Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Die Port van Cleve 3 stars

Dijk 74, 1601 GK Enkhuizen, Netherlands

#4 of 7 hotels in Enkhuizen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of the Jazz Festival, parking became somewhat difficult and mildly stressful. I would have appreciated an advanced warning and some advice. Ultimately, everything turned out fine. But the negative surprise was unpleasant.

    The staff was very friendly. In addition to the owner and his wife, we also had great service from Floe(?) and Lisa. The location is great. The dining is first class. Bottom line, we were very pleased with our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was extremely helpful when we arrived on our bicycles and we were soaking wet. The waitress in the restaurant was very helpful and found details of the Stavoren ferry for us for the following day. The food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee machine at breakfast, would have preferred some real coffee. Rest of the breakfast though was good, they even had marmalade, not easy to get on the Continent!

    Great welcome and help with the free parking opposite the hotel. Comfortable bar and dining room. Dinner was excellent, really superb meal. Views of the canal from the rooms at the front, small town is attractive. Comfortable room with mini bar and tea making facilities. Staff and food excellent. Will definitely stay again if I am in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit outdated but more importantly: bring earplugs wherever you go in Enkhuizen as they ring the loud city bells 4 times an hour day and night.

    Great location, the old harbor has a lovely atmosphere and the old but classy hotel building perfectly fits in. The breakfast was pretty complete but could use some more fresh fruit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 nights and didn't get any room service! 2 towels for the whole weekend, bed not made, cups not cleaned, tea coffee not replenishes. Hotel was deserved but we were still put in a pocky back room. Saturday night and hotel in darkness when we got in at 21.30, had to find our key. Bar closed.

    The food was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean yet drain in shower was slow

    Great view on a canal with sailing boats; 5 minute walk from train station; good breakfast and lounge area for drinks; very helpful staff everywhere!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have a memory foam mattress at home and their mattress felt a bit hard! I know, I’m spoilt!

    I arrived 20 minutes after the kitchen had closed but the chef was still there and he readily agreed to cook me a lovely sea bass dinner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected to have a bit more space in my room. The double bed takes pretty much all the space. Breakfast was OK but there is room for improvement (e.g. adding hot food)

    The hotel is at walking distance from the train station. Clean. Nice personnel. First class diner (but a bit pricy)!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given a double room on arrival despite having booked a twin, but the error was sorted out efficiently enough.

    Hard-working staff, helpful if asked. Our twin room was very good and spacious great considering that it's in a characterful old building in an old town (the reason you're there!). Bathroom excellent if less than perfectly lit. Very good buffet breakfast and coffee. The hotel has plans for its own parking but in September it was easy enough to find something very close on-street - free for three hours (with a time-of-arrival card displayed - unofficially renewable) and free from 20:00-10:00. Close enough to the station too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather on our stay was very warm and the room needed air con

    Excellent stay fantastoc location hotel has just beenrefurbished and the rooms are bright and modern .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had informed them before we arrived that I could only eat gluten free foods and gluten free bread was always available at breakfast. Excellent service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They allowed us to check in early and leave our luggage on the last day. Good selection of food for breakfast. The view from our room over the harbour was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the mattresses was distinctly outworn (dented before I got into it) so I didn't sleep very well or deeply. It was okay for one night. If there had been a manager, supervisor or similar around, I might have mentioned it. On settling the bill, it was handled by the breakfast staff who were very friendly and polite. However, due to a difference in opinion as to whether I had paid or not, they had to confer and ask someone else. Reception was always empty. Upon arrival (later than estimated) greeted by restaurant staff who didn't give extra info like wifi code, times of brakfast etc. Again no sign of a manager or owner to give it a personal touch. Due to the typically Dutch narrow and very steep staircases (like a rabbit warren but with character!), I would not recommend the hotel to everyone (young families, older people or those with disabilities) although there was a lift.

    The location right in the middle of the nicest and main part of town; (free!) parking spaces nearby at least off season (before Easter); the lounge bar facility plus nice looking restaurant open until late.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor e-mail contact before the arrival. We had upgraded the room standard in order to assure one big bed with a single wide mattress and finally there have been two mattresses moving aside, so the child was sleeping in a cleft between them.

    Location is perfect. View is great. Breakfast is good. Service is decent and friendly. A very good place to stay. We were sorry we had to move to hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel is nicely located and not far from railway, so we could stay here and travel conveniently to Amsterdam daily.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked a mirror in the room

    Very friendly and attentive staff. Beautiful location with lovely views out onto the harbour.Best to have a room over looking the street as the interior rooms are very box like. The food in the hotel was excellent, with a good menu.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, no extracter fan in bathroom.

    We loved the great variety on offer at breakfast some of which brought back childhood memories . Well done! The service was excellent all staff worked very hard to accommodate us. The close proximity to the best in enkhuizen. We had the best time!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of low ceilings and beams on the website, we were ok but if you are 1.90+ you will have to duck the beams when walking in the room.

    Location was great, staff extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location near the water. Very good price quality balance. Nice breakfast, friendly staff. And funny floors going up and down, making you realize how ancient the hotel is...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A well run hotel with a lovely team of staff, great restaurant with an extensive wine list.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfect destination right in the best part of town. Nothing was too much travel. Great wine list and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving 😂😂

    Verycomfortable👍

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, beautiful place, and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maintenance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c

    Good and courteous staff, great dinner and buffet breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed, to low and not strong enough

    the enviroment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the cupboard didn't open well.

    Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired, strange Tv in the middle of the room

    Great location beautiful views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC, but supplied a fan

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking not the best, but local system in place to address short term requirements.

    Fabulous location in in a lovely location adjacent to the Marina.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to museums and historical areas, station waterfront and town centre Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly. Clean. Plenty of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely terrace at the front for watching the world go by.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV set wasn't working well. Room was very cold.

    Very good kitchen. Friendly staff. Near the train station and close to my final destination to hop-on a sailboat. Would return to the hotel anytime.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds are old and uncomfortable. No way to contact staff from rooms. Sound deadening is non existent. Provided little to no information on how thing work etc on check in

    Perfect location. Nice patio, friendly staff. Good breakfast included.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower door in our room was "cheap and nasty" - the only blemish in this great place.

    The staff were minimal in number yet magnificent in execution of their tasks - as if they were many more.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is near to the port . The view is amazing . The suite it was more than beautiful and of course the bathroom one of my favorite. The stuff so kind and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Below our window was the seating/eating area which was very noisy late into the night. The waitress was so miserable, she must have split up from her boyfriend the night before!

    We had a room that over looked harbour, rather small and hot with no fan.Lovely view. Area very attractive. Excellent secure garage to store our 4 bikes. Steak supper delicious.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel bar closed at 10 which we thought a little early!!

    We thought the staff were mostly very good apart from one barmaid who said she wasn't serving after 10 she did seem a bit grumpy. However the hotel facilities were excellent as was the breakfast. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Our room also had a fantastic view of the port.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My stay at Die Port van Cleve was brilliant. Friendly staff, nice room and a beautiful town all blended to make my visit to Enkhuizen something I will remember fondly.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    could be cleaner (boiler was unusable but staff cleaned it upon request), bed comfort ok yet could be better

    Simple, quiet, cute place. Location of the hotel was absolutely perfect, great view.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good stay, nothing bad to say.

    Super nice staff, great location in the centre of Enkhuizen, near the sea, very nice view, great breakfast, possibility to borrow (good) bikes to hang around,

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    close to station and supermarket and attractions

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Staff were fantastic. Helpful and friendly. They really made the stay a fantastic one.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful with finding us another hotel and very friendly and obliging

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Big room with a view.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the two young women running the restaurant and the reception were just great thank you

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location, unique interesting room

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location,view spa bath

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Same young lady on reception and serving at dinner - extremely good English and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was good. Staff and owner was so kind and helpful. Food also was very nice. Beautiful see side

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: