Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant De Stadsherberg 3 stars

Oud Kaatsveld 8, 8801 AB Franeker, Netherlands

#5 of 9 hotels in Franeker

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 274 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Charming little Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was excellent but a bit pricey.

    The stay was wonderful. We had our own private balcony to enjoy the passing boats on the canal. What a charming place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was expensive but is obviously very popular so probably in line with Dutch prices.

    Had booked a double room but we turned up with grandson, an unexpected extra. Staff very helpful and put an extra bed in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    I go to Franeker every year - this is our favourite place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Balcony rooms can be a touch noisy, but wasn't a problem for us.

    Nice staff, comfortable rooms Wonderful restaurant should you want to stay for dinner Breakfast is tasty, especially the bread, which is excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the overnight stay. In a very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We don't really like distressed decor. The patio area needed some attention. Overall we did not consider the room to be of a superior level.

    Food was excellent and restaurant very atmospheric.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.4
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too bad the windows in the room couldn´t open, and it was therefore very stuffed inside. It was only possible to leave the door open. The room was quite small with little room to walk about. The curtains were very thin, and didn´t hold any light, so at the light of dawn we were awake.

    The room was clean, and the bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    3 stars -- really?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stuffy room. We were grateful when a fan appeared for the 2nd night. No sleeping late here as morning deliveries to the restaurant below were noisy one morning and baggage handlers very moisy the second morning.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, especially in reserving bikes for us to rent at a bike shop two minute's walk from the hotel. Perfect location on the water and just 3 minute's walk from lovely old city center. Restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    It felt like being in our own cosy and comfortable home!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we could fault. Nothing whatsoever!

    We absolutely fell in love with the people, the owner,the staff,the chef, the surroundings etc!! It's not often that in all the years we have travelled all over the world and stayed in thé most expensive hotels that we felt so relaxed in "De Stadsherberg". We had dinner each evening at the restaurant and it was delicious ànd sumptuous. A small ,but excellent wine carte with wines from several countries to accompany the food. It was like being at home! A big thank you to all who made our stay so very comfortable!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Recommended for a visit or dinner in Franeker!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a mix-up in the reservation, but the staff was more than accommodating in fixing the problem. Problem solved!

    I had no clue what I was ordering off the menu - the staff helped me avoid a mistake and the meal was excellent. The location is convenient to mass transit and the Franeker Planetarium, which was the reason for my trip.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice cosy place, friendly staff and great food presented beautifully
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice cosy place, friendly staff, great food presented beautifully, a very relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay during boatingtrip Friesland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Nice diner and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Short but sweet stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I did not like.

    Great location and a lovely hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Altogether ther satisfyingly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep staircase and lack of elevator

    RestUrant food and service; manager helpful in make no reservation for train

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent restaurant and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Excellent restaurant and very friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Height of the toilet

    Really friendly staff Very comfortable room Great view onto the river Nice food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.8
    Quiet and lovely little hotel, very nicely located on a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet and lovely little hotel, very nicely located on a canal, in the city center. We could eat in the restaurant and enjoy the great food and wine. The room had all facilities.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    6.7
    the rooms were confortable even if cold when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the room where we had dinner and breakfast was a bit cold and in the morning they didn't switch on the lights! it took us about an hour to find the proper way to access to the hotel as all the bridges around were closed for work!and the waitress we asked our way on the phone was totally unable to give us the proper way!

    the rooms were confortable even if cold when we arrived. we had dinner there the menu was okay and our children did like their pastas!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Owner was so great.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Owner was so great. We stayed and ate at the restaurant. It was on a beautiful canal and we had two rooms. Both had outdoor seating which was a big plus! It was a really lovely experience. We only stayed one night, but could have easily stayed longer. The food at dinner was super. Walking distance to super market, restaurants and the center of town.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.9
    Clean fresh room overlooking canal with gorgeous heritage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean fresh room overlooking canal with gorgeous heritage dining room and cafe. Outside dining area on the canal was comfortable and divine to soak up the ambience and glass of lovely house red wine. Enjoyed my stay very much and would return there on my next trip to Franeker ❤️

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    10
    The location was great amongst the canal and able to watch...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleaner forgot to clean the room twice, although it didn't matter to us (we only needed to ask for additional toilet paper) it may to other visitors. The public holiday and day after were the days not cleaned if you wanted to speak to anyone.

    The location was great amongst the canal and able to watch the daily life while at a relaxing breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    Warmth of the staff,good food at good prices
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Since this hotel is about 200 years old, it is not set up for disabled guests for overnight stays. Only 7 rooms up a steep flight of stairs,but they are clean and comfortable. Reserve early!!

    Warmth of the staff,good food at good prices

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    Terrace and restaurant were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrace and restaurant were very nice.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    easy to park;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    easy to park; good breakfast, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    8.3
    Cosy, nice staff, excellent dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cosy, nice staff, excellent dinner.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    9.6
    Just about everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No negative experiences

    Just about everything

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    7.5
    Clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cold room, poor breakfast without hot meal like scrabbled egs, toasts etc.

    Clean room

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Hotel Restaurant De Stadsherberg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: