Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fletcher Hotel Restaurant Rooland 4 stars

Roobeekweg 1, 5944 EZ Arcen, Netherlands

#8 of 9 hotels in Arcen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 809 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    second fletcher i stayed in and both had scummy bathrooms.... need updating or at least cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    window was hard to open and close, the seal had gone about a year or two ago....and the glass was in a disgusting state, paint had flaked off the frame. shower was mouldy, needed a thorough bleaching.

    food was good, service poor the first night, good second night. breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.0
    Great staff, nice food. No airconditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning in the room, in the hot summer this is not preferabel voor your sleep. Difficult to find a cheap cab you will pay expensive cost, because there are no taxi’s availble near the hotel. When you want to go to the AirPort they will charge you a pre cost from the city they need to come from above the route you need to go. For example Eindhoven or Venlo.

    The staff and the quality of the food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast reasonable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very dated and shabby. The entrance from the Car park had numerous scratches on both walls so not very inviting and the decor hadn’t been refreshed for sometime. Carpet tiles were coming up in the bedroom, the bed base coverings were fraying.

    Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast reasonable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was tiny. We paid in advance for the breakfast that we didn't get to enjoy most days because it wasn't served early enough.

    Bed was comfy, desk clerk spoke English, food was great! We had a wonderful stay!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, great staff just a few small things that might need work, apart from those I loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no mosquito filter on the windows for example.. And for someone with a dust mites allergie the rooms aren't quite up to the level to be totally comfortable.

    The staff, the bed, the restaurant and the calm that the location exhibits are amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    The hotel was adequate but tired, staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel in general was a little tired. Needed some maintenance but was clean

    The staff were great. Food in restaurant excluding the breakfast was very good. Breakfast was not good but not bad

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Great staff, average facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not tea making facilities in the room. The wallpaper was coming off the walls in the room in a couple of places. There was no air con, although there was a fan. The bathroom was dated.

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    3.8
    This hotel hardly worth 2 stars
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have booked a quiet room in a 4 star hotel - this one is not even 2 stars!!!I got one room to the street, even I was very specific with requesting a quiet room...I do not know how this kind of hotel rooms are accepted in Holland and they have 4 stars!!!Very old furniture, window , the wall paper is from the "stone age" , the carpet has a very bad smell (very old), no air condition - I could stay in the room only with the window open (I could count all the cars passing by). The bathroom is the same as the room... The personnel from the restaurant were busy with something else, but not with me as a client. The breakfast was way too expensive for what you can get for 16 Eur! At the end at check out the lady receptionist was not able to issue the invoice as I have requested, on my company name as it was made the reservation...incredible! They were too clever to cash the money from me at arrival and unfortunately it was not possible to cancel the reservation made through booking.This is the worst hotel room and experience in a hotel that I have ever booked.

    One of the receptionist was kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    fletcher Hotel Rooland Arcen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there during a warm spell and our room was incredibly hot all the time, day and night, also I believe as it was the room on the end of the building, added to this was the memory foam beds which in themselves are pretty warm too

    Lovely hotel, rural setting, little bit out of the way but that was mainly due to our own circumstances as this was the nearest hotel with rooms available when the event we were attending was in Sevenum quite a distance away, clean rooms, good restaurant, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    My stay at fletcher hotel was good and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter of 5years old had to pay municipal tax of €2.00/day. The breakfast is too expensive. It was €16.00 per person for breakfast. And my daughter would have had to pay same amount for breakfasts. So we opted out of the breakfast.

    Spacious room. Clean environment and very tidy room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    i shall return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that I thought was a little disappointing was that there was no tea or coffee making facilities in my room . But you could always grab one from the restaurant and take it up to your room if you wanted apart from this minor niggle everything was fine

    I found all the staff to be very helpful .the location was ideal for where I wanted to be and quiet which is a must .Food was excellent thoroughly enjoyed my visit .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was fantastic value for money, with a good sized room, large comfy bed and decent bathroom. Reception staff were also very friendly and spoke good English.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Well priced, clean and conveniently located near Arcen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 23 nights

    Despite being very clean and tidy, the rooms are a little outdated. Could do with a kettle+tea/coffee too really!

    If you need a late night snack before bed, grab a portion of chips from the restaurant downstairs - only 3 or 4 euros, quick and tasty!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    A really good stay.......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a lot really. The bedroom was very "tired" and would probably not have taken much to have brought it up to a better standard, but that is really a tad nit picking - the bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom were clean and our four nights there were great - so a bit of flaky paint and wallpaper is not of any great importance really.

    We liked just about everything....it was so conveniently placed for where we wanted to be. The welcome was great, the food was lovely, the service very good. The dining room was lovely - and Isabella (our waitress) really was the icing on the cake!!!! We decided we would eat in each evening - we don't usually, but were so glad that we did. The menu was comprehensive and the food beautifully cooked and presented. we really enjoyed it......

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    4.6
    Reasonable cost hotel but maybe not welcome if you are English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unhelpful and were greeted by receptionist saying to phone caller that there were 'some ## English people to deal with' When we were checking out we were dismissed and barely acknowledged. Price of breakfast is very high

    Reasonable price but minus breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Veey good hotel and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Veey good hotel and excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.5
    Great hotel excellent staff very reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only niggle no tea making facilities in your room

    Food was of a very good standard really nice 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money, good beer and an enjoyable evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant/bar staff were good but couldn't be in two places at once. An extra member of staff or two would have been helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the noise from the main road

    Beautiful country side.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but rooms are in need of a revamp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dowdy & depressing. In need of an overhaul.I was on 3rd floor.

    Staff were all very helpful. Good food in restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Hygiëne
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad/douche. Thermostaatkraan defect. Heet water..

    Hygiëne

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Really nice place and will come back again :)
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice place and will come back again :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    situation

    service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.6
    no problem for 2 night, but for a longer stay not comfortable enough
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    needs renovation, poorly maintained

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Hotel is old data, check in was so long - reception was busy...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old data, check in was so long - reception was busy - phone... after 21:00 is no possible to have any diner in hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Convenient for a road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor needs updating

    Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Private parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.0
    Couldn't wait to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In need of an update in the rooms! Restaurant faces a busy car park. Noise from road.

    The Thermalbad nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.8
    a moderate hotel for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is in need of redecorating. Wallpaper loose, furniture outdated and a bit scruffy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.4
    Bad service, expensive breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    16€ Only for breakfast is to much

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms comfort but basic.

    Good value for money, food in restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Short break in Holland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable rooms, wifi available, situated near the village of Arcen which is within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location, my room was nice, staff was helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not very comfortable and food Could improve.

    Good location, my room was nice, staff was helpful and kind.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.8
    Great place!
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine with very polite staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    walking and bike paths right by the hotel , quite yet close to main road, lucked into beer fest at local village

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.3
    Just enough comfort for spending the night and enjoying the surroundings.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Bare minimum room facilities

    Beautiful location, friendly people.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    5.4
    It's near to bad Arcen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom is old and looked poorly. The tiles were cracked and glued together and didn't really looked clean. In the price was breakfast not included.

    It's near to bad Arcen.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    The appearance of the hotel was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a middle-aged blonde woman who manned reception most of the time who was often very short with us. We asked if she would book us a taxi, to which she replied "no, you have a phone, you do it yourself", which surprised me because she works in customer service. She spoke rudely and had no patience with us, which is needed when two people don't speak the same language. This was a shame, because the other staff at the hotel (especially the guys who worked in the restaurant) were lovely.

    The appearance of the hotel was lovely. Very clean and warm, nice outside seating areas and the restaurant was great. The beds were very comfortable, and it was great having free Wifi that actually worked. The nearby village of Arcen (a 20 minute walk) is beautiful and worth a visit. The best thing about the hotel was the price - v good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    5.8
    The staff at diner was really friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms have no A/C. Hotel is located directly next to busy street. This combination may be ok during fall & winter months, but does not work during the summer when it's 30+ degrees and the window needs to be open to ventilate the room for sleeping purposes. The room got a bit cooler, but I was not be able to sleep due to the street noise.

    The staff at diner was really friendly & helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.1
    the resturant staff were very helpful, it had a great out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms were a little dated for a four star with dark furniture and old style tv in the rooms. no kettle in the rooms but we reserched this before we went so took our own, no english menus but the staff were helpfull, hotel was a little out of the way and need a car or bike to get anywhere, situated on a busy road so could be noisy, but all in all i would reccomend this hote.

    the resturant staff were very helpful, it had a great out outdoor area where you can enjoy a snack and a drink in the sun, beds were comfortable and clean

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    3.8
    Not much - free wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one at reception to check us in. We stood outside in the cold for 15mins. Room was very very poor. They need to upgrade this hotel desperately

    Not much - free wifi

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    8.8
    Room was nice and quiet, my ake up call came right on the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The remote control for the TV was not working well, it was also held together with some tape...

    Room was nice and quiet, my ake up call came right on the dot, very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    2.5
    Location is okay and easy to find.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The European and hotel star rating have to review such a hotels who claim and labeled as 4 star ,but practically they are like 1 srat pansions , I never saw such a low quality hotel , old furniture and tv from 50 year back for 4 star and dull clours plus dirty , bathrooms are very old fashion, seems they are using same since world war two. My recommendation even they offer free dont use , find some better for your self..

    Location is okay and easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    7.5
    The price was excellent, a late booking for the same evening.
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was expensive so I chose to not take it.

    The price was excellent, a late booking for the same evening. The bedroom was clean and comfy, especially at the price The evening meal in the restaurant was great - made better by helpful waiting staff

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    10
    the classy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    the classy rooms

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast was not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not worth the money. Local Cafe would have been higher quality of food for amount of money.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    6.7
    Quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not open for early checkout

    Quiet

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff were very kind and helpful, and the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were very kind and helpful, and the food was EXCELLENT

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.1
    Very peaceful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English menu

    Very peaceful area

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    the room was large and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the beer was too expensive

    the room was large and cosy

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    Good location, near Arcen thermaalbad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed, double one person bed is not very comfortable to sleep together.

    Good location, near Arcen thermaalbad. Quiet place, welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.5
    Nice room and very quiet surroundings.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice room and very quiet surroundings. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food prices.

    Great hospitality

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    7.9
    Spacious room, excellent Wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Road to the parking poorly indicated. Place could do with a refurbishment. Breakfast at 16 euro is a bad deal.

    Spacious room, excellent Wifi

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: