Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fletcher Hotel - Restaurant Steenwijk 3 stars

Woldmeentherand 15, 8332 JE Steenwijk, Netherlands

#2 of 2 hotels in Steenwijk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 861 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not purchase the breakfast at the Hotel. The restaurant did not open till 8:00 AM. There was not coffee or tea available before then and no way to make it in the room. I got coffee and tea from the McDonalds across the street.

    The hotel room was clean and comfortable. There was bike storage available that was locked at night. It was not far from Geithoorn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not cleaned before we came in however we were told to go in. Once I called reception to say that the room had not been cleaned I was told that someone would be there to check it out immediately, we waited for half an hour and no-one came, so we just left. When we came back the room was cleaned. We were not even told by reception that they were sorry. We did not feel treated as customers by the hotel, for some reason we felt like we were just passers by who happened to sleep there, but we paid 103 euros for a room that was definitely not worth it.

    Not much, a pretty "meh"experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room, breakfast very expensive (but there is a McDonald's just next door).

    Nice huge bathroom, large bed, spacious. Location by the motorway, close enough to Giethoorn - easy to find amd get there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No locks on the bathroom door which wan't a problem but not my preference. Could have maybe used an extra blanket in the room and an extra pillow.

    Super comfortable beds and also great water pressure in the showers. A free welcome drink was provided and there is space to store luggage if you arrive before or leave after check in/out which was very useful. The location was close enough to town - though I would advise having a bike.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little bit dated and pretentious.

    Hotel is nearby to Giethoorn (10-15min drive) it is a good option if all hotels are booked (as it happend to us). Rooms are comfortable. Nice gardens. Recommended bike routes with maps available. There is a Mcdonalds across the parking lot that can be useful for a late arrival or to grab breakfast in the morning at a budget.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location was bit far from the train station and there was no public transport available. City centre is again 15-20 mins walk from the hotel.

    Hotel staff was amazing and very helpful. We throughly enjoyed our stay. We hired 🚲 from the hotel itself and took a round of the entire village, it was simply amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel is easy to find, plenty of parking space available, room is clean. There is a free welcome drink and chocolate in the room. Staff is helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quarter past ten on a Thursday evening the main access to the hotel was already locked. Had to let myself in through the night entrance. The restaurant/bar area was also locked and no opportunity to get a drink and sit and relax a bit before going to bed.

    As always a pleasant short stay. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and adequately furnished with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was missing a coffee/tea machine, because I brought my own sackets of coffee and tea bags but was not able to make it in the room.

    Breakfast and environment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food portions on the 24th were very uneven served, lucky that I could change with my partner. Qualtiy however was excellent.

    Friendly and professionel personnel, easy stay and nice Xmas restaurant evenings

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is the walk pad you have to from the station, however very pleasant, can be very dark if you go at night. This of course is not the hotel's fault by any means but I believe it is well worth noting.

    The property is a very cosy place to stay. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. It met all the expectations we had The staff were also very helpful as well. It is a nice place to stay .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advance payment and every time the filling in procedure for a well-known guest is not really ok Staff attention could be better, 5 persons meeting in the reception and me waiting for service can be improved

    Rooms are absolutely clean Breakfast is ok Late evening supper is not only possible but also good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really a negative but it would be great if the rooms would be equipped with a water cooker and mugs so guests can make their own tea/coffee.

    Staff is always very friendly and helpful and complies with room preferences. Rooms are bright and adequately furnished and beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle for tea or coffee in the room, very thin towels. Wonderful view of a McDonalds from our window.

    Super clean, very basic room but great value for money. Next to the highway, so easy to get to and from. Comfy decent quality bed and while an older hotel room, nothing was broken or obviously worn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no airconditioning or fan in the room and only way to get fresh air in is to open the window (no ventilation grids) so the room is either stuffy, or cold and noisy.

    Convenient mid-range hotel with friendly staff. Beds, pillows and bathroom okay and clean. Location is convenient if you need easy access to the highway (albeit quite a bit out of town center). Plenty of (free) parking space

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    i payed for check out late 15e extra and they said before it is till 17.00 ,when i arrived they informed me it is only till 13.00 , so a normal checkout is at 11.00 , a late check out is at 13.00, ???

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hallway carpets need replacement. Super-automatic cappuccino machines using real milk must be added in gathering/pool room with (or without) a coin-box. It's a long walk to the restaurant for true quality coffee.

    Quiet and located within and between various nature areas accessed by (electric) bike within mere minutes. Large quiet rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegetables at the breakfast; they did not change the sheets over the day but we stayed only 2 nights in total so it wasn't necessarily an issue.

    Very clean and large room for a 3 stars hotel, all the appliances were working, great view from the room; beautiful and quiet location, very close to the highway but there was absolutely no noise; great quality over price report; the reality is better than the online pictures; we were very satisfied overall, thank you for the great accomodation!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was easily the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Somebody from the hotel staff used their own key to enter my room at 2 AM in the night. After waking me up they claimed to have made a mistake with the booking which was why they had to enter my room while I was fast asleep. I couldn't go back to sleep after this. The hotel staff didn't offer as much as an apology for their behaviour. I would recommend you to not stay at this hotel if you have an option.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good breakfast (eggs bacon hams cheeses jams breads juices fruits yogurts etcc 5min driving from city center at the exit of highway silent welcoming personnel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not find anything negative about our stay Fletcher Hotel - Restaurant Steenwijk

    Excellent location, very clean, even if near a highway it was very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning available which was uncomfortable. Maybe provide fans in the rooms in very hot weather.

    comfy beds and lovely shower! friendly welcoming staff. beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is rather simple and also not hygienic.But no one cares. The personal cleares the table and does unused jam etc. back to the breakfast buffet - this speaks for itself.

    Big parking slot, nice area, good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Was very clean and quiet. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check in time is after 3:00pm, later than normal check in time

    the location is very easy to find and close to the town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the town, Macdonald and not far from Giethoorn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness Studio No actual tourist guidance provided by hotel team

    Location is good Close to Giethoom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet place. Accessible from highway. Big parking place free. You can find insaid a pool table and a fitness center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the rate lower after the reservation

    Very quiet and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room on the 2nd floor is hard to find. I was lost for a moment.

    The restaurant and the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    if there is a fridge and a water boiler would b great.

    friendly staffs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort and calme

    With good landscape

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always a pleasant short stay. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and adequately furnished with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle to make own drinks

    Strategic location to Giethoorn

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are adequately furnished, bright, clean and have comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city centre

    Clean, good breakfast and that they have the psibility for renting bikes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the room would have a catle and coffee would be greater

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge and water kettle in the room.

    Good breakfast, comfy beds and pillows and location is very accessible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No refrigerator in the room and some smell from McDonald's nearby.

    Clean, comfortable and close to the motorway, a good start for daily trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff can be more friendly

    Nice place for morning jogging 5km

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel needs updating. No screens on the windows and right next to canal. Out of town.

    OK breakfast- chain hotel syle. Next to bike trail.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room space is clean and large, and the staff in this hotel is sweet and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice hotel location, we rented ebikes and took a stroll around the neighboring communities! Good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic personal and service!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not good

    Nice view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    quite big and comfortable room with good scenery. You will enjoy every minute here

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    we didn't book breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Not so conveniently located. Takes about 25mins from train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Jammer dat de loopband nog steed defect was.

    Correcte service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior bit outdated but comfortable

    Comfortable- - value for money - clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    To have the possibility to cook eggs by ourselve for a light cooking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bad heating.

    The food and service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good size room. Very clean, and comfortable bed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location next to busy road next to a McDonald's. Hard to reach by other means than car.

    Breakfast buffet, nice view into the garden, game room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive. The shower room needs improvement.

    Very beautiful garden, nice restaurant, good entertaiment equipment

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing staff and very cool hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to giethoorn,and good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here a number of times. Food is good and staff are friendly. Secure cycle storage.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restaurant and staff restaurant : we all ready book for dinner birthday but nothing look like under reservations and the best part deer steak i canot eat at all to raw! and plus come with baccon ! I'm muslim how and they should serve the food have pork? we order something dont have pork why they shouldl use baccon as food decoration? and the distance from hotel to train station to far!

    room and value for money

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The layout of the hotel is a bit odd with the gym on an open floor on the second floor near the stairs. Not sure I would want to be pull-ups in view of everybody walking through the hall. OK for a bit of cardio though. The rooms are not especially nice and modern.

    We were a bit worried because we had a very bad experience with another Fletcher Hotel. So I called in beforehand to make sure we got a quiet room with proper matresses. It all turned out to be ok. We got a good nights sleep and that was really all that we wanted. The staff was really nice and professional, although in all fairness I might have been a difficult customer because of our previous experiences with Fletcher. Overall, and considering the minus points mentioned, I would say it is good value for money. I don't think I would want to book the hotel for several nights though. I would just rather spend some more money for a more modern place.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms don't have tea/coffee facility. But as said before, there was no problem borrowing a kettle from the reception.

    Very helpful and friendly staff - needed some hot water and had to borrow a kettle from the reception. Quiet location - window was facing the green field at the back. McDonald's just locates opposite, which we found handy.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to the highway and Mcdonalds so do not expect a "romantic gateway". Breakfast is pricy (13,50).

    Clean, comfortable and very quiet in spite of location close to the highway. Good quality for its price.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This has nothing yo do with the hotel I don't like the small beds which is common in the Nederland

    Very clean hotel friendly staff The location wasn't very great Have no complains of this hotel And would stay again

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is not near centrum

    Good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no kettle in the room.

    Not far from the Steenwijk railway station.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Its abit far if walk from the Steenwijk station ,especially at night

    Price reasonable for a hotel like this

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are very sparsely decorated; no water cooker, no fridge et cetera. Breakfast choices are very limited.

    Rooms are clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In my opinion the breakfast was too expensive for what was served.

    The staff was really nice and the facilities were good.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit far from train station

    clean and comfortable room with great field view

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2.50 Euro water at the restaurant.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fletcher Hotel - Restaurant Steenwijk traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: