Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Den Haag 4 stars

Gildeweg 1, 2632 BD Nootdorp, Netherlands

#1 of 2 hotels in Nootdorp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 721 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First night was a bit of a pain as these are very warm days and it took two days to get the room to a confortable temperature (it was more than 25 when I first entered the room and needed two dayd to go down to 22).

    Room very large and comfortable. Reliable Wifi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that information and communication between staff versus clients need improvement. Admin desk and restaurant must go to school again. Learn how to deal with clients in social and life skills.

    Location and room was perfect!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meal options available for Asian guests are limited and may be improved.

    The kitchen was closed 10 minutes before before 10 pm leaving us with only 2 options to choose from which was not consumable by us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom sink could not be closed to hold water which made shaving with regular razor difficult. No place to put soap on the sink. The overhead 'rain' shower was not powerful enough, even on the highest setting.

    bed was very comfortable. Despite location close to major highways the room was quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good table to work at in bedroom, but no suitable chair; lights wrongly positioned for working. Decor jangling and dazzling everwhere. Certainly not my taste though lobby, while peculiar is nice.

    Big airy rooms, lobby, dining area. Pleasant, helpful, informal staff. Good breakfast. Parking area where you could come and go freely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really did not appreciate being charged for having a double bed. The hotel claimed it was a surcharge for a king-size bed but it was just 2 regular twin beds next to each other.

    The breakfast offers a very large choice of freshly baked products. The smoothies are delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was slow and the service in the bar was poor. I was waiting quite a time without being noticed, unless several attempts.

    It did what I expected.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big, well equipped and quiet room. Breakfast was very good. This hotel has a very good location, so you can drive to Amsterdam, Rotterdam or Den Haag...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work and we were informed no service person works on Sunday, bad luck! Not everywhere was clean, specially the table was full of fine dust. It seems it was not cleanned for many days.

    Very good Breakfast, and easy accessible by car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    booking dot com did not really request for quite room , over looking motor way so limited use of balconey booking dot com did not pass on request of single beds again Booking dot com did not pass on information regarding mobilty issues again

    nice room good sizes balcony nice Staff very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No comment as all was as one expects of a first class hotel.

    Hotel room was very spacious, clean and the bathroom with shower and bath was very good. Parking in the underground car park was an added bonus as a lift took you straight to your floor. The Restaurant food was also very good and breakfast is a must with a huge variety of things to eat and drink. Reception was also very good with quick booking in and also supplied useful information about the surrounding area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I have stayed here many times and have always found the staff very helpful and welcoming. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The bathroom has a rain shower aswell as a very large spa bath. The underground parking is a big bonus too. The hotel is situated not far from the motorway and has a shopping centre with various shops from a bakery to a florists, about a 10 minute walk or 5 minute drive away. I always stay with Van der Valk now and do not look at other hotels as the service, accommodation and value for money are so good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -you have to pay 2.5 euro for a bathroom slippers -you have to pay 25 euros for extra 1 hour before check out The staff are nice, however the hotel policies on customer service is horrible, charging money on bathroom slippers, 25 euro for extra 1 hr of checkout? (explanation from manager was that they are fully booked that day and would only be able to accommodate the extension of 1 hr on checkout time by charging 25 euros). This does not make sense, its either you cant extend it or not!!..but charging extra does not eliminate the risk brought by high occupancy/reservations. These small things count as customer service, it is after all a hospitality business. Unfortunately I will drop this chain of hotels on my future list.

    Bed is comfortable Breakfast buffet is great! Pleasant staff and receptionist

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the huge room, massive bath, very clean hotel, helpfull staff. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we were visiting friends who cooked for us, however the restaurant was always busy. We will stay again and we will use the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cream cheese with the salmon for breakfast. I love pain-au-chocolat but here they never taste fresh. Should clean the rainshower head more regular. I now used a towel to do that to make the shower feel good.

    Excellent bed Great bathroom. The rainshower is -as always- one of the best I've ever seen in any hotel. Large choice on the restaurant menu. My choice: Burger w/ Fries and a few beers was good as always.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening front desk service slow in spite of no other guests. While day desk service was very pleasant and helpful.

    Breakfast was excellent. Kitchen staff were very pleasant. Hate the patterned carpets in the rooms (if you drop something, impossible to find again). Parking at the door.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times now and i will continue to book with Van Der Valk, as the hotels are comfortable and luxurious, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms are always clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As always I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.Underground parking is great, restaurant is brilliant, rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff are welcoming, very helpful and focussed on making your stay the best experience possible. Shops are a pleasant 15 minute stroll away. I have stayed here previously and have booked to stay again very soon. I love the Van der Valk chain for their quality and focus on the guest.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel - great breakfast . The best place if you want spend romantic time .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Comfortable and large room, friendly staff at the reception and in the restaurant, excellent meals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of drinks in hotel bar

    The Room was nice with an awesome bath tub. No complaints.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows too soft

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No

    The comfort in the guest room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an excellent experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quiet room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfortable and the specially requests were met perfectly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foods was average

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen didn’t smell fresh, more overused. Shower not great. Restaurant very noisy and dark

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms quite large for The Netherlands. Bed super comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy access location, close to highway. Room is very nice, clean and comfortable. Good internet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in was busy

    clean and relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather haha

    The juice was a nice surprise!! And the bread selection was very impressive ... As a baker I was very happy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel both facilities and restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gym

    The bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean pleasant hotel. Bathroom very nice and again clean. Convenient. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big&comfortable rooms, really nice bathroom, clean nice, everything works,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room next to the elevator although we had a small baby with us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locate in a beautiful village about 20min drive from Amsterdam. The owners are very nice. A good place to stay for a weekend trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast not included

    bathroom

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good , comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bad location - not close to anything, no shops around - its near the highway

    good hotel, good breakfast clean and very dutch

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is to the usual very good Van der Valk standard in a good location for both car and public transport

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great beds,shower,internet and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge room and bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    large room, electrnic huge Jakuzi very good and comfortable bed big tv . automatic washind machine at the close gas station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lively colors inside, no beige, thank you for that.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice shower and bath! Love the large balcony incl. city view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good Place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time we have stayed here. Rooms are good value, and straight out onto the A12 in the morning for our drive to Northern Germany.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were very spacious and clean. Bathroom was clean and well set out. Staff were very friendly and helped with every query. Restaurant staff were friendly and the food was brilliant.Underground parking was great, lift straight to floor so no having to worry about carrying heavy bags or cases. Shops are close by, roughly 5 mins by car. Located close to major roads so was easy for travelling around.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First impression at reception was poor, the lady we spoke to didn't talk us through the facilities/restaurant etc. When I asked questions, she seemed agitated and annoyed. (She must have been having a bad day) that really left a bad taste in my mouth and I won't be visiting again - I'll stick to the Hilton moving forward. There is nothing in the area (not even a local shop or restaurant within walking distance) so transport is needed I spent a fortune on cabs daily.

    Room was always cleaned well

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location since it is just off the freeway. Liked the underground parking. The food in the restaurant was really great and the staff there was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They need to improve their system for booking taxis early morning or change their supplier as I nearly missed a train/plane when the taxi did not turn up as ordered

    The menu range, service and meal in the restaurant was very good

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is a little off. It's in an industrial area and there are not to many things to do around the hotel. It would be nice if it was a little closer to a train station or if they had scooter to rent from the hotel. The walk is about 15 minutes.

    The hotel is beautiful inside and really comfortable. The staff are always polite and seem to enjoy their job.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have stayed here before a few years ago and the hotel is in the right place for business meetings. Welcome was great and my booking very efficiently handled. Like staying here.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The two suites we had were excellent value for money and hotel was a great location for direct access to the A12 and ongoing trip to northern Germany.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Seats in the reception area are extremely uncomfortable, at least for the elderly guests. The same for the seats in the room. Open fire burning in reception area even with outside temperatures well above 30 deg.C.

    spacious rooms, fridge and hot water facility in the room. Free WiFi and car park; good breakfast although at a price (€ 16 per head).

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The info said the town was a short walk away, it is actually nearly 3km, better to take the car!

    Lovely room with a jaccusi bath in the room, well placed to visit The Hague and Delft.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious room Very quiet Friendly staff Jacuzzi in the bathroom Close to train station (<10 min to the Hague), close to the freeway (free parking)

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast is a bit expensive (16 euro per person), but the choice of dishes was great

    location, free secure parking, spacious room, excellent bathroom facilities, good restaurant, free wifi

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Couple

    As usual hardly anything was in English

    It was a good van de Valk hotel. - . Our room was really large, well furnished with a spa bath as well as a shower. It even had a spa bath and a separate shower.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Couple

    The shower should be fitted with handgrips. The floor or slippery. The staff advised to place the mat inside the shower. We did that and it felt OK but it should be compulsory to fit grips.

    The size f the room. The meals were very good.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower flooded the bathroom floor, ruining my pyjamas and slippers that were there. I had to get on the floor to mop it up with towels. I called the front desk and they said that it was too late to take care of it. Then the hair dryer worked for only about 2 minutes. Also, I was unable to plug my hair straightener into the wall plug attached to the dryer. It simply would not work I as disappointed with the way compensations was handled. Not thought through at all!

    Size, cleanliness, staff, decor

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff were very helpful when the Wi-Fi was not working on the 5th floor as they searched for me on nit work most of the places I been to...Thanks a lot for the 3ed year 2013spring ,2014sammer and 2015 spring

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dry atmosphere in the room, unable to turn down the temperature to our liking= 17 degrees

    Friendliness of staff, facilities and lovely buffet breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Couple

    Duvets

    Fried egg on demand

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The service from the staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location. Nothing much to do around the place.

    Room was good.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    extra water bowl for pet and some snoopies

    nice treatment of my pet

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!!!! The short stay we had was excellent.

    Rooms were fantastic, clean, tidy with spacious bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food was excellent and quick for a large restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Couple

    The staff is beyond everything! Sadly we were only 1 nigth, we´d love to be longer. The breakfast was sooooo good!!!

There are also 58 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel Den Haag traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: