Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fletcher Hotel La Ville Blanche 3 stars

Hoogstraat 2, 6017 AR Thorn, Netherlands

#5 of 5 hotels in Thorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 659 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.5
    i maked reservation for employee , i informed hotel to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i maked reservation for employee , i informed hotel to charge my credid card up front because person doesn't heva a cash. they took all payment. Now when person need to check out they don't want to let him go before he will not pay 2 EUR.... They don't listen that he has no cash , we can send fast transfer , charge credit card but they want cash etc. i maked before 200 reservations and this is first time with so ridiculous story

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    The location was great, close to the historic center /...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist could have been more helpful, as we arrived after the dinner hours he didn't offered us any option or recommendation from nearby places.

    The location was great, close to the historic center / church / museum and nice cafe and restaurants. The bedroom was clean and tidy. It was quiet bedroom, although we were in the last floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.2
    Staff are hardly ever there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are hardly ever there. Hotel is in the middle of now where so if you dont have transport skip on this optio. Facilitites are very old and internet was cagey

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast, convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit shaby . Water in the bathroom was with very low pressure

    Good breakfast, convenient location. Nice looking building from outside but could be kept better inside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay at a reasonable price. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just OK for the price, the usual assortment of mostly white flour bread and lots of sugary things. Toilet in our room had no water-saving flush mechanism which should be the norm.

    Nice room with lovely view of the church, comfy bed. Very friendly staff and pleasant overall stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Have already booked next stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No english menus available. The waiter tried to translate dutch menu to us, but ”fish” or ”stew” is a bit short and narrow description of a meal.

    Very cosy and clean hotel. Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    great venue, nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/a

    The staff were very good and spoke English which helped as i do not speak Dutch. The service and food was excellent, with nice comfy beds were a real bonus. Would stay there again if in the country.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    Bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old, damaged and dirty; it was in a run-down condition. The staff was not friendly at check in. The price is way too high for the quality of the stay; there must be better places around, even for less money.

    Good location if you need to be somewhere around the village. The view from the room (on the front) was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    3.3
    I'm sorry , never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of room. Old mattress. Dirty shower.

    I'm sorry , never again. A room that was 3 Meter by 2.5 Meter . And we paid almost 90 Euro. Per square meter this room is probably 6 times more expensive than the Hilton . Same day,same room the price was announced for 39 Euro on booking.com . A rip off !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In need of some long due repairs...window sill was very deteriorated (with open gap to exterior), doors and bathroom also showing signs of long due maintenance need.

    Comfortable and great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing stay in a very pleasant location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Tea / coffee making facilities in room would have been good . The hotel stairs / bedrooms are in need of some Tlc , and some rooms were being refurbished while i was there . As a single traveller i was a little dissapointed to have been put in a family room ( 4 beds ! plus a sitting room ) and then having to pay 94 euros a night b& b..... i will be more cautious next time !

    The location was excellent ,the staff very helpful, food was good and there was a variety of restaraunts and bars nearby ( though not all open on weekdays )

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    A quite acceptable base to explore this area of Holland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large roof rafter in our room which restricted movement around the room.

    Helpfulness of staff to make our stay enjoyable. Excellent breakfast buffet. The close proximity of the hotel in relation to the centre. A character building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    4.6
    Thorn by name, Thorn by the prickly visit....Fletcher Hotels, you let yourself down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the bar area smells so extremely pungent it makes you heave. The bathroom in our room faintly had the same smell, the shower tiles had been repainted and we're peeling, The shower had mold in the corners, we chose not to shower. The scrambled egg and bacon was ice cold at breakfast. The evening meal was 8 euros more per head than advertised, the service was slow but professional. The dinner while having the look of fine dining was so small in portion, had undercooked vegetables and was lacking in flavor. Our chips were delivered halfway through our meal, cold. I would not eat there again. The hotel website and room directory both claimed to take Amex, at check out, they said they had decided to no longer take the card as from the week before our visit. The checkout clerk did not seem to care at all that this was my only credit card and said I will have to pay with something else or could go and find a cash machine in the village. After going back to my room to arrange a transfer, extremely stressed, I returned to no apologies for the poor service but was merely told I could pay at Roemond, when asked if I must drive there I was told no, it was done online. A great solution achieved but with little to no empathy and apology for falsely advertising payment methods. The bed was comfortable and clean. The television had a broken remote control. A sad example to Fletcher Hotels.

    The Hotel was well priced and well placed for a short weekend break.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    A place to slow down & enjoy, whatever the season
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place with some patina at the core of a very special historic village. Car traffic / noise kept to minimum; plenty of atmospheric walks through village lanes and immediate surrounding landscape. Ideal as a base for cycling tours.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.5
    We were visiting Linssen Yachts with our 2 small dogs and the hotel was ideal for this purpose.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we were visiting with 2 dogs it would have been good if ground floor rooms with easy access to the outside court yard had been available.

    Although dogs were not allowed in the dining room there was no problem in our eating with them in the bar

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    4.6
    Beautiful building but in desperate need of maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's in front of an old church that was fully lit at night but the curtains are not blocking any light... The church was ringing its bells every half hour throughout the night, but because there's no a/c (and it was a very hot night) we had to leave the single glazed windows open - so the noise of the church kept us awake all night. The bathroom was in a very poor state: a big hole under the bath and the tiles were badly painted over to make them look "better" I guess. When we mentioned all of this in the morning the response was literally "ah, that's too bad".

    Great location, beautiful building, great outdoor terrace and big private parking lot

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.2
    avarage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    floor was dirty, beds are average the whole place needs a revamp.

    position hotel was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    It was a very old, poor and small room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very old, poor and small room and bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bar

    great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant historic surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cereals all with sugar, no musli etc

    Brilliant historic surroundings

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    all was good, especially breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    i missed a hairdryer, but I could have asked reception

    all was good, especially breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel in a beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaintness of building; staff very helpful; excellent breakfast; comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    ok, but would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    standaerd of catering and supporting service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.4
    nice staff, cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small and warm room. not very clean

    nice staff, cheap

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Picturesque town with excellent sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of the staff and the town is very quant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    beautiful and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very good breakfast and good selection of Beer. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    4.2
    breakfast was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom see pictures.

    breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    A first class short term destination
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More variation in the evening menu

    Pretty well everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.2
    We have stayed here several times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpeting on the stairways need care,

    We have stayed here several times. We find the hard-working staff to be quite helpful. The rooms are on the small side.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    10
    We arrived very late because of the snow on the road and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We arrived very late because of the snow on the road and they were very understanding!happy to sleep in a confortable bed after 8hours! Sweet hotel, very good breakfast and lovely town

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    5.0
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had to wait more than 15 minutes either at check in and check out (ringing the bell repeatedly) since nobody was at the reception. When complaining that there is no towel for each guest they gave me one at the reception and said: take it with you. They did not apologized.

    Nice location.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.4
    Location in centre of Thorn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms at the front of the hotel were extremely noisy due to a bar across the street, where people were singing, playing music and shouting until 0200 in the morning on all 3 nights I was there (mid-week). Younger members of staff seemed disgruntled with guests and tired of being there. No evidence of hotel management.

    Location in centre of Thorn.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.5
    Nearby other eating-out places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shortage of croisants at breakfast-time on two out of the three days stay. Also, not enough spoons available to meet all requirements.

    Nearby other eating-out places.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    6.7
    In a pretty village, easy parking, some staff very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asked for a quiet room but put in one overlooking a (surprisingly) noisey street: very loud half-hourly church clock all night, creaky flagpole, roadworks all day, revellers until the early hours then early loud delivery vehicles. No air conditioning so had to keep the windows open so not such a restful stay as intended. Overpriced food.

    In a pretty village, easy parking, some staff very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    5.0
    The situation is lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There's no curtain in bathroom so we just affraid we were bathing when someone can see us outside

    The situation is lovely Like a silent town..beautifull town with a white house..

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    7.1
    The location is great, the food in the bar and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This Hotel is a little bit worn, the carpets in our room were well faded and stained, the whole place is in need of a face lift.

    The location is great, the food in the bar and the breakfast were very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Centre of the white village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Centre of the white village. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.5
    Very good breakfast and diner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good breakfast and diner

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.3
    Croissants- amazing
    • Group

    Croissants- amazing

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    7.1
    They say there is WIFI but is not true.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They say there is WIFI but is not true. First they have problems upstairs then neither downstairs...

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    10
    All good once again
    • Solo traveller

    All good once again

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.3
    restaurant + pub in front of the hotel :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    restaurant + pub in front of the hotel :-)

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    5.0
    had the last room, up a staircase which was so steep that 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    had the last room, up a staircase which was so steep that 2 people had to lift up the luggage.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: