Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Middelburg 4 stars

Loskade 1, 4331 HV Middelburg, Netherlands

#12 of 13 hotels in Middelburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 667 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    Very poor experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    room very small, too small to get around bed. no coatrack. table too small to use as a desk. window to open and secure with a pin, very heavy window. no rack for towels. shower clogged and no door to close, resulted in water entering bathroom, had to build a "dike". no facial tissues provided. only overhead light in bathroom, no close-up mirror. mirror only in the cupboard, very small, no light. service at outdoor cafe non-existent. overall service very poor. room-cleaning service ok. overall dismal experience, way too expensive. to add insult to injury, there is a photo of Paris over the bed depicting a homeless person in a doorway on boulevard de la Villette= the hotel telling me I could have it worse?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Central Middelburg hotel trying to be something it’s not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/ coffee facilities in the room. Sparse, cheaply decorated rooms. Twin beds did not join properly together to make a ‘large double bed’ No comfortable lounge to relax in. The Dutch have a word ( gezelligheid) for a nice cosy atmosphere. This hotel does not have it. The staff were polite enough. Our room was not cleaned / refreshed on the first day. We were given an apology and new towels given but the old ones were left behind. The bar doubles as a magazine library which completely dominates the room, making it more like a coffee shop. Reception staff doubled as bar staff who we had to call into the bar for service. We struggled to see why this hotel was given a 4 star rating. We definitely would not stay again.

    It was central in Middelburg, close to transport links

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Unfortunately the staff was not knowleadgeable, except for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the staff was not knowleadgeable, except for one receptionist. One of the receptionists even talked rudelu with no reason - seemed like she was not well trained by the hotel. I was even suprised that we were guided to a room that was next to construction.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a large, deluxe room and it was small and very basic. Ridiculously designed bathroom and noisy street with renovations going on next door.

    Location. Breakfast was really okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet paper was inferior, rooms need fans in summer days

    The location-overlooking canal was interesting and view over Middelburg. Also, walking distance to city centre. Cleanliness and ease dealing with staff, who were accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was very cold in the room when we arrived and it took a very long time to warm up. to cold in the bathroom to take a shower. Missing some glasses to have some water. the hotel has been renovated nicely but they should pay some more attention to details to make it comfortable for the guests.

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Elegant hotel on a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scrambled eggs were a bit dry and the mandarines moldy. But the staff was responsive, and fixed things quickly. Our room was a bit smaller than the pictures had suggested. Plus it was cold when we arrived.

    FLetcher is a beautifully-housed hotel in a former warehouse that has been renovated with style. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Beds are just the right squeeze. And the location, just across a great canal from the railway station and on the edge of old-Middelburg, could hardly be better. Our included breakfast included champagne.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great.

    The hotel is located in a great spot. It's easy to walk through the town from there. The room was warm, the bed was comfortable, staff were extremely nice and the wifi was high speed. Plus there is a great shower there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely food and great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was very slow if I had to pick a gripe(We were on the fourth floor), but really there wasn’t anything to complain about!

    The breakfast was a definite highlight! Great location, Middelburg is a lovely place to stroll around and spend time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed in a "box room"
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was rated as a "small double" so I was not expecting it to be huge BUT the double bed was rammed up against the wall with only 25cms of space at one side. With the door to the shower room and door to the hall and a desk in it as well one of us had to sit on the bed so the other could pass by to get to the shower room, or get out of the room. When the bed was made only the duvet was straightened, the bottom sheet was left rucked and crumpled as it was difficult to reach.... Not really good enough. I didn't complain as I felt it was not the fault of the poor staff who had to work with a too small room which we paid over the odds for. We ate in the restaurant the first night. The main course was very small and did not deliver what was described on the menu. We had to have a dessert as we were still hungry which was huge to justify the price 8.5 Euros.

    The hotel was newly renovated so was very modern and clean. Staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    smart hotel with a lovely bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny bedroom.

    The bed was fabulous, and I've never had such wonderful pillow. Unfortunately once the bed was in the room there was very little room for anything else! Quite possibly the smallest hotel room I have ever seen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful room with a view of the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows in the bathroom is sealed completely in our room. It wasn't possible to open it after a shower. Other than that, the room was clean, bight, quiet. Just a little tight, but for sleeping purpose it was fine.

    The staff servicing the breakfast room were extremely great. Breakfast selection was good. You will be expected to pay for the rooms upfront when you checked in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice location near center of old Middelburg -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    street parking is all that is available...hopefully a spot opens when you need it within walking distance. Extra steep stairs and a tiny elevator made vertical mobility a challenge to reach our 4th floor room with luggage.

    The location is excellent for a short walk into the city Center. The building itself is a nice restoration of an older structure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Booking.com web site errors cost money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am unhappy with booking.com I clearly booked a room for two people. All the drop downs said two people. I just rechecked and they are default to two people. I added both names to the reservation. When I got to the hotel they said it was only a reservation for one person and I had to pay an additional 39 euros on top if the 158 euros already paid. The room was absolutely minuscule so the charge was really only for the breakfast. Hotel staff said this happens all the time with booking.com. From now on, I will check rates and availability on booking.com and then go directly to the hotel web site to book.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    Pleasant location, but too little value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had no airco. Suffocatingly hot. No minibar, no coffee or tea facilities. The dinner was so so. On the whole, too little value for money.

    Staff was OK. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    Basic hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms on the fourth floor are very warm in the summer and no air-conditioning Showers on the fourth floor don't have much pressure; you have to wait until others are ready showering

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.0
    We thoughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the service and accomadation. Enjoyed it all.

    Beds very comfy, dinner delicious and waiting staff very helpful and friendly. Reception staff also very friendly and willing to help .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    The temperature was 31-34 degrees and with no air...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature was 31-34 degrees and with no air conditioning. My room was facing the sun and it felt like I was in a greenhouse.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Biggest drawback was that there was no air conditioning in...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Biggest drawback was that there was no air conditioning in the bedroom and the outside temperature was close to 30 degrees.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, new and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small and get very warm and there isn’t AC or a fan

    Great location, new and clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    A let down. We were very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny without a view. When paying they tried to charge certain things twice.

    Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    great time great food great staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints

    I thought the restaurant was fantastic and the staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok, but some parents need to realise outside there room is not a playground
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kids running around the corridor outside our room. Making so much noise it woke us . spoiled the stay.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Expensive little room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, very small room, hardly any toilet articles, elevator was slow. We paid too much for what we got

    Good location, breakfast was okay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok for one night, don't expect any special luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper cups, very basic toiletries

    Comftable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Really comfortable bed, great meals, the breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't make a tea or coffee in the room

    Really comfortable bed, great meals, the breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    Isolation of the windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolation of the windows

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    The location, the availability of paid parking, the fast wifi
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are small and the furniture is old.

    The location, the availability of paid parking, the fast wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Nice experiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style of the room and restrorant is really lovely and warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    It did the job and Middelberg is always a pleasure to visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought the breakfast was no more than OK. Fried eggs looked very sad. The bread was going stale. All in all not quite there.

    Clean and efficent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Great Location and friendly stuff but tiny hotel rooms...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny hotel room Was too loud

    Location is great Very friendly stuff Good beer choices

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    The room was good and pretty comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Had to pay for the parking each day

    The room was good and pretty comfortable. The breakfast was nice and good quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laundry

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the room was too hot.

    The breakfast was very nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    They forgot to clean our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to clean our room

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: