Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Kastanjehof 3 stars

Kloosterlaan 1, 3749 AJ Lage-Vuursche, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Lage-Vuursche

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 481 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.0
    The location is nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fire alarm in the middle of the night and it continued for some time because there is no manager present. So there were no instructions given which is worrying because the majority of the guests are senior people. During breakfast in the morning the hotel staff present was not aware there has been a fire alarm and did not even apologize. Hotel needs renovation. Rooms are old and worn out and there is no elevator.

    The location is nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    good food and good pancake houses in the street
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    transport to the hotel in the evening With bus, prefere to get contact With a taxi in the evenings 20 €. Bus is Perfect in the morning :-) to the Sprinter station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Idyllic, really. We had beautiful weather and we cycled and walked and enjoyed the lovely fresh air
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While we were having breakfast indoors on the first morning the cleaner was vacuuming the adjacent area and it was noisy and we did not like it.

    The room was very comfortable with a lovely little terrace. The staff were relaxed and welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. The location was exceptional, on the edge of the woods and it was nice to have breakfast in the lovely garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, don't expect to get much sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel has changed hands since the last time I was there. Unfortunately the hotel fine restaurant has changed to primarily to a casual and extremely noisy bar business. The outdoor bar closed at around midnight and after the bar staff ,all young men, partied until as late as 3AM with drinking, loud voices and music. We were unable to get reasonable rest due to this problem.

    Location wonderful. Biking on the fabulous trails

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Personnel is very friendly and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I had which was old and needs renovation. In the bath room the wall covering came off on some parts. In the room itself there was a lamp taken off the wall and you could see the electric wires. Don't think this is wise especially when you would be traveling with kids; you never know

    Personnel is very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and quietly situated. The bed was big and comfortable Will stay again but will take a more expensive room which is hopefully renovated Location is really nice in the woods

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Lovely village and woods even in winter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is securely locked at night. We had to leave extremely early to get to the airport. We could not open the door of the hotel to exit. Alarm went off. Police came. Not very safe!

    The surrounding. Woods!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Charming pet friendly hotel with good restaurant, in need of a fireplace.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was sort of cold most of the time and the bathroom had no ventilation. Apparently, the ventilation system in all the rooms has not been working for 4 years! This was noticeable in the form of the mildly unpleasant odour wafting through the corridors.

    We were the only guests on the first night and were essentially treated like royalty, including the next morning for breakfast. The staff were engaging and friendly and were even prepared to serve us breakfast later than usual breakfast hours on our second morning. We were very pleased that our little dog was also accommodated everywhere, including in all eating areas. No one flinched as a result of his presence.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    The room was rather small, the bath & toilet were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was rather small, the bath & toilet were separated and there was a tub/shower combination. Otherwise, the facilities and surroundings were wonderful. Also, the food was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug for sink, small bathroom, some of the pictures were unsettling and was charged for some fruit which we requested, at first without looking the member of staff said there was none then rustled some odd pieces of fruit that were knocking around and to our surprise on checking out discovered we had been charged for them!

    The nature was what made it, beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic restaurant, but very dated bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was awful! Broken soap holder in the bath which could have resulted in broken skin if you'd brushed against it. Very, very dated fixtures and fittings and poor lighting. The shower above the bath was very poor too. The village itself has very little to do but has many eateries, this restaurant looked the best of all and would go back for the food alone.

    The restaurant is superb and the dinner we had was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is right in the village. The restaurant and downstairs areas are beautifully furnished and quite luxurious. The room itself was okay and a good size. Breakfast was good with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant, convenient, relaxing - we would stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little updating would make a difference - but then the hotel might be too expensive for us! We would have appreciated help with baggage to our room, but no big deal.

    Good breakfast (we didn't have dinner in the hotel). Also, on our last morning, the staff kindly agreed we could invite five family members (not staying at the hotel) to join us for breakfast (it was the birthday of one of us).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Good few days of relaxation, walking and cycling...and eating pancackes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like leaving this hotel.

    Nice peacful hotel with a lovely garden. Good food and pleasant staff. Bike hire with plenty of paths leading from the hotel to wherever you want. Small quiet village full of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Great, friendly and attentive staff, nicely located in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi wasn't working in our room at all, we could hear the guests in the next room, the hairdryer wouldn't stay turned on. I'd expect at least that to be working considering the price. Ah well.

    Great, friendly and attentive staff, nicely located in the village the forest, large well-decorated rooms. Note that there's no cellphone signal anywhere in the village.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay as wedding guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is expensive at €15 for bread, pastry and meats/cheeses, particularly in a village with so many pancake houses nearby. But I suspect this is across the board in Dutch hotels and not limited to De Kastanjehof

    Stunning location, friendly service, clean comfortable room and a peaceful nights' sleep!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice but rustic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn't work. It only worked in some places in the restaurant, but only a few. Not in either room we had or a corridor, lobby etc. There was no hairdryer in the room.

    Very beautiful quiet location in a large forest. Pancake restaurants a plenty,close to Hilversum. Very nice place to stay a few days.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.9
    Quiet & comfortable with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the coffee/tea was not replenished daily. Bathroom dated

    Location, room & hospitality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    bed was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was very nice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Kamer was perfect geoutieerd
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ontvangst kan meer welcoming

    Kamer was perfect geoutieerd

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent but short stay, it was so nice staying in a small hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service in a beautiful location, with good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom Small room

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location...perfect view...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    The location...it is absolute perfecr

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Live this hotel and surroundings !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and ambiance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Good choice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in room

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi

    ambience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    WiFi not available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi available, coffee machine not working in The room

    Rooms are comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old-fashioned hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't working

    Old-fashioned hospitality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in Lage Vuursche
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the terrace could have been cleaned better

    very confortable bed, room with terrace, good breakfast, although not included. Good dinner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Having a peaceful time surrounded by green
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi. But that was in the whole village; guess too many trees.

    Good,oldfashioned atmosphere in a beautiful surrounding (green chestnuts).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay at this country inn.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful stay at this country inn. Beautiful area with a cute and intimate town. Easy access to nearby cities. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Recommeneded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - coffee maker and water kettle were out of use

    - calm area - picturesque views - nice staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    3.3
    The restaurant area is beautiful & breakfast was really...
    • Family with older children

    We were there to attend family funeral therefore last minute travel plans had to be made - consequently arrived late ( 10,45pm) On both occasions we were treated very rudely on arrival - key shoved into hand & the waiter thought about which key to give me or my wife ? My wife gave key to our sons who had a reasonable room however we had a room from last century with none of the charm. It was like a dumping ground for anything left over , Tatty, nothing worked, No wifi in this room available & seriously needed painting which for the money was not acceptable. When my wife asked if we could be moved as I had already asked if they were full but knew they had two spare rooms still. She was told those rooms would be filled that day & they couldn't offer them to us ?? No further explanation - that's it. Arrogant approach is some what antiquated way forward for the hospitality business in this day & age.

    The restaurant area is beautiful & breakfast was really enjoyable. The Breakfast staff were also very friendly The woman was really helpful. Pretty location in the woods however quite remote if you want to get around to other areas.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful location in the middle of a pretty forest with at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Although their kitchen is excellent and the staff very knowledgable and friendly...the breakfast was a bit disappointing

    Wonderful location in the middle of a pretty forest with at least 5 pancake houses within walking distance!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.2
    Location, Staff, Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, Staff, Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Everything was pretty good, nice hotel, friendly staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was pretty good, nice hotel, friendly staff, good food and off course a wonderful location! Well be back!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    The staff is excellent and make you feel very welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is excellent and make you feel very welcome.Will go there the next!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.9
    The Brie de Maux at breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was'nt working well in the room

    The Brie de Maux at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    The service, the food and the facilities can only be defined...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service, the food and the facilities can only be defined as excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    8.3
    Nice, comfortable room with a balcony;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, comfortable room with a balcony; pleasant surroundings; convenient parking: good wifi.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse De Kastanjehof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: