Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dikker & Thijs Hotel 4 stars

Prinsengracht 444, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 KE Amsterdam, Netherlands

#99 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1584 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Properties were in good condition, the room was clean. The receptionists were helpful and very friendly. The hotel is situated in the city centre, in a walking distance to everything. The breakfast was a disappointment, not much to choose between. No lactose free alternatives. In that respect you didn’t get value for your money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel tried to charge us for breakfasts when they were in the price already, but they quickly changed the invoice with no problem once it was pointed out so not a real problem in the end

    location is excellent, breakfasts were fine with a good choice, the I phone provided in the room was a nice touch, we had a triple room and it was lovely and big. The staff we're all friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet was worn and would have benefited from cleaning.

    This hotel's location is EXCELLENT. It is in a lovely, picturesque neighborhood on a canal, with loads of restaurants nearby and in easy walking distance to museums. We would definitely stay there agin and highly recommend it. Only negative is that the carpet was a bit worn but staff spoke English and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to dislike, except maybe the price level: for over 300 euros per night one might expect a little more by way of comfort and luxury.

    Nothing wrong, nice room, excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a particularly sophisticated bar with very little choice. Room was small with old, dated furnishings and cramped bathroom. Needs a decent update. No USB charge points, tiny TV let it down too. Room price was c.£400 a night but it felt more like a £200 a night hotel.

    Very nice staff. A quiet hotel in an excellent location between the upmarket galleries and upscale shops to the South and the busy yet chilled atmosphere of the RLD and thousands of bars and shops in the North.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The streets around the hotel were noisy at night. The hotel did have double thickness glass windows which helped.

    The breakfast was exceptional! The staff were very helpful. The room and bathroom were good size. The location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think we were given a low quality room on the fourth floor. The toilet was approx 10cm from the bath/shower, the room was small (no where close to 25m2) and the walls were paper thin. We were woken up by the WINDOW CLEANER at 09.30 who knocked and asked if we wanted our windows cleaned.... and the family in the room next door were clearly audible from the early hours of the morning. The intention was to have a one night stay in Amsterdam, at a nice hotel, to break up our air B&B holiday. We left a little disappointed.

    The location is extremely convenient and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) you didn't mentionne the credit to pay of 150 euro. 2) i surched a hotel WITH breakfast at booking.com but it wasn't zo when i booked it. It was not clear explained.

    the location and the room with all the accomondations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located perfectly in the middle of the city centre, close to a tram stop. From here you can go anywhere within minutes. The hotel itself seems rather small but the rooms are a perfect size. The bed is big and very comfortable, and the bathroom has a shower and bathtub. There is enough information available in the room about the city to fill your days. Furthermore, you can make use of a Handy mobile to guide you through the city. Even though the hotel is in the city centre, there is no noise disturbance. The staff was very friendly, check in and check out were very fast and easy. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a great stay in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good. Staff very friendly. Room and bathroom were clean and tidy.

    Not having to ask all the time at breakfast. (ie for spoons, bacon, beans etc) Ordered the omlette one day and it was coated in salt - didn't dare order it again ! ! A Beer in the mini bar would have been good as opposed to just Heineken. Milk for the coffee in the room would have also been good instead of just cream ! ! Lights in bathroom above basin in wrong location casting a shadow over the mirror.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was not “good” - it was tiny and completely inadequate. WiFi was only fair even though I asked to have it looked at. Light switches in the room were confusing; finally I unscrewed two bulbs so I could sleep in the dark!

    Big room with a beautiful canal view. A great sense of place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marvellous location, tram stop directly outside! Good sized room with very comfortable bed. Had free use of hotel smartphone which came in really handy after our flight was cancelled!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked last minute after my planned accommodation fell through and Esma at the reception somehow made it work. Everyone working at the hotel was lovely and beyond helpful. The rooms are even nicer than the photos.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so welcoming and helpful. Perfect location room and bed very comfortable . Very clean rooms and public areas. Good selection at breakfast. Staff at breakfast was particularly helpful on Sunday chatting with us about what we had planned and then even showed us the best route to the museum on my map. Very helpful. Felt the staff all cared about the customers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I was totally happy

    Very well positioned in the heart of everything with the galleries 10 mins walk away, boat trip 5 mins, red light dustrict 10 mins, and loads of restaurants etc just round the corner. Very helpful and smiley staff. Nice big room (107)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 5 friends in 3 rooms and there was no place for us to sit together at the hotel outside our rooms with were not comfortable for that purpose. I missed a lounge or a lobby where we could just sit together.

    Very high class.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little old so the corridors and room key and elevator are very outdated. There are a lot of weird turns and stairs before going in the room. I wouldn't recommend to someone old or who can't walk very well. No conditionner or lotion in the shower which is becoming rare and is missed.

    The room came with an "Handy" smartphone with data that I could use during the stay, this is just awesome! The room is super nice and cute. There is good heating. The breakfast was delicious. The location is very good, there is a tranway stop with 3 lines running just in front, I didn't hear it from my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have breakfast,it would be nice for it to be served in the other restaurant

    Fantastic location,views over the canal,lovely friendly,helpful staff,very clean,good bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first night there was a man shouting and wailing in the hotel from around 2am. It really scared me to be honest and I didn't get any sleep that night. The next day we were moved to a superior room and this made up for it! I really appreciated that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t drain in the first room so we had to change rooms.

    The rooms were made available to us much earlier than the prescribed check in time which was very nice and useful as we could rest and make use of the day we arrived in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have like to be in a room where I did not need to manoeuvre so much with a big bag

    The place was quaint but greatly comfortable. The location is awesome and you just need a comfy bed and a great shower in Amsterdam. Really good value for money in the winter season!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They do charge your card three weeks prior to the stay for one night's fee. Not a big deal, but wasn't clear to me prior to booking.

    Very large room for a European hotel, location was perfect for walking all over the city (but, not too touristy), and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not much we can fault other than the lift being very small (but that is to be expected in Amsterdam).

    The hotel location is excellent - right in the middle of Amsterdam with a tram stop right out front.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit on the small side and facing Prinsen Gracht, which is noisy throughout the night and woke me up a few times. If you come by car, choose something further away from the centre - ignoring the challenge of driving in this area, some parking garages charge up to 76 Euros per day and then you still have to get to the hotel.

    Room was standard but with a good bed, it had an extra chair and table and a well stocked bar fridge. If you book, you can have dinner in their restaurant, but there are many eateries just around the corner. The tram stop to central station is only 100m away and this is the easiest way to get around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Canal View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is excellent and the hotel is very nice: above and beyond expectations. I stay often and every time I am getting GM greeeting: personalized hand-written note and small treat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were comfy and housekeeping is great. I agree with another review I saw that said they needed to replace their carpet. Very dingy looking. Great central location and in spite of that both rooms we got had no street noise. Walls are pretty thin though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room access was up & down several stairs an offer to take & remove heavier luggage should have been made & why it was being offered

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only inconvenience is that at 9 am sharp the cleaning lady was vacuum cleaning and speaking loud in the hallway, and I could hear everything as she was near me. The sound proof is not the best here.

    An excellent location and property. I didn't know but I booked the fifth floor and had an amazing view of Amsterdam, and Rijksmuseum!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size

    Room quite small in comparison to picture on the web site communal halls and corridors perhaps need a little freshening up however the room was clean the bed comfy and location excellent also staff very helpful giving advice and well needed umberella. Didnt eat in the hotel so can't comment on food Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room OK and relatively clean, but hallway, elevator, staircases etc. outdated, worn and somewhat dirty. Very narrow and steep staircases to the upper rooms. Not recommended for elderly or people with reduced mobility - ask for rooms downstairs. One big bonus is that you can open the windows.

    Good location. Quiet, large room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connectivity was extremely poor on the top floor. Access to the top floor wasn't very easy (especially with bags) and there was a constant rumbling/vibration in the toilet and bathroom (couldn't be heard in the bedroom).

    Very cheap to be upgraded to the best room - bed was enormous and comfy, free smartphone for international use for the entire stay,lovely views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They have a policy to leave the key back at the reception each time you go out for security reason. Which I understand. Now being the traveler that I am and the kind of properties I have stayed at I would almost forget leaving the key and one evening took it with me in a hurry. On my return, the staff member at the reception was actually rude and made comments on me not leaving the key back, which I thought was not required especially when I duly apologised. I mean I'm already paying a steep price to stay there and then to have a staff member throw attitude, that wasn't cool.

    Ultra spacious room. I got the one with the Canal view. The bathroom was by standards of many cities, a room in itself :) The coffee machine was a saviour. All my requests were taken upon by the staff very kindly including a way ahead of time check in at 9am, which was very kind. The check in was seamless and took no more than 2/3 minutes. Also the heater in the room was really helpful given the nights had started to become chilly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking.com confirmation says Tax included. Hotel refused to accept that and charged me 5% tax. Bed so snug to wall there was no room for a bedside table

    Location/Restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but nothing special. We found the morning staff person at the breakfast to be sirley and abrupt towards us. Since the hotel is located in the heart of “clubbing” venues, it was a bit noisy at night. We like to have a window open so it was probably more noticeable.

    The location is fabulous. Close to Rijsmuseum, Van Goah museum, Heitage and others. Heineken and lots of restaurants are within walking distance. The Dam is a little further but can still walk around 20-25 minutes. Better yet, 3 tram lines are just across the street from the hotel and you can get all the way to the Dam and Central station quickly. You can buy tickets at the hotel—1 hour or 1 day. Our room had a balcony overlooking the city which was really nice. We were on the 5th floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decorators blocking stair at times

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast excellent, fresh fruit, yoghurt, hot choices, smoothies, pastries. Excellent location for all Amsterdam main tourist attractions. Very comfy bed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction happening in the room next door was a loan to wake up to and the walls are thin so heard guests full conversations several times.

    Loved the staff and location! Room was nice and the view a plus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only complaint was that there weren't enough hooks for the towels. We were three sharing the room, and we had a hard time finding where to hang our used towels - but it was only a detail we loved the room overall!

    The breakfast was wonderful! With eggs and pancakes made to order and wonderful selection of breads, yogurt and cheeses. There was also a complimentary smoothie. The room was very well decorated and clean! The bathroom was equipped with shampoo, conditioner, soap, moisturizer and shower caps, which is great for those who travel light. Location is excellent and staff spoke perfect english.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit noisy with the party people on saturday night...but the location relative to seeing all the key sites in Amsterdam was worth it. P.S. We had a window open!

    The hotel was a nice surprise and our room was amazing. The breakfast was fantastic with amazing staff. Front desk staff did all they could to make our stay wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very tired and lots of little stairs to carry bags up and down. I don't like twin beds in a double room.

    The breakfast and the atmosphere in the bar were good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The triple rooms all face an area the hotel describes as lively. It certainly was (a Sat night) which unfortunately meant it was very noisy in our room on the 4th floor and sadly none of us slept well and were all woken by the partying outside at 4am. A real shame as beds very comfy.

    Beautiful authentic building and very centrally love cared. Great views from our room, light and bright and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lunch could have been a bit better. We had pre-ordered everything to make it easier as we were a large group but there were a couple of errors with our orders and the waitress (dark hair) didn't have as good customer service as the boys. We don't mind the small mistakes - these happen, but she could have handled it slightly better. Some of the dishes also tasted like they had been sat on the hot stove as the bread and chips had gone quite hard (we ordered an extra fresh portion of chips and they were fabulous). The 3 people that had the French soup also had a dodgy tummy later that evening. But lunch was literally the only thing that could have been better and to be fair to the hotel we were a large group of 13 people and they had allowed us to order from the a la carte menu rather than forcing us to have the buffet for the meeting room. They were incredibly accommodating and flexible with us throughout (which is great for a large business trip). Everything else - the planning of our booking with Norbert, the meeting room, the beer in our rooms, the drinks later in the evening, our lovely rooms and comfy beds, the breakfast - was all excellent and I would still highly recommend this restaurant.

    The staff were amazing! We work in the hospitality industry but we were all pleasantly surprised by how helpful and lovely the staff were... nothing was too much trouble. We had used a number of the hotel facilities including the meeting room space (which was perfect for our needs) and everything was perfect. They even went the extra mile by arranging for a bottle of local beer to be in our room (as we're a brewery) and a hand written note from the manager. Wonderful hotel & staff. Great location, fabulous breakfast. Can't recommend highly enough - will definitely book here again if we come back to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't really have any criticism for the hotel.

    The hotel was in an excellent location. It was amazing to be able to walk right out the front door and be close to everything..... trams, buses, walking. The hotel was maintained beautifully, very clean, the staff was always very helpful and personable. We really enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything, including the restaurant next to the hotel.

    Although the hotel was an older one, everything was very clean, and the staff was excellent. The tram stops just outside the door for easy access to the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on the fifth floor which only has 4 rooms. The elevator is was just near us and sadly 2 of our neighbours who came in late at night were quite noisy- once they were in their rooms it was ok, but 2 disturbances after midnite :(

    I called the day before our arrival, as my husband was feeling unwell, so we hoped for an early check in, which of course they couldn't promise, but much to our surprise when we arrived at noon the room was ready. Kudos to Marjolein who was the one who made it happen. It made the start to our stay great as we could settle in and rest a bit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels and toiletries not 4* standard. Shower didn't drain properly.

    The hotel was not at all like the picture on the website but a pleasant stay nonetheless. Good breakfast but expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old, historical building which we usually love but it was dark & dingy with terrible brown carpet and is in serious need of updating re decor. Room was very badly signposted & there was a lot of roaming around floors 2&3 before we found our room 308 which although spacious with large window onto onto canal still managed to feel dark.

    Great central location. Right at the tram stop on canal. Close to sightseeing locations, shopping, bars & restaurants. Spacious room with views onto the canal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costly hotel rates

    Excellent location for central Amsterdam. Hotel room was bright and large with large comfy bed. Hotel provide free of charge a hand held phone (the "Handy") with free calls Internet access and a what's on guide but €900 if you damage it so be careful. Hotel resteraunt very nice but limit menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception employees very unhelpful they offered me a un refurbished room with aging and small bathroom, than a noisy one at the first floor situatet along the tram line stating they had only this two! This was not true and when I checked their register i finally obtained another better room Breackfest very poor choice, coffee machine poor quality... One day the room was not cleaned until 15h and fresh towels left outside!!! At checking time I requested an one hour extention which was refused...without a serious reason "it is company policy " At a bill of over 1000€ for 4 days it is an unacceptable justification !! I consider all in all a poor 3 star hotel I will strongly not recommend

    Position géographique

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible wifi constantly stalling . announcement by member that we had to have a new shower door installed in our room regardless ofinconvenienience to us. really a 3 star hotel with 5 star location.

    Good beds ,nice and quiet for sleeping , decent size family room , tea and coffee making in room, fridge in room, most of the staff were very sweet and helpful , storage of bags at check felt secure .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if breakfast were included.

    The view from our window made us feel like we were in a fairytale! We looked right out on a canal with historic buildings. The hotel was quiet but right around the corner from a very active area with shops and restaurants and close to museums. Perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were reluctantly helpful and almost surly. Ordered a taxi for airport transfer, came down 2 minutes late, staff had given the taxi to other guests. We waited an additional 20 minutes for a promised replacement cab, and finally left for the train to ensure getting to the airport on time. Staff member was annoyed we weren't willing to wait longer because "it would make him look bad with the cab company."

    Location was lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we didn't opt for breakfast at the hotel we did investigate and felt that what was on offer would not have been worth the money.

    The hotel was in an excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is tiny and barely holds two people with their luggage. Neighborhood a bit noisy on Saturday night with our window cracked open.

    Very comfortable bed. Nice breakfast buffet. Staff at front desk are most helpful. Allowed my wife to charge her cell phone overnight at the front desk PC on its USB port as it wouldn't charge from the room outlets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been cool for smokers if there were a bench to sit on outside the hotel, but that's not a serious gripe!

    Perfectly located for a holiday in Amsterdam! The hop-on hop-off boat stopped right outside the hotel, as did the trams. Plenty of good restuarants and shops in the area. We had a spacious room with views over the canal and just loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I put up do not disturb sign but housekeeping still entered. She should not be throwing away things that are not in the garbage. Eg. I had a ribbon on the night table I was using to tie my bag and it was gone. Not very important but still, it is in principle that if it is not in garbage pail it touched.

    Spacious and Clean. Friendly and Knowledeable Staff. Nice little touches like slippers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. Everything was fine for me!

    I love this hotel! It is in the perfect place to walk, take the tram, etc. My rooms were perfect in every way. My first stay was for five nights then I took a cruise for 14 days and returned to this hotel for 2 more nights before my flight home. The staff was so helpful and pleasant and Esma at the front desk was wonderful, friendly, helpful, and sincere in making me feel welcome. I have already recommended this place to my friends and will certainly stay here again in future travels!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of good size reception area, room cost was expensive as was breakfast cost. Most staff were pleasant and helpful but sadly a couple let the rest down.

    Location was convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was underwhelming at 17.50 per person; friends we travelled with saw a mouse in the breakfast room

    Really good location; room was cozy and overlooked the canal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms were large with nice seating area and good facilities - mini bar, coffee machine, iron etc. Great view of the canal. Lovely breakfast with delicious omelet and pancakes. Very polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving the key with the front desk each time you step out, though I can see the benefits, does detract a bit from feeling independent. I'd prefer not having to check in with someone at the desk to get my key everytime I came in from a stroll.

    Very comfortable bed, the comfort queen rooms were great. I did not have a view but had great light in the room. The location is perfect for walking historic amsterdam, with nightlife and necesseties (banks, pharmacy, coffee) right at your front door. A beautiful 10 minute walk up the canal gets you to the Anne Frank House.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had a carpet so dirty, fresh vomit on it would have had no effect. In dire need on a gut-job, this skanky and filthy hotel capitalizes on its location but is horrible and absurdly overpriced.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was expensive so we went to nearby cafes instead.

    We had a lovely big room and huge bathroom with a great view of the canal. It was really well situated - we could walk to all the sights including the Van Gogh Museum and Ann Frank's House within 20 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light on the ceiling A/C unit was quite bright so we covered it with tape.

    Fantastic location, basic but inviting, comfortable room. It's our go-to property when in AMS.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unable to open windows. Slight noise from street, but not unacceptable.

    The room we had overlooked the shops and tramline, great for people watching. The room and bathroom were large with adequate storage. There was a very well stocked minibar and also tea/coffee making facilities. Lots of plug sockets. Breakfast was in lovely dining area and very plentiful with good choice. Heating control in room was great. Great location, near to lots of attractions both walking and using tram. Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned and tidied daily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want basic and clean there is nothing to dislike

    Excellent location in a busy area but heard no noise due to double glazed windows perfect hotel for a weekend getaway

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the beginning we got a room in the old building which is not recommended!! Always ask for the new building

    Staff is amazing helpful and cooperative. Room 304 superior canal view is unbelievable great with view to the canal and to the street. Location is superb the leidsplain is 50 meters away and the tram station with the most important lines is just below the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find your room. Get off on 2 go up a stair around the hall. Up a steep flight of stairs and around the building carrying luggage

    Friendly staff. Wonderful meal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs an upgrade including hairdryer for this price point.

    Staff, breakfast, size of room and location were terrific! Very convenient to the beautiful sights of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much really

    Great service from the front desk. Comfortable room and nice bathroom. Room was quiet at night. Delicious breakfast downstairs where you can have the buffet or order off a menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Canal View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No issues.

    Excellent location with friendly young staff who knew their business. The breakfast service was first class. The room we had was wonderful with a view of the city and the canal outside the door of the hotel. We would return and highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lack of elevator all the way to our floor was a strain on my injuries.

    Location near transport and eateries. Central to many sites we wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Canal View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weather was cool so we were not able to enjoy the outdoor pool area. But the inside bar was just fine. Morning breakfast was more than satisfactory.

    Property was conveniently located on a busy canal with public tram transportation at the front door. Lots and lots of restaurants within a 5 minute walk in any direction. Great coffee house one minute away and a pastry shop across the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While it is in the quaint and central "Grachtengordel", or horseshoe-shaped streets along the canals, the hotel is a few blocks away from the upscale restaurants and stores. It is in a neighbourhood that almost verges on seedy. Further, the rooms are quite noisy at night on the first and second floors. The fourth floor is quieter. Finally, the rooms and bathrooms are serviceable, but not attractive. The rooms' walls are painted a stark white that shows the many scuff marks that guests and service personnel have left behind. The furniture is a matching set, but that is all that can be said about it. The rooms and bathrooms lack charm, and look like they were done up in the eighties. The hotel dining room is quite chic; they ought to get that decorator to design the rooms.

    The hotel is conveniently located near the 2 and 5 tram lines, and within walking distance of the Van Gogh museum and the 9 streets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side is that the bar is not the busiest place in the world and once people leave it is all locked up for the evening This means that you are unable to get a drink after hours even if you are a resident There is no separate lounge area for residents and this would be a brilliant addition to the hotel

    The hotel location is fantastic Really close to all the attractions. The tram stop is right outside great for getting around The canals are beautiful and you step out of the front entrance onto the canal. Loads of bars nearby The Penthouse suite was lovely and well worth the extra pennies. Would definitely visit the hotel again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in Room 205 and recommend that you replace the mattress. It was soft and felt that it had reached the end of its life span.

    Great location, nice hotel, friendly staff, excellent lunch.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dikker & Thijs Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: