Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amrâth Grand Hotel de l’Empereur 4 stars

Stationsstraat 2, Wijck, 6221 BP Maastricht, Netherlands

#43 of 51 hotels in Maastricht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2128 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of breakfast was expensive so we didn't eat there.

    Beautiful building! Across the street from the train station but we didn't hear anything. Comfortable bed. Ate in dining room and had a wonderful meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that disappointed us, in even the slightest way.

    We had a particularly big room with views (as we had requested) and all was perfectly in order there. Staff throughout the hotel were most attentive, friendly and keen to make sure we were looked after fully. We felt we had excellent value for money and the location was great, being close to the station and convenient to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is currently absolutely necessary to offer a full breakfast, i.e. including (various sorts of) Muesli. Unfortunately, that was not available. For guests that would like to relax, thus stay in their rooms, the TV offerings are amazingly limited, with only a few of the major channels available, even one of three Dutch public broadcasters not on offer. My room, and suspect others too, was a real hide-away, where one could only get to be taking an elevator to another floor, then descending stairs after which other stairs have to be climbed. Just suppose that you are not very sportive!

    The breakfast room was lively and cosy at Saturday mornings, with quite a few people preparing for the Amstel Gold Race on 14 and 15 April 2018. The sleeping room (no. 216) was comfortable and quiet (regarding noise coming from the street: neighbours, however, were so egocentric that they made it clearly known to all guests that they had arrived).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise in front of the hotel by guests at 6AM and nobody from the hotel asking people to be a bit quieter; a shower curtain is not what I expect in a 4-star hotel; the room needs refurbishment; breakfast opens only at 7AM

    short walking disctance to the town center; friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m accustomed to hotels having things like shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer. They had only a body wash/shampoo.

    A beautiful historic building in an extremely convenient location! Room 105 was special - wrap around windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and hallways felt a bit stale...The hallways exist in a world out of time. The room felt as if someone used to smoke in it a long time ago. I thought to ask for a new room, but really figured it wasn't worth the effort. If I had asked, I am sure I would have been given a new room, but the idea is "I don't want to have to ask for this." It isn't something that should NEED to be requested....so in the end, we just kept it to our one night stay...also for the rate of 150 euros, there were better looking properties for cheaper. I just took the bait of a last minute need to be centrally located.

    Hotel is situation in town....so, it wasn't terrible considering how close you are to centrall station...just a bit on the "oh, well this is a regular hotel" experience. Also, the bed was semi-comfortable...which is better than "uncomfortable." The internet worked well-

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Sauna costs 10 euro's for 45 minutes, and only goes to 40 degrees. Not a real sauna. The breakfast is not very extensive. No gym!

    Perfect location for travelers who arrive by train. Nice large rooms and good value for money. Swimming pool is nice to have.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels are a bit small and the lack of bathroom amenities detracts just a little bit from an overall good experience. The air condition was also not so good and quite loud.

    This hotel is always great to stay at. They offer really good value for money including big rooms and good beds. Its nice to see the little perks like having coffee in the room - many hotels are taking this out these days. The location is fantastic right next to the train station which is good for quick trips. The staff are really lovely and even let me check in early to drop my bags off before a meeting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ceiling peeling in the shower, carpets worn, scrapes on walls, painting needed in place......

    beds fine, breaskfast and bar also, staff fine,----but too expensive for what you get....plus hotel needs work--painting, peelings, carpets, it was not up to amrath standards compared to amsterdam or haarlem...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didnt work, empty minibar, no cream and bath accessories, poor shampoo dispenser, very old carpet, poor coffee machine, no herbal tea in the room not a 4 stars usual hotel

    Brown bread and croissants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel is outdated, bathroom was not clean - mold on the shower ceiling, bathroom light was out, desk lamp did not work

    the staff was friendly, breakfast was very good, location is great, good to have parking in the garage

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower didn't work properly (too long cold water, current not strong (little water). Nothing in the fridge/mini bar (wasn't switched on). No tooth brush/toothpaste

    Breakfast, staff service, location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full free mini bar in room...! TV was a bit outdated...control was aged.

    Plenty to eat at breakfast.... location, staff, communication, helpfulness...all excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cold, and guests can only increase the temperature by 4 degrees (which did not help). The room was also facing the main street which got quite loud with traffic and people, so sleeping was not great. I did expect better from a suite.

    The decor of the room we had was very chic. The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is overpriced for what it offers. It is a basic 4 star hotel that struggles to maintain its star rating as the property is tired and needs a refurbishment. To this you need to add the unprofessional employees that are not supervised by a manager over the weekend. Therefore you will see them drink coffee or water in front of the guests, disappear to have a loud chat behind the wall while the restaurant gets busier, not explain anything to the guests, don't smile and don't apologise when the hotel falls short of expectations. Ideally it needs to be priced around 85 Euros for that level of service and property condition.

    The location is excellent and within 10 minutes walk from the centre. Clean rooms. Ample variety of food items at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scanty breakfast with little choice for the price/range of the hotel. Cleaniness of rooms and tableware. Too expensive for the price range. Should be 3 instead of 4 stars

    Location. Facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service menu very limited.

    Check in staff fabulous ..attentive and thorough , attuned to finding out individual customer needs which you don’t see a lot nowadays. I got a quiet room right at the back which was perfect and very nicely furnished .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The corridors are looking a little worn and could do with some fresh paint.

    The location directly opposite the train station and on the main street surrounded by great cafes and quirky shops is wonderful. I also loved the fact that the rooms were not overheated, and you could open the window for fresh air. The beautiful large courtyard garden and indoor pool are a bonus, and fresh apples and cool water at reception are a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu was very limited in the restaurant. Paying €18:50 a day parking is to much.

    The room was spacious and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice big smile and welcome at reception desk would be fantastic.

    Great location as sites, restaurants and Stores all within walking distance. Hotel garage parking perfect. Restaurant and hotel bar very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for what you get. The shower was a disaster.

    The beds were nice and the location is unbeatable if you want to be close to the railway station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is poor, they are very cheap and I cannot understand how it is possible that this place is rated 4 stars. Maybe in the 80s ...

    Quite frankly I liked nothing and this hotel is at best a 2 star cheap hotel!!! I’d strongly advise NOT to stay here!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was one open room with the reception. This was not comfortable. We didn’t use the breakfast in the hotel.

    The location in the city nearby the trainstation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the lady who checked us in was really rude and not very nice and welcoming. The room was clean but it smelt really stale and musky. The hotel needs to be updated a bit

    The hotel is quirky and has a gr at location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I left a new cloth inside the room on my departure and the hotel did not attempt to contact me. It seems they assume I don't want it.

    It is close to the train station (one minute walking). 10 minutes walk straight path to the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all the hotel is not even close to be 4 star, it is actually provides 2-3 star experience/ammenities. Rooms were not clean (there were bottles and other stuff from previous guests). Trash-bins was standing on tables. Also there was a unpleasant wet smell in the room. Bed/Pillows were ok-ish but not very comfortable. Bathroom needs renovation (a lot of holes, and it does not look fresh). In terms of facilities/amenities hotel does not provide almost anything in the bathroom (only shower gel). Pool is small, dark and very untidy. Locker rooms are very dirty, most of the lockers are broken, douche does not work as expected. Parking is very tight, it is better to be with the small car there (costs 18.5 EUR). There is a big reconstruction of the road near the hotel and view from the window is just showing this (and nothing else).

    Breakfast was good. And there is a discount for breakfast for kids (cost around 7EUR). Relatively close to main streets and city center and near central station (no much noise in the night). It was possible to get towels for the pool (for free)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a 4 star hotel. Very old and tired outdated rooms. For the price I would have expected at least some bottles of water in the room and toiletries. I'm sure reception would have provided these if necessary but they should be in the rooms, even had to phone reception for the wifi password, why not just give that out on arrival. Breakfast area very small and overcrowded, plus the hot food was barely warm. Was asked for payment on arrival, not checkout, I'm not surprised! May not have wanted to pay that price once i'd seen the room! Way overpriced!

    Comfy bed, good shower pressure and good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Evening meal was nicely presented and the waiters were friendly but the service, apart from one evening, was very slow.

    My single room had plenty of space and a toilet/shower big enough to manage comfortably. The hotel breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of cooked meats, cheeses, yoghourt and a good choice of different breads. Also, unusual on the continent, bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (1) We specifically asked for a double bed. It turns out that was not possible - however, 'the two single beds were next to each other'. Great. What is next? A bunk bed? (2) Towel hooks in the bathroom perhaps? (3) Having both a pool and sauna in the hotel, toileteries in the room perhaps? (4) Would be great if the staff stops shouting to each other in the hallways on Sunday morning.

    The location next to the train station is great. It is only a pleasant 10 minute walk to down-town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 stars hotel I was expecting more details, no amenities in the bathroom , small towels, they clean the room in the afternoons,...

    Location is good, the room was comfortable, the breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 9pm after a long drive. No food to be had in the entire hotel. Not even a sandwich. There was a room service menu but this was only available when the kitchen was open . Kitchen wasn't open at 9pm on a Saturday night. There was nowhere nearby to get food.. no water in the room.. tv was mostly in Dutch with only one English Channel, an American news channel. The staff were friendly. But quite honestly there was t anything for them to do but check you in and check you out. (And bring some water to the room when requested. Not a 4 * experience, for the money have had far better facilities in a travel lodge.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Servers spaghetti bolanase for ironman breakfast like who eats that at 5am 😩😩😩😩😩

    Charged me a bigger rate when I got there which I quiryed and got my money back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good Location , nice room, friendly staff. They even delivered an ironing board to my room. Also helped me to. Connect to Wifi . close to train station. I would stay at the hotel again. A nice atmosphere, comfortable lounge

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were not helpful when needed doctor or hospital. They had no idea how to contact a doctor or direct to hospital. Found one online!

    Across the street from train station plus private terrace to dry clothes!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple more hot items at the buffet would be good. and walkways are a bit dated but that is not really a problem.

    Rooms are refurbished and of good standard. the beds are very comfortable and the hotel generally has improved over the years we have stayed here. We stopped for the Andre Rieu weekend again and gradually over the years the staff and hotel have got to grips with dealing with so many guests and high turnover. Breakfast is good but could be done with a couple more hot items in the buffet. The bar is good and not overly priced and the staff do their best led by Frank to provide the right atmosphere to all the Andre Rieu party goers after they return from the Concerts. The location is excellent being directly opposite the railway station so not far to lug a suitcase after a long trip from Schipol airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The luxury bathroom felt terrific - jacuzzi, double wash basins, space age shower. However neither of the extractor fans worked. Neither of the waste outlets for the washbasins worked properly either. One let out the water when it was shut and the other wouldn't when it was open. Small maintenence issues really. I felt that there should also have been a bit more shelf space in there for the important little knick-knacks (toothbrushes, tooth paste, shaving equipment, etc) plus a couple of towel rings (one for each basin) and a hook or two to hang your (free) bath robes on. Details maybe but they are important for this sort of money. I have booked again for next year so, it can't have been all bad!

    I think we were upgraded as we seem to have received more than I thought I was paying for - a Junior Suite rather than a Deluxe Double room. The air con was a boon as the weather was extremely hot. Didn't use any of the mini bar goodies but did use the fridge that came with it. Private balcony with table and chairs overlooking the station (yes I quite enjoyed that part!) also lovely. Very quiet up at fifth floor level. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    because of construction beside the hotel very difficult to find the hotel and also gaining access to garage. Hotel should place more signs for drivers.

    Good location next to rail station and very close to town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything - very clean and modern despite being an old building.

    Beautiful old Victorian hotel in an excellent location - across the road from the train station yet a short walk into the city centre along a pleasant boulevard with plenty of restaurants, bars and cafes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room lights on first night rectified next morning. Second night.....on bathroom light then the hose on the shower had a split water spraying all over the place

    Cleanliness of roo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimmingpool a bit outdated and dark. Could use more lighting and atmosphere. Hotel feels a bit outdated.

    Good location. Just across the trainstation and near walking distance of the historical centre. Clean rooms. Very nice healthy cafe/juicebar adjacent and integrated into hotel for breakfast or lunch. Good price for

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double bad and we were given 2 single beds.No help from reception girl to change room.My girlfriend fell down of the bed and injured herself to hospital. I will go through lawyers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has lots of character plus a pool! The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The location next to the station was great and it is a pleasant walk down to the town centre and sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not seem to care at all. Simply getting things done. No character at all. It has a bad vibe, gives you the feeling that maybe was nice in the 90s but no one cares anymore.Rooms were quite dusty. Thankfully the receptionist changed my room. They put me in a room with a nice big window. Good view & plenty of fresh air. That was good! Thank you! Carpets look old. I think the hotel needs some renovation and adding a bit of style. Single beds and bit small. Limited selection of breakfast & cheap quality. Warm section of the breakfast was the worst. Scrambled eggs were maybe 2days old. Ok for 2 nights but definitely not a 4* hotel. Wouldn't go back.

    Room was big & comfortable. Right next to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked one room with queen bed as i have chosen while boking the propriety through booking.com, though when i have seen the room it was with double bed. Thus i have went back to the receptionist and asked her that why i have an double bed in my room when i have booked for queen bed as i have been traveling with my wife. She said that this option is not a must but you prefer and we are not obligated to provided to the customer since most of out rooms is singlar. However i have went back to my room spend the one night and could not extend for more. One more thing the check in time took about 2-3 hurs i have seen nothing like that before in any decent hotel. I think that i will never book in such hotel and would not recommend it to any one. The check in time was at 4 pm check out time 11 clock. Never happened in any hotel other Than this one.

    Location was fine but would stay in a bit far but decent hotel and come to park in the street since it will not cost you much. Would be the same as the hotel charge you for the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climate system that is supposed to cool the room did not work for me. Rather book at other 4 stars hotels that have regular airconditioning. In addition, the breakfast was quite dissapoiting for €15

    Nice soap in the shower

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice treat is the indoor swimmingpool. Also a place to meet locals, who take their morning-swim here. The hotel arranged with the city council that nearby contruction works don't start before 9:00; enough for a good night' sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the hot water in our room took a long time to get hot in the morning.

    Hotel lovely and clean, good selection at breakfast, restaurant meals very good, and I can't praise the staff enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration and styling of the hotel. Looks very outdated, I had the idea I was walking through the 90s while walking through the hotel. Id rather have the feeling of walking through the 1920's or the 2010's.

    The location is good and close to everything, staff was nice and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive, untrained personnel and rude as well as commercially oriented management. Customer-focus seemt absent and Amrath unworthy. - room facilities (shower a.o.) were not up to standard, not value for money and some things were broken. - images were not representative of hotel - noisy and too warm rooms due to train station and bad airco - restaurant much detached from hotel, not part of its heritage anymore. The heritage feel was nowhere to find - breakfast was very poor, no service, coffee/thee was bad. Breakfast was reasonable, but not value for money - Value for money was really off. - personnel is willing, but seems untrained and does not seem to be supported by any manager on site.

    Very expensive, untrained personnel and rude as well as commercially oriented management. Customer-focus seemt absent and Amrath unworthy. - room facilities (shower a.o.) were not up to standard, not value for money and some things were broken. - images were not representative of hotel - noisy and too warm rooms due to train station and bad airco - restaurant much detached from hotel, not part of its heritage anymore. The heritage feel was nowhere to find - breakfast was very poor, no service, coffee/thee was bad. Breakfast was reasonable, but not value for money - Value for money was really off. - personnel is willing, but seems untrained and does not seem to be supported by any manager on site.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi signal in the room was very weak. The connection dropped very often.

    The location is great. It's close to the old town and very close to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper gobelets instead of ceramic cups for tea No bathrobe in the bedroom. No toilet products in the bathroom. Feeling of cheapness.

    Very good restaurant and pleasant breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small room with bed next to the hallway wall so I needed earplugs. I was also a bit cold and you don't have much control over the air-conditioning. There were also no extra blankets in the cupboards.

    location right across from the station was very convenient and it is also only a few minutes walk from the historical city centre. Clean room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is getting old Not perfectly clean, for example the bath Mirror is chipping but not being replaced

    Close to the station Good baggage storage

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very tired, Beds soft, no support in the mattress, my husband placed his mattress on the floor for extra support... He then found a plastic cover on the mattress that was covered in blood

    location was good walking distance into the main town. good coffee shops and restaurants in walking distance

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower went from hot to cold to hot in a split second. Soap and toiletries were very scarce. In fact, the bottles where almost empty, which is not quite expected from a 4 star hotel. Location and swimming pool were fantastic if you are travelling with a child. However, the hotel really needs some renovation, specially the bathrooms.

    I traveled with my 8 year old daughter. The swimming pool was a big plus: it was actually the reason we chose for this hotel. The room was super comfortable, even though the bathroom was definitely outdated. The location was perfect, as we came by train. And just at a stone's throw from the old center!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool changing rooms could be improved, they are old and smelly, plus there is no changing place for babies. Some of the "wood" panelings in our toilet and the corridor look quite old or most likely just really cheap wood was used.

    Great location. Good service. Nice restaurants around the hotel. Nice room, spacious and quiet. Nice quiet swimming pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room very dim couldn't see clothes in wardrobe. Women need makeup mirror in bathroom as normal mirror too far away

    Comfy beds, friendly people and nice being able to park under the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - For a 4-star Hotel ... not that clean - Separated, twin bed that constantly slipped aside

    - Close to City center and to Train Station - Grate breakfast - Nice bathroom - Nice tea/coffee facilities in room - Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room noisy (major redevelopment going on outside window) Smell of food from the kitchen Decor tired and dated.

    Location good right next to train station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We secured a good deal through Booking.com, but for that the prices would have been on the expensive side.

    Very helpful reception and room staff. Good & secure car parking, in a city not that easy and expensive to park. That said, a lovely city

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was great. Very hot during our stay but we were promptly given a fan when we requested it. Would stay here again!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great! And the room was really comfy. I didn't have time to try all the facilities there e.g.. swimming pool so I couldn't comment on them. The location is superb!! Can't get any better

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly tight space, but that is usually the case in Europe. Bathroom starting to show signs of wear.

    No problem changing reservation from two nights to one.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to change the room twice before the staff gave us a type of room that we have paid for. In overall, everything in hotel needs a cosmetic repair. Seems like no scratch or spot gets repaired ever. Also, some parts of room were pretty dusty. There was a huge construction right next to hotel, which was creating considerable amount of noise. The hotel hasn't notified us about this in advance. Refrigerator in the room pretty much didn't worked at all. No one came to repair it after we've asked for it at the reception.

    Great location. Nice windowsill.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was wonderful

    the hotel is located just the opposit to the railway station and in 10 min walk to the city center, rooms are fantastic, very romantic, breakfast was very good, staff were very nice and helpful, small swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from others turning on a shower or flushing a toilet woke me during the night it was quite bad.

    I was in a standard room which was very spacious; no view. Bathroom was well equipped but sink very small.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is expensive in general, if you stay after check out time you have to pay per hour.

    Close to Centrum and next to Central Station. Very good breakfast. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Blocking excees money from visa on arrival day<>our cost was €731 they block us €1020 Slamming of room doors Gab between the mattresses (always sleeping apart) No entrance ramp (main Door)

    Appriciate: Clean & welcome hotel Good kettle,frigde & TV Room Big & comfortabile Nice view looking over the garden Qiute place & clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadworks directly around the hotel that we had no knowledge of until we arrived

    Hotel was central in Maastricht when we went to see Andre Rieu in July. The evening buffet was very good start to the night and found the staff very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very expensive and the space was tight. If you can come by train!

    Great location oposite the train station and near lots of restaurants etc. Walking distance to the shopping area of the city. The room looked new, except for the door. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would love hotels to have SUMMER bedding. Had to take quilts out of covers to sleep.

    Great location. Had broken bed which staff solved quickly. Lots of space in the deluxe rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    One minute from Maastricht train station Walking distance 6 minutes to Old Town Sq. We came here for the Andrei Rieu concert What a great show

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining room for breakfast was utter chaos. The bath and shower area had broken tiles that were covered in mould and the room had not had a good dusting.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location staff go the extra mile . We took part in the ironman event and the hotel added an extra early breakfast slot for the athletes. Not many hotels do this!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of flannels in the bathroom and towels in the swimming pool. The toilet paper was only about 2-ply also.

    The swimming pool. The restaurant serves excellent food and the service is good.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amrâth Grand Hotel de l’Empereur traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: