Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apollofirst Boutique Hotel 4 stars

Apollolaan 123-125, Oud Zuid, 1077 AP Amsterdam, Netherlands

#69 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1398 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the breakfast was included

    Very pleasant stay. Very nice location. Happy there was A.C. in the room. Great breakfast. Rented bicycles at the hotel. Very convenient!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Great location, great staff clean area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good with some good Resteraunt’s within the 400 metre zone in Beethovensrtaat.

    In a good location away from the crowds, quiet an clean streets, be careful of the push bikes they creep up on you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Quality hotel, high-end feel and very friendly staff in good walking distance to museum square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing both myself and partner were very impressed.

    Beautifully decorated, really clean with very helpful and pleasant staff. The hotel has a very high-end feel to it. Breakfast was excellent with a massive range of food available. My first impression of hotel was wow that looks grand as we pulled up outside and my overall impression was that I would definitely be back to stay here again next time I visit Amsterdam. Good walking distance to the museum square and lot's of beautiful parks not too far also. Lovely garden at rear of hotel to sit in the sun that was really nice too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    A very relaxing calm stay in a very busy city!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    We arrived late after flight delay and were warmly greeted and able to use bar facilities although it was latethis willingness to please was evident throughout stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Good memories from a super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd room with 3 beds could have been a bit bigger

    Nice atmosphere with unique decor Good up market area within short walking distance to centre Our rooms had pretty balcony looking out onto the gardens often frequented by one or two tropical birds! Nice breakfast with good choice of food and croissants were great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon was paperthin not worth the €17.50

    Got there at 9am and was allowed to check in the reception staff and night porters are great really helpful and always very polite they really do go out there way to help you . Even let us change rooms to one with a view of the garden at no extra cost thanks for a great stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend this hotel for those who put cleanliness as a first priority.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size was a slight small for two persons.

    Location of hotel is excellent. In walking distance from Van Gogh museum, but in quite area. The tram 24 and 5 will take you in the center of Amsterdam. Another thing i liked is that bed linens were perfectly clean. Also breakfast was very good, included main ingredients of English Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    A place to return"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A larger closet

    The bedroom has adequate size but with little spacious closet. The bed is large and comfortable with good quality linens. The bathroom is ample, with good quality towels too. The breakfast is hearty and diverse. The hotel is in a quiet and pretty residential street. The main museums in Amsterdam are a 15-minute walk, but to the center, it is necessary to go by tram, which has stations nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Room 64 is lovely, peace &quiet, lovely bathroom.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would expect to have breakfast included, for the price I played, I told the desk on Saturday night that I wanted a call at 8.00am. I t didn't happen.

    Room 64 is lovely, peace &quiet, lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Amsterdam is a AMazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not so helpful, think not enough interest, like if you could manage something for the customers you do that, its a big deal for turists

    The rooms are nice and cosy, the neighbourhood is quiet and peaceful, yet everything is so close to the city center. Perfect. Yet the hotel is more popular with elderly people, but anyway we liked it style!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and relaxing stay, met nice people and felt very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming and friendly atmosphere. Very helpful staff, clean room yet no control of the temperature in the room, was sometimes too warm... Quiet residential neighborhood yet close to the tram that gets you everywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you do not want or need to be right in center of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities in the room I had were a bit dated and the bathroom floor hadn't been properly cleaned. Given the price, I would have expected more from a 4-star hotel.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Top notch all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel accommodated my every need. I made several requests in advance of my stay and everything was provided for. The double room with balcony was excellent and the staff exceptional. Upon checkout I was offered a free breakfast. On my next stay in Amsterdam I will 100% be staying at the Apollofirst.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff was friendly, room was clean and 2 bottled of water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small and uncomfortable. The garbage bin in the bathroom was broken and can’t be used.

    Staff was friendly, room was clean and 2 bottled of water are provided every day. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Small cosy hotel I'd recommend rather for a winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thought it was quite pricey....even by Amsterdam's already pricey standards....but then King's day and the May holiday likely raised the prices.

    Comfy bed, small cosy room...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Amsterdam, we love you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was all perfect!

    We loved everything about this hotel from its location (nice quiet leafy suburb) to the amazingly comfortable bed. The staff were all extremely polite, spoke excellent English, and went out of their way to help us with any questions. The hotel was very elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. The variety of food available at breakfast was unbelievable - cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, all typical English breakfast choices and plenty of fresh bread, croissants and pastries. Plus a good selection of different types of coffee and teas. We couldn't fault anything and will happily return there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel within walking distance of old town & museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very comfortable bed, cozy & elegant room. A pleasant 30-40 minutes walk to old town and 20 minutes walk to museums. Tram is close by for those who prefer transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    we will book to come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the size of the bed and it was a little dark in the room. The TV should be larger

    Fantastic designer who put this together. The double bed was smaller than we were used to so a bit cramped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is a bit outside of the city centre but the tram service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfort, luxuriously warm and cosy surroundings, great staff. We will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We were first allocated a room that was rather small for our requirements - upon request however, we were moved to a large room in which were very comfortable.

    Our stay at Apollofirst was a memorable experience, but please shape your expectations - this is not a large high volume/throughput hotel, but a place that provides a warm, luxurious, and personalised service to small groups of visitors. We stayed at the hotel for eight nights and we were looked after extremely well by the staff who made every effort to make us feel at home. The hotel is a set of adjacent town houses that have been converted and renovated - luxuriously appointed - and situated within easy walking distance to the Museum quarter and an easy tram ride to Dam Square and the City centre. The library/ lounge is a great place to spend a quiet relaxing evening after a day of exploring Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very polite and friendly, nothing was too much to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very small negative the pillows supplied could have been of better quality.

    Staff were very polite and friendly, nothing was too much to ask. The accommodation was excellent, being a boutique hotel rooms were quirky in size but well portioned.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend - beautiful hotel in lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, very comfortable. Location was great and hotel was very reasonably priced for the area, great stay! Enjoyed the free apple every morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Staff were friendly and ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stronger wifi and it is not value for the money. I would have preferred bigger room and other facilities such as swimming for the money I paid.

    Staff were friendly and ready to help. Clean room. They allowed us early check in and room was cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    3.8
    The internet was extremely bad. Location is quite far. Nearest restaurants are more than 500 mts awa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was extremely bad. Location is quite far. Nearest restaurants are more than 500 mts away. Didn’t get the facility to check out late despite being a genus member.

    It’s overrated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    A Simple, Clean and Classic Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It doesn't have a restaurant for dinner! not so handy for travelers arriving late at night.

    The staff service at the breakfast area was really welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in lovely neighbourhood about 40 minute walk to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was further from the centre than we thought and the stairs are steep with a tiny lift.

    Really nice bar and decor, night porter was fantastic, bedrooms were lovely too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is conveniently located for travellers interested...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is conveniently located for travellers interested in cultural activities, being close to the Concertgebouw and the big museums. The beds were comfortable!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely quaint hotel next to museums!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed could have been a bit more comfortable, but nothing too upsetting.

    Quaint hotel next to the museum quarter. Lovely staff and yummy breakfast. It was a nice find, would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    A wonderful atmosphere---cosy library/bar for a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wonderful atmosphere---cosy library/bar for a quiet drink after dinner. Staff were attentive and helpful, especially Stephen (who did double duty at the bar and front desk).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    The stuff and the service were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms we get in tbe beggining were avarage. We spoke with the reception and they moved us to more preimium room. We were very satisfied. Thank you!

    The stuff and the service were excellent. The brakfast was great and rich. We had a very good stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully decorated, excellently run delightful small hotel of interesting history and character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have liked to have breakfast in the pretty breakfast room (normally we go bed-and-breakfast), but €17.50 euros is too expensive. The most I would pay would be around €12.

    Really enjoyed beautiful décor in keeping with historic building - a delight to be in a place of such character. So glad rooms weren't anonymous unsympathetic bland or stark modern minimalist like other hotels!!! Library bar was attractive relaxing spot. Exceptionally helpful staff. Room excellently maintained; lovely hot bath, comfortable supportive mattress, spotless high quality bed linen. Quiet location yet good for shops, walking to attractions, and public transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    My pillow was almost set on fire when it was touching the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My pillow was almost set on fire when it was touching the reading light about the bed (a very easy mistake in that room). Staff didn't make an effort to make the room safe or anything of such Also we had a preference of a double bed even though only a single was available if we had knew this, our choice of booking would have went elsewhere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Location beats quality
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are cramped and out dates. Bath rooms poorly designed. Breakfast pretty bad and basic

    Very friendly and accommodating staff!!!! Great location to the RAI and other locations

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Ok, lovely, clean, friendly hotel, but too much street noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road outside. Was on the first floor facing the street with old fashioned windows, even though I had asked specifically for a quiet room when booking. Was told there were no other rooms available. A bit of a walk to the centre.

    Lovely hotel, nice room, very clean and comfortable bed. Nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Great stay although little out of the city -5/10 mins on tram 5!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were changed during our stay and must say the original matresses were a lot more comfortable. The new matresses are a small price of foam on top of a hard matresss which move around during the night.

    Great hotel, fantastic decor. Realluy friendly staff all wanting to make your stay special. Cleanliness of rooms and public areas was very high and breakfast each mornig was very nice. Highly recomend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    Staff were attentive and friendly, location for tram and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy, plumbing was very noisy and continually made naming noises all night, bathroom needs refurb

    Staff were attentive and friendly, location for tram and restaurants was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    List of TV channels missing. Max. volume too low. Noisy air con when bathroom light on.

    helpful staff. 12 checkout. bathtub, although very small. kettle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Really great hotel with really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Builders next door woke us up with power drills just before 8am every morning but we had the end room so got most of the noise. The hotel was about a 30min tram from the centre which was a bit far out for us.

    Comfortable room, well presented. Helpful staff. We had a lovely bathroom and comfortable bed. Really couldn’t fault the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, so clean and breakfast is gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beds were two singles pushed together, not a double like requested but it didnt cause a problem

    Croissonts were amazing, breakfast was gorgeous and the hotel was so beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stay ... great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None .. stay was great

    Excellent stay ... really friendly service from the reception staff and on Thursday evening we were stuck at the airport due to travel disruption with no trains or able to get a taxi and after telephoning the hotel for help they rang us back and told us how to get help from a conceirge shuttledesk in the airport who helped us get a private taxi .. great customer service .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    Very good, lovely hotel and staff and would probably stat again. Although room was very hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far too hot. Air con system seemed to blow out only hot air. Room temperature could defiantly do with being lowered. Also the bed throw had several stains on it.

    Staff were very accommodating and very friendly. If we asked for something it was never to much to ask. Arrived at 10am and check in wasn’t until 14:00 but a very friendly member of staff managed to get us an already prepared room before our check in time so this was very welcomed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    It's already 3rd time I stayed here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's already 3rd time I stayed here. It's just wonderful! I recommend it to everyone who loves the boutique style. I feel myself like a princess :) Thanks a lot, dear Apollofirst staff! You're just amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel on the edge of Amsterdam centre, great staff and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit far for walking into the centre but it was right beside a tram line and bus services!

    Lovely room and boutique hotel! Great staff and facilities were perfect for what we needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff good location comfortable walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Injured nyself with bathroom facilities - water temperatures would change to scalding hot for a few seconds then back to normal, happened daily

    Friendly staff good location comfortable walking distance to museums

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful! I really enjoyed myself!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really really hot, the van wouldn’t operate. I also didn’t like that we couldn’t tell the house keeping not to clean our room as I don’t particularly like the idea of someone in and out of my room whilst I’m not there or without my acknowledgement

    The location of the hotel was amazing as it wasn’t in the centre or near any busy tourist places. The tram stops were easily accessible and reliable! :) I had a great time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one complaint, the hot items served for breakfast were without exception only just warm which was a disappointment ! But other than that a good choice of good quality items were on offer.

    Nice sized room with a good ensuite. Bed very comfy. The whole hotel was very clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Not the best value for money but that may be because we stayed new years an its an expensive time of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Are double room was 2 single beds pushed together and the beds were really squeaky also we were woken up by cleaners an loud banging each morning. We got charged €10 for to bottles of water that was given to us by hotel staff but they didn't warn us of the charge till checkout.

    Nice size room. Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    3.3
    I would have preferred to stay just about anywhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely small room, even though it was an upgrade......noise in the morning......the remodeled room was still lacking....cracked tiles in bathroom......mold in shower on grout.....shower door squeaked....description of property location was false advertising as near the train station (NOT!)

    Garden View from balcony

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice, small hotel convenient to museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small - couldn’t leave even one of our suitcases open without creating a dangerous obstacle.

    The hotel us well-situated for visiting the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, and Royal Conzertgebouw. It’s a short walk to the tram stop which goes to the city center in about 10 minutes. The breakfast buffet was very good and a basket of free, tasty little apples is available in the lobby all day long.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is street parking only and is very expensive.

    Room was magnificent! Comfortable bed, soaker tub, fridge, kettle. Breakfast was decent. Beautiful area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    The staff is incredibly polite and accommodating, rooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the room were a little narrow, but other than that this hotel is great!

    The staff is incredibly polite and accommodating, rooms are clean, location is convenient enough to get to/from Schiphol airport and to the main attractions. Great value for money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.1
    Fit for purpose, no thrills.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small, not a lot of room for activities. The bathroom was quite dated and again pretty small but fit for purpose. Funny story - the room above me had a great time on my first night for about two hours, she made it known he was also fit for purpose! He was kind enough to walk her out after as well... read into that what you will!

    The hotel was easy to get to from the airport and a quick Tram into the centre. Staff were very helpful and the breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not what I expected, it looked much better in the pictures. The beds were 2 single beds together. The beds were too soft for my taste. The TV was too small and the little fridge was not working. The WiFi was not good in the room so we couldn't watch anything on the laptop. What bothered me the most was that the temperature of the shower was not consistent, so it will turn very cold all of a sudden, but also very hot and I actually got burned a couple of times. It was supposed to be a 4 stars hotel... but it felt more like a 2-3.

    The staff and the location were good. Easy to get to the centre and move around Amsterdam.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    lovely, quiet hotel in upscale neighborhood with solid breakfast on offer and friendly, helpful staf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy... creeky floorboards overhead and footsteps outside my door. unstable wifi.

    good location that is quiet at night thus avoiding the craziness of central amsterdam. plenty of small cafes around and good traffic lines to get ubers around town. super hospitality. strong feeling of pride in the running of the establishment. safe, friendly and quiet. would def return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Lovely stay yet again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a room with two double beds and truth be told, the beds were really narrow. We ended up pushing our beds together cause both of us were in danger of rolling off in the middle of the night.

    Lovely hotel, great staff and of course, the pride and joy of the property - cozy library bar!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely relaxing break at unique and comfortable hotel, where they can't do enough for you.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lift very small, stairs very steep, so wouldn't suit older guests very well.

    Very nice bed, lovely staff, quirky decor. A quiet location, which suited us, but well connected and close enough to walk to Museum quarter, Vondel Park, Leidesplein etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Everything we look for when booking an hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Breakfast was fantastic you were spoilt for choice. And staff were very friendly and helpful. And for those reasons will return next year.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Trip to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have preferred a room with garden view with less noise from the main street.

    Very nice Boutique Hotel with large room cleaned every day. The room was ready when we arrived early. The hotel is situated in a lovely suburb of Amsterdam (Oud-Zuid) and we walked everywhere. The tram is very close - line 24 and 5 to Amsterdam Central. The reception staff were very helpful. Beautiful garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    It was ok, although we were disappointed of what we get compared with what we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very much disappointed that the room we got is not like what the photos on booking shows. We booked deluxe twin room and according to the photo, in the room there is a meeting area with a sofa and some chairs , also the bathroom looks quite spacious in photo. The room was claimed to be 25 metersquare. However the actual room is much smaller than the photos, there is no sofa, only two chairs and the bathroom is rather standard. The actual room size is defenately less than 25, not quite sure if it is even under 20. With such conditions, we won’t considered it as deluxe, this is just a standard twin room. The manager in the hotel told us photos in booking are out of date, and we should check in their website for the most updated photos. @booking, would you please align with the hotel and update the photos in future?

    The stuffs are very nice and helpful. They even helped us to book museum tickets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Quiet, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bed (in a comfort double room) was rather narrow - a small double - although there would have been room for a full-sized double. We would probably go for a deluxe room next time.

    Very convenient location, within walking distance (or convenient tram stop if preferred) to the museum quarter and central Amsterdam. Very pleasant residential area with shops and restaurants nearby. Hotel nicely decorated and our room, although smallish, was well-designed and had all that was required. Very good choice of food at breakfast and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent place, close to the center, in a friendly quiet location, with beautiful interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Enjoyed my stay. The hotel looked great and cosy. Staff was helpful and friendly. The interior was very attractive. We’ll run and looked after place. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location, nice staff, quite hotel, the hotel needs a bit TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the bathroom were much smaller than expected and the bathroom in need of hooks for the towels. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the last night room upgrade was very much appreciated!

    Room upgrade last night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    The room was quiet with a great view of the yard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was not at all well designed. The shower was in the middle of the tub with a very small glass to shield the water - which does not work and the water easily sprays everywhere. The tub's shape is very dangerous and there was no anti-slippery facilities AT ALL. And the water temperature is surprisingly unstable. And there was no hook in the bathroom to hang anything, which was quite annoying. I don't think the bathroom deserves a 4-star hotel. The heating in the room was too strong. We opened the window for a while during daytime but then had to close it when we went out. The night was quite unbearable as it was stuffed and very hot.

    The room was quiet with a great view of the yard. The neighborhood was indeed very convenient. The staff were very friendly. The room was nice and well equipped in general.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Excellent boutique hotel scrupulously clean and tasteful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double bed but got a twin. Mentioned it at reception and was told there were none available.

    Opulent decor and beautiful breakfast area. Hotel situated in a leafy residential area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, peaceful suburb and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We had an absolutely superb time. There were so many little extras that made this one of the best hotels we have stayed in: - Free room upgrade! - Room ready when we arrived early! - A little balcony to have coffee on - Wonderfully comfortable bed and blackout curtains - Spotless - Great staff - DELICIOUS breakfast - We were able to check out at 12pm and store our bags until the evening. The hotel is situated in a lovely suburb of Amsterdam and we walked everywhere. We went out most evenings until late hours and ubered home but during the day the trams run frequently. There is a lovely Italian deli around the corner where we went for lunch the one day. Thanks Zoe

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    nice area, tram station is close, museums are within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away from the city center, especially when you come to the city for a weekend. Had to use tram which I personally do not like to do - love to leave walking distance from the old town of any city Wanted to rent a bycicle at the hotel - they did not have enough bicycles for us (we were 4 friends). Seems strange for Amsterdam...

    nice area, tram station is close, museums are within walking distance, lobby of the hotel and its cafe are stylish

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly, safe and great security, great location....perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Please get the internet working, this is the only issue we have and I strongly suggest if you get the internet working in all rooms then your hotel would be 10/10. Thank you for your kindness to me and my family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Stylish, well positioned hotel in fascinating city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedding was a problem to me. Two single duvets and lumpy foam pillows were not conducive to a good night's sleep.

    Great position in safe, attractive quiet street close to excellent public transport. Friendly helpful staff, charming reasonably priced bar. Elegant, stylish, individual hotel. Well serviced en-suite bathroom. A large bowl of apples available to guests was a nice touch, and much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant hotel in convenient, quiet, attractive location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very warm bedroom made sleep rather difficult. However, we did not raise this issue with the staff, so it may be an unfair criticism that they could easily have put right.

    Very helpful. friendly staff. Superb breakfast. Very quiet but convenient location. A stylish, attractive place to stay; would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    The location was perfect for getting out and about to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was perfect for getting out and about to the many museums and parks. The hotel is in a leafy, quiet area yet not too far from the centre of the city. There are many great restaurants in the locale and interesting shoos. Our hotel room was spacious and comfortable & overlooked a lovely courtyard where we could relax at the end of day, there are plenty of areas to sit and read & it has a theatre in it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Perfect, the hotel far exceeded our expectations and was worth every cent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly can't complain about anything!

    The balcony was an unexpected added bonus. Was a lovely room which really added to our experience! Nice free apples too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Such a lovely Art Deco design hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a lovely Art Deco design hotel. Amazing breakfast in beautiful surroundings and all within a stroll to no 5 or 25 tram to the centre. Takes about 10min. Perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.3
    Old world charm in beautiful area but not quite 4 star standard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed could have been more comfortable. Thought I paid for a room with garden view out back but ended up in front bedroom. Pleasant street but windows/curtains poor for blocking noise which disturbed sleep. Likewise noise from hall at 7am with banging doors. Closet and other parts of accommodation needs freshening up. Plenty of easy fixes for a manager who cares.

    Right balance for breakfast even if a bit pricey. Old world interior interesting. Big rooms for Amsterdam. Staff very helpful when I needed some assistance for a business meeting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    The breakfast area was warm and delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was warm and delightful.. Made our trip very memorable.. Staff, especially Sam, were friendly and helpful.. If going to Amsterdam, Apollofirst will not disappoint 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed staying here - a good base for exploring a fascinating city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable beds, decent buffet breakfast, good, relatively quiet location. Nicely appointed room, if a little on the small side (normal, I think, for Amsterdam). Easy access to attractions, especially mueums and Concertgebouw.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Had somewhere amazing and luxurious to come back to after a day out in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would love to move this hotel closer to De Pijp area. Just a little further out than I liked, but still easy to get back to from the centre. Not far from Tram 5 stop.

    We loved the room, decor, clean, spacious, comfortable. Wonderful helpful staff. We were upgraded which was a superb treat. An amazing hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Apollofirst Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: