Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fletcher Hotel De Zalm 3 stars

Voorstraat 6, 3231 BJ Brielle, Netherlands

#6 of 8 hotels in Brielle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 632 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Super small single rooms, steep stairs, I feared for the fire safety. Parking lot too small, no elevator, room cleanliness could have been better, for example the air condition filters were full of dirt!

    The staff was great, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel was a real problem. It did not have correct address on booking.com and I went in circles. Parking is too little and had to park on street.

    Breakfast was good. I liked the beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is charging for Brekfast even in price by Booking.com included in Price, we were requested to pay additional 35 EUR for Breckfast and local Tax

    Very friendly stuff on the Bar, all recomandation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed an overnight stay in Brielle for a party we were attending. We only live 40 minutes away. In short. The staff were wonderful and first impression downstairs I thought. Oh, not bad for a cheap price. I really, really did not know that rooms as bad as we had still exsisted. Never have a ever wished I had brought slippers so I did not have to walk barefoot on the carpet. Never have I laid in bed wondering if it's better to pack up and drive home. Fletcher Hotels you should be ashamed. De Zalm deserves more! It's a listed building give it the rooms it deserves! Lastly the breakfast was fine with great staff again. Shame i cannot add videos because that really shows how bad it was.

    The staff and the history

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a large water stain on the ceiling. There was building work going on and dust had collected round the edge of our room and not been cleaned up properly.

    The bathroom was spotless. It was very cold weather but the room and bathroom was very warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything needs updating, curtains,chairs, Floors .. the hall wasn’t vacuum cleaned in a while for sure. It was ok for one night stay but definitely not my best hotel where I stayed in.noisy people outside if you sleep with your window open .

    Room was clean, bed was ok. I think they had a nice restaurant, the staff was friendly and the price was good value for money .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice Hotel in Brielle-city. has an excellent Restaurant too with very tasty dutch beers! friendly staff, older Hotel with older rooms, well heated. nice breakfast with a variety of bread etc. is a nice Location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shared shower is a bit outdated and the strength of the water was not great. Also noise protection of the single rooms is not excellent meaning you can hear people talk

    Good value for money for single room! Excellent bed quality not too soft. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds where very comfy only in room 1 where we stayed on the head side they made planks on the wall for storage. However this made it impossible to sit comfy in bed to work on the computer or watch tv...

    The staff was really nice and flexible. We where traveling with a baby and they really tried to do everything to make out stay comfortable. The rooms where simple but clean and with very comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 21 nights

    As typical for traditional European hotels, the single rooms were small and plain by American standards, but I nevertheless prefer this over bland, modern hotels. On weekends, the old town square facing the hotel was a bit loud and rowdy, but fun.

    I came for business in a nearby refinery, but at the hotel I felt like I was on vacation. Excellent restaurant, friendly hyper-efficient staff. And the bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    over all a very nice experience lovely food helpful and cheerfull staff, nice clean rooms a lovely hotel would recommend to friends and would visit again my self. great location and very quiet at night ,just perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interesting old building but confusing layout and poorly signed. Unfortunately dull views despite the general location. Dark room.

    The waiter in the restaurant added greatly to the feel of the hotel, as did what I think was a trainee receptionist - both very friendly and likeable people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the location right in the centre of Brielle. Ample parking space on the premisses. Hotel had been booked rather early and price was exceptionally low!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms and corridors although spacious and airy could do with refurbishment.

    The hotel was right in the centre of town so very convenient for restaurants and bars. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, especially when our car wouldn't start.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy location. Disturbed nights sleep caused by local youth into the early hours, creaking floorboards, loud plumbing & thin walls.

    Very good breakfast & restaurant fascilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking lot is not big enough for all the cars which need space but it is an historic town so you need to be aware of this. There are many free spaces close by. Tourist fee is 2,50€ per person per night which is very expensive for this area.

    Very friendly and professional staff! Top! Always working hard. One guy does the whole breakfast service alone, which is pretty good! Very nice to dogs. The room was clean and very big, overlooking the market place. Could be loud in summer. The furniture is older but not bad. The hotel is old/historic but nice and has everything you need. Nothing bad about it. Food is very good. Can't say anything bad like all the other people here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a construction noise nearby and it was difficult to spend quietly in the room in the morning.

    Dinner and lunch of the restaurant were delicious! A nice hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Deluxe with bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are many steep steps in the hotel and maybe should have tea/coffee in the room

    The hotel's location in town centre is perfect, as is the free car park. Staff are helpful and breakfast is good. Room with en suite was comfortable and well equipped and the whole hotel is an escape from modern design (in a good way). Other reviews mention shared bathrooms, ours was definitely not.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the booked room was according to my reservation, but very small. It was located at the main Stairway where all Hotel guests were walking over the wooden floor in the early morning. But I had long discussions about the booked rate, there was a big difference to the reservation of booking com and the charged rate. (that happened before). I am frequent Guest of this hotel.

    nice location, free parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise isolation is bad: last time, I could hear everything from my neighbors' room: TV, toilet, and worst of all, terrible snoring all night long...

    Nice bed, efficient rooms, good breakfast buffet, very central location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights

    to start there was no lift for goods or persons, making access difficult for older people. Had expected a tea maker, and fridge. Only one towel per person, and only one very soft head pillow.

    The beds were soft and warm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    contrary to the description ("The bright rooms are fitted with heating and come with a TV. Each has a private bathroom."), our room didn't have a bathroom.

    location, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small, only good for one night stay.

    Superb location, friendly staff, really good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise. No noise insulation

    Nice personel and area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, lack of facilities, smelled of urine

    Good bar, easy free parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good staff and great location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff and reception. Beautiful old historic city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Deluxe with bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very poor. Dried up eggs and watery yoghurt. Dreadful coffee

    The staff are always helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room Deluxe with bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a room safe. Stairs from 1st to 2nd floor very steep.

    Good free car park, excellent location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture is already some years old

    Small, Cosy, Familiar, Friendly, Quick check in/out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Omay the bed . But realize I had a bunget stay

    Was influenceND by external matters.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    More pillows Mini bar or water/tea/coffee at least Bar open leater !

    Excellent location Traditional Hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Deluxe with bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner toiler in the aspect of smell.

    I love the convenience and it is located in the center of the town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated Hotel but In need of some modernisation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms clean but dated

    Location, staff & breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location and an all round nice hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Verry small beds

    Nice surrounding

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort level could be a bit higher

    Location and price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Houskeeping is not good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No adjacent toilet

    Great Price and Service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good central location 👍

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Deluxe with bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No room safe. Lighting in bedroom not bright enough.

    Good location for our requirements. Free carpark. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Deluxe with bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be better. Scrambled eggs always overcooked and over-salted. Choices limited

    Staff are very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, good free car parking. Fast wifi. Friendly staff. Very good value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a good stay at de Zalm. I love the breakfasts!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facility in room

    New bed and mattress👍

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort was acceptable, but with a small investment could be improved to good.

    Staff support

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room Deluxe with bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air-conditioning. Noisy in the evenings until after midnight.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfy. location is quiet so a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy terrace near our window (till about 2.00)

    Family room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice friendly and welcoming staff. They also happily allowed me to store my bike in a secure room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good selection

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no kettle in the room and the restaurant will not provide tap water with a meal.

    The location of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I am never a fan of common showers and toilets, but this was well advertised and we knew what we were buying when we made the booking.

    The staff was just great, we were greeted with smiles and (funny) jokes from everyone down at the reception, which was a real pleasant surprise. In the end of the day, it was the value for money that really makes a difference, for what we received (a comfortable bed, a warm room and breakfast) we were happy to pay the price. Free parking is just great also!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could install a toaster and a flask making facilities,for we were there fishing and this would be very helpful.

    Beds very comfortable,and the was very nice and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No noise insulation from one room to another. You need to hope there are no guests in the room next door, which wasn't my case...

    Very well located with a handy parking

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing springs to mind. The town appears to be struggling; many shops vacant or to let.

    The price, the location on the town's main drag, free WiFi. My first floor single was clean & well maintained. Contrary to the listing there's a limited guest carpark (Rozemarijnstraat 100). Buffet breakfast was fit for purpose and included bacon & eggs. Happy with my weekend stay based on the rate paid.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Couple

    A room safe would be a welcome addition; also the energy-saving lights in the bedroom were very dim.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Free car park. Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are so helpfull and friendly and the food is tasty and plentiful. The location is in the centre of the beatiful town of Brielle. This is our second stay and we hope to go back again later on this year

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only small issue with heating that was resolved very quickly

    Great location within easy walking distance of town centre. Good breakfast included. Large clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Group

    The rooms were way, way, way overpriced. We travel all over Europe & this area of the Netherlands is far and away the very worst value for money we come to . Room very pokey, very smelly (it was the drains from the sink) & very tatty & dingy. We were offered better rooms for a higher price but were already paying what would have got us lovely spacious en suite rooms anywhere else.

    Breakfast was nice & staff pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls in the room were dirty. Sharing a bathroom and shower on our floor with everyone else was not mentioned when booking. Very noisy.

    Good location.. Great breakfast..good staff in bar, reception, historic town.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast is in a separate room that is not attractive. No problem at all for me. It's what I came for. But the room was very noisy because of huge celebrations going on and the window looks out right on the 'pleintje' with maybe one hundred people drinking and partying. If that would disturb you, be smart and ask for a room away from the noise.

    It doesn't feel like a chain hotel. It's very 'gezellig' downstairs in the bar and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    worn carpets, dirt on bedroom walls, flaking paint on bedroom walls, price of bedroom condsidering there was no bathroom or toilet on suite.

    location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Charged for parking which was advertised as free (though they did remove the charge when queried). Charged for leaving a bit late when we'd been told it would be ok (but charge was removed when queried)

    Helpful staff Central location Nice room Nice bed

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner at their restaurant was far below my expectations.

    Location and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dirty carpet in room.

    Nice location.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV in wrong side of the room.

    comfy bed, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent central location. Free and easy car parking.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a great room

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice hotel, very good breakfast. Located in main place, in centre of city.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good location and friendly staff Pet friendly Very good restaurant & Bar

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shared toilette- some people are inconsiderate...

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good beds.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fletcher Hotel De Zalm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: