Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam 2 stars

Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, Amsterdam City Centre, 1018 DR Amsterdam, Netherlands

#327 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1647 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.6
    Location is the main draw.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to even place luggage. No shelves in washroom, no place to hang clothes, no place to sit down. A room with 3 beds needs to be bigger. Terrible stairs, no elevator.

    Location is the main draw.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Good Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the bathroom could be a little bigger?

    The staffs are very friendly There’s always tea/coffee ready when you go back from your walks, that is nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've had a single room on the first floor, it was right above the main entry so every time someone came I've heard them speaking. The room is very simple, but okay for a short stay. There's no storing place for clothes so at least some hangers would be welcomed (there's only a little table so my clothes were mostly on the floor in my suitcase). My neighbors were super loud to the point I had to go and ask the receptionist to calm them down. The room is okay clean. There was a sock left under the window and I wasn't quite sure if they changed the bedclothes before my arrival. Be aware of the staircase if you have a heavy luggage. I had to put my makeup on leaning over the toilet cause the bathroom is really tiny : D

    The location is perfect, not so far from all the main tourist attractions, but yet in a calm part of the city (it's literally next to the Hermitage museum). It's a good place to stay for a short stay. The single room was spacious enough for me. Nice view of the canal with houseboats. A big plus for me was that I was able to book my room using a debit card what seems to be a problem in Amsterdam (most hotels in the city centre only accept credit cards).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    A very good place to experience Amsterdam the Deutsche way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bread toaster broke down or could not operate when other appliances (oven, etc.) are on.

    Eena or is she Ina helped us brought our heavy luggages to the fourth floor cheerfully. We really appreciate her help. The hotel is nearby the places we wanted to see so we just walked around. Breakfast is great for €7 per pax.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    It‘s near the city-center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit small, but the price was low so it’s okay The buffet was very tiny ^^

    It‘s near the city-center It was quietly There was a fan😍 There was a little buffete

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    The Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was never properly cleaned....Leaving the hotel I had a look under the bed just in case I was forgetting something...I found a deodorant that was not mine and it was very dusty....

    The Location......and the breakfast was good...the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.6
    Great city, poor budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were dirty, cleaning was poor, walls very thin and so noisy at night. Stairs very steep and awkward (no lift).

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is well located for attractions and centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Despite all the stairs, we had a great stay & would definitely use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping was a little slapdash; they forgot to leave towels for us on one day. Apart from that, all was good.

    The location was excellent, near to Metro, places to eat & places of interest. Only 2 stops from Amsterdam central station. Paid extra for breakfast but it was just what we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    Do not stay if you are tall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and deceiving from the photos. My partner was too big for the room and she’s only 5’10. I do not recommend staying on the 5th floor if you are tall! The walls were very thin and the bathroom very small. Again, it was hard for my partner to even use the bathroom or take a shower. The room also had very little to no lighting and the window wouldn’t shut properly, so it would bang all night.

    I liked that we were sort of close to the red light district. It was about a 15-20 min walk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    Good location, staff were very willing to assist in any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as well maintained as I had assumed based on the images. I will say it has modern finishes considering respect for culture, however many finishes showed signs of wear and tear eg the wall paper trimmings peeling, tiles in the bathroom detached. The pillow case smelled like wet dog.

    Good location, staff were very willing to assist in any means.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient basic place to stay, ideally located
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ventilation in the room that tent to smells musty and damp when you enter it for the first time. Very tight and steep staircase with no elevator, that may not be that clear at the first hotel description and you can then be in trouble if you're heavy loaded

    Great location, Hermitage hotel gives you a very nice overview of the city. along the canal, hundred of meters away from the Rembrandt statues and a very lively place with lots of option for eating/drinking until late at night. Flowers's market is also not far by walking. And still WWII and Jews deportation memorabilia do not forget. Around 30 minutes from the airport by taxi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Quick stop in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. The receptionist was very helpful and kind. The room was small, bathroom VERY small but overall the location and price made up for that. Would stay again for a night but nothing longer than that.

    Location and receptionist were amazing. Good views. Nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    We liked the location close to Rembrandt Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't like the shower flooding each day. Slight drain issue.

    We liked the location close to Rembrandt Square. We also liked the fact they accommodated a family of five.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put on the 5th floor and there is no lift in the property. I’ve stayed in Amsterdam many times before and usually ignore any reviews about steep stairs as it’s what expected in Amsterdam properties. However being on the fifth floor of this property means climbing 8 flights of VERY steep twisty turny steps. I don’t recommend for elderly or anyone with disabilities. The staff weren’t overly friendly. No kettle or anything in the room and each bed only had 1 very thin pillow

    The hotel was modern and the area around the hotel is lovely. The coffee machine downstairs was handy as it was always open.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel in city centre - Can be improved a lot to attract more people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift No air conditioning No audio proofing - Could clearly hear what my neighbor in adjacent room was "talking and doing" .

    Friendly staff Close to metro and City Sight seeing pickup point Good breakfast and Wifi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly, hotel location was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The linen was not changed every day which would have been preferred given the heat and the fan in room was good but did not help with heat in room. Pictures did not depict true size and would have hated to be anything above 3rd floor

    Staff were very friendly, hotel location was really good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though I expected a room in Amsterdam to be expensive around June, I was really hoping to get something a little better for the price I had paid. The room was awfully small, and there was probably some problem with the plumbing in the toilet, because it had a terrible sewer smell, even though I could see it had been cleaned, and water didn't go down the sink properly. Also, the room had no noise protection at all, as I could listen to all people in the rooms around mine. And there is no elevator, so if you are as lucky as me to be put on the 4th floor, be prepared to face Dutch-style stairs with your luggage.

    Good breakfast and really close to Waterlooplein metro station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location but needs fan and fully functional windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows only opened a little bit because they were blocked by bed anchored to the floor. Way too hot with NO A/C fan or air circulation! Room was exceptionally small

    Location and quiet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice heritage building with awesome coffee but no lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift since it is a heritage building. Too much smell of weed makes you keep the windows all the time. No temporary street available. You need to pay €4 for an hour to take your luggage to the room. The most reasonable parking, we were told is at Oosterbdoc for €20 day with no in-out privileges.

    The coffee machine in the lobby made awesome coffee. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Recommend us to drink water from the tap instead of buying expensive bottled water. Gives you a real feel of a compressed canal house of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Amsterdam stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the days there were renovations going on in the room next to us. We were given no notice that this would happen and there was loud banging and we could hardly walk out of our room as there was debris, carpet, paint etc piled up in the tiny room. Breakfast was also very average

    The location was excellent and one staff member who was behind reception and had dark hair was just amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Paper thin walls
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ended up very tired after spending a night in this hotel. The walls are paper thin so I could hear neighbors and everyone in the corridor as well as on the street (luckily street was not too busy). Just before going to sleep I discovered that bed sheets and one of the towels are dirty, so I asked them to be changed.

    Staff was friendly and tried to fix the cleanliness issue I mentioned above. Room was small but decent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.2
    Worst experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a horrible experience in this hotel. The room is tiny, super hot (no aircon, fan), lights broken, wifi not working, TV screen unclear, space between toilet and wall too small for a 5 year old to sit. It was quite shocking in my opinion. I slept horrible and would never go back to this hotel. This is one of the few bad experiences I have ever had with a hotel.

    The location is good. But honestly, it is much better to stay somewhere a bit more outside the centre of the city and have a proper hotel. The distances are short anway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    The property was in a great location to get around Amsterdam...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn’t like was non topped up beverages and tea cup not being removed and replaces

    The property was in a great location to get around Amsterdam, lovely clean room that was tidied every day. Although the tea and coffee never got topped up regularly ,so i had to go ask, and cup that had been left on window never got removed which had old tea bags inside it. All in all though hotel was absolutely brilliant and will be staying there again the next time i visit! Staff were friendly and helpful! even on arrival we were not due to check in till 3 pm and we arrived at 10am planning to store our luggage, so when i went to speak to Lady at reception she said if you hold on your room may be ready and checked then promptly checked us in there and then which meant we could start our day quicker without having to return to check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Wouldn’t stay again due to the little niggly annoying details however It was in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small but the main annoying thing was that the bathroom shelf was directly over the sink so you couldn’t use it properly and had to soak the floor to wash your face. There was no WiFi in our room on the fifth floor and 5 steep flights of stairs to walk with no lift. The beds were also very close together, you couldn’t stay here if you were big boned!

    I liked the decor of the hotel and it was very central. Good links to get around. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Good, effective, budget hotel, great staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame our room didn’t have an suite, it wasn’t a shared bathroom but just down the corridor from our room and when u opened the door the handle kept catching the handle of the bedroom door next to it. Towels could of been bigger also!!

    Good location, friendly staff, good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    No Wi Fi in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi Fi in the room. No laundry service as advertised on Booking.com. Parking fee isn’t as advertised on Booking.com.; the fee was twice more. The room we had on the fifth floor was very small and uncomfortable, especially to bring our suitcases in. The stairs are very steep and narrow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Value for money very disappointing. Would have paid no more than Euro 70 for the this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bath and lack of cleansiness esp on bathroom floor and bedroom floor. Very thin walls so rather noisy (but is what it is). Value for money awful! Would not recommend or stay ever again!

    Location but still quite far to main locations like Prinzen and Herren Krächz etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheet was torn and not replaced, even after us asking. Towels are small. Bedsite table lamp did not have a globe. Steep stairs and no elevator. Shuttle service as advertised does not exist..they arange taxi for you. Count yard dirty. No coffee sachets in room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had poor lighting (many lights did not work), tv did not work, and walls were thin ( I could here conversation clearly in adjoining room). Just had two very thin towels and no bath mat. Plastic drinking cups for in room coffee, I did not use!

    Convenient location. Shower was okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    Nice location but would never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep, narrow uncarpeted stairs. Bathroom was dirty. There appeared to be feces on the floor. The hotel did not resemble the website pictures. Should not be a 3 star.

    The view and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location, but a lot of room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Cleaning could have been done much better: bedsheets had some fairly unnerving stains - Staff were generally unhelpful and did not seem to want to make any effort to make our stay more pleasant - Walls are thin: can hear footsteps and doors opening and closing - Room very dimly lit: lighting could have been better - Electric kettle in room would have been nice - Lots of very steep and spiralling stairs with no lift!

    - Location was excellent - Surrounding area was nice and quiet at night - Peaceful and quiet area, especially considering how close to the city centre it is

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, comfortable room and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to ask for towels, twice; water was pooling in the bathroom; blinds not working; room safe not working; parking expensive and quite far from the hotel.

    Great Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.3
    Do not stay here !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was checked in two hours later than stated! They did work on our room with diy men and left the room a mess! When they came into clean it we had just dumped our bags and they stole money out of our purse! When we complained they said “in these situations all we can offer is a free breakfast!” As though this happens regularly! No compassion or apology at all, left us not wanting to leave any of our belongings in the room! The WiFi didn’t reach our room, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, it normally takes a lot for me to be Unsatisfied but this really was the worst place I have ever stayed!

    The location was the only good thing, it is very well located

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    The security at the front door was nice and that we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to check out at 6am but nobody was at the desk that we could talk to. And no one came when we rung the bell

    The security at the front door was nice and that we were able to leave our luggage before check in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable, affordable and convenient place to stay in one of the world's most beautiful cities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift.

    Comfortable big room as we were travelling as a family of 3. We could use the dining room after breakfast for the remainder of the day and use the micro-wave oven and coffee machine 24/7. No lift at the property, but there are a couple of rooms on the ground floor. We were on the first floor and had to negotiate a spiral staircase with our luggage - not too difficult. Wouldn't have liked to have been any higher though with all our luggage. (This was the only down-side to the property.) Nice quiet location and easy to walk everywhere from where the hotel was located. Also close to all transport systems and only 38 Euro to get a taxi from the hotel to the airport - Booking.com please note ! Offices of Booking.com just a few minutes walk away. Nice little garden at the back of the property. Lovely view of one of the many canals at the front.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    2.5
    TERRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is no elevator at hotel. the stairs are very thin. we stayed at 5th floor. there is no telephone at rooms. ıf you have a problem, you cannot communicate with reception. you have to call the reception with your cellphone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Pleasant and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet looks dated. Staying in 4th floor meaning climbing stairs all the way but I think that's how most of the hotels in amsterdam is. Just be prepped to climb the stairs with your luggage.

    The rooms are quite clean and the location of the hotel is very good. Just next to the canal. Morning view is superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Literally the perfect place to stay, we’re coming back soon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literally the perfect place to stay, we’re coming back soon & will only ever use this hotel. Staff were fantastic couldn’t have felt any more at home. Central to everything in Amsterdam, lovely rooms & all round amazing! Can’t wait to come back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.5
    The hotel is in a good position being near the Metro and Tram stops. The reception staff were friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was much as I expected although the bedside light didn’t work and the only pillow on the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. There was no replacement in the cupboard. When I complained to the room cleaners they didn’t understand English or Dutch and so could not help me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls 😁 but I guess its like this in the whole city))

    Location is just soo great! Loved the are, loved the view from the room, room in general was very nice! Staff was very nice and helpful, we needed to print tickets to keukenhof - it was no problem!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    The room I booked online was definitely not the room I got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I booked online was definitely not the room I got the management tried to pawn us of by sayin yes it's the same room but it absolutely wasn't we arrived late so it was clear our room was givin away .. the next day we came back to find our room door wide open as the cleaners left it like that after cleaning with our passport and everything in the room .. the staff were apologetic the place was spotless and a great location but I wouldn't rush back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.0
    One of my best trips to Amsterdam and I've been 21 times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have has tea/coffee facilities in the room but they were down in the kitchen. Realised this on the 3rd day. Phone in room would have been good too.

    Brilliant hotel in an excellent location. Would definitely go back. Nice little area out the back to sit and soak up Amsterdam whilst having a tea/coffee. Nice little touch. WIFI was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV did not work. The shower wasn’t great and the room had no atmosphere. The walls were very VERY thin and you could literally hear everything from the room next door. Everything. There was a kettle in the room but no cup or tea making items. I didn’t want to go four floors down for a coffee ( steep steps) I got a special deal but if I’d paid full price I would’ve been really unhappy. Luckily I only stayed for one night. I wouldn’t stay again to be honest.

    The room was clean and the location was nice. The staff were lovely and helped me when my adapter plug would not work. The free tea and coffee was a nice touch too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Exciting. Unique. Special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - shower needed fixing as the water was either extremely hot or cold nothing in between. - towel had holes. - cleaning service was a bit lacking.

    The view! Our room had a great view! Made us happy all day long! Staff was very helpful and nice. WIFI was good. Nice and exciting stairs :-) real dutch experience in the old house from 1733. So, that adds an extra value! Amazing location= close to the city center and metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive. Things are a bit damaged, specially the bath room. Not sure if were doing works but the corridor floor was dirty and some construction materials were left there. I might be partially in next comment but the worst thing was when my daughter warmed the milk in an electric kettle and they complained that it spoiled it, forcing it to pay € 50. Not sure about the price or if it was already spoiled. Problem is that no one is on the kitchen for the breakfast to help, it's the customers to prepare it. In this situation the manager could be more comprehensive and nice, but to avoid getting upset on the holidays, I decided to pay.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    1. No elevator, going upstairs with baggage is very tricky...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. No elevator, going upstairs with baggage is very tricky job. 2. walls very thin, can here neighbors even if they whisper. 3. price wasn't equal with service quality

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay to see one of the most beautiful cities in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Breakfast were adequate with choice of cereals, bread that can be toasted.

    The location is excellent once you have mastered where you are. Easy to get around - just a short walk from both the MTR ( that’s what we call it in Hong Kong) and the tram system. Beautiful views of the canals just s short walk away. Accommodation has its own residents’ “lounge/dining room” that stays open 24/7 and where you can eat your own food, but coffe and tea making facilities open until 12 midnight. Be aware that there is NO LIFT and a small winding staircase to upper floors. But we even managed with all our luggage - and it was a lot ! Owners very friendly and helpful. Our thanks to Jasmine and SurJeep on the front desk for making our stay a pleasant one. So much to see and do in Amsterdam. We were here 29 years ago for our honeymoon -great place for honeymoon couples - and it’s nice to see that nothing had changed. It’s still as beautiful as ever. We were too early to see the tulips - we were too late on our honeymoon to see them - so we’ll have to come back again at the right time of the year - whenever that may be.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Furniture seemed very new and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom walls in the shower were a bit moldy and the bed next to the window was not a good idea because it was pretty cold through out the night. The walls are also very thin, you could here the other guests talk or use the bathroom and shower.

    Furniture seemed very new and modern. Breakfast was a lot and i think everybody can find something to eat. Continental breakfast! The stuff was really friendly and helpful! They organized a cab to the airport, gave us tipps and a map and were really patient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.0
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like how we was on the ground floor and the windows didn't open, 5 lads 1 room. I didn't like how the vending machine closed at 01.00 so you had no access to fluids past that point. Money was taken from our room, as it was on the ground floor a number of people could of accessed our room. when we confronted management they said without proof they couldn't go any further.

    shower was naughty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    The bed was super comfy, location was brilliant and we even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we spent at the hotel we were awoken at 7am with power tools and hammers which lasted until around 12pm - if this was communicated to us in advance there wouldn’t have been an issue. Although the walls are very thin and you could hear people in the corridor, this is something that can not be helped due to the nature of the building. We were allowed to keep our bags there and the gentleman on receiption was very nice and helpful. However, when we retuned to check in the woman on the desk was quite rude and tried to blame me for a mistake from there part with payment?

    The bed was super comfy, location was brilliant and we even got to check in early.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.8
    Noisy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was pretty work out. Still had a slightly modern ish feel but definitely needs a revamp. The walls are very very thin. If you are a light sleeper I would avoid at all cost. But if you can sleep through anything then by all means book here as location wise is ok.

    Customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    2.5
    We were so happy with our room when we arrived last weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    OUR SPENDING MONEY WAS ROBBED OUT OF OUR BEDROOM ON THE SECOND MORNING! The safe did not work so I left my purse under my underwear in the bottom drawer on the first day. The next day we were heading out and I saw my money was gone out of my purse! My boyfriends money had been taken from his bag aswell. I went down stairs to talk to the guy at reception, he looked chinese, he told me that it was my fault I didn't tell him the safe wasn't working and that maybe I had left my door open. I know 100% that I didn't because I kept checking the door before I left. I told him to please ring the cleaner and ask if they'd could return it. I heard not a thing about it again and he avoided us for the weekend! I'm so disappointed that I worked so many hours to have all that money for my break away for someone to just take it just like that! I won't be staying there again with robbers. I'm absolutely devastated that not one thing was done and the worse part is I DIDNT EVEN GET AN APOLOGY!!!

    We were so happy with our room when we arrived last weekend.. UNTIL

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    Got woken up at 4:30am by other hotel guests that came back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got woken up at 4:30am by other hotel guests that came back from clubbing and were drunk Loud construction right in front of our room next morning starting at 8:30am. Heads up would have been nice, also a free breakfast to make up for construction noises

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Not awful but below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was the size of a cardboard box and considering we paid over £100 a night I wasn’t overly satisfied. We were on the very top floor and when we arrived our room was ice cold - the heating wasn’t working so when we asked the owner to fix it, he came in then room tried to turn it on then muttered something in Chinese under his breath and left without even coming back. Had to ask again. The attitude on the staff at this hotel isn’t very good at all. Unprofessional and they couldn’t really care less. Customer service is low. Also building work going on constantly outside our room, with loud men shouting.. no warning of this prior to stay, no warning upon arrival, no apologise either. our check in was late so they tried told fob us off in a different room I hadn’t booked. I was fairly disappointed in my stay. It’s a shame because I stayed at this hotel two years ago with 8 of my friends and it was fantastic. It’s gone down hill in my opinion

    Beds were very comfy. Free WiFi. Free coffee machine. Location was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.6
    Not worth it to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -check in was not on time, close to 2 hours late -room had no electricty -there was banging for hours next door to try to restore electricty -room was freezing; heater is ineffective since windows are not sealed correctly -when room was cleaned after the first night, they forgot to put towels in the room -owner took my kettle from the room without explanation and did not return it -toilet is right next to the bathroom door so it's not possible to close the door when using toilet -dirty kleenexes were left in room -1st floor stinks of urine from the public washroom there -no soundproofing between rooms so I could hear everything my neighbors said while in their rooms -no body lotion in room -no fridge in room -TV was very fuzzy and unclear picture and sound

    -top floors are quiet at night - no street noise -bed was comfy -wifi was fast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    Good area but the rooms are basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs with a short tread especially between floors 3 and 5 and there is no lift. There were various building materials on two of the landings which were left there overnight. Evidence that some renovation was underway. However it was impossible to see where.. The room was small and narrow and in the roof space. Two single beds wide with a small window above one bed. Nice view if you kneel on the bed and lean out.. All carpets thru out are very old and dirty. The room is basic, old and worn.I did not feel comfortable in the bathroom and the shower was either boiling hot or cold. The thermostat was broken but also it does not help when other geusts turn on other taps etc.. I paid a budget price and it was bareable.

    Great area. Situated on a quiet canal.only a short distance away from endless streets and squares full of shops,restaurants,bars etc all the way to the centre. The breakfast room was well kept and modern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like the hotel, it is very very small room, the staff not cooperating, they put me in fourth floor, even I asked for another option, to have another room, because carrying the luggage to fourth is difficult the stair very tight, even the wash room not space even to wash my hand.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    3.3
    Avoid like the plague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is more of a hostel we had to trek up 5 flights of stairs the last two flights were extremely steep . Our room was so small one person had to sit on the bed if the other was walking about. The staff could have been friendler. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms we only had one quilt on the bed . We pushed the two beds together to make a double but one was higher than the other . The room was cold the bathroom was cramped if you are anyway over weight this hotel would be extremely uncomfortable. I went down one morning to get a glass of juice and I was told no it was €7 for breakfast, I only wanted a drink and I told the lady I would pay for it on my way out and I was told to use the vending machine ! Bearing in mind I had no money down with me I had to trek back up five flights of stairs to get some money. For a drink. The carpet on the stairs is full of bleach . In a nutshell don’t waist your money here . 😡

    The location wasn’t bad .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    It was ok I never went to Amsterdam. to be a hotel critic When I got back. Overall it was ok 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge, the stairs, wasn’t as many channels on the Tv for nyt time . The Room was smaller than it looked on Booking.com .

    The window over looking the Gardens . Not far from red light areas and attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The high price of breakfast

    - Position of the hotel - The structure of the hotel, it's a real Amsterdam's house - Kind staff - Even if breakfast isn't included in your price, you can have a coffee, tea or chocolate for free

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't vacuumed prior to our arrival, and the bathroom looked like a staff member had tilled the bathroom

    It was quaint, an old building. Most of the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    The location was the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can hear the people talking in the rooms next door. The cold pass by the Window and it’s very difficult to sleep

    The location was the best. 5min walking to metro and tram And 10/15 min walking We reach the dam square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.3
    Ok. Slightly disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were stiff. The free coffee machine didn't always work. The stairs to the top floor were quite a task. The water in the room all stopped as the pipes froze, which I suppose the hotel couldn't help but no sltermstibes were given.

    The decor was ok. Some staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not a hotel employee at the reception desk 24/7 - only certain hours during the day.

    Perfect room for my four friends and I - four single beds in one spacious room with a nice bathroom! This hotel has the perfect location - centrally located in Amsterdam, great for people who want to walk the city! Reception is very nice and helped us book a taxi to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Very clean hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, you could hear absolutely everything!!! It’s a shame there is no kettle in rooms. We only found out about the communal coffee machine on the ground floor on our second night stay as the lady who checked us in failed to tell us that it was available to us. On our last evening we asked a member of staff about the tram/metro to get back to central station, but their knowledge was not great so we ended up sussing it out for ourselves (which was absolutely no problem at all) but I have visited Amsterdam 5 times in the last 3 years and normally the hotel staff are very helpful and know a lot of information about local transport. The steps in this hotel are pretty daunting!

    The location was good, walking distance to most main attractions but in a nice quiet area along the canal. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. We did not have breakfast but there was a coffee machine in the communal dining area which was available to everyone at anytime. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    3.8
    The place was under construtions, and the workers were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was under construtions, and the workers were drilling on our ceiling next to our bed. We complained about it but there was no compensation. We paid full price, that is not fair. The private toilet was Ridiculously small, no light in the shower so we couldn't use it. The sheets were not clean. The location was pretty good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Our 1st visit to AMSTERDAM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that i had to go across the landing to use the bathroom. It stated small double but you could have fitted a bathroom in there it had a massive wardrobe and a huge table personally i would rather have had a toilet & a shower instead.we where also on the 4th floor and the hotel didnt have a lift. It was a fair distance from the centre but there was a tram every few minutes

    It was very clean comfy bed and the staff were lovely. I also picked this hotel because it sounded like value for money and it was

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Would visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative we encountered was the filthy kinda like blanket thing at the end of the bed. I mean it was clean but it had a lot of stains which made very unpleasant to even have it on your bed. I'm just wondering how could the cleaning staff fold and leave such thing on someone's bed. If i were them i would throw it away instantly.

    The room albeit small it was pretty cosy.Bathroom was really small even for european standards but it was extremely clean and we didn't have a problem at all.The absence of stairs is a little bit tiring but nothing to worry about. The cleanliness of the room was excellent as well. Heating was also running generously and each room has an additional electric small heater which works just fine. Distance between the hotel and the Centrum is like a 10 minute walk although there is a tram station just nearby.Breakfast was delicious even with just basic options a hotel should offer.Last but not least each member of the staff was really kind and ready to help if needed. When i visit Amsterdam again this hotel is going to be, if not the first, on the top of my list!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    3.3
    Amsterdam is very beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cleaning. No organisation in the hotel (at 15:30 the rooms was still not ready).dirty. too bad for the price. The pictures in booking.com don't is true with the reality. We surly don't go back in this hotel.

    Nothing. Only the central position. Not recomended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.8
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water went completely off All electricity went off in the middle of the my shower it was pitch black night when I went downstairs to ask about it I was told it wouldn’t be on until 6 o clock the next morning, I was up early for a flight home and by 8 o clock there was still no electricity! Terrible. Worker told me I would have to just use my flashlight on my phone.

    The window opened up wide Bed was comfy Good shower (when it worked) Good heating Big room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    would stay again if found for the same price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed a bit hard, paper thin walls!

    Large double room was worth the extra money after hearing that the small double was tiny, the large double comfortably slept 2

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Burnt a lot of calories
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs, I had previously read about the stairs but boy they were steep, narrow and a lot, and not a lot of plugs

    The rooms were clean, fresh towels each day and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    Hotel location was perfect and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the comfort of the rooms did not meet our expectations-no tea/coffee making in the rooms.

    Croissant were too flaky to our liking and not many eggs available and we had to keep asking the staff to top up but everything else was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Pretty nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty cold :( not as warm as it should be :(

    I really like this hotel, it was nice, bed was comfy, nice shower and tv. Stairs as everywhere in Netherland so no complain. Staff there is great! And nice quality comparing to the price :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    We can hear everything that is going around.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can hear everything that is going around. From our neighbor’s breathing till the bedtime conversations. Besides that, some guests were going crazy and no one from the staff did anything.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: