Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Leugenaar 3 stars

Boulevard Bankert 132, 4382 AC Vlissingen, Netherlands

#13 of 14 hotels in Vlissingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 685 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Good bed, great location with sea view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small minor minor thing: the breakfast is great but add plain muesli (no sugar) and skip one of the three sugar varieties.

    Good bed, great location with sea view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    The worse hotel of our seven hotel tour in Holland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were particularly unhelpful. We went to the next door hotel for our meal. Staff sat outside under our window until 01.00 making inappropriate noise.

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.4
    Suffocating very small room in hot weather, no climate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suffocating very small room in hot weather, no climate control, impossible to leave door open for fresh air because the outdoor lamp next to the door attracted all sorts of insects. We left in the middle of the night we were unable to sleep there

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing really. Only good thing about it is that its by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very poor Wi-Fi - Ancient ridiculously small sized TV placed close to ceiling (that was funny) - Wind blowing from the top of the windows - Paid extra for balcony: it was 4feet wide and 2feet deep, thin metal flooring on it. - theres a coffee machine to use for guests, placed between two floors with no lights there. BASICALLY THERE ARE OTHER CHEAPER HOTELS WITH BETTER FACILITIES AND BETTER VALUE FOR MONEY WONT BE STAYING THERE AGAIN..

    The only good thing about it is that it is by the sea.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Lovely people
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel a little frayed at the edges but lovely helpful staff, comfortable beds, hot water and warm rooms (mid winter). Fabulous sea front location and views. Recommended.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel, only dislike is that they close the entrance (and elevator) at night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel entrance is closed over night, so you need to go through a back entrance after a dinner outside, Personally it was a big problem that they put the elevator out of Service during the night (no problem) but in the morning a big problem to go with Luggage downstairs with an visability problem.

    The Bed was good, shower was old but very clean, I found the Warning bit Funny on the bed, Close the door what taking the shower or even after the shower, the firealarm could go off

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Perfect location at the boulevard w/ great breakfast buffet
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist who checked us in wasn't very welcoming, but maybe it was her off day :-)

    Real fresh orange juice for breakfast, nice balcony in our sea view room (#102)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.1
    I like the location and the staff was very gentle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a very small room (3,5 x 3) with a very small bathroom and very warm (no airco). The room was old (but clean).

    I like the location and the staff was very gentle. Our room was with seesight.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    A very friendly beachfront hotel in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming hotel located directly opposite the water. Both indoor and outdoor dining areas. Very friendly and competent, multilingual, staff. Very short walk to the town centre. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Top floor sea views!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed the bar, breakfast and the staff! A definite stay if you are in the area!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Just what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but we expected that

    Location, wonderful views of shipping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't very clean and they close at 9pm so you have to use the back door to come in.

    I loved the sea view from the balcony

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor very dark

    Great location & parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    5.0
    Very basic, and not upto expected standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to hang towels, no hook or towel rail, ceiling tiles falling and wallpaper peeling. No toaster, staff appeared unhappy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.1
    restaurant is cozy and very nice detailed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't like the small single beds. Would like queen size at least.

    restaurant is cozy and very nice detailed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is quite old

    Very nice and cosy and good location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very small with old furniture and old towels

    The view and the staff was griendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    6.7
    Seaside rooms have magnificent view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We adressed that the shower head was poor but the staff failed to correct this.

    The view is magnificent!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.5
    The view was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was great. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    Water view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water view Cosy restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.1
    The hotel was well situated, clean and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small for the price in comparison to hotels in France for example but the price seemed standard in Holland. 7.50€ charged by the hotel for parking on a public car park which is free between 6pm & 9am seems " unusual ".

    The hotel was well situated, clean and the staff were excellent. In that respect there was nothing to complain about.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    10th visit or so in past several years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    10th visit or so in past several years. Great place to stay the weekend! Easy walk to center of town, always something going on, great view of the ocean, can't be beat.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    The location of the hotel and the view from the rooms facing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We ate breakfast there all four mornings of our stay, and it is generally excellent but you need to get there early to get the good stuff like fresh fruit and scrambled eggs, because they don't restock it. This got old after a while and is not up to the standard that we have found at other hotels.

    The location of the hotel and the view from the rooms facing the ocean are extraordinary. If you can book a room with a balcony facing the ocean, do it, you will not be disappointed. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    6.3
    Great location, good parking, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny and cramped room, filled leftover glass from previous (hopefully) occupant, room just not well designed in overall.

    Great location, good parking, good breakfast. Pretty okay balcony.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.5
    Rooms was nice and clean, and the bed was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really rooms are basic, and need of updating decor wise. I'm used to UK hotels having tea & coffee in the rooms, its different in Dutch hotels it seems? Nothing major

    Rooms was nice and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It has a lovely setting on the sea front, a pity the weather wasn't the best when I stayed. The room was very quiet too. This place is cheaper than the other hotels in the town.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    When I needed urgent medical attention staff came...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi not so not so reliable, lift out of service at night so had to walk thee stairs up.

    When I needed urgent medical attention staff came immediately. When I was not back in time tio chack-out staff told me it was no problem and the room would be blocked for me without additional pay. Very good service !

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.5
    Freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    slow lift, rear door entry at night, difficult comfiguration of wifi internet connection

    Freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Great place good value, tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work

    Great place good value, tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room would be to small for a longer stay than one or two nights.

    Great location. Waking up with a view on the water.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms desperately need an update. Moldy ceiling, very old tv(just remove it, no need for a tv).

    Breakfast was good. The location is very good!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.1
    by the sea
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    room is small

    by the sea

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    6.7
    Direct to the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very very small room

    Direct to the water

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    6.3
    The beautiful view on the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room very small

    The beautiful view on the sea

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.6
    view of estuary;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    view of estuary; friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    8.3
    They let me have another room due to storm, was very grateful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They let me have another room due to storm, was very grateful

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Hotel De Leugenaar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: