Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Herberg

Vroenhof 148, 6301 KJ Valkenburg, Netherlands

#5 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Lovey Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have a disabled son who has to be carried everywhere and our room was 2 flights up so that was a bit of a struggle and there did not seem to be an option to convey that information

    Lovely hotel very helpful host nice and clean good location and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    The food in the restaurant was very nice, both dinner and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was very nice, both dinner and breakfast. There was a nice lounge which we didn't use as we only stayed one night. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Over priced sauna !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room with 8 small single beds. No air conditioning and no fans, bring your own as it gets very hot, left the windows open but awake at 5am due to light coming through and traffic noise. Only 1 bed side lamp for 8 beds! No one asked how we slept or if everything was ok. 2 x very steep sets of stair cases to get to the room. For 130 euro we have stayed at 4 star hotels for this price. Not our cup of tea.

    Easy to find, the room was clean and breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived I walked up the stairs, down 2 small steps and then banged my head against the wall quite hard. The door to the room is about 185 cm high, I am 199. No warning sign. It still hurts. The last time this happened to me was 35 years ago in a cottage in the province of Friesland. Doors are at least 200 cm high, everywhere in the year 2017. If not it should be indicated CLEARLY. Surely I wasn't the first Dutch guest. Secondly: not sure why this place scores quite high. Breakfast was ok but not better (or worse) than at many other hotels. The room was small, the bathroom very small, the floor creaky etc. In short, sort of ok for one night.

    Just out of town, no problem parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was really soft. The light in the shared toilet flickered and went out, leaving it very dark. The room was right on the street, there was lots of traffic noise. We had to keep the window open as it was very warm in the room.There was no screen in the window so bugs came in.

    Location was good. Breakfast consisted of eggs, yogurts, meats and cheese.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    The owner was a really nice man who helped us a lot and was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owner was a really nice man who helped us a lot and was very kind. The breakfast was really good, and the room was good value for the money. The beds, which is important, were really nice. For me there was no dislike point at all!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Great small hotel near Maastricht!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wish we could have spent more time with the hotel manager Rom - he was delightful!

    This is a very cute hotel with personal service. The top floor with lots of beds was fun for the kids and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and included!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay here and came back a week later on our return journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice stay. The staff was very friendly. Comfy beds. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    good, flexible and for an overnights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    flexible and very good service, good breakfast, very clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Hygiëne was top
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiëne was top

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Simple but good and satisfied
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good but I want croissant. Friendly people

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Clean and tidy hotel. Very nice breakfast. Freandly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and tidy hotel. Very nice breakfast. Freandly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    conveniently situated on the motorway between valkenburg and maastricht, quite village, nice restaurant, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.5
    Het was fantastisch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alles was perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    9.6
    We had a really pleasant experience in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a really pleasant experience in this hotel. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The owner is a positive, nice and smiling person, and he made our staying even more pleasant. Breakfast was really good, with different kind of bread/cheese/ham and eggs. The wi-fi was working properly even in the top room. Rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.8
    The owner is kind and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are not very comfortable

    The owner is kind and pleasant. The food is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    Staff are so firendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff are so firendly and helpfull. Hotel is really clean. Location is good. It is a quite and peacefull area but near the center.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.9
    Location, hotel room and douche
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, hotel room and douche

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    7.5
    Very clean, new and a very nice bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You can hear everything going on in the other room.

    Very clean, new and a very nice bathroom!

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: