Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Corps de Garde 3 stars

Oude Boteringestraat 74, 9712 GN Groningen, Netherlands

#6 of 23 hotels in Groningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 934 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having water or tea/coffee facilities in the room would have been very welcome.

    Had a fantastic stay, from arrival we were greeted warmly and professionally by the staff. We asked for a late check out and they agreed. Nothing was too much trouble. Location great as you can walk everywhere and although very central there was no noise or disturbance at night. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is outdated and very small. Can use a renovation. Only cover matrass was made up, matrass beneath was not covered in sheets. In a hotel with this atmosphere and level of service you would expect real glasses for water and some tea/coffee facilities. Now there were only plastic cups available in the bathroom to drink some water.

    Friendly staff, beautiful building and great location! Different breakfast options so you can choose what you like. Rooms at the top of the building have a very nice atmosphere with old wooden roofbeams.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, only the window frames need some paint.

    The hotel is a very nice old building located in the city center of Groningen. The rooms are very nice and have a great atmosphere. The staff is nice and knows how to operate an hotel. The rooms are great, but the window frames need some paint.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location and perfect for exploring the city. Staff is unbeatable friendly! Bed was a bit uncomfortable for a couple. Room is more like a single. Missing hooks for towels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our hotel room (deluxe) could be quite noisy at times as it is situated on a fairly busy junction. Treble glazing would be a bonus.

    Really lovely hotel staff. Very helpful and informative about the area too. Great small breakfast and good coffee. Overall very pleased.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazingly friendly staff, free welcome drinks at arrival and an early check-in was not a problem at all for them. Excellent location within city centre, very clean and again the super friendly staff who brought us roomservice to our within 10 min without any extra charge :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv sound and where not told when we booked in so we could make the d vision to move to another room or not !!! The receptionist did know that the tv was not working correctly !!

    Not at all, thank goodness we had navigation system in the car !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was great. The taxi that was supposed to pick us up to leave did not come but the hotel staff got us another quickly.

    Staff were very helpful. The breakfast meal was well done and good value. The room just right for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms in the attic have an awkward layout and the tv could be renewed. Bathroom with gloomy lighting needs some attention.

    Good location at the edge of the city centre Tasty buffet breakfast with loads of fresh coffee and orange juice. The breakfast room is a very pleasant place to sit and relax. Good wifi connection

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms perhaps a little too plain and starting to look a bit tired. I agree with another comment that a discount for guests in the parking garage opposite the hotel would be welcome, but would like to mention that the nearby garage underneath the Old Gasfabriek charges only Euro 10 a day.

    Lovely location - stay here regularly and always enjoy doing so. Public areas are tasteful and welcoming - breakfast first class. Friendly student staff always nice to chat with!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby was warm and welcoming, great place to grab a drink or get work done. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were great, with big windows and high ceilings. It is right in the center of town, but easily accessible by car given it is along the inner canal ring.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant serves "a small breakfast" (large glass of orange juice, rolls, egg, coffee/tea, slice of ham/cheese, marmelade) for only € 8,50. Exactly my choice. Location is perfect, staff more then friendly and rooms beautifully designed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave the car 15 to 20 minutes walk away as the parking outside was for 1 hour onlyauaint

    The boutique character and interesting location. Fascinating attic room with old beams.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we arrived there was an employee drinking beer at the bar, and the "check in" person was not super helpful, we had to ask about parking, ask for our key, and other general questions. the stairway to our room was very humid with a distinct moldy smell. Our room was very disappointing compared to the photos; it smelled like dirty pillows so much that we had to open the balcony doors and let the room air out. It didnt seem clean at all: dirty walls, damaged wallpaper, cheap ugly lights, a side table made from cardboard? I was pretty embarrassed, as i had booked the room as a surprise for my husband. Half empty roll of toilet paper in the bathroom, no coffee machine, no note with wifi code. The balcony had a soggy fake grass carpet😬. I wont go there again, and i would never recommend it. Sorry to have to say that.

    not much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lights were very dim in the room. Be sure to check your bill - when I checked out the room rate was mysteriously 10 Euro per night too high. They corrected it when I showed them my original booking.com confirmation, so be sure to hold on to that.

    This is a quirky little hotel (20 rooms) along the ring in Groningen. My room was a nice size, and was clean and well-maintained. Overall a very good value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet in room had not been properly cleaned prior to our arrival, but guest services gave a small discount to compensate.

    Our room had a really cool balcony. Hotel is old fashioned and charming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding staff - super friendly and fast communication, both before our stay and during. Were very accommodating with all of our needs, so: hats off! Bart helped us out when a dress for a wedding didn't arrive in time and we could have it delivered at the hotel during our stay. The room was also lovely, and the whole hotel has many styles that blend well and seamlessly pass over into each other. The hotel is within walking distance from all kinds of restaurants and markets, so a perfect place to stay if you want to explore the city!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really to dislike, if I was going to be picky the mattress was a bit too soft for me but . . . . .

    A small hotel in a very old building, with lots of charm and style. It is ideally situated for exploring the centre of town and a just a short stroll from all attractions, train/bus station etc. The staff are particularly friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only difficulty was the parking which is a public underground facility a bit of a walk away but we came to realise that is normal for the Netherlands - keep the cars off the streets! The public transport system is very good. Next time we'll come by train

    The staff were brilliant, so friendly and helpful and it's an interesting building

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A delightful and quirky place. Particularly liked the fact that rather than piped music in the bar there was a gramophone with a selection of LP's from which to choose. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and the wifi excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heating was not sufficient in the room. The windows did not have any isolation. There was no kettle, tea or coffee amenities in the room. Everytime the room was cleaned, either the toilet paper was not replenished or the garbage was not collected.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Small breakfast" reduced to the max Hotel corridors or outside street can be very noisy during the evening/night when noisy people are shouting/laughing outside of the room

    Very nice historic location refurbished with new trendy furniture and equipment Quite close to the city centre Friendly and listening staff Very old charming historic building Large and comfotable room (1st floor) Through some drawbacks, I would strongly recommend it !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it exceeded expectations. I can't think of anything I did not like

    A very nice boutique hotel. Excellent Auping beds! Nice modern design bathroom. I was delighted to find I could take from the breakfast buffet what I wanted, and only pay for that. As I eat muesli only, I do not want to spend money on the fixed price breakfasts in most hotels. Should you want a fixed price breakfast, Corps deGarde serves that as well. The large version even has bubbles with it. Staff is very, very nice and friendly. I will definitely book this hotel again when I need to be in Groningen.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was susceptible to noise from street, even with double glazing, probably due to the age of the building. Our double bed was two single beds pushed together, which isn't the same thing. Bathroom could do with an update

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent, puts other much more expensive hotels to shame! The building itself is beautiful and the beams in the room had real charm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was s bit noisy from street below. Spiral staircase not ideal for transporting bags.

    The staff members were exceptionally friendly. Food was excellent for lunch and good value. Comfy bed. Free drink was nice touch. Stored our luggage for the day. Room temperature easy to control.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little difficult to access at night. Also quite poorly lit room - you cant really read.

    Nice location, pretty room. Double bed rooms are good standard. nice design, clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the bed is way too soft, my husband and I both had backaches when we checked out after a couple of nights. I personally find the breakfast buffet a little too expensive.

    The hotel is in a great location. It is an old building and therefore the wooden floorboards are quite squeaky and noisy, but that also adds to the charm of the place. The bar/restaurant is nice and cozy. We had a fabulous room, very big and beautifully decorated. Huge bathtub! Staff is very friendly and forthcoming. We were offered a free beverage whilst checking in. The small breakfast is adequate and the price is correct.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi performance not great and no in-room coffee/tea.

    Great staff, very relaxing and friendly hotel, close to the centre of town. Great for a short stay in this friendly city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy - from street (traffic and party goers passing by) noise after a night out and from within the hotel (slamming doors, stamping feet). Room shows signs of tiredness and could use some touch ups. There are stains and peeling paint on the walls where the bath tub and sink are attached - probably from constantly being wet, holes in the sealant where the shower walls and floor meet.

    Staff - super friendly, very helpful. Check in was more of a "welcoming" with a drink - nicer than the standard over the counter service, especially after the journey. Room size - large enough to accommodate a cot. Location - at the edge of the old centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small sink in the smaller rooms.

    Very central location. Quieter than other nearby hotels (this is a student town!) Good internet. Parking 1 min away. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As Groningen is a university city with a lot of evening activities, it is noisy in the streets at night.

    Friendly staff; great boutique hotel combining modernity with history; location near the center of town; a large breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Excellent location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all rooms renovated

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service not existing Room cleaning did not take place at all

    Service team very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are extremely friendly and professional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some awkward design feature in the room, lack of plugs in logical places for example.

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Head clearance in room, lighting was dull and the a.c. and lamp did not work

    the staff were great. room was clean. good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a double bed, got two twins. Very noisy room (118). Water pressure on shower was not good.

    Beds were fine. Location is great. Staff fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little bigger.

    Very nice staff, good service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome with a drink and a Nice chat at the reception/bar. It is great That reception and bar is all in one!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a cold night and we would have liked an extra blanket in the room.

    Very good location and atmosphere. Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold bathroom floor

    Location and pleasant atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style, baroque with modern touches feels really nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel business = staff, staff, staff! Location, location, location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good bed, romantic clean room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice hotel, friendly personnel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff was wonderful! So helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    badkamer kan wel een upgrade gebruiken, niet zoals op fotos.

    locatie perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice welcoming! Staff are great, the place is nice and the location superb. We would recommend it and will definitely go back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had smallest bathroom sink we've ever seen!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is a little worn out

    Staff was very friendly and cooperative

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking

    The people who worked there were very helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cupboard space for clothes. Only 4 hangers

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A place with a character. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, clean, Noce staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no food or snacks aside from breakfast time.

    the bed was very comfortable and the room very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for wandering around the historic centre of Groningen

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Umm... Nothing!

    The help was fantastic. Very accommodating. I would stay here again at the next opportunity... Just great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very Quaint and Querky

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bath area wasn't very good. It was a bit of a challenge to shave in the morning.

    The staff is incredible. A great location too

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed, helpful staff, great location, charmingly decorated. Wonderful hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A board or small shelf in the bathroom to put stuff would be great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff in particular go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff, cosy room and perfect location in central Groningen!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice Hotel and very good coffee

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    De wc was in de kamer door de halfopen deur

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was hard to understand the working of the shower.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, the man from the bar was not hospitable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have liked a restaurant

    great location, comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ligging hotel in het centrum

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chilly bathroom, steep stairs. Bit noisy outside at night.

    Very friendly staff; good breakfast & excellent matrasses

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expansive but like everything in Holland

    Great internet, clean a d very friendly stuff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea or coffee facilities in the rooms.

    Nice staff and cool place !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and beautiful facilities topped off with great staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi was not consistent

    Very nice and big room, modern decorated

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Corps de Garde traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: