Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Griffier 3 stars

Broekhem 78, 6301 HK Valkenburg, Netherlands

#22 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 601 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Very clean rooms and staff was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little dated decor, no Air Con so when window open could hear level crossing at night when train goes by. Breakfast, not that much variety.

    Very clean rooms and staff was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Happy Andre Rieu Visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside of checkin/out hours, no staff or access to hotel, is available! No credit cards, visa or MasterCard, is accepted. Cash or local Atm card only.

    Very polite and pleasant staff, spoke English and had some knowledge of the area. Room had a view and was clean and comfy. We asked for a floor fan as it was hot those days. Breakfast was fresh, varied and plentiful. Would go again. Easy to get to and from Maastricht by bus (to door) or train station 850m away, easy walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In basic room, there was no wardrobe to hang clothes, just a suitcase holder, so had to live out of suitcase, not a problem. But the large room has everything that is needed, so would suggest booking that if available.

    Excellent location, within 30 minutes stroll of town centre, close to train station, easy to get to most locations by train and reasonably priced, bus stop directly outside. Coffee on tap and excellent, very good breakfast with plenty of choice. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    As Arnie said “I’ll be Back”
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being picky it could of done with AC as it was a really warm weekend but they did supply fans

    Location, Rooms, Showers and Staff were all excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only accept Maestro - neither Visa nor Mastercard. Super hot bedroom. Very small bedroom and super noisy - could hear everything that was going on in the corridor and in the adjacent room. 15-20 min walking to the centre.

    Good breakfast. Nice staff. Very good parking, with closed garage for motorcycle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a bit small

    Within walking distance of city center (1 km), clean room, decent breakfast, friendly and helpfull host at the front desk and it has secure bicycle parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay that met our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had two rooms, but one was looking at street which was a little bit noisy over night. The other room was quiet.

    Pleasant stay at hotel with extremely nice hosts. Hotel had a nice garden and a large parking lot. Clean rooms and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.2
    NO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    how can you call it a 3 stars hotel? could be also an economic room but someone has to pay attention to the quality and the standards... (hopefully the standard rooms are better)

    uhm... maybe only the breakfast?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    parking and bedroom was clean, comfortable bed, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom old fashion, little bathroom, thermostat on the shower not working, bathroom glass broken. breakfast nothing of special.

    parking and bedroom was clean, comfortable bed, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Super value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to dislike.

    The location into town and transport was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and the showers always had hot water and very powerful. Breakfast was very nicely laid out and plenty to choose from, freshly prepared every morning. A very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.8
    The lounge area around the reception has been renewed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are completely dated, surely not touched since '70"s, at least! Squicky, washed out floors, torn curtains, installation, light switches and electronic devices all old and dated. Smells like a house that has been neglected for fourty years. Old towels, thin and hard. The hotel is on the busy road, no insulation, we couldn't sleep until 3 am from the traffic noise that was coming from the outside. Terrible!!! You can also hear every word people from other rooms are saying. Squicky floors in the halls, so you will be woken up in the morning from the other guests walking around. The heating switches off durung the night, so the room gets really cold! The bathroom is dated and so small, that it hardly fits one person. The sink is miniature, you can hardly close the door behind you, you keep on hitting either the toilette or the shower. The aircon in the toillette makes so much noise, that you can't use the bathroom without waking up your entourage. There is no stuff available during the night, no stuff during the breakfast, tables stay dirty from the other guests. Super unprofessional.The worse hotel I have ever been in. Unbelievable that something in this condition is being rented iout. Don't go to this hotel!!!

    The lounge area around the reception has been renewed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    clean , refurbished ,accommodation without frills, great for short stays ,great caring staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    in room lighting not great, one ceiling light not strong enough [ 2 bed side lamps not compensating] breakfast tea not strong enough for british tastes [ but then dutch tea is far weaker] why not add a 'hospitality tray ' in each room [ coffee/ tea/making facilities]

    Very Friendly reception overall and easy going 'everything is possible' during our stay.cleanliness and staff friendliness very good, with all staff happy to please and talkative. our room[no 11] did have great dark curtains, on good tracks, and kept the room dark, allowing for good sleep.Also good mattresses and duvet bedding. We asked for the arrival night 'regional dinner'' and enjoyed the regional specials on offer,don't miss it. great continental breakfast selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    will not accept mastercard or visa but they are accepted anywhere in the world except this hotel and local shops. very very disappointed and probably won't go again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Quiet location on city center walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was brand new, but water was leaking on the entire floor (within bathroom, not bedroom). However, on check-out we shared this experience and the owners indicated that this will be looked into.

    Location near a main road (without noisy traffic though) on walking distance from the city center and main tourist attractions. Parking spots available at the hotel; alternative is to park on the road (free during evening / night).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.8
    Family-run hotel at its finest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some minor points that could be improved (but did not really make my stay less enjoyable): - There is no WiFi installed for the rooms (to my knowledge). There is free WiFi in the dining area on the ground floor, so you will need to check whether you will be able to get WiFi in your room (lucky for me I did get WiFi signal in my room). - Breakfast starts at 8am, which was unfortunate for one of the days in which I needed to leave early. There was a possibility to make different arrangement, and the staff were kind enough to ask me whether the breakfast times were OK for me (I declined to make other arrangements, since I had other plans). - There is no 'late-night' bar at the hotel. You can buy drinks at the reception until 10pm, when the reception closes. This did not affect me, but had the option been there it would have been much better.

    Definitely somewhere I would stay again. The hotel itself is quaint, and has a cozy feel to it. The location of the hotel is perfect, just 10 minutes on foot from Valkenburg Station, and about 10-15 minutes on foot from the city centre. The proximity to the train station was great, since Valkenburg is only 15 minutes by train from Maastricht. The staff were really welcoming and helpful. Even before I arrived, they were ready to answer any questions I had. Their hospitality really made me feel welcome during my entire stay. The breakfast in the morning had a reasonable assortment to choose from. After breakfast, the dining area becomes a semi-living room, where you can just relax and interact with other guests. You can also enjoy a cup of coffee or tea during the reception's opening hours. If you're looking for a nice hotel experience that's different from your traditional hotel chain, I would definitely recommend this place. It's extremely reasonably priced, and perfect for whether you're visiting Maastricht or Valkenburg.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    8.3
    Convenient and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't know that the bill had to be paid in cash. Good thing we had enough money on us!

    Windows opened. Breakfast was good. Staff was very nice. Has an elevator.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.3
    Reasonable and reliable accommodation in Valkenburg
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about. Where noisy neighbours might have been a problem, all guests showed plenteous consideration for everyone else. The main road can be noisy, but that's more an issue for the town authorities.

    For the price (and possibility to make a reservation without having a certain amount of money frozen by merciless Dutch proprietors) this was a very pleasant and comfortable place to stay in. Easy and convenient access to both the town centre and railway station. The room, with a daily room service, was immaculately kept. Generous tv access to French and British as well as local, Belgian, Dutch and German stations. Free breakfast turned out to be perfectly nutritional continental, with well-made, good quality coffee. Generous ground floor bar and all-day seating area, with access to a garden.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    There are some free hot beverages available for the guests.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only good WiFi at the reception, but not in the room

    There are some free hot beverages available for the guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    The time we there was lovely . we recomment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is rader small but o.k it is not luxe but good value for what jou pay for.

    The hospitality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    overall it was very good. i enjoyed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small wash room

    the ambiance, neatness courtesy of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Good clean hotel, room is small but has all facilities. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    My bed was to soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was to soft.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable, lovely hotel downstiars, bedroom was fairly basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very surprised that the hotel didn't accept Visa as a method of payment!

    Excellent service from the lady on the front desk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Best value stay ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast, super friendly staff. spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Outstanding value and friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, quiet and simple. Fantastically friendly staff; a family I would guess. Outstanding value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice breakfast and good arrangements for the cyclists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice breakfast and good arrangements for the cyclists.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Free parking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free parking. Felt welcome.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    Friendly hotel, family managed, that makes you feel like at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there wasn't an hairdryer in the bathroom

    Friendly hotel, family managed, that makes you feel like at home. Very good breakfest included in the room price. Close to the train station, with a supermarket located 50m away with the center of Valkenburg at about 15 minutes walk. Room very clean and confortable.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.9
    Decent breakfast is included in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was a bit too soft for my taste, but that's very personal. There is not a proper noise insulation and the people staying in the room above our were extremely noisy. I woke up both the nights because of their steps, or the shower noise, or them moving things around in the room... so consider this if you don't get easy in a deep sleep.

    Decent breakfast is included in the price. The hotel is very well located and has a nice free parking area on the back. The staff is very friendly and nice. The room and the bathroom were both old fashioned but very clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Plenty of parking at rear of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not all credit or debit cards accepted. Make sure you can get cash if needed.

    Plenty of parking at rear of hotel. Good location with 10-15 min walk to town centre. Friendly and pleasant owners.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.6
    Owner really friendly and helped us organise a group bus for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a 20 min walk into town to get lunch/dinner as we had breakfast only. It was a nice walk and pleasant to walk off the evening meal but just a bit tiring after a long day. Could have got a bus/taxi easily enough.

    Owner really friendly and helped us organise a group bus for the concert. Couldn't have helped us more. Lovely breakfast. Car parking safe. Quiet. Glad to be a little bit out of town.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.3
    The location of the hotel was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location of the hotel was ideal. The owner was pleasant and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    The place is as advertisse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place is as advertisse. It is clean, friendly and quiet. It is new the center and has parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.9
    the fact that it is run by a fmily
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the fact that it is run by a fmily

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    4.6
    The location based on our wants
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Second time that a hotel in Netherlands has had a wi-fi claim that is not true. Does the V. V. V. not check?

    The location based on our wants

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: