Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Fletcher Hotel Restaurant De Geulvallei This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Onderstestraat 66, 6301 KC Valkenburg, Netherlands

#50 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 600 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Flying visit to Holland
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were far too soft. Being in the roof space was extremely hot. But a fan was supplied. The weather made it a little uncomfortable.

    The cleanliness of the room. The very friendly & helpful staff. Offered to make up breakfast bags to take on early checkout. Also helped with train tickets. The lovely food ( breakfast on first morning). Can't comment on coffee as had tea. 😁

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.3
    A little disappointing in truth. The accommodation does not live up to it's location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to queue for half an hour to check in whist the manager sorted out a problem with other guests. Overall it was overpriced for what it was - smaller room than what I expected. We were clearly spoiled by our previous night in Liege.

    The location was good for access to Maastricht by train. The breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    6.3
    Very basic but ideal if using for a stop over particularly if going to the Amstel Gold cycle race or
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The brown carpet throughout the building. I could hear snoring in the next bedroom

    They allowed guests to take bikes into their room. We didn't but this could be useful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    2.5
    Not for recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely unpleasant and ungracious personnel at reception and in the bar. Bedroom had a peculiar smell, no functional heating except for in the bathroom which noisy. Shower dirty and in need of a new shower hose and head. Skirting boards partly missing and filled with PUR. Coffee was served at breakfast from a thermos flask and was weak No investments made in infrastructure for some years and certainly not good value for money. As a birthday present for friends, an experience not to be repeated

    Exterior of the building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    Excellent, beautiful place to stay. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. If anybody finds fault with this hotel, then nothing will may them happy, and they should stay home.

    10 out 10 for this older property. Excellent value for money. If you just except that this is an older hotel, with exception value for money, then you are being honest with yourself. We will be staying here again in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    3.8
    They stole from baggage! Stay away!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They stole from my room. The manager tell me that will call the police but she didn't do nothing. I wait until next morning when she tell me that will speak with the person how clean the room. Next day No result. She send me to the police in the city. It was hard i don't know where to go. It was imposible to demonstrate that my items was there. My word vs hotel word. My items what was stolen was in my baggage not on table or in bad. Deep in baggage. So... stay away!!

    It was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Superb hotel in a quiet location not far from Valkenburg on the train. Staff were all exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Good size room, clean, functional bathroom. Great selection for breakfast all of which was fresh and appetising. Decent size car park. Five minutes walk from the train station giving easy access to Valkenburg and Maastricht.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    6.3
    We had a nice stay though everything needs improvement!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some parts of the hotel needs renovation, it's starting to look dated especially the carpet on the entrance and hallway!!!

    The price was reasonable. Breakfast was good. Location is a bit far from the city center but if you like walking, just like us, the location is good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was a bit on the dark side, could have been a bit brighter.

    Staff were welcoming and efficient on arrival. Nice room, but a bit of a drain smell. My son who lives in Holland, tells me this is a problem they have. Apart from that, comfortable room. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the meal was lovely. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    5.0
    There are better hotels in the Fletcher group.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small and hot. and looked out over a roof top. Bathroom was also very very small. Lift didn't work

    Restaurant was OK for both dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    6.7
    A lovely stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning. No fridge. No kettle in room. No safe,

    Beds were comfortable. Beautiful location. Breakfast was very good and the hotel was very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.8
    Tranquility - just a short drive from Maastricht
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed here with my elderly father when we visited Maastricht for a recent Andre Rieu concert. Hotel was easy to find & a short distance outside the city. Excellent breakfast (included in the price). Whilst there we also had a lunch/day time meal & an evening meal. All food was well presented & a good price. Nice choice of beers & wine. Staff were friendly & very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    8.3
    The location was good with a nice 2 km walk (through the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was good with a nice 2 km walk (through the woods) to Valkenburg city center. the hotel offers (e)bikes for rent and they also allow you to bring your own bike what you can leave in a secured area. The staff was great, always helpful and willing to make your stay a pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    5.0
    Long way out of town you need transport. Hotel needs to be more relaxed regards closing early
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    attitude of reception on arrival told front door closed at 11pm and lift turned off On second night this was 10 30pm which meant I had to climb stairs to room I am disabled and find stairs awkward Not able to get a drink after 10pm this was because staff wanted to go early. Hotel needs a makeover

    breakfast was best thing about hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    4.6
    The meals were great breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is old and in desperate need of a clean up new carpet place smelt

    The meals were great breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    4.6
    Small and dark rooms. Carpets grubby. Insects in rooms. Would never stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mostly everything

    The bed wad clean and the location to the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning but did have fan

    Clean comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff. Lovely breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    5.8
    Stayed for André Rieu concert as just a short walk to train station into Maastricht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms small and dark and shabby. M

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    4.6
    Cold and bored
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold and drab . but not welcoming would not stay again

    We had a very good breakfast the downstairs of the hotel was okay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    10 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice location to stay not to far from the town which was very nice to visit at Xmas

    Clean very nice would come again We liked it very much

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    10
    Good road and rail links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room lighting could have been better

    Excellent hotel and enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    7.5
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we only stayed one night

    Nothing to dislike nice bar area to sit in after meal good food easy access frm motorway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay the breakfast was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping - not enough tea, coffee, milk and the cups were only changed once

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    6.7
    Resturant outside area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea and coffee in room. Small room and bathroom

    Resturant outside area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed with decor and a bit shabby
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs a refurb

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    7.5
    Fit for Purpose. A decent choice in a town with plenty of accommodation options.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My rear facing room was clean & well-maintained. Onsite parking & WiFi as advertised. Usual Fletcher breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    2.5
    Worst hotel for last two years!!!!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible behavior of personnel and management, not just to me, but also for an other guests!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Позор!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    5.8
    Bed too soft, room small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed too soft, room small

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms are quite noisy

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    7.1
    Good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable price for the quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little noise, bad wall isolation, the building is a little bit old.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    6.3
    Tired and I need of renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor quality furniture and bathroom

    Staff and location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2017

    10
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    All good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2016

    8.3
    Good bad for a weekend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really wrong. No bad marks.

    Staff were very good and helpful , and breakfasts also good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    10
    Andre Rieu Concert
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent Food. No noise at night. Excellent brakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    5.8
    Small room, very packed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room, very packed hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2016

    6.3
    Breakfast was excellent and the beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One slow lift in a tired old hotel but good value for money.

    Breakfast was excellent and the beds were comfortable. Shower had great hot water. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2016

    6.3
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Family with older children

    Hotel starting to look dated and in need of refurbishment. Lounge area compact. Toaster would be nice in the restaurant for breakfast. Limited restaurant menu for dinner.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Free parking. Quiet location.

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2016

    3.8
    The bed was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staff was not helpfully. They even tried to add some extra administration costs to my stay due to the use of an credit card. The booking by booking.com already had administration costs included, however. Furthermore, my stay had breakfast included. But when I had to leave around 07.30 in the morning, I found out that the breakfast room was still closed. Apparently in the weekends it's open from 08.00 till -. When I communicated this with the staff, again no adjustments in the booking could be made and neither was I aloud to get some mandarins / bananas for next morning. Overall a bad hotel with outdated rooms, and an even worse staff.

    The bed was ok.

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2016

    6.3
    The beds where very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having booked 2 upgraded rooms we only received 1 until we had to complain. If anything was needed extra tea & coffee we were told go find the cleaning staff they'll give you some. The hotel needs some updating.

    The beds where very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2015

    7.5
    The hotel was a reasonable price and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast doesn't start until 8am and whilst clean, the decor is dated. It was also incredibly hot inside even with the room window open and radiator turned off.

    The hotel was a reasonable price and functional. It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    5.8
    Employees were trained and able to know all departments of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no fixt front office which meant that I had to find a hotel employee who could check me in. When I found 1 in the kitchen I got the answer that after 6 pm there is no fulltime front office employee, hence that the way she said it was a bit blunt. For the rest the staff was friendly and skilled.

    Employees were trained and able to know all departments of the hotel. An employee can check you in but also serve you drinks. I only saw that at 5 star hotels like the Andaz hotel in Amsterdam

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2015

    7.9
    Location and setting in the valley is nice, the hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Decor a little tired and we were disturbed a lot because of the regular slamming of an outside door.

    Location and setting in the valley is nice, the hotel and staff very pleasant

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2015

    7.1
    bathroom awful but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom awful but clean. young staff a bit evasive. Bit tense and harsh at times. facial expression cool probably insecurity. Need warm welcoming mature selfconfident attitude.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    5.4
    Ontbijt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kleine kamer. Wastafel onhandig in hoekje van de kamer en de rest van het sanitair elders apart. Vrij gehorig. Ganglicht schijnt onder deur door.

    Ontbijt.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    6.7
    Good boxsprings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old and very small bathrooms Noisy rooms because you could hear all neighbours, especially the ones above.

    Good boxsprings nice breakfast Nice location

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2015

    7.1
    My single room was small but clean & well maintained.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    My room face the main road with some construction crews at work.

    My single room was small but clean & well maintained. Free parking & WiFi as advertised. Simple buffet breakfast was okay.

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2016

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit moisty room.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast was nice. Area was very quite and very close to high way.

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2015

    7.9
    Friendness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The plastic bath cabin.

    Friendness of the staff. Quiet location. Value gor money

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    7.1
    The price is quite nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the toilet is so weird, feels like in a WC of a train.

    The price is quite nice.

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2015

    7.9
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2015

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences at all.

    Good value for money

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2015

    8.8
    Good breakfast and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from neighboring room.

    Good breakfast and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2015

    7.5
    quiet location at a 10 minute drive from Maastricht
    • Couple

    the nice price makes every shortcoming acceptable

    quiet location at a 10 minute drive from Maastricht

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2015

    7.5
    Bar closing at twelve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar closing at twelve

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Fletcher Hotel Restaurant De Geulvallei Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: