Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Valkenhof 3 stars

Berkelstraat 34, 6301 CC Valkenburg, Netherlands

#17 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 768 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to be ready to have some noise from a street as hotel is in the center of city. As well we would have preffered to have a double mattress, instead of 2 separate.

    In the center of beautiful Valkenburg, cosy and very nitty room. Room was on smaller side but we like it as it made more warm. As well everything in the room was new and good quality. Staff is very nice and helpfull as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first night was not pleasant. Our room was on the top floor and had to walk 3 flights of steep stairs. I have difficulty walking and have breathing problems. However no other rooms were available. Went out for the evening - when I came back there was an awful sewage smell in my room. My daughter was in tears as she could not face sleeping in the room. I went to complain to the manager. Luckily there was a no show so could move rooms. This was a floor lower, but the room was a lot smaller. Not value for money in my opinion! Breakfast - Not a lot of choice very basic continental and for 10 euros not value for money in my opinion TIP - do not book a twin room. Best to book a double as these are larger. They have two separate mattresses

    Staff were friendly and terrace was was large and heated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, dirty rooms. Broken fan hanging half off the wall. Dirty pillow and unclean toilet. Awful! Had to book somewhere else and they didn’t give us our city tax or parking costs back.

    Location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in the room. Having to pay extra for breakfast.

    Location is perfect for visiting Valkenburg. Having the restaurant and bar on site makes for a fun and lively evening. Rooms are older but very characteristic for the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The room is not fully cleaned. Especially the bed sheet. We saw black things on that. - The room is not big for the Dutch size, but it reasonable for two people to stay.

    - The hotel is located in the central part, perfect place for afternoon tea, good food and shopping! - We stay on the top floor, so it is not that noisy during the night, and you can see the beautiful city view from windows! - Their restaurant is very delicious. You have to try the ribs. - Decent price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was expensive for what was on offer

    fabulous location -can park in nearby centrum car park for £10 per day. Restaurant really atmospheric and great food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would prefer a hotel with parking but that is being picky given its excellent location.

    Excellent location and great room for a good price - would happily stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it was on the second floor, it got pretty warm inside. You could open up some windows, but on the front this was to noisy. The back bedroom was perfect though.

    Very central, spacious room with living area and two separate bedrooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear all voices from the floor /room neighbours, shower, walking etc... No assigned parking.

    Very nice view on the side with the Castle ruins.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not a double bed as stated on the website but two single beds. Not really well suited for couples who like to snuggle during night.

    Very friendly staff, very nice looking room right in the middle of old Valkenburg.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and 5flights of steep stairs to my room. If you have heavy, large luggage request room 1 to 3 on first floor. Wall are thin hence noisy guests are easy to be heard. Very tiny bathroom. Entrance to the hotel blocked by tables and chairs from 7am to 11pm therefore access to the rooms is via the busy steakhouse restaurant.

    Comfy bed, reasonable size room. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation poor nothing to store clothes in no drawers or wardrobe 3 flights of stairs no good for elderly room very small

    Location , they upgraded free of charge

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt like home in this very cosy and spacy hotel (we had booked the room for 6 people). The breakfast buffet option is also worth it. I would highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We payed a bit extra to have a double bed and not 2 single beds in the room. But what we got was 2 single beds that were pushed together and moved apart the moment you sat on them. When we told the staff they said its like that in all rooms. When we showed them our booking they said its a problem of booking.com and they don't have double beds. They said the extra money was for a bigger room and not the bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not a double bed but two singles pushed together. They even have wheels, which makes them separate easily. Not recommended for young couples. The bathroom is very tiny and could use refurbishment. Some noises late evening and early morning because of the restaurant downstairs could be annoying.

    The room is spacious and has a pretty decoration. The mattress and the pillows are very comfortable to sleep on. Having breakfast outside on a sunny morning is very enjoyable. Having a restaurant downstairs is useful when you'd like to enjoy a bottle of white wine in your room, the staff even gave us a wine cooler :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main function of the building is the restaurant. No hotel reception desk- we had to wait for a waitress to deal with us at check-in. No extras in the room such as information leaflets. A bit hard to find, as in pedestrian zone. Car park, although only a few hundred metres away on foot, was a drive around town.

    Everything was fine. Centrally located in old building with a bit of character (narrow staircase to rooms). Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no night reception. Our train was delayed and we arrived later than expected, only to find a closed door, no bell and no one to answer the phone. We had to stay in another hotel for the night. The following day we finally checked-in and only got a minor discount for the first night. The staff was super nice tho, except the owner who was not understanding, and rude to us.

    Well located in the very nice town of Valkenburg

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment is above a restaurant. We never found the sign for the hotel - look for the restaurant instead. Access is through the restaurant. Hotel check-in is in the middle of the restaurant - awkward. It was raining when we arrived and we were soaked. The person checking us in had us (3 adults) stand in the middle of restaurant - dripping wet - while she filled out paperwork and wanted us to pay right then. There was nowhere to put bags to dig out wallets... and meanwhile waiters can't get around us and we're creating a big puddle of water on the floor. It was a mess. The free public parking is street parking and it is not nearby. Sucks when it's raining. We were advised that the motorcycles would probably get stolen if we parked on the street. Even the "private parking space for motorcycles at a surcharge" is not next to the hotel. I couldn't get the wifi working in the apartment. It worked fine in the restaurant downstairs, though. Our room/apartment description said "coffee maker" as an amenity, and while there WAS a coffee maker, there was no coffee. So is that really an amenity? Usually when a hotel lists a coffee maker as an amenity, it's because they also include coffee so that you have what you need to make your own coffee in the morning.

    The food at the restaurant downstairs is amazing. Definitely get the spare ribs. The apartment is huge with great windows and a view of the pedestrian street.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was really small.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff and perfect location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff excellent location and a great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    decor beginning to looking jaded in the apartment, food good in restaurant, but object to paying for sauces, i.e. mayo / tom ketchup.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disposable breakfast packages can be avoided.

    Good breakfast and excellent service!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely rooms and tasty food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Quality restaurant. Excellent Staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kamer was over the top

    De locatie en personeel was prima

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2G&T. €20 drinks far two expensive ,

    Great hotel , right in centre , great parking bedrooms big and lovely great staff 👍👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, noisy, entrance via restaurant , very small room but very cheap

    In the centre of town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have breakfast as it didn't suit us

    Comfortable beds location cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs

    Locstion and eccellent facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy and comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No King size beds.

    Everything is nice and very homey:)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mirror and wardrobe in the bedroom

    Fantastic apartment, excellent location and wonderful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcome at reception was very curt and not so welcoming.

    Great location and apartment was very roomy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very homy, very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best view of the castle in town. Great restaurant!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too small rooms

    Location in the best part of Valkenburg Staff very kind

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive for limited choice

    Duplex apartment was very spacious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    De kamer was te klein

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tourist tax is a bit over the top.

    We really have no complaints. We rented the flat for a day and it was absolutely amazing. I had not told my friends what it looked like and they were absolutely amazed when they entered. Everything from the comfy beds to the friendly people was top. The food is Amazing. We will definitely return. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Treament from the staff when we arrived was rude because we were late (23h). Room is small but bathroom was ok

    Location is good. Breakfast is ok. Bed also good.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep stairs with no elevator

    Beautiful central location in a nice quite village 10 minutes train away from Maastricht, good food, large pedestrian area with lots of reataurants, value for money

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    But the small room is extremly small, without clima, refrigerator, wardrobe. There is no reception only bar. Smell food through window, the stairs ate very steep.

    The location is really good.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy in the weekend. Music outside till 2 a.m. Price at arrival was more expensive than booked. Arranged over there without a problem.

    Nice decoration. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was too warm in the restaurant due to the heater, candles and fireplaces all going at the same time.

    Great location, friendly staff, the best spareribs, basic but comfortable rooms and the restaurant with several fireplaces has a cosy atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was small, very steep narrow stairs, more than one flight, and no wardrobe to hang any clothes, only a rack in a non ventilated bathroom toilet

    Location, restaurant

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    steep stairs. Has safety gates for children

    Room to entertain a small gathering.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of drawers to put clothes

    Everything it was just perfect

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great apartment with plenty of room. Would definitely go again

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The value for money, the room was great and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly, skilled and helpful

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very difficult to locate hotel & parking not easy to find.

    The room was reasonable but had no air conditioning difficult to get to sleep

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no parking and having to walk through restaurant with luggage

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs to apartment were quite steep.

    Convenient train station. Food amazing. Great local beers.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no parking near the hotel. You have to walk in the restaurant to get to your room.

    Designed rooms. Located in the center

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Amazing location right in the center of town. Vibrant atmosphere.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel Valkenhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: