Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Magneet 3 stars

Kleine Oost 5, 1621 GR Hoorn, Netherlands

#6 of 10 hotels in Hoorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 668 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think for this price the breakfast could have been better. Was still okay.

    Nice family run hotel with great location. Walking distance to town or Harbour. Comfortable bed and modern bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great host who greeted us at the door as we pulled up to the hotel on our bicycles. The apartment was large, clean, modern, and comfortable. Breakfast was tasty with enough choice to make it interesting and filling - important fuel when on a long distance cycle tour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience, especially the location of the hotel. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable and modern. The bathroom was well appointed too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a super B&B with great facilities. The hosts are remarkably warm and hospitable. All of the facilities were first class - large comfortable bed, large sitting space, clean bathroom, beautiful garden. We enjoyed our stay very much and were powered on by a splendid breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The living room was dusty. The kitchen was dirty. Filthy fridge. The tea kettle had pieces of (?) in it. The plates that were not in the cupboard were dusty. Set up: one bedroom with 3 single beds does not have a door but a curtain. The other bedroom with 2 single beds has a door but the entrance in through the large family bathroom.

    Breakfast was good and staff was helpful. Location is 10 minutes from train station and 5 to main square. The hotel is in residential area around the water. We stayed in two bedroom appointment which was perfect for girls weekend! There was enough wine glasses and mugs. There is a nice balcony. The shower temperature and pressure were good. The heating worked well and we were snug when outside was -10. There are enough towels for everyone and even a few simple toiletries are provided. There is a shower not a bathtub. It felt like you were staying at a friend’s house. Very nice! I would come back to stay with my family with small children or have another girls weekend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    At arrival at midnight at midnight (after a long drive from Brussel) hotel was closed. I had to ring a number and neighbour next came down to open door. He was very pissed off with me as i arrived that late. I was tired but told him 1) that i thought hotels are always and friendly for guess and 2) i had the hotel beforehand that i would arrive around midnight, knowing this info in advance should they not have told me that they cannot accept my booking? Then i had to get my luggage from the car but hotel maindoor already closed and i had to use a sidedoor in middle of night and it was cold to find my way. Rooms old, outdoors, smells and full with moist, therefore unhealthy even to stay. It was however too late and too cold to change hotel. In the morning i skipped breakfast as i did not date to try this. All in all complete waiste of money and i just don't understand that this place can still be open for business when it treats guess like this. Still waiting for an apology of the owner of hotel and refund of the money

    Simply Nothing

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was to our liking

    Breakfasts were great with a good choice. The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was ideally situated, close to the harbour and a good number of restaurants. We had booked one of the smallest (and cheapest) rooms. I think we would opt for a larger room next time though the room was adequate for a short stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived after a tough day cycling and it would have been nice not to have to walk into town to eat, (though it was a pleasant walk along the harbour).

    Bar, breakfast, room and staff all excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite weak wifisignal.

    There were realy helpfull personal. Quiet good parking even though hotel is directly in old citycenter. And yes, hotel is in citycenter, with view tothe harbor. Nice location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms was very small. The street below was a bit noisy a couple of nights. This might have been because it was kermis. I don't know if that's usually the case.

    Very friendly staff. Clean accommodations. Delicious and hearty breakfast with good variety. Close to the center of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Free secure places for our bikes. Lovely gareden to relax in. Liked it so much that we booked a return visit on our way back from Friesland for the last leg of our cycling trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in a property a short walk from hotel, room had poor sound insulation and was very hot with no A C or fan,Poor breakfast.

    Free car park, short walk to centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got to hotel and were greeted with the comment that we were not booked in, after some hurried investigation we did get a room but a bit late in the day to find some where else!!!

    Accomodation is well placed to visit the lovely Dutch town of Hoorn. We stopped off on the way back to the Ijmuden to Newcastle ferry and had a great 24 hrs in Hoorn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We loved this hotel! We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and it was spacious. Very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the free toiletries, view from the terrace, delicious breakfast, free parking and child friendly touches. The staff was exceptional and went above and beyond my expectations for customer service. I'm so glad we stayed here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rather firm and only a duvet offered as bedding, which was too much on a summer night without aircon. A sheet would have been nice. Long drive around town from the motorway.

    Clean room. Good shower room and toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was a bit smaller than we would have like and the access stairs a bit steep [ for 70+ year olds] . Other than a few cobwebs on the ceiling and the lack of tea/ coffee maker the room was just what we wanted.

    fabulous view over the canal and yacht basin

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were late and the officer of the hotel was not kind us. reception was off in the night." it was a good hotel, beds and rooms were comfortable but there was a mouse in the room"

    " it was a good hotel, beds and rooms were comfortable but there was a mouse in the room"

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking spot offered by hotel is limited to a medium size car and you will need good driver skills to fit your car inside. It us just typical for Nederland were the land space is limited.😁

    The host were incredible nice providing a lot of valuable information about surroundings and being very flexible with our demands.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    old house, no space for belongings, overpriced, noisy in night - some AC or something like that on the opposite roof, small parking place with not enough slots for hotel guests, parking too faar from hotel

    very good breakfast, location near city center and the harbour, helpfull staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location 8o the parking lot was terrible when the hotel was on the other side of the street and no offer to bring our suitcases to the room which was way on the other side of the block.Although the room was lovely we had to go through two locked doors and a fl7ght of stairs balsncing our luggage with doors that closed behind us

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The outdoor seating area is handy, however it is used by people who smoke, so we avoided it.

    Very good small hotel in a great location, quiet and within a short walk of the harbour and town square. The owner was very friendly and helpful; he really made us feel welcome. Ample breakfast, a comfortable bed and good sized room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very helpful, breakfast was quite good. The hotel was near the marina, restaurants, old town and the harbor. The owner was kind, helpful, and informative.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit small. Some rooms are upstairs, with steep stairs to climb. Ask for a ground floor if it's a problem for you.

    Everything. Hosts are very kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a party of several adults out on the patio just outside our room that stayed up till almost 2am laughing and being loud. I got little to no sleep and was already exhausted from our trip. Room had no natural air circulation so was very hot at night. Fan helped a little but not a whole lot.

    Room was spacious, beds comfortable, loved bathroom, location to walk to places was very nice. Glad you had parking lot for guests. Breakfast had a lot of choices for our picky kids.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a lovely little garden/ courtyard immediately outside our ground floor room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the canal overlooking swans and right near a square with museums and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast and location plus free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like English language newspapers

    The staff were terrific

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs Mirrors in the bathroom too high

    Breakfast many variety, especially fruits, cheese, yogurt

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the atmosphere and the kind, friendly staff/ owners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Central Location, nice personnel and room. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not quite close to station

    nice garden。

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrale ligging. Correct.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff parking off street good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff 😎

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room window did not open, so a bit of lack of fresh air

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and friendly staff. Breakfast was good. Parking is off site but not too far way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town and hotel both quite comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We always enjoy staying there

    Centrally located in a beautiful town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, location, breakfast selection, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location right near the beautiful harbor and park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to upstairs annexe room wasn't the best

    Great for a stopover in a lovely location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful town. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were late for breakfast but the manager still let us grab some food and coffee

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice welcome and packed breakfast for early departure. Good location for sailing and marinas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect, and the staff wonderful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Very friendly, good food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly owner. Super kind

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely sitting area outside for the sun. Nice breakfast. Easy walk to harbour and a canal outside the hotel. Good secure parking for bikes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing that I did not like.

    The owner and all of the staff at this hotel are wonderful hosts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the apartment room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal was very attentive and gave good hints for eating places in town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say about anything.

    The staff where friendly,helpful and cheerful as where the owners. Pleasant and peaceful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A full size bath! And a nice selection of local beers at the bar.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints at all

    A really friendly hotel with a great location for exploring Hoorn

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was included in the very reasonable room rate. The location in the center of Hoorn including free private parking was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little on the small side.

    Nice small family run hotel. Brisk, efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely quiet room leading to garden. Host and hostess could not have been more helpful in finding things out for us, better than any tourist office.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice atmosphere, close to the city, good breakfast - can really recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were hard/lumpy.

    Very friendly couple running the hotel. Nice breakfast. Very quiet room!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garden

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only that we had only 2 nights to stay on this trip.

    Very relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast included was an unexpected bonus,and very nice start to our day. The location was very quiet, but near the harbour area with many local restaurants to chose from.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cozy little hotel on the border of the old town. Privat parking was few steps from door, good breakfast, clean rooms and friendly personal. Hotel located just for ten minutes walk from harbor, market square and other places of interests. In reception was little pub. My room located in other building, few steps from reception but it was better because of silence.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be noisy as room was on ground floor next to the street.

    Great location near the harbour - good place to start an evening walk and explore the town. Easy walk to the station. There was a place to lock the bike up off the street. Shower was great - plenty of room and hot water

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    croissants / pastries ran out pretty fast at breakfast! very poor access for anyone in a wheelchair - not helped by the road next door (which had the on-street access to the outside rooms) being utterly dug up. steps from outside rooms to hotel / breakfast very steep

    the owners were wonderful - nothing was too much trouble (even fixed our lap-top's wi-fi connection!).

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed but efficient with helpful staff. Appreciated the tea/coffee making facilities in our room. Good location-easy walking to all areas of town.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Located an easy walk from the railway station, steamtram museum, harbour and eating places. Our family room (room 24) was perfect for our needs. Good choice of items at breakfast. Rob and Yvonne are very pleasant and helpful and Rob knows lots of historical and local information.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved this hotel. We got it at the last minute literally and the girls who worked there were the best....very helpful and friendly. Nothing to not like great room great breakfast great service!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was very flaky in the apartment we rented at the top of the building.

    Great buffet breakfast. The owner had written a self-guided walking tour of Hoorn. he printed an English version especially for us. We used it the next day to explore the beautiful town. Excellent tour!

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is easy to get in and out of by car, parking across the street in a lot. Very convenient walking into town to see all the beautiful architecture and canals. Breakfast was delicious, and the staff amazing.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!

    Very friendly and helpful welcome - even though we made a mistake with our booking it wasn't made into a problem. Great location near town centre and old port. Would happily recommend.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good hotel, very conveniently situated in the pretty town of Hoorn. It is run by a pleasant young couple. Our room was a good size with a nice bathroom with bath and shower, one of several in a small courtyard. There were little tables and chairs outside if the weather was warm. Breakfast was fine. Lots to see in the area and plenty of places to eat in the town. Parking for 10 cars I think in private area over the road. That was full one night but there is free public parking about 250 metres away.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de Magneet traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: