Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge de Smockelaer 3 stars

Givelderweg 2, 6276 PB Heijenrath, Netherlands

#3 of 5 hotels in Heijenrath

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 B&B reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 8

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were a little thin so we were woken quite early by other guests moving around in the corridor. Check for a downstairs room if you have mobility problems.

    A beautiful situation. Owners very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Warm welcome, amazing old farm building, rustic feel, lovely TV and breakfast room with lots of charm and beautiful furniture, delicious breakfast ! We had dinner in the restaurant and it was really good. Perfect location for a day un Maastricht.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not worth the money, 165 Euro for three. Worst place we have stayed in the Netherlands. Beds too soft and really uncomfortable. Most notably, they first refused to take any credit card, not even the one we reserved the room with through Booking.com.There was nothing written or indication that they would not take credit cards. When they changed their minds after quite a bit of bickering they then said they had to charge an extra 3%. In all my time booking through this website have never had any issue like this. In fact, the information I had printed said they would take a credit card. The owner or whoever was working there then told me she thought I was being dishonest about not having 165Euro on me. I had planned accordingly and paid our credit card ahead of time. I emptied my wallet for her and she still refused to take the card without adding and extra 3%. She blamed booking.com, and that it wasn't her problem. This was a horrible experience and the owner clearly doesn't care about any sort of customer relations or return customers.

    We liked the restaurant, chef, and wait staff. In particular the Tunisian man.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is NO swimming pool., despite the fact that one is shown in the pictures attached to this property. I had especially chosen it for this reason so was very disappointed. They said that the pool was at another property of theirs and that the fault was with Booking.com. We were told that we could put out food in the fridge. We put about £30 worth of groceries in it, but when we came back in the evening the fridge was empty and we were told it had been thrown away by the cleaners. This struck me as really strange, as it was obviously fresh food and there were several bottles of beer and other drinks in there. In mitigation they gave us a hamper of drinks and crisps and a free main course in the restaurant. Lastly, when I went to pay, they wouldn't accept Visa or Mastercard, which I thought really odd, as they must be the two most common types of card. I was told "this is just a small village in Holland." I have never had either of these cards rejected anywhere in the world! I had to drive to the next village to get cash.

    A very pleasant auberge in a lovely location, with good views and facilities. We stayed in the barn conversion, where the bathrooms are shared, but we knew this in advance and it was OK. The breakfasts were fine (though the only cooked items were hard boiled eggs). Staff were friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Separated toilet from bedroom

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super breakfast, super staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool that appears in the pictures doesn't exist, as is part of another hotel of the same owner

    Very quiet

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Family with older children

    Room facilities and access (very steep and narrow stairs)

    Position and settimg, friendly staff, restaurant and service

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 8