Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Rode Leeuw 2 stars

Dorpsplein 13, 4505 AR Zuidzande, Netherlands

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Charming inn only minutes from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two rooms. One single was well appointed but the other double had a very small bathroom in need of updating. The church bells across the street ring every hour so if you are a light sleeper it could be an issue.

    The restaurant is lovely, with nice food. Breakfast is tasty, and sitting in the courtyard made for a special feel. The staff is superb. They are very professional and we felt welcome. The hotel is older but very clean, the beds are comfortable, the place has good character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Very helpful staff - comfortable bed - hot shower - clean - nice village - good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No remarks - maybe investigate good baker to deliver desserts. I think it would further increase the turnover of the restaurant/hotel. This is all meant in a positive manner!!

    The staff was very accommodating - they offered their tandem bike to my nephew and his son (6yr) - very nice. The beds were super comfortable and we had nice 'hot' showers. Breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit, good bread. We ordered a menu at 35€/person (scampies/grilled salmon/dessert) - kid's menu :16€ (fresh fruit/chicken-french fries and apple sauce. They also have a menu card and suggestions. It was a very nice weekend. I can recommend Zuidzande (a few kms (6-7) away from busy places like Cadzand and Sluis - perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    It's a friendly, small typical individual hotel in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It's a friendly, small typical individual hotel in family ownership and therefore familiar. I like this and they were always open for all of my questions and wishes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Very Nice!!! Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs were rather steap. It was a very nice bathroom and shower but it was not easy to mix warm and cold water.

    The room was very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was very fresh and the staff was very friendly. If I would come to the same town, I would certainly book the hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Holiday feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff , good location, clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Small nice Familie runned hotel personal atmosphere ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small nice Familie runned hotel personal atmosphere Bed are perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, fair value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a church bell which rings for every full and half hour, not ideal for light sleepers.

    Friendly staff, fair value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    8.8
    I thoroughly enjoyed the location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I thoroughly enjoyed the location; being in the middle of charming Zuidzande was a delight. The breakfast was delicious. Finally, the staff members were very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    Lovely village location on a square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely village location on a square. Restaurant food and beer excellent. Rooms are basic and clean. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Geen

    Was perfect

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10