Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fletcher Hotel - Restaurant de Cooghen 3 stars

Dorpsstraat 10, 1796 BB De Koog, Netherlands

#17 of 17 hotels in De Koog

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1797 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing stay, definitely not value for money.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked-in, but when we got to our room one of the cleaning staff stopped us and told us that our room was not ready yet. This was not appreciated, since we did not arrive ahead of the check-in time. The bathroom was not cleaned very well and the towels were smelly.

    I liked the location of the hotel, very central. There are loads of nice shops and restaurants in the area, and the beach is just a 10 min walk away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel appeared to be short staffed causing prolonged waiting for any assistance. The only staff member who was there always irrespective of the timings was efficient but could do with some assistance.

    location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Ok clean and goodbreakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 Euro extra per night car parking 15 Euro extra per night for the dog Hard bed Breakfast start at 8 I would prefer it earlier

    Breakfast Room Near to the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.0
    Ok accommodation, quite average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No view from the window No hairdryer in the room Had to wait 2 hours until 16:30 until we could check in. We got a drink voucher for the bar, which is a nice gesture. However it was only applicable for the smaller and cheapest beer on the menu...

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient, but noisy. Pricy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to restaurants. It was so noisy in evening until really late night. There are ear plugs in room, but I’m not sure if it works.

    Location. The hotel is located at the really centre of the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    2.9
    No sleep DO NOT BOOK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was impossible to sleep with very loud music till very late small hours of morning. Provided ear plugs. The price of rooms to front should be significantly low. To pay 336e for 2 nights with no sleep. The girl in reception I experienced . No senior staff. Complaint was pointless. No customer service. Breakfast just ok, not great.

    Central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was sometimes absent at the desk and did not look up from their computer when we walked by. The room smelled of smoke because our room was located above the place where restaurant workers had their break.

    Clean and comfortable room. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Great breakfast every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like if the 2 single beds that were pushed together as a double didnt separate and fall between the space. Use a matress topper or something rp connect the singles beds into 1 large bed.

    Great breakfast every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    Had to leave early to go back to my own bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room provided was really noisy as its directly in front of a night club. Also the bed was not confortable at all, both side of the bed were moving apart from each other leaving a hole in the middle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice and welcoming hotel for business as well as for leisure trips. The beach just around the corner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    I asked for a quiet room at the rear of the hotel and I got it! The room was really nice and cosy, and certainly not too small - although it was announced as "small room with shower". The bathroom was fine, shower excellent, bed comfortable and there was no street noise. So I slept very well and I enjoyed a good breakfast in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    A good price, but don't expect much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lacked a bit of atmosphere and the rooms definitely did. The beds in our room were incredebly soft, and not in a good way unfortunately. The matrasses were so soft that it was difficult to even turn around.

    The check-in procedure was easy and the receptionist was friendly. The rooms were alright in size and cleanliness. The breakfast the next morning was just fine. Enough choice and the quality of bread, fruits and drink was good. It was also good that there is a (payed) parking space behind the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    Location, all the basic needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is open only from 9am, no hairdryer available, really badly overused mattress with a big dip in the middle, breakfast is cheap (diluted juice, etc.)

    Location, all the basic needs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant stay but lots of noise from the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room on the left hand side of the hotel (if you are looking at the hotel entrance). Unfortunately this overlooked a bar that was noisy and we were kept up all night by people shouting outside. The hotel could not provide an iron on request, nor were the rooms equipped with hairdryers or any toiletries. The pillows were a bit too big and hard (only one provided on each bed). The breakfast was ok (a continental breakfast with some bacon and eggs) but there was no coffee (only an expresso shot). We also asked to store our bags after checkout and they had no place to lock them.

    The hotel is in a good location and on a busy street with lots of restaurants. It is also only a quick walk to the beach and public transport stops. There is a free breakfast provided in the morning and the staff were accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath or hairdryer. Tv channels did not all work.

    Breakfast was excellent. Room was very big and also had a steam shower. Staff really friendly and helpfull. Beach very close walking distance and it's in the centre of town. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.8
    The breakfast was better as expected for the kind of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was terrible, almost didnt sleep because it feeled like the matrass was used a lot, in the middle was a big dibhole. Also the pillow was too big and too hard.

    The breakfast was better as expected for the kind of hotel. Lots of choice for food and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.9
    You need to look twice to find the entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed a water cooker in the room to make my own tea especially since I didn't like the tea in the restaurant so much: The water didn't seem hot enough. It was possible to borrow a hair dryer at the reception but I didn't see a note in the room that I could have.

    The breakfast was good with a lot of choices available. The shower temperature and pressure were spot on.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.5
    Perfect choice for 'out of season' stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad soundproofing. We were lucky staying out of season and not during a weekend. Please note that the hotel is located on the main walking street with restaurants and close to the night club. I can imagine it could be very noisy during weekends (they even provide you with earplugs). Also hotel staff was not very friendly but formal. Anyway we got no issues due to that. And yes, welcome chocolate bar in our room was disgusting because probably full of soya.

    Great value for money! We paid just 65 eur per room that was clean, spacious enough and including breakfast. The heating system worked well and breakfast was really good. Coffee was just amazing. The hotel is located right in the center of De Koog, very close to everything: cafes, beach, bus stop, supermarket.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast it was very crowded. As it was very busy, the staff couldn't keep up with providing enough of everything

    Located very close to the beach. The room was much better than expected; a big round bed, a whirlpool, a view on the dunes

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.1
    good hotel, reception staff could be more welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    attitude of reception staff: not very friendly; when asked for information about the transport system on the island the answer was: you shouldn't ask me this, I have no idea

    location, room, breakfast area,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    regret it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was 2 matresses beside each other which were very uncomfortable

    The location and the staff were good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Close to the beach the breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's located in a busy street at night, if a person has trouble sleeping this is not the place for you

    Close to the beach the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beds, room

    breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor value for money. This hotel has the quality of a simple hostel, yet it charges hotel prices that are far too high.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Localização
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't make sense to have around 4 towels in the bathroom and all of them were dirty.

    Localização

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need renovation

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    Both beds were horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both beds were horrible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Food at restaurant was very delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at restaurant was very delicious! Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stay and best location to access the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cable channels and room service during nights

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    The beds were awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were awful!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast, quite room and very friendly staf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, quite room and very friendly staf.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Easy walk to the ocean, near good restaurants, bike rentals,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy walk to the ocean, near good restaurants, bike rentals, grocery store.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast is very good, the room is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really very noisy because on the side of the street.

    The breakfast is very good, the room is clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    Dissapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking (had to cary our sleeping child and suitcase from a parking lot far from the hotel), very noisy (couldn't sleep until 3am)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise outside

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be better

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    2.9
    what am I going to write it was Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too noisy , no parking facilities and too expensive

    It was too noisy , no parking facilities and too expensive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    good location and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    good location and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chocomel and Coffee specialties not included at breakfast

    nice staff, spacious room, delicious breakfast, location in the city center

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Ideal!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location! Scarmbled eggs! Apple bread! And my amazing southeast facing room!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.6
    good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast starts to late

    good place to stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    6.7
    Hopefully the price is low.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No privacy at all. A person speaking normally in adjascent room and you heard it as it is in yours....

    Price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.9
    perfect location for shopping/dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    of course if you're sitting just on top of a busy road you expect it to be noisy late at night.

    shopping/dining areas just outside the door

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    3.3
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very basic facilities. No sound proofing. There is a very busy pub next door, we were awake all night. Poor ventilation, air was coming throgh the windows though we tried to close it tight.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.9
    The restaurant is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was full and so breakfast was very crowded and it was hard to get a seat. Breakfast was good though. Facilities basic but ok for the cost.

    The restaurant is amazing. We had the tasting menu for 40€ with wine for each course and additional 20€ and it was fantastic. Halibut carpaccio, belly pork with truffle cream then fillet of beef. Cooked beautifully and presented so well. The dessert was amazing as well; a variety of textures and flavours. For an extra 5€ we shared a plate of local cheese. It was a good as anything I've paid three figures for. Wine nothing special but fine. Hotel is well placed and value for money. Staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    Spacious, comfortable and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The night sleep was disrupted by the noise coming from the main street of the De Koog where several bars/pubs are located. This problem was however anticipated at the moment of booking the room, so we can't say to have got a nasty surprise, yet some disturbance in falling asleep.

    Spacious, comfortable and clean room. The location of the hotel in the heart of the village of De Koog is convenient when travelling by public transport (bus 28 stops 150 m away), very close to the beach and ideal starting point to visit the Texel national park. The breakfast buffet was well assorted.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    5.8
    Nice receptionists, great location - close to beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is right next to an incredibly loud discotheque, so don't expect to get any sleep on Saturday. The hotel itself has a very cheap impression. Asking for payment at checkin, no AC, wornout furniture, extra fee for everything from parking to a tiny dog. My best experience: I wanted a slice of lemon with my tea at breakfast, and politely asked two different breakfast waiters: both of them refused my request without a single moment of hesitation, without a "I'll check if we have". Poor them, business must be pretty bad if a single room sells for 300 euros yet there's not a single lemon in the entire hotel.

    Nice receptionists, great location - close to beach, breakfast variety is satisfying

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    5.4
    location good in the center and close to beach entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were placed to noisy room on Saturday evening. Room was ok sized, but had just small window. Luckily we were tired from travelling so the noise from below street that ended after 4:30 didn't bother us too much. Room was promised to have good view and bathtube, we missed both. Parking space was also full and we were not even told about that option in first place.

    location good in the center and close to beach entrance. Beds were big and comfortable. Room had well sized, but suffering from small window in a corner

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is ideal, the room was super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They charge for the parking which was a little inconvenient.

    The location of the hotel is ideal, the room was super spacious, we were very comfortable. The hotel was clean and pleasant. Rich breakfast with plenty of choices. The wifi worked very well, we could even watch netflix with the children. Great restaurants right outside of the hotel and the sea is 10 mins walk.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    10
    The staff is very nice and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We couldn't connect to the wifi in the room.

    The staff is very nice and pleasant. The place is good and in the main street. The beach is near in a walking distance. The breakfast is really good. We recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.3
    Big rooms with comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy! Many bars are close to the hotel. We cannot sleep until 3am

    Big rooms with comfortable bed. Very stylish hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking shouldn't be charged for guests.

    Breakfast very good! Close to the beach. Nice staff. Comfortable bed and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.8
    great value for money, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillow too high

    great value for money, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hot water from the shower was not hot

    Location was very good. Staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    Location, atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is to hot in the hole hotel, seams like heating systeem doesn't work properly.

    Location, atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    4.2
    Unwelcoming and unhelpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unwelcoming and unhelpful staff. Noisy location. Very overpriced for what you get.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    Great location, really nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, really nice staff

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    Location, staff, bed, room all were fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, staff, bed, room all were fabulous!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    Free upgrade to courtyard view with dunes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sag matress.

    Free upgrade to courtyard view with dunes. Friendliness of stuff, good service. Clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.5
    Onsite parking cost 10 euro per night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Onsite parking cost 10 euro per night..

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    Location, spa, decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor breakfast, stuff´s attitude, the sheets in the bed were not completely clean, the walls are pretty thin.

    Location, spa, decoration

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location! Close to everything. Breakfast was fabulous too.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    4.6
    personeel was niet echt vriendelijk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    personeel was niet echt vriendelijk

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    3.3
    Dogs where welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disco next door, bed, cold room, breakfast was to simple and they ran out of things

    Dogs where welcome

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: