Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel des Arts 2 stars

Rokin 154 - 156, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 LE Amsterdam, Netherlands

#227 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 896 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of its location it could be noisy in the evening - trams, traffic, boat parties on the canal.

    Traditional Amsterdam House, very authentic. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Ideal location for exploring the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked all

    The attention the hosts where so helpful my girlfriend had a heart attack and the lady in the front desk helped us with getting a taxy and taking her to the best hospital. I could not ask for a more kind human being. Rooms are comfy and clean location excellent. You don't need AC in Amsterdam is always fresh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have wanted some fresh stuff also in the morning (tomato, salad, cucumber or something). Also it was very hot in the room because there wasn’t any air conditioning.

    It was clean and the room was very nice. The location was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very poor. Always the same, no variety and very limited. All food was out of a packet, nothing fresh. Reception is not manned all the time and you have to ring the bell for them to open the door. One time there was no one attending the reception and we were kept waiting for someone to arrive and open up Access system is old . Door with keys which are not very secure Thin walls and could hear everything No shower caps were provided and the soap dispenser was empty and remained empty during our whole stay

    Great Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor dated and view from window was into an internal space (Not a courtyard) with daylight about 50 feet up. There was horrific noise from building work next door - starting at 7.20am on Sunday. I wish I'd known in advance as it disrupted any chance of sleep.

    Bed v comfortable. Bathroom and bedroom both very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only uncomfortable thing was that we could hear our neighbours easily. The room is not too soundproof.

    We loved the hotel. The breakfast was good, the location is amazing. Staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing except the rain.

    The entire booking process with booking.com was excellent. The hotel was quite different but comfortable cute and in an excellent location. Booking.com provided transportation information as well as activity recommendations. We took advantage of the transportation from and back to the airport and were very pleased. We will certainly book through booking.com again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor. The music over breakfast speaker was Acker Bilk's greatest hits (ie a 1967 - 70 recording) which is the time warp this hotel is locked in. OK if there was a major refurb and this became a boutique hotel rates would go up but having travelled extensively I felt I had stepped out of Dr Who's tardis!

    Staff were superb 10/10 Very helpful pleasant and could not have been nicer. However it is clear the owner is milking the property dry as is 30 years (no make that 40 years) overdue for refurbishment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not bad, but for 4 days was the same. Maybe most guests stay shorter, therefor it is not varied.

    Good location, easy to reach everything on foot, but also public transportation is excellent in Amsterdam. Very helpful and kind staff. We had flight in the afternoon, but we could leave the bags in hotel. Nice room with small fridge and tea making facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cramped and dark. A steep staircase accessed one bed but the bathroom was below. Our double bed was an uncomfortable sofa bed. The bedding was thin and pillows lumpy. There was massive building work taking place right next door so we were woken by loud drilling and banging at 6.30am each day!!!

    The location was central and useful to access all that Amsterdam has on offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was 2 singles put together, my wife and I found it made our sex sessions more challenging, but we still climaxed together beautifully!

    This is a lovely hotel with friendly staff. The location is just perfect, can walk anywhere from here, Rembrandtplein, Reijksmuseum, redlight district and central station. Just over the canal there is a fabulous cafe with great food and a boat trip goes from nearby too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One night I got bitten multiple times. They resemble bed bug bites. I told them about it & they just shrugged & said they're fully booked so couldn't put me in a new room. That's all they had to say, nothing else. Luckily I only had one night left but it was an uncomfortable night with not a lot of sleep the lights on. Don't do it.

    The vintage carpet, that's it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Family of four with two boys ages 14 and 12 stayed here for 3 nights. We loved the location. It was so easy to access everything. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, comfortable and quite large. Would def recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The too much steep stairs are very scary and very difficult to carry a luggage. There has no even a small elevator in the hotel. There was no WiFi connection from the afternoon to next day Morning. When we tried to ask one of the receptionists about that, she did not say sorry, even she tried to argue that the WiFi is not included in your hotel bill. This was a bad experience with one of the stuffs otherwise others were cool. In the hotel room you can find an electric kettle and cups without any tea or coffee bags. It was very funny.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. You can get a tram by 2mins of walk from the hotel. The dam square is about 6 mins of walk or one tram stop. The hotel room and bathroom both remain very clean. There are many good restaurants or pubs nearby. The breakfast of the hotel is good but costly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the glass on the bathroom door was transparent so u could see whoever was in the bathroom doing their thing

    the room was more than accommodating for our group there was even a spare bed plenty of room for the 4 of us to spread out after a shopping trip in the city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was on the smaller side but not uncomfortable. I did not mind but the TV was not bigger than most computer screens.

    Location was great. Staff was friendly and informative. Breakfast was also good. The room was clean, not sterile but clean. Classic ambiance of the building (sloped ceiling, wooden stairs etc.) provides a nice experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money you pay for the room I thought it would have been a bit more upto date and the staff were a bit uptight.

    The hotel was on a canal an it was only a 5 minute walk to dam square. Plenty shops and pubs nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was freezing. You couldn't shower for more than a minute since the water didn't flow into the drain fast enough so the floor went soaking.

    Nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room. Heat inadequate. No soap bars or shampoo. Terrible view. Owner not very accommodating. No porter to help with bags. No lift. No amenities.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I was disappointed with is I ask via email for flowers in the room to surprise my wife for her birthday but they forgot and I ask for a double bed and got 2 single pushed together

    The location of the property is not far to walk to most of the sites and night life and it’s in a nice quiet area will definitely be back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff were very friendly and always helpful no matter the time. In the middle of everything so very handy. Will promote it to family and friends in future :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cant enter the facility if nobody is in reception, and we have been warned that the reception is closed after 2 AM. Ridicilous attitude for a hotel in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear our upstairs neighbours moving around a lot. On the first night it woke us up it was so loud.

    The beds were VERY VERY comfy. Really good WiFi connection and the staff were so incredibly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not so nice to take a shower in a bathroom with no heating...

    Decent breakfast, helpful personel. It is in a very central spotof the city, all the main attractiona are in walking distance, but very quite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 69 steps up to the attic the only room left in spite of booking 3 months ago very narrow on last flight of steps with no handrail on the steepest part. OK if you are superfit my husband is 70 and once we got in of an evening at 6pm we would normally rested for an hour after a day exploring and then go out again but the thought of having to come back up all those steps put us off going out so we stayed in both evenings Ifelt like Anne Frank

    Excellent WiFi room bright

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A front view but it didn’t make a huge difference!!!

    Bed was so comfy, a lovely traditional Dutch house into a lovely hotel with all the history of Amsterdam within the house the stairs certainly give your legs a good workout! Loved my stay here and a great location to all the sights and attractions of Amsterdam!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is poor and on Sunday night there is a curfew which we were not made aware of even though we asked when checking in.

    The location is great and the rooms are good too. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Make sure you are comfortable walking up narrow sets of stairs (I do not know if there was a lift). As with most other properties in this area of Amsterdam, the building is several stories tall and quite narrow. This wasn't a problem for us but I can see it becoming a concern for someone with mobility or other health issues.

    Hotel des Arts was a wonderful place for my husband and me during our five nights stay in Amsterdam. The property is conveniently close to the Central train station (about a 25 minute walk). We were within walking distance to everything we wanted to visit (e.g. Anne Frank House, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum) but just far enough that it was quiet at night. Housekeeping did a great job tidying up our room daily and the front desk staff were always very cheery. The room was quite comfortable and charming. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little tired, in need of decoration and the STAIRS! Narrow and very steep, not easy dragging a suitcase up them.

    Location, location, location! 5 minutes walk to Dam Square, 20 to the Rijk museum, Van Gogh etc; same to Anne Franks house; 9 Streets shopping area 10 mins; 15 mins to station; canals all around. Everything was walkable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double bed had separate sheets and quilts. The shower room was in need of refurbishing. A shower curtain instead of a door/glass. Though there was a kettle was in the room, together with 2 mugs, no coffee or tea were provided.

    Central position. Close to a number of attractions. Breakfast was OK, but not excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical Dutch breakfast which gets a bit boring by the third morning- but being picky here, place was fine.

    Location, in the middle of everything but quiet at night. Old Dutch house. Don't expect lifts!!!¡

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An elevator would be helpful to those with heavy luggage and to less mobile travelers.

    Hotel des Arts is a very nice double-townhouse downtown in Amsterdam, not far from the Dam Square and only a block from the tram. Very comfortable, friendly, and clean. It's a walk-up with very steep stairs, no elevator.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dragging the bags up the little stairs but then again there's nothing you can do about that

    Beautifully decorated, Very friendly and the location is suburb

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad parts from the hotel was that that you had to keep handing in the keys to the apartment and wait to be let in the building. Also the breakfast could of had a bit more of a selection, I’m not a lover of cold options for breakfast.

    I loved the location of the property, it was in the middle of everything but not in the hectic environment of the centre. Very friendly staff and helped out whatever way they could.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic continental, would of been better if there was a cooked option. Especially in the winter months

    Really good location, only about 7 min walk to Dam square. Lovely staff, comfortable and very clean room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a suggestion, maybe a small fridge in the rooms & access to a iron & ironing board

    We missed out on breakfast both days as the beds were so comfortable we just did not want to get out of them.😜

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not good at all. Cheap bread, all packaged, nothing fresh. Not even a toaster. Kettle in room but with no tea bags or hot drink sachets provided. Could be a very nice hotel but it was very dated and lacked all the little details that might have justified the considerable expense.

    The service was polite and friendly. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thin walls, you could almost hear speech from neighbour room. Luckily no one didin't disturb at night time. Breakfast was okay, but could be more something fresh available. Amsterdam hotel prices are quite high:(

    Everthing was okay. Quite what we expected. Nothing fancy or great, but nice and cosy. Room was from 80's or something like that;) Clean room anyway. Location is great, lot of everything near and walking distance almost everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs only to rooms was a bit of a problem with heavy cases. Might we have packed differently If we had known about that ..... I'm not sure but being forewarned might have been nice. Taxi access to the property is problematic with taxis refusing to go from Central Station due to one way system and parking difficulties. We ended up wheeling our cases through throngs of people and over very cobbled and tram tracked footpaths and roads. A bit of a mission but we were very pleased with the property (except for the stairs) on arrival. We were able to get a taxi back to the station with the help of the reception.

    The location, overlooking a canal, was terrific and also it's positioning being walkable to most city sights and to great shopping. Very good staff and a lovely daily breakfast helped make our stay a great experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However lack of any sort of lift or help but very steep narrow stairs make quite difficult for people who may not be fit enough to get upstairs, not to mention to carry their luggage there :) A general lack of parking spaces in the vicinity of the hotel made us to get there by tram eventually ( after we parked our car in one of the parking houses at the railway station.)

    Convenient location definitely, nice old fashioned outfit. Staff available 24/7 and easily accessible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the top floor with over 60 stairs to climb, the last flight was winding and to my mind dangerous. NOT for anyone with mobility issues. I did ask to be moved but was told that this was not possible though the hotel didn't seem full.

    Nice helpful guy on reception as was the lady in charge of breakfasts which for a continental breakfast were quite good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely old building but could do with a little bit of internal refurbishment, to bring up to a modern standard, ie installation of air conditioning, perhaps updating furnishing. The bit more attention to details with maintenance

    Great location with Iconic views of the canals. Very friendly staff. Close to the shopping and museum precincts. Generous sized room, able to accommodate the family. Good internet services ease to connect all devices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Great location - close to centraal station, dam square, canals and the museum quarter. Kettle and fridge in the room. The family room with canal view was quaint with children's beds in an attic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why provide a kettle and cups but no coffee very frustrating. Also not having a lift and being put on 3rd floor with very steep steps on last flight made it difficult for me to carry my case up being over 60

    Staff were helpful and breakfast was good. Rooms spacoius

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival - we weren't told about check out, breakfasts or room facilities so had to work this all out for ourselves. Room was basic and we all woke up with bites on us.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very LITTLE variety at breakfast--it was a few cold cuts & drinks. Most countries call this a 'continental breakfast', so posting that breakfast is included is misleading. Also, there are very steep stairs. I have a bad back & knees & there were 35 steps to my room! I asked about getting moved & the manager simply said, "stairs are said to be GOOD for you!" Ridiculous! Four days of that torture. Lastly, upon leaving the hotel for dinner or any other reason, you had to leave your room key! The first morning, they simply made the beds but didn't change a dirty bed that we had spilled soda in the night before! I asked for new sheets that evening & was told they had no way to give us any until the next day!

    The canal view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was decent but could use a bit more variation. No elevator but we were aware of that while booking and it wasn't that much of a problem. The wifi got a bit slow at times. No major complaints overall.

    Superb location, all the major museums and sights were within walking distance and although we barely needed to use it there was a tram station right in front of the hotel. Every single member of the staff was very welcoming and helpful, the rooms were clean and the beds were incredibly comfy. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing that could've been better breakfast would prefer more options apart from that can't fault this hotel.

    Highly recommend this hotel, excellent value, excellent location and excellent facilities both in the hotel and nearby. Restaurants, Bars and Attractions are all on the doorstep I think for a short or long break you couldn't go wrong choosing this Hotel. I went for my 21st birthday with friends and we all loved it. Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful arranged airport transport for us on the last day to save us the hassle checked out at 11 and they kept our bags safe for us whilst we walked around for a few hours. Definitely book this hotel I would say! I will be coming back for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key system could be a bit more modern as it's based on a paper system and if you loose the paper, you might not get the keys. But the reception staff knew your faces from day 1, which was very nice

    The location was perfect, the decor was very quaint which gave it a vey homely feel. The staff were very welcoming and were accommodating to any extra request.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * About 15-20 min walk from Centraal Station. Quick access by tram. * For Muslim travelers there are a few cheap halal restaurants near Dam Square * Simple breakfast * Big room for family of 4

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic no croissants, cheap bread. No tea and coffee in room although we booked room with kettle. Thin towels

    Good bed, good sized room, good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel hallways were like a scene from a ghost movie (but in a good way ☺). We got lost on our way to breakfast! Breakfast served in different rooms,like living in a house with others. Everything is magical in Amsterdam ❤

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is friendly and attentive. The breakfast does not have much variety but it is good. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The location is great with access to everything on foot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Everything. We had a lovely canal view from the window of our suite. Complete with kettle facilities and fridge. The guests were of a more mature nature unlike cheaper hotels in Amsterdam. I have included a photo of our room and view through the window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and steep stairs. Would not fit anyone with physical disabilities or un fit. Carpet on stairs needs updating. Didn't feel very friendly

    Comfy bed and great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both my son and I were bitten by spiders the night before we left. I forgot to tell the Management though.

    I have a bad leg so the management quickly changed rooms so I didn't have to struggle with stairs. We loved it and they were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from the water system of each room making it difficult to sleep at night. Only one window opened however it did not stay open making the room very warm.

    The location was excellent! The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was basic but it was clean and suited us as we only used it as a base for sleeping. We unfortunately did not get a chance to try the breakfast so cannot pass any comment on this. I'd recommend this hotel if you are looking for a basic room for your stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, owners of this accommodation let it down they are rude sarcastic and lack interest in anything the customer would like to say they are extremely unhelpful and I just cannot grasp how rude I understand the accommodation types in amsterdam all have narrow stairs but I do not expect before I have even got to the reception desk with my disabled mother is the lady behind her desk to stand up and abruptly say you do no she has three flights of stairs to climb as your on the 3rd floor will she manage because can't put or rearrange rooms. This is what truly upset me the most was the staff and how they made us feel we felt everytime we walked past them they dirty looked we came home and was smoking normal cigarette out side where we are supposed to for the man who behind reception to come from inside and tell us outside to move away from the property even the hough ashtrays were outside amd made the staff here just wanted the money they treat their guests like they are nothing and i am truly appalled she even said if I wanted the view I requested I can go outside to look at it hotel amazing staff avsolute ignorant and this is why I will not be staying here again.

    The location and art designs around hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really hot but then it was 30 degrees outside. There is no air conditioning in the room, but there is a fan and a window. No view from the window but i think this is probably normal for older propertys in Amsterdam. We didn't have a hair dryer in the room.

    The location was perfect, a stones throw from the flower market and dam square. You can get boat tours right across the road. There is a tram stop just around the corner. We stayed in the quad room which was a good size, plenty big enough for a family or four adults. The bathroom was compact but had a really good sized shower, with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The room was clean, fresh towels daily and the beds were really comfy. The breakfast was really good, a bit basic so not good if you don't eat bread/cheese/meat but that wasn't a problem for us and they replenished as items ran out. The staff were all really lovely and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioning or temperature control. Window opened 2" max. Poor beds. Safe

    No Air conditioning or temperature control. Window opened 2" max. Poor beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was tasty and in good quantity, however it could have had more variety,

    Nice little Hotel, with clean rooms, steep stairs and friendly staff. Stable good wifi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt a bit dusty and bed sheets had a smell in them and they didn't change the bed sheets for the 4 days... Would loved a room with a view however I have also asked for lower floor room as there are no lifts to take my luggage upstairs so that was the reason I had no view... sometimes it is a bit noisy when there are guests on the stairs outside..

    Comfy bed, very spacious room... very friendly staff.. came along with a bouquet of white tulips.. they took it from me and cut the stems and put them in two vases in my room... nice breakfast but few varities...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the mad steep stairs but that is all! Coffee or tea in the room would have been nice but just a kettle and cups which is mad that they don't just leave a sachet of coffee there!

    The hotel is more of a Guest House but is perfect. It is so central and was handy for us as we wanted to sight see and stroll around so we weren't spending too much time in the room. It was perfect for what we needed it for which was to shower and sleep!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special at all. Very expensive room and not worth for money. Better stay at the real hotel. This is more like b&b.

    City center easy to get around by walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was facing walls. Poor insulation of the rooms, you could hear neighbours' dayly routine.

    Best location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Cosy rooms. Temperature could be adjusted by myself. Clean bedsheets and towels.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money. Canal view was just street view. Some small details in the room: loose handles of the wardrobe, empty minibar, there was a kettle and cups but no tea or coffee. TV remote didn't work. There was only soap for washing hands in the bathroom. Breakfast is basic.

    The hotel is cosy and clean which are the two most important issues for us. The hotel has its charm!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    excellent location!! the staff was very nice and helped us with everything we needed. the breakfast was really good! we had a room for 4 and a room for 3. the rooms were very good, with large space and the beds were very cozy. the hotel is 3 min. walk from the Rembrandt square and 7 min. walk from the Dam square.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee, but there was a kettle!! Grumpy receptionists apart from the lovely lady who had lived in Amsterdam for about 15 years

    Clean comfy bed , very warm room, excellent location ,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had read reviews of the hotel online before booking which did mention the stairs so I knew what to expect (there's a lot of them!), they were just a little difficult to nagivate after a drink or two!

    The bed in our room (number 5) was amazingingly comfy, safe to say neither me nor my partner have ever stayed in a comfier bed while away! We got up at different times every morning and yet were never disturbed by housekeeping trying to rush us out of our room - even the morning we checked out!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but we were aware of this.

    Pleasant helpful staff and owners. Fresh clean towels daily. Breakfast - very good. (Continental breakfast of cereal, boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, breads, brioches, crisp breads, spreads. Tea and coffee. Location excellent - very central.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The STAIRS!!! A lot of stairs to negotiate, to our room on 2nd floor, also breakfast area was in an area on a lower ground level. Clearly, we are not very fit!!!

    Staff were very friendly & helpful. Great for explaining directions!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little cold and there was only continental breakfast available

    Location is central and all attractions easy to get to by tram or walking. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Large shower

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a huge selection for breakfast, but all the more basic items are present and in acceptable quality.

    Room size was good, especially comparing to standard hotels in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wider selection of continental breakfast would have improved my stay, however what was on offer was delicious.

    Very friendly staff, great location and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lots we did not like the fact they had tea and coffee making facilities in the room but no free tea or coffee and breakfast was not included in the price. We paid for a family room and for that price you expect these things to be included I have stayed in cheaper hotels that include breakfast and free coffee and tea this is not on. Also the staff were pretty unfriendly they kept asking me about where the fourth member of our party was, sadly he could not make it due to unfortunate circumstances which I had to tell them on more than occasion yet they still kept asking me which made feel like I was trying to sneak an extra person in the room. We paid a lot of money for this room which was a non refundable booking and still charged us city tax for all four people when only 3 people ended up staying in the end yet they made us feel like criminals, if you ask me there the criminals never in all my times of staying in Amsterdam have I experienced such unprofessional members of hotel staff not to mention horrible. I demand some sort of refund for my friend who was not able to make the trip because he is now £300 pounds out of pocket due to the fact he plane flights kept getting cancelled and could not make it, if not a full refund then at least for the city tax they charged me. I fully understand that you probably get people trying it on all the time but these circumstances are very different and I would like to know who at Booking.Com can help me with this matter.

    We really only liked the fact that the location was pretty central and somewhere we could sleep

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel des Arts traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: