Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel De Molenhoek-Nijmegen 4 stars

Rijksweg 1, 6584 AA Molenhoek, Netherlands

#2 of 2 hotels in Molenhoek

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 397 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Overall good hotel, very friendly stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got disturbed by cleaning lady twice in the morning - she knocked on the door at least five minutes and the moment we opened she just said something like - Oh then I will come later! Considering we traveled from very far, were super tired and had a short night sleep this appeared as very annoying. Otherwise it is a good place to stay, little bit too expensive for such a room but probably because of the summer

    Overall good hotel, very friendly stuff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C - We had to keep the balcony door open to get fresh air in. Hotel is so close to a busy road. Feels like trucks are coming to park on your head. Noisy vehicles all night long waking you up.

    Cleanliness Easy access via Bus. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was Ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long journey We arrived around 6pm and we slept so when we woke up I was hungry and we hadn’t Euro to buy food and we needed exchange so I asked reception to please make my food hot but they refused it, my fud was completely packed and I bought it from a restaurant on the way but they told me sorry because we don’t know your food is hygenic or not!!! What is this sentence mean?!!

    Silence Easy access to everything (but we had a car) Beautiful forest near us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    It was clean, comfortable and the location suited my needs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not being able to charge my meals in the evening to my room just because I paid with a debit card. All other places I travel around the world I settle my account at the end of my stay including any additional cost for meals or drinks that I charge to my room but this was not possible at this hotel.

    Mostly the friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.3
    Warm rooms - rubbish beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly uncomfortable beds - just two extremely thin top mattresses, thrown together - no support whatsoever. The main hotel rooms are all on the opposite side of the road from the reception area & bars/restaurants.

    Nice & warm despite being very cold weather.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Great stay but not a good sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress on the bed kept shifting when you tried to turn while asleep which disturbs your sleep quite a bit

    Beautiful room and surroundings...great coffee and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    The staff was really helpful, they were really busy due to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was really helpful, they were really busy due to a big concert nearby (hence our stay) They even kept the bar open a bit longer for all the guests coming back from the concert. It was even possible to order some small snacks because of that, even after midnight. Food in the restaurant is really good (compared what you pay for it) Check-in & check-out was really quick If I have to be in that area again, I will definitely book with them again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Weekend in Molenhoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not dislike anything. The high cost of the food in most hotels is a given and therefore not a surprise.

    Everything apart from the cost of Dinner was excellent. The food was excellent, but a bit too expensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    6.7
    The main building that includes the restaurant and reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main building that includes the restaurant and reception is nice - but that's not where the hotel rooms are located! It's a pity that I was told I have to walk across the street to a less nice looking building to find my room :(

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.2
    We had a short stay over in a nice accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed cloth was too thin. Room temperature was quite low. So we had a pretty cold stay.

    The very friendly personel and very clean accomodation with plenty of parking lots.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant , but pricey!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was too dark even with all the lights on. restaurant was too expensive for the portion size. No cash machine considering the remote location of the hotel.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room very clean and tidy. excellent bathroom, powerful shower and good toiletries. Nice balcony to relax on. Staff very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    PERFECT!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is super friendly and helpful. It is my favourite place to go when I am attending a concert in Nijmegen. Will go back again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    How friendly the staff were,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't think the breakfast was value for money / not enough parking spaces

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    We only stayed the one night maybe next time we will stay longer.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE SINK WAS BLOCKED AND THE WATER TOOK FOREVER TO DRAIN

    The staff were great and gave excellent service. Food was great. Garden really lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Good food and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Busy road with traffic (noise).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Busy road with traffic (noise). Crossing the busy road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    The employees were very helpful and nice.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were to soft

    The employees were very helpful and nice. The rooms were very clean, breakfast was rich and tasty. Neighborhood is really quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable beds and no noise

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    For this particular area its a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no bar anymore

    For this particular area its a good hotel. Almost the only option for a traveler. it has a good value for money ratio

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    They had a locked bike garage, accessible using the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had a locked bike garage, accessible using the room card. Big up

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    room in the cellar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room in the cellar...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    I like this hotel;
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing?

    I like this hotel;The room is very clean,and also the bathroom. We enjoyed staying in this hotel.The staff is OK. The place is OK.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    personel was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No seperate shower

    personel was friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Hot day - no airco
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot day - no airco

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.1
    Bed to soft , sound insulation not so good
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed to soft , sound insulation not so good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Orange juice could be fresh

    Comfortable beds and a nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Have stayed here for 7 years running and wouldn't dream of going anywhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I love their liver and bacon, breakfast and the fact that all the staff speak English and couldn't be more helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    3.8
    Bathtub, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is horrible - you have to cross a road to get to the breakfast and lobby area. My room was at the ground floor with a "view" of a wall of parked cars. No minibar, no decent food at night. Nothing in the area surrounding the hotel.

    Bathtub, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    All very good overall except one thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was only 1 English menu available in the restaurant for our group of 13 people. It took ages before we could order as a result.

    All very good overall except one thing.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    7.5
    Very good breakfast in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was very hot and stuffy and the balcony was facing the road so when we opened the door to let in fresh air it was noisy.

    Very good breakfast in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no tea making facilities in the room but they were provided when asked for.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. They changed our room as the first one was so hot. The hotel is obviously older and needs an update. it is slightly inconvenient to have to cross the road to get to the restaurant, especially in the rain.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.2
    Super breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You have to cross a busy street to get to the room!

    Super breakfast! Rooms were nice and clean! Great restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.1
    spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too cold and no spare blankets

    spacious room

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Dutch style, simple breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having to cross the road to check-in desk and restaurant

    Dutch style, simple breakfast. Plenty of parking lots.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    10
    Staff, food, comfort, and just about everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, food, comfort, and just about everything else. This was our 6th visit there and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    7.5
    Location, separate building
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, separate building

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    10
    Good service from staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed mattress too soft.

    Good service from staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Couple

    Value for money

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: