Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Familie Hotel Alkmaar

Payglop 17-19, 1811 HM Alkmaar, Netherlands

#18 of 25 hotels in Alkmaar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough information to get to the hotel by car because there is not a clear sign in the street and streets in Alkmaar are almost all for pedestrians so you have to be a local or have indications before getting there with your bags. There are two stairs to get to the swcond and third floor that are like emergency stairs that are difficult for seniors with luggage. If some rooms have to share bathroom facilities, be clear what type of room is chosen before payment/reservation is done.

    Staff is really helpful with picking up luggage and guiding you to the parking lot after you got there or call. Location is 2 blocks from cheese market and Alkmaar is really wonderful with its small pedestrian streets and canals. Apartment upgrade after extra payment for not wanting to share toilet is comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom and toilet one separate levels. Noisy through the day. Room not very sound proof.

    Early check in. Central location. Welcoming hosts, Bob and Tiny.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be aware the bathroom and toilet are shared. All very clean though and no shortage of hot water 🚿

    Great friendly people, great location and super value. Thanks 🙏

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's toilet and bathroom is shared between the four tentacle rooms which sometimes caused a wait on those rooms to get free again. It's not terribly uncomfortable but would have been nice to know in advance.

    Being afamily owned business the owner was always assumed for inquiries or even just a friendly greeting. The rooms and hotel was well cleaned and maintained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 3-bed room itself did not correspond to the pictures shown in booking.com when the reservation was made. The pictures were wonderful, but the room was kind of 2nd class apartment. The room was in a groundfloor, not very spacy, definately not for a more than 1 night. The room was quite cold (even though the temperature was increased). You could not walk without shoes as the floor was very cold. I cannot imagine to stay there during winter. Dirty walls. Quite tough to find the address of the hotel (even 2 GPS navis did not find it).

    Helpful host of the apartment. Good communication before and during the stay with the host.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment de Accijnstoren
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect help. Individual parking space. Just call them if you can't find the house. They will find you and lead you to the place. The host carried my heavy luggage to the 2nd. floor (actually the 3rd. floor defined in Asian way). Not far from the Cheese market.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was cold

    The apartment has a perfect location - close to all the interesting places of Alkmaar, in the city centre. There is a nice table with chairs and lights outdoor. All the necessary equipment for cooking is in the kinchen inside the apartment. The big table in the centre of the room, the large bed, and the shower are very comfortable. The hosts were very hospitable and friendly, they told us a lot of interesting things about Alkmaar and its surroundings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and toilet were shared between a couple of rooms, which means taking turns and less privacy. Also the central heating did not heat the entire room, so it was a bit chilly in the room (February). Blankets on the bed were a bit thin for the time of year too. Due to the fact that the hotel accomodates groups of people in appartments, it can be a bit noisy.

    The staff was very friendly (we were welcomed with complementary coffee and a friendly chat) and the room was very light and based in the centre of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this place feels right, and I very much enjoy the room, the hosts, the location and the family feeling. Excellent choice to book your stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom upstairs, shared old and not clean toilet next to the kitchen and my room where you can hear all the noise coming from neighbouring rooms plus smell coming from the old kitchen. We did not received bathrobes, so we did not use showers - got only two small and black towels which is rather unusual in hotels. The room was quite damaged and definitely needed renovation before you call it a hotel room and invite guests inside. One bed was really uncomfortable and we hardly slept at night because of this awful accommodation (noise and general discomfort). I can call it the worst place I have ever stayed. The pictures on the Booking.com page fake what the place really looks like and do not show all of it. I claimed my money back 3 weeks ago because of the low standard and getting a smaller double room instead of the 3-bedded one I had booked and paid for. Because of the lack of at least an appology letter for this situation from booking.com, I have decided to write this opinion here and show real pictures from the place called a family hotel. I am really sorry we had to stay here even for one night and I would rather not have written this opinion.

    The owner's smile.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives, we loved this place. A bit pricey, but price absolutely comes with the superb quality.

    The apartment is simply amazing, super beautiful, very comfortable, nice, spacious, top class! There is a nice, fully equipped kitchen, a very large living room, two nice and clean bedrooms, a super rooftop balcony... Way better than expected. The location is just the old city of Alkmaar, super beautiful also. The host is very kind, flexible. We were very satisfied.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment de Accijnstoren
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could walk 50m from our doorway and we were at the cheese markets. Being in the middle of such an interesting city made our trip! Will be planning at least 2 days next time!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very friendly. Our room was in ground floor. It was small and dark, like a room in basement. A chair was broken. Very different than the beautiful pictures in booking com. A drainage pipe from upper toilet was located near our bedroom and I heard sounds of water drain from upper toilet in night. The hotel had parking place but I had to pay additional 15 euros for the parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither window latch broken not working and outer door could not shut securely ,fire alarm not working .shared toilet down steep stairs beyond kitchen.shared bathroom only one Light in 4 working but flickering.extremely poor value for money .Online photos give very miss leading impression.Not given Internet connection.

    The sheets where clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment de Accijnstoren
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no hair dryer, tissue, lift is not usable, need to walk fire safety staircase which is not suitcase friendly at all, glasses are dirty, holes in the bathroom

    private bathroom, sharing kitchen and living room, clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking situation was very confusing both for our arrival and our departure. We also requested an early check-in for noon but when we arrived at noon we were told our room was not ready and check-in was not until 2pm. Room was very clean but it looked like it was still being renovated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bob the owner is bad person , they stole money from us , He entered the room while we slept with our girfriends without permission and made a lot of noise , he asked for higher price than the price here . He did not give us receipt for the extra money we payed. He lied , most of the details in the ad is wrong He was also a racist

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on 1st floor. Commun toilet on the basement through a kitchen area and a bathroom on 2nd floor shared with 2 other rooms. A disgrace and 93 euros plus 15 euros to park our car in the hotel's space, no tea or coffee facilities and no breakfast. A disaster!

    The location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walk to the rooms from the hotel entrance is very dark at night, can be difficult if you've a few drinks!

    Great Location, hidden right in the middle of Alkmaar! Very comfy beds! Excellent room facilities.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment de Accijnstoren
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable accommodation in the center of town. Friendly owners and good value for money. Good choice when traveling on a budget or with large group of friends.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 1 key per room provided, meant some late night access issues for party goers! Shared bathroom and shower facilities could be a problem for some visitors.

    Outstanding welcome and friendliness - real warmth and gave the impression that any request could be handled with charm and willingness. Location could not be better - right in the centre of this beautiful city. Excellent value, budget accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hairdryer :~(

    The accommodation was excellent, we were upgraded to a larger apartment as we were only there for 1 day. The owners made us feel very welcome, greeting me by my first name and going out of there way to help. Would go back, we even had a roof terrace it was fantastic.l

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment de Accijnstoren
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find the place- especially at night. Many stairs, toilets and shower outside the room- not very convenient.

    The owners are very kind and helpful. Location is great. Room- large and clean. Free WI FI. Nice bakery outside the hotel. Owner helped us with luggage and parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment de Accijnstoren
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the couch was tattered and bits were left on our clothes. The skylight blinds half fell off. Sharing a kitchen is not ideal. Going up two flights of stairs was not mentioned in the ad. The pictures in the ad looked better than the reality.

    The owners were very helpful in getting us settled.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners of this hotel were the most lovely couple always a smile and so very helpful and it was right in the centre of the most stunning town where you could sit out on the sun terrace of the morning with a coffee and hear the beautiful melodies from the cheese meuseum and the big church it was one place that I would call home from home and I can't wait to visit again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice place right at the heart of the city. Staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The public areas in the outside are perfect to have a meal. Great option for a low budget traveler or just for who searches a simple and friendly place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment de Waagtoren
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved its location in the old town part of Alkmaar very close to cheese markets and restaurants. Beautiful town and spacious apartment. Hosts were helpful ! Highly recommend a visit to Alkmaar if in holland !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No attached bathrome

    Staf

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downtown Alkmaar ,Great owner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the heart of Alkmaar, staff were lovely and the room was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complicated high steps up to the apartment.

    Large rooms. Large living room - kitchen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, great location and lovely room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a room last minute but it was no problem at all. Very friendly folks and an authentic stay in the very heart of Alkmaar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning - room pic is defiantly not same in booking

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night

    is not easy to find the Hotel, but the People around there were wery friendly.

    the Location in the middle of the historic town of alkmaar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment de Accijnstoren
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!

    Really lovely place! Quiet and comfortable! People were so nice!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet, good sleep. Fully equipped kitchen, coffee-maker and coffee and tee available. Everything nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    They canceled my booking without any refund.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived unexpectedly very late and was excellently cared for. Nice, big room. Very cool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment de Accijnstoren
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift and need to climb two staircase in order to go family room

    comfortable place, and very friendly host, he even help us to move luggages.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Rooms Molen van Piet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Birds making noise whole night, but it is not hotel fault.

    Bob owner is most polite person ever meet. Brekfast was super.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kitchens could be a little cleaner and equipment showing signs of fatique in particular the coffeemaker.

    Owner very nice and talkative. Room (downstairs)during my second stay was much nicer with attached bathroom and kitchenette than during my first stay. Brought in food from the nearby Azie restaurant (good quality Chinese/Indonesian food and affordable in expensive Holland) and watched the Dutch FA Cup final in my room. Location in the heart of Alkmaar near cheese market, a city where I also lived for a short spell. Will come back to this place.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. The place was perfect and an amazing value.

    The place is located at the very center of Alkmaar's old town and shopping/recreational area. It's clean, has everything anyone would need and the staff is as nice as can be found.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    You could not get any closer to the centre of the city if you tried. Rooms were lovely and great value and our hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful. We had a great time and would love to stay again.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately it's a smoke-free structure, the trip outside in the cold wasn't always pleasant. We couldn't find any hairdryer, and the little explanation about the check out created a bit of confusion which turned out to be a 20min delay on our trip.

    Lovely apartment, 15min walk from the station, fully furnished with almost everything one might need when traveling, very cozy. Also perfect location, literally one step away from the city center, in between of two shopping streets.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing bad but be aware the stairs could be steep for some people.

    The owner was very friendly. Met us to show where the parking was and carried our bags to the apartment. The location was perfect with bars, cafes and the cheese market on your doorstep. On leaving the owner carried our bags to the car as well. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work at all, very hot room, aircon didn't stay on. No channels on TV only 3 DVDs provided. Not what we were expecting for the price

    Comfortable and clean, spacious room, very nice host, helpful with parking

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owner was awful!!! Rud!! The parking was far away! We had been together with another cople without let usbknow beafore. Same kitchen same bath it was very unconvinon!! We were churched 25€ for beeing late iven that we let the place know about it and no where was written that someone will churge us for it. The only answer we got is go speek with booking so that what im doing.

    Nothing!!!!#

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were steps to the apartment very high steps, it was very dangerous and hard to get there . no one told us that if our flight is late and the the check in is after 8 pm so we will be pay 25 euro more. The owner was so horrible and put us at the same apartment with more 2 cupple without let us know at advance . Also when we ask help with the bags he told us that we are lazy and for the end he told us that we can complaind at booking. I will never return there!!

    Nothing!!!!

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Waagtoren carillon bells can be a bit noisy at night especially if you are a light sleeper No free parking

    Very pleasant owner Nice city Good range of bars and restaurants Close to the centre

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Spoilt by a couple of inconsiderate people who were very noisy during the night. Some very steep stairs.

    Friendly owner who could not do enough to help.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Internet conection not posible,i payd for brekfast but not have.PROBLEM With parking place .only 2 space frome pension.

    It was nice becouse we was 2 people alone in 3 rooms with only 1 bathroom,and becouse we find parking place.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    rear door non-hotel like entrance and communal showers and toilet being downstairs. Over priced for what it had to offer

    location being smack in the middle of Alkmaar , personnel was very nice

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was a nespresso machine in the kitchenette, but no coffee pads.

    Friendly owner drove from his home to open the door even if we we're quite late in the evening and made a last minute booking. Just a good last minute night sleep :)

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Full of young people, I couldn't sleep because of their noise. Also it took me a long time to take a bath, because there's only on shower on the hotel.

    Near to the center, with all kind of restaurants only one block away. The train station is only 15 min by walk. They have a nice kitchen with everything that you may need.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shades kept falling down in the small room, they were going to fix it though!

    Owners were really nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and the location of the accomodation is in the middle of Alkmaar centre in front of a nice bakery. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was no ariel for the television but that was the only fault.

    Was very pleased with the hotel and the staff. Felt very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little difficult to find, but good sign on the street

    Extremely helpful staff, very close to the cheese market.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Couple

    This place is convenient to everywhere

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    not good sleep ,very loud street

    in centrum of alkmaar

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived v wet on bikes, the host gave us drying racks and was v helpful

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisie , dirty, uncorfortable . Only ONE small bathroom ONE square meter. Very bad experience

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This place was right in the city centre. Fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    runs by family members , very nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shared toilet and bathroom, no free wifi

    Location was nice. Room also.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff Great location in the center

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location! Very near to the cheese market and Alkmaar old town

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wc was separeted..

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Familie Hotel Alkmaar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: