Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Logement de Keizerskroon 2 stars

Keizerstraat 31, 2801 NJ Gouda, Netherlands

#5 of 11 hotels in Gouda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 414 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our whole stay was the best. The lovely woman who owns and operates this facility is warm, professional and makes a killer breakfast every single morning. The home is old world charm. I couldn't have asked for anything more. It was just how I imagined a visit in a medieval village would be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was excellent.

    Wonderful breakfast. Friendly staff. We needed help to pay the parking and the recepcionist showed to us how we make to pay in other machine, because one close to the hotel didn't working. Very kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - penalty for cancellation is applied starting 30 days ahead - necessity to define arrival time in advance as there is no reception - No fridge in the room

    + very friendly staff + you live in old style Dutch building + very calm place + just two steps walk from the main city square (frankly speaking in Gouda you anywhere live near main city square as town is very tiny) + kitchen/dining room available with good choice of beer, wine and beverages in the fridge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steep stairs to my room were difficult.

    I expected the hotel to be much more grandiose like the name, "Imperial Crown. But the place, crammed into a series of row house buildings, fit into the town of Gouda nicely for my purpose. I wanted to be close to culture and people. The wifi service was fast enough to upload my videos that I was sending to family. The staff put my bicycle away in a nearby locked storage for safety. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms was on the first floor, going up and down the stairs with the suitcase was a bit challenging.

    Breakfast was really good and varied, the hotel is in the city centre and the host was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice cosy location in small local street to city center. This is what you expect from a B&B (Don’t expect a hotel). Comfortable beds, friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved how the owner called me as soon as I booked (it was a super last minute booking due to train cancellations) to check on my status. And she gave me directions to get there from the train stations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast option

    Very quiet location only a short walk from the centre of Gouda. On street parking was difficult so we parked in a secure multi storey car park 5 minutes walk away. Cost €12 a day. Small but very comfortable room. Excellent shower. We didn't realise we'd booked a no meal option so no breakfast but there was a kettle and tea making facilities in the room and the shops were only a few minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    i wasn't wrapped in the breakfast, but that's a personal issue

    I stayed here for 6 nights as a base to explore the Netherlands. It is in a very pretty city and located in a quiet street. It had a certain charm abutting the church in the back yard. It was clean and comfortable. Note that there is a city tax to pay at the end

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking some distance away and €12 per day. Otherwise no complaints at all.

    Excellent breakfast, varied from day to day, with rather special cooked egg dishes and delights such as waffles with strawberries and cream. Good room with sofa. Friendly and cheerful landlady. Short walk to the town centre, restaurants, etc. Very quiet street. A great place to stay in Gouda.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our one room was a little too warm at night, even with the windows open, but this is likely only an issue at the height of summer.

    The owner was accommodating and helpful. She made amazing breakfasts, including great gluten-free options. Rooms were clean, and the location was really cool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mountain climb to bedrooms! Poor lighting with modern bulbs. Parking E18 for night in street. Arrival tricky as street configuration changed - we went down the one way the wrong Way!

    Good location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was very nice and available to help and give information. Nice location and very rich breakfast. I would recommend anyone to consider this place as an accomodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cycle storage outside is risky, the offer of more secure storage just 2 or 3 doors down the street for an extra £2 a night is worth doing.

    We felt our hostess was friendly and efficient, she was kind and helpful. Room was small but well appointed, breakfast was excellent with fresh homemade bread etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fairly small but clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for our one night stay. Our hostess was very welcoming and provided an excellent and plentiful breakfast the following morning, even suggesting that we made ourselves some snacks up from some of the breakfast items which we hadn't eaten, much appreciated as we were cycle touring and it's always useful to have something in reserve! The location was quiet but very central and so good for sightseeing and for restaurants. I would be happy to recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best parking is city garage several blocks away.

    Quaint, charming small family run hotel several blocks from city square. Cheerful accommodating staff. Lovely city for a relaxing getaway!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms' interior is a wee bit tacky, but no biggie.

    Everything was great. The owner is really nice and friendly, the room was large, home-cooked breakfast was basic but good, wifi was working very well, the place is located in an old building two minute walk from the central square. We felt very welcome and at home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could have been better.

    The owner/manager/cook/do-everything was wonderful. This place was all one expects in a Dutch home --clean, friendly, wonderful breakfast prepared while sitting around dining/kitchen table.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is small and intimate. Rooms are well furnished and the place is spotless. The host was very helpful and assisted us to find vehicle space and provide information about Gouda. It has a common kitchen and meeting area for all to use

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely fantastic place. Very close to the center of Gouda. Host is very nice and helpful. There is a small garden at the back of apartament we you can use for breakfasts and evening meetings. Breakfast are additional value which must be mentioned. Each day they are different, prepared with passion by owner and very delightful. Definitely the BEST breakfast I've ever had.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small.

    Host was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Good location near the town center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great and super quaint. The host was lovely and made sure I felt welcomed. The morning breakfast was perfect and so much food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fabulous!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    A quiet night! Lovely as so central to town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was satisfactory

    The whole experience was wonderful, friendly and the food was abundance, could not have asked for more

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The cherry blossom at my window and the cute tiny garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great home cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having to leave

    the friendly greeting , the personal service, this place completed our break..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice little Hotel (3 Rooms) in city center of Gouda, super friendly owner and awesome self made breakfast. One of the best stays we’ve ever had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very nice, good bread and nice waffle !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a dream!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the owner is very nice, the room is clean and the location is really comfortable if you want to visit the Gouda's city center!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special, being in the center, parking nearby was a problem

    Breakfast was good and abundant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lovely room with all facilities. Very central. Host very friendly and helpful and we felt welcome. Good breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was so cute in a very nice kitchen. Room was clean and nice, new furniture and very comfortable bed. We loved the stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were beautiful...the property was spotlessly clean..the last at the property was so lovely'friendly..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful breakfast. Very friendly host, she found us an under-cover storage for our bikes with a neighbour. Very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger sign to make it easier to find.

    Amazing breckfast, fantastic location a few mine from the central square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggested parking was quite a distance from the B and B.

    Location was near the town square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is wonderful. The room is not very big, but it's well decorated

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well placed, good breakfast, very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was very accommodating and makes a wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our host was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was sumptuous and generous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds put together. Prefer one double

    Great breakfast, pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tough to find a negative. Parking a little costly!!

    Cosy homely atmosphere. Super hostess/owner. So near the centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing Breakfast :) everything was great. central, clean, near good restaurants,...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely warm family house, had a really nice feel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    kind staff, breakfast in the kitchen, nice rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful hostess. She makes a fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very accommodating for my later than expected arrival

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend to others.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was excellent. Perfect for peace and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was fine, breakfast was good, and the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are a little small, but the cleanliness, great breakfast and pleasant personality of our hostess made our stay a memorable one.

    Rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was EXCELLENT !!! The hostess was very friendly and gave us lots of imformation about Gouda. She also gave us "spot on" directions to our next stop.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The heating was erratic, but was compensated for by an electric heater.

    The friendly family feeling of the shared kitchen; the free wifi; the pancakes at breakfast; the nearness to the marketplace; and the old world charm of the building itself.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host needs to smile a bit more. Her guests are not post office customers so a bit more cheerfulness won't hurt. Check out time is 10am which is very inconvenient especially if u have had a late night. Having to pay every hour for a parking space is a huge minus.

    Good location, clean room and bathrroom and a nice home made breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice staff, great breakfast. Very nice location, calm and friendly. Always open to give tips for visits and other interesting things in and around gouda. Cozy but not small. It's notable everywhere, that the staff cares for your wellbeing. There's always time for a nice talk.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shower hose broke loose from shower head, not that big of a deal...

    Easy to walk to from train station, nice and quiet, comfortable, clean and very nice host!!

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately we found breakfast a bit awkward as the owner was just sitting there at the side waiting for us to finish. Awkward silences...

    It was a lovely place in a very convenient part of town. Everything we needed was provided. Just what we needed for a night away.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A pleasant welcome, the room was a bit small but well equipped. The hotel now only has 3 rooms and is in a quiet street. the owner does everything and lives close by. A very good breakfast and we were able to leave our luggage for the morning.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have preferred to sit indoors for breakfast as I was cold. Being offered a choice would have been nice. Also my husband and I witnessed at breakfast a domestic situation which felt very awkward. Finally as cyclists we would have preferred better overnight security for our bikes.

    The room, setting and breakfast were superb.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There wasn't anything I didn't like. We had a really lovely stay.

    Location within comfortable walking distance to town square. Beautiful breakfast - we stayed 4 nights in all and there was always a little something different at breakfast each morning.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has no reception and we needed to call the owner so that she'll open the door. Without a phone everything is more complicated. For people arriving with a car - the hotel is in a narrow one-way street and we had to wait there for a long time in order to get in. Parking is a problem and is expensive. Also the place charges commission on credit card and doesn't accept all credit cards. That was a bit of a problem for us. We weren't allowed to leave the bags in the hotel after check-out, so we had to carry them to the car at a parking lot 15 minutes away (by walking)

    Breakfast, location

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    More drawers for storage.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fabulous Breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The hostess was extremely friendly.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful Hotel and Lovely friendly owner!

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice B & B. Good central location. Quiet and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Garden could be a little bit cleaner.

    Lovely hostess. Special small place, excellent breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    Cosy and clean. Quiet and comfortable. Very close to the centre of Gouda. Nearby parking in a secure block.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A wonderful homely welcome. Breakfast was a fantastic feast! Home-made bread, fresh fruit, home-made smoothies!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing disappointed.

    The breakfast was great, the owner friendly and it was very clean. Perfect. Also, the location is top.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very welcoming owner and staff. Located on a peaceful street near the centre of Gouda.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Logement de Keizerskroon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: