Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Estheréa 4 stars

Singel 303 - 309, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#21 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3603 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The best hotel choice in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast for the price we paid would be better. There was not a great process for early check-in. The people who complained most were given rooms earlier than those who didn’t. We still got a room before official check-in, though.

    Charming hotel in great location. Did not see a better location for a hotel. For European hotels, accommodations were fairly spacious and amenities good. Free espresso machines (24 hour) in lobby was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Very pretty, well-located hotel but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was small and not what I expected from a Deluxe room, although it was nicely decorated and very clean. Despite the hotel being very attractive and centrally-located, I feel it is over-priced and unfortunately a bit of a case of "style over substance".

    Great position overlooking Singel canal and handy for all main attractions. Beautiful public rooms in hotel. Very nice bar with excellent staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful and elegant ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the restaurant is a bit slow.

    Beautiful and elegant ambiance. Staffs are very kind and helpful. Location is walking distance to Dam, Anna Frank house, flower Market, 9th Street and many more attractions. The rooms are gorgeous. The whole hotel has fabulous decorations. There variety of tea flavors, coffee machine and yummy pastries and chocolate at the lobby. The restaurant also has good food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.2
    Over priced hotel with extrakitsch decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although comfortable, the room is tiny and totally over priced. The decoration is close to bad taste. For a 420 euro saturday night stay, we expected more Inadequate environment and careful service. The description of the hotel on the website is too attractive compare to the realty.

    The hotel is well located, a comfortable bed .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, but pity we were unable to get a good night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't get a good night's sleep because of constant movement and thumping in the room above for hours during the nights.

    This is a lovely hotel in a great hotel away from the crowds and on a canal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    The indoor of the hotel is really very beautiful, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor of the hotel is really very beautiful, room was comfortable and clean, very nice set of cosmetics, great view on the canal. Also the localisation was great, to get eg. to the Van Gogh Museum you need only 20 minutes by walk. The staff of the hotel was very helpful, they can arrange restaurant for you, canal cruise, etc. The breakfast is typical, very good but comparing to other this quality hotels nothing special. The only small minus is the lack of chef who could prepare for you eg. the omelette for breakfast what was a great opportunity in other hotels I have been so far but this is only small minus. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Centrally located charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was a little small for our luggage and the bed was small for two tall adults but it was a trade off with the location being so central.

    Close to the main part of town and a short walk to the museums. Very quiet and peaceful. Plenty of places to visit, eat at and shop with a beautiful outlook to the canal. Free coffee, tea and snacks on offer. The bar offers a good selection of small meals if you don’t want to go out to a restaurant. The buffet breakfast was very generous for the price. The foyer is beautifully decorated with fresh flowers and plants and old world crystal chandeliers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    unexpected delights....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    we loved it all....

    it was the most enchanting experience and the staff were wonderfully friendly. the location and our view was top drawer....plus we ran into bill clinton on our evening walk. very wonderful indeed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Superb can't wait to go again we love this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second visit and on both occasions our room wasn't ready and when your tired from travelling you need to rest. This hasn't put us off though as it's easily forgotten once you get into the room

    The staff are friendly and they will go out of there way to help you the room was air conditioned and stocked with superb toiletries the room was also beautifully decorated with lovely soft furnishings, breakfast had so much to choose from and very fresh

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Ideally situated on a quiet canal street to explore...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view, air conditioning wasn’t sufficient when the weather outside was unusually hot in the 30’s.

    Ideally situated on a quiet canal street to explore Amsterdam. Would have liked a room overlooking canal. Would definitely stay there again. Loved the complimentary water, tea, coffee and cookies just inside the hall, so welcome after a very hot day sight seeing!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful decor, great wifi, cleanliness, snacks and drinks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dark as it overlooked tiny courtyard and also quite small but not a real problem as we were in room only to shower and sleep.

    Beautiful decor, great wifi, cleanliness, snacks and drinks offered in lobby throughout the day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience! We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location cannot be better- we were within walking distance of most of the important sights. Our view from our room was absolutely beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    GREAT stay, would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is expensive so walked a block to find a sidewalk cafe. Room was cleaned very late in day.

    Perfect location, beverages and snacks were a nice addition. Very comfortable... beautiful building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, but pity we were unable to get a good night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were woken every night at 2 am by noise (people walking and moving about) from the room overhead. We complained, were advised not to change rooms. The noise happened 3 nights in a row and we were unable to sleep properly. I'm afraid we left this lovely hotel exhausted.

    The hotel is in a great position, central but away from the crowds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Charming, attractive and welcoming hotel in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are on the small side but this is to be expected for a hotel in the heart of a major capital city like Amsterdam. Having said this, the rooms didn't feel claustrophobic and the available space was used intelligently and the rooms were well-designed and very comfortable.

    The hotel is in an excellent location in the heart of town. It is utterly charming, with beautifully designed lobby area, library and refreshments area (loved the constant selection of cakes and biscuits and chocolates at all times!), and individually-designed, unique rooms that are both attractive and modern. Staff were all friendly, cheerful, polite, fun, willing to help at any time and welcoming. Facilities were clean and worked well. Bed was super comfortable and wifi worked well too. LOVED the cool aircon in the rooms at the end of a hot summer's day out and about. Cannot recommend this place highly enough and would come again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful & pleasant staff, great location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very helpful & pleasant staff, great location overlooking the canal. Access to restaurants & bars nearby. Would fully recommend this hotel and would return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Decor absolutely magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Changing facilities for people who have checked out are downstairs - this means having to carry your luggage down a very narrow, steep set of stairs to the the restrooms to get changed .

    Decor absolutely magnificent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    this hotel was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this hotel was in a great location. it’s down the street or around the corner from everything you’ll ever need. the rooms are absolutely beautiful and breathtaking, the facilities are clean and the staff is absolutely amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Our stay was a most enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have rather had an exterior window than an interior atrium

    The interior was richly appointed without being stuffy. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was ideal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was fantastic, snacks delicious. Amazing location! I had no idea how wonderful it would be. Hope to go back some day. Extremely helpful staff, especially Martin.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful time overall, but miserable restaurant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at this hotel during the weekend of our wedding. My bride and the bridesmaids were refused lunch service at the restaurant during the service hours listed on the lunch menu, despite the restaurant staff visibly eating behind the counter. When the maid of honour explained (in perfect Dutch) that they only had an hour to eat before leaving for the ceremony (and even when presented with a Menu), the employee responded "We don't serve lunch. Get takeout if you're that hungry". I'm used to "Amsterdam service" after a few years of living here, but this was an appalling new low and a grotesque misrepresentation of the otherwise excellent service from every other department in this otherwise fine hotel.

    The room was decadently comfortable and the (non-diningroom) staff were friendly, helpful, resourceful, and extremely professional. You could not ask for a better location from which to explore Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel Estherea I can recommend, bedrooms are amazing.The reception and sofa areas are fabulous, the bar area décor is very different but works so well, you can tell this hotel is well loved and well cared for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Superb location, staff and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have any issues at all with the hotel or it's staff. One of the elevators was not working so had to use a smaller secondary elevator instead which meant multiple trips to load luggage.

    Hotel has a great location close to shops, restaurants etc. The staff were excellent, offering thoughtful assistance in a pleasant professional manner. The room was large and the bathroom was superb. A fantastic addition was a supplied mobile phone in the room that could be used for free, local European calls and had 4g data package for you to use outside of the hotel. A big plus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that I was quoted one price and charged another, no mention of resort tax and I paid in euros and when I checked my bank statement they had charged me in sterling so I payed over the odds and nobody got back to me when I emailed the hotel.

    Lovely hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location but service needs to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness should be improved (I found a used soap in the bathroom from the previous guest). Carpet in the room looks very old and stained. Stuff is polite but one can see they are tired with tourists and do not genuinely care about guests. Some things could be improved. For example, when the bill is ready, to offer an envelop to put it inside rather than just leave it at the reception desk. Calling a female guest "miss" without surname is frankly impolite. Complementary coffee at reception is excellent; it may compensate for the fact that there is no tea facility in the room (only a coffee machine to make an espresso). For those who like tea, keep in mind that the hotel does not provide any kettle and you won't be able to make it in your room, you will need to go down to reception where tea is offered in the afternoon (there is no tea in the morning).

    The hotel is well located to go to any attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    My second stay at this hotel was as delightful as the first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever - other than the price, which I consider to be well worth it for a treat.

    My second stay at this hotel was as delightful as the first. What a lovely, opulent hotel :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Totally perfect stay in a beautiful city.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing! Warning, the bathroom is tiny (but totally functional with lovely "products").

    Best location. Gorgeous room (go for the canal view room-worth it). Charming warm atmosphere, with beautiful common areas with "on tap" coffee/hot chocolate and yummy snacks. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely boutique hotel, great location, friendly staff, pleasant room and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the woodwork needed painting in our room - skirting boards. Although happy with the size, Canal room an expensive upgrade in my opinion. More vegan / non dairy options on breakfast buffet would have helped.

    Pleasant, clean, comfortable well equipped room with nice view of leafy canal. Free use of a mobile phone, but beware privacy terms. L'Occitane products great. Nice decor throughout hotel with complimentary coffees, teas and waters. My husband was very pleased with the hotel and room. Vegan options on bar menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in central Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top-notch service: attentive, friendly, helpful, responsive (before and during stay). Appreciated the unexpected little gift for my mother’s birthday. Beautiful premises: very elegant, clean, stylish, charming, a perfect retreat in downtown Amsterdam Rooms are comfortable and well-furnished. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Hotel worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was ce tally located, the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself had many amenities that are not offered elsewhere. Will definitely stay there my next visit. I definitely recommend this hotel for your next stay in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel...a hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything about it!

    Extraordinary hotel! My daughter & I were lucky enough to stay at this property. The staff was absolutely delightful & beautiful! The hotel is perfect in every way. The décor is outstanding, snacks are amazing and abundant. Hotel is in a perfect location and close to everything you could want. They knew we were celebrating my daughters 21st birthday and when we arrived they had a box of chocolates on the bed for her with a hand written birthday wish! The young ladies at the front desk are without a doubt the most favorite part of our stay. Beds were very comfortable and yes...I would go back there and stay there in a minute if I could. Thank you for staffing such lovely young ladies. It was just amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Small room; nice details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 518 is small and so is the bathroom. Two small doors into the bathroom and one hits the sink so it cannot open properly. Being an old building, layout of the rooms differs substantially. Larger rooms with a view may be much nicer. Bathtub bottom could use some scrubbing or replacement. Corridors could use some freshening up. Breakfast should be included for the price.

    Self service coffee machines in the lobby provide good coffee and tea 24 hrs a day. Flavored waters and cookies in the afternoon are a nice perk. Lobby decorations provide warm touch of elegance. Nice bathroom toiletries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Stylish and friendly hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Classic building with classy decor Stylish bedroom with canal view Location near old town and "nine streets" Extremely helpful staff on front desk, gave great advice on sight seeing options and restaurants High quality bikes for rent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    We loved everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this hotel...comfortable, quaint, hot showers and comfortable beds. The location couldn’t have been any better, we will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As information—FrontDesk check in will ask to photocopy passports for international travelers (a common, not universal practice among hotels. )

    Location is exceptional. Hospitality (coffee, treats) in lobby is a nice feature. Interior design is eclectic. WiFi. Booking tours, reservations w FrontDesk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly laidback city, which needs several trips to fully appreciate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi drivers don’t like taking people from the railway station to the hotel, so we ended up struggling with our huge suitcases (start of 3 week trip). Insist taxi takes you to hotel as too far to walk with suitcases. Without luggage it’s a new vehicle walk.

    The staff are super friendly. We were asking a few questions about the local spirit Jenever and the bad staff were really informative (yes it’s well worth trying). In the little room by the bar are free coffee and yummy snacks. We weren’t going to bother with h breakfast, but it was only €10 per person & a great selection. The location is also perfect. We spent most of the time wandering the quieter Jordann area close to the hotel. We’ll definitely return to Amsterdam & the Hotel Estherea!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place to stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a separate room for your toilet and it is basically the size of a broom closet. Noise from the street was could be heard very easily. Mini fridge doesn't really work.

    The hotel smelled amazing and looks amazing. Several bars, restaurants, cafes near by. Great coffee and water bar in the lobby. Really nice shower and bathtub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    We loved this hotel! Very close to cafe's and shopping in the heart of the canals!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The refrigerator was not cold.

    The decor of this hotel was magical. Every detail made it feel like you were on vacation in a wonderful place far away! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    If only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all perfect :-)

    This was our second stay at this lovely hotel and we absolutely loved it just as much this time around. Staff, rooms and everything they do here is perfect. Lovely thoughtful touches and beautiful decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing hotel, exceptional staff and great location. A lot of little extras given by the hotel made the stay even more exceptional. Will definitely be returning in the future and would highly recommend 👍👍👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Noisy & stressful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a room directly next door to two other rooms undergoing major renovations- men shovelling debris & transporting out in plastic bins past our door - also using pneumatic drills all day. They charged us €200! No forewarning about the noise & disruption - when we first complained about the noise the receptionist said it was the hotel next door & that they had no control - however later when we could stand the drilling no longer - we went downstairs to ask for a refund- a different receptionist told us it was the two rooms directly next to ours. Manager had no hesitation in giving us a full refund & offered to help us find another hotel. They waived the price of the two beers we’d had.

    Nice enough hotel with friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Spectacular old-world opulence, charm & service with every modern convenience!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a thing. Seriously.

    Everything about this boutique hotel was top notch - the beautiful decor took my breath away - for that reason alone I’d come back. However the quality of food and bar, friendliness and attentiveness of staff, cold drink counter, coffee/tea bar and L’occitane Toiletries are all five star.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Really good location. Easy to walk to Museums etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not what I had booked and there was trouble with the air conditioning. Although the staff tried to resolve the issues immediately they unfortunately were unsuccessful.

    The staff is incredible! They were eager and always available to help with any requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    We did not require parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not require parking. We very much enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great. Restaurants nearby. Enjoyed the teas and treats. Liked the atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Extra comfortable and convenient place to stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome staff...very helpful. Super pleasant room, nice canal view, very comfortable bed. Enjoyed the small bar/restaurant...nice place to relax after walking all day. Surprised that they gave me use of a hotel cell phone with free internet...used google maps to get around the city and internet to look up information. Perfect location. Definitely would return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location and excellent service... wonderful botique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opt for a canal facing room...the others, while nice and sunny, look into each other

    Excellent service and wonderful location. Everyone was more than willing to help with directions, sights to see and offer multiple doses of positive energy. Very quaint botique hotel with chandeliers galore and no corner untouched. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One evening, I requested to make a reservation for 3 hotel bikes for the next morning, and one guy at the reception (not Martin ;-)) told me I did not need to reserve them as there were plenty of bikes available and there would be no problem at all. I did insist but he was so assertive that I ended up thinking I should trust him... The next morning, when we showed up to get the bikes, we were told there were no bikes available! Of course!!! It was a real disappointment as the weather was beautiful and we really wanted to test the true Amsterdam biking spirit! What a shame!

    I loved the charm of the hotel and the great location. The lobby and salons around it are very welcoming, warm and comfortable, and you can grab coffee, tea, cookies whenever you want which makes you feel at home. Lovely! A special mention to Martin at the reception, who gave us a wonderful welcome, and whose professionalism, care and dedication made our stay truly special! His recommendations for restaurants were always perfect and well suited! You can see Martin loves his job and goes the extra mile to help and please hotel guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, elegant hotel which was well placed to reach main attractions easily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from the coffee shop below our room.

    Being able to help yourself to non alcoholic drinks throughout the day and cakes in the afternoons. A lovely touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, friendly and helpful staff in a great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    The accommodation is beautiful and immaculately clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the little extras like free hot and cold beverages and snacks make this a perfect place to stay when in Amsterdam. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and lovely public areas and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and lovely public areas and rooms. Not inexpensive but greatly enjoyed it. Very hospitable feeling. We were upgraded unexpectedly to a suite, so we're delighted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant only after getting used to the shortcomings of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythings like coffee maker, drinking glasses , mineral water were placed on the dressing table. There is no place to do office work.

    The beds were confortable but the room a bit too small and there were no drawers to place things like medicine tablets and so on. There was no writing table. The corridors outside the rooms are dark and looked not clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    It was very very good. thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar service slow. Bar tender not expert in mixing cocktails. martini diluted because too long with ice

    I did not have breakfasts in the hotel. It looked crowded.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    This hotel made our stay in Amsterdam extra special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    I liked the whole atmosphere of the hotel it was beautiful. It’s decoration is eclectic and quirky but done absolutely stunningly. The location is a lovely part of Amsterdam, I loved the smell of the hotel too, I’ve never been in a hotel that smelt so lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent high quality hotel for a few days seeing the sights of Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a serious dislike - but the breakfast area is quite small, and the self-serve arrangement can be a bit chaotic and crowded if you hit a busy time.

    Great central canalside location. Excellent and very helpful staff. The decor is pleasantly quirky, which adds to the hotel's charm. Many good eating places nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    A hidden pearl!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This eclectic stile hotel is full with life and surprises that are endless! Every corner is a wonder and place to enjoy! Nothing in this hotel can be called ordinary! So nice, so exciting!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    We would definitely be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was not very good. Our room was a little cramped but I appreciate it was a holiday weekend and we booked relatively late.

    Love the décor!! Gorgeous! And the bar was lovely in the evening for late evening drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Our now favorite hotel in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing applies here.

    This hotel is gorgeous in all aspects - room, bar area and lounge. The staff was exceptional in friendliness, patience, and for advice. This is now my favorite hotel in Europe. Check out the fresh flowers in the lobby. Wow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Perfect. Nothing we can think of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a marvellous property. Elegant with warmth. Very friendly “happy to help” staff. Thoughtful amenities such as beautifully presented table with cookies water hot drinks in alcove iof lobby, library for relaxation Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotels; the staff went out of their way to please us. They were very cheerful and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful — we offered them some challenges . Injured on a bicycle. Trying to find out when our river cruise was leaving and where . Staff really went out of their way to help us !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    A luxurious stay in the picturesque heart of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    E-mail communications from the hotel were in Dutch - thank goodness for Google Translate! The hotel doesn't have a proper restaurant of its own, so breakfast time is crowded and busy, and the opportunity to have a stress-free eat in was missed. Bar food was very good, though.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful; decor was fabulous; little extras like free lemon juice and biscuits in the rest area just back from reception. The rooms were well appointed with mini-fridge and complimentary water; wi-fi worked throughout. Nice lounge and library. Excellent location in the heart of Amsterdam, overlooking canal, good access to restaurants and trams. Museums a brisk walk away through fascinating shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, in a lovely, quiet neighborhood, right on the Singel canal yet it was just a short walk to the 9 streets, Spui and the Dam shopping areas. My room faced the canal with a bank of windows the length of the room and was nicely furnished. The bed had a good quality mattress which was really comfortable. There was loose leaf tea and coffee in the lobby along with a changing assortment of cookies and chocolates. The public areas of the hotel are beautifully decorated and full of fresh flowers. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and the coffee/tea station with cakes and sweets, which was available all day for free, was excellent. Really nice to be able to sit in foyer with a nice cup of coffee etc. Breakfast was also lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    We had a wonderful stay in hotel estherea, will definitely stay here when we come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can hear sounds when someone is moving from the other room

    I like that the rooms are unique, homey and gives us a taste of Amsterdam. We had the room with view of the canal. It is perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good. Only wish we had 519 both nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor suite.

    The first night we were given a ground floor suite with no windows and no natural light. We asked to be moved. Staff were very obliging and said we couldn’t be moved immediately but we were given room 5/19 the next day which was superb. Will ask to stay here next visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is too ornate and overbearing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is too ornate and overbearing. The wall paper in the bedroom made me feel too claustrophobic. Although the actual layout, bed etc were fine I felt relieved each time I left the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Grand and cosy rooms by the canal in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good choice and yummy cookies and biscuits provided at the hotel lobby for all guest. The room was grand and cosy. Central location on a quieter canal strip makes my stay even more pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    A thoroughly enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to be able to have lunch in the bar as they could provide room service at this time but not bar snacks until 5.00.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Perfect central location but still peaceful. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate was a very good idea and was very popular with my teenagers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in the most perfect location in a laid back liberal city .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the morning woke us up . The drilling apparently was due to renovations in the hotel next door ! Not what you expect for the price I paid but I appreciate these things do happen sometimes . I reported the matter to ensure other guests did not have to endure this occurrence first thing .

    We received an upgrade to a suite , it was a lovely surprise . The barstaff made great cocktails . The complimentary refreshments were of a high standard and plentiful always. The staff were very friendly . The in room phone was a perfect gadget that made seeing Amsterdam so easy . The bar snacks were tasty . Perfect total in a perfect location . Thank you to all .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    I was at this hotel in June 2017 and returned in April 2018.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was at this hotel in June 2017 and returned in April 2018. There were a number of improvements the hotel had made, all with the comforts of the guests in mind. I wish there was a clone of this hotel everywhere i travel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    A great place to stay for a romantic break especially for us celebrating our wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the attic bedroom and our we knocked our head a few times on the eaves of the roof when sitting up in bed.

    The bed and the pillows were really comfortable.The shower was great it was big .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant. Highly recommended. Will definitely use the hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could say I didn’t like was that our room (109) was next to a cupboard where towels, dressing gowns etc were stored. So although the cleaners were not noisy you could hear them in a morning outside our door. Not great if you want a lie in. It really is a minimal issue but the only bad thing I could think of!

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful, stunning chandeliers in reception area. Very clean. Bed comfy. Good breakfast. Staff all very friendly & helpful. Free Hot drinks all day, along with biscuits, cakes & sweets! Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    A lovely way to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The twin room was smaller than I was expecting. The room was far too warm and we had to use the air conditioning to cool it, this meant a slight noise all night.

    Excellent location, lovely staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    highly surprised and exceeded any expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had to leave and go back home

    breakfast, snacks and tea availability, friendliness and helpfulness and pleasent staff,ambiance of hotel, hotel location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Charming little hotel in a charming area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not very large, but the hotel has done the best they could to utilize the space well.

    Very friendly staff and excellent location. The Hotel takes very good care of details and esthetics. Freshly cut bouquets all around the common areas and beautiful antiques, chandeliers, furnishings in the common areas. Complimentary refreshments in the lobby area with a fire place was well appreciated. The room was comfortably furnished, utilizing the small space well, and clean. The hotel rents out a nice scooter, which is quite handy for discovering the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    The decoration of the hotel is just fantastic, the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Even with a non smoking policy our room smell like an ashtray when we arrived and during most of the stay. I found rest of marihuana cigarets in the room ( not really nice when you travel with small kids ) and they didn't vacuum the carpet during our whole stay.

    The decoration of the hotel is just fantastic, the location is great and the staff is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Estheréa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: