

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Very good location, it is absolutely in the center.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No private parking, it is possible to park only on the street by paying parking charge.

    Very good location, it is absolutely in the center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Assen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early closing on a Sunday at the restaurant when a major event is in town

    Restaurant was closed but directed to next door by good staff member

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Location and restaurants close
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and restaurants close

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Going back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    May find something.

    The staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Totally fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good manners and very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Exceeded my expectations in every way, that good we booked again for next year before we left.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, location, staff, food, rooms all excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Just what I needed in Assen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the centre of Assen and 10 minutes walk from railway station Great value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    The convenience to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to have fresh milk for coffee on arrival

    The convenience to everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced and poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed , the price , facilities available. Rushed by staff

    The outside festival

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    The staff and the service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was to warm.

    The staff and the service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to the car parking; it had changed its name so could not find it :-(

    Bar around the corner

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.9
    Very quite hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quite hotel. Nicely located in the city. Just 10 minutes from the station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Excellent location. Cosy restaurant with excellent food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.9
    Ze hadden een full English breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ze hadden een full English breakfast! Het is in hartje centrum.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.3
    close to all ammenaties
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked double bed but got 2 singles

    close to all ammenaties

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.9
    Location - right in the centre of Assen, short walk from the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Seemed to be in the process of being renovated.

    Location - right in the centre of Assen, short walk from the station. Restaurant - decent, reasonably priced food.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    Location very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel partly under renovation. Restaurant for breakfast is across the alley. Parking is in a public underground parking not far from the hotel.

    Location very central. Parking fees included by hotel. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    3.3
    Restaurant ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel was a building site work men every where ,place was filthy , wheel barrows ladders on our landing had to dodge building work Not told of this when we booked in Hotel should be closed while work taking place Promised a discount for this ,now home they are not keeping to there word A very BAD experience

    Restaurant ok

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    5.8
    Was charged for some garlic bread at the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was charged for some garlic bread at the restaurant! And Then the server wasnt serviceminded and Said that it was our own mistake! And we had to pay for something, we didnt order. He did so we will NOT come again!

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    3.8
    location is OK, breakfast is nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. Internet connection is poor! 2. no mini bar, not even a bottle of water.. 3. no A.C in the room. was freezing! 4. sower is a disaster. 5. hotel is being renovated, 07:30 you could here constructions work... not fun! 6. mo phone in the room. you want to talk to reception? you need to look them up. 7. staff? slow, not caring. this is considered as Best Western hotel. i do not call this an hotel.

    location is OK, breakfast is nice!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    Staff were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no family room so as a family with 2 young children we had to book and pay for 2 rooms.

    Staff were great! Hotel is very central. Rooms very big.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    8.3
    The location was perfectly located in the city centre, close...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only slight disappointment was not waking up to any coffee/tea making facilities within the room

    The location was perfectly located in the city centre, close to restaurants and a one minute walk from the offices where I needed to attend a meeting. The train station was also within walking distance. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and rooms were spacious enough and meeting a good standard.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    Loved Helen who bent over backwards to make us comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was basic but only one available with air con.

    Loved Helen who bent over backwards to make us comfortable! Restaurant was excellent, goat cheese salad was huge & delicious.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.3
    The locations great, the staff are engaging and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The locations great, the staff are engaging and friendly. My room was huge but badly in need of a make over, it was however spotless and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.1
    Only 5 mins from race circuit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First room we were given stunk of cigarettes and sweat!! Was in a bad state of repair, and was very tired and dreary.. Lobby area was not very clean and the lift always had a very bad smell (not sure what that was). The corridors outside the rooms needed a good wash down (especially the wood area) as this was thick with dust. The new room they gave us was on the top floor and was 100% better.. Couldn't believe the difference.. Booked this as we have used Best Western in other countries so thought it would be the same quality.. Hopefully if we stay again it will have all been addressed. Parking facilities aren't very good if you have a van so be aware of height restrictions etc.. had one evening meal which wasn't very nice so we found a few restaurant's for future meals. Shame as nice restaurant ..

    Only 5 mins from race circuit. Staff were helpful in the actual hotel area. We needed to change rooms and this was sorted out efficiently the next day. Plenty of restaurants to eat in but beware they tend to stop doing food at 9pm..

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    7.9
    Polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Construction on the building directly next door- makes for a loud morning....

    Polite staff. Elevator to 2nd and 3rd floor. Very nice sized rooms and bathrooms... clean.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: