Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Geertien 3 stars

Muggenbeet 3, 8356VK Blokzijl, Netherlands

#4 of 4 hotels in Blokzijl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 436 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff was great, very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not as clean as I would have liked...went to sit down in the desk chair in the room and there was a tube of lipstick...

    Staff was great, very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoying nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a peaceful place, the right place to relax and have a glass of wine on the river. Good food in the restaurant. Nice and clean rooms. Good staff people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    The food served at the hotel's restaurant was simply...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far away from Giethoorn

    The food served at the hotel's restaurant was simply awesome. Although the wine menu could have been a bit more elaborate, the food choices were great and portions were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    We stayed for only one night, and the room was clean and nice with 2 rooms and 2 beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing to complain about in the room was the lights were a little dark. We needed to turn on every lamp to make the room brighter.

    I like the view from our room in the morning. The house is just by the lake so it was really comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had somehow limited choice - I would suggest adding some fresh vegies.

    Everything! The room for a family was spacious and cosy. The owner was most welcome. The surroundings are stunning, one can rent a boat - check at reception desk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    P.S: WiFi is Mandatory, if it doesn't work it is a big issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ((WiFi)) there was no WiFi at all because they put us in the last room in the corner and when I asked for a solution they said sorry there is nothing we can do, that was absolutely negative, after I talk to different people in charge they came to my room trying to see if they can make it work but it didn't work, I keep up with my work even during my vacation and this issue gave me a hard time and I checked out the next day.

    the food in the restaurant was good, the room is clean and with a good size, facilities are available except the WiFi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Everything is excellent with enough parking space, good food and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sharing of a big blanket instead of two single blankets for a double bed, not so comfortable if sharing bed with friends.

    The nice location, with the river in front. Dinner was really delicious. Breakfast was great too with different varieties of bread, cheese, sausages, etc. Room is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    Experience at Geertien
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but that is why it's very special. Since there are no busses going to the hotel on weekends, we had two options: bike (but the weather was bad) or taxi (it was very expensive), since we didn't bring a car.

    The views were amazing and the sorroundings were beautiful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely little hotel, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sounds of the other doors slamming until 11pm was distracting and loud, we were tired and wanted to sleep early but were unable to. We also wanted to leave at 7:15am but no one was available for check-out until 8am which was mentioned in our booking.

    I loved how remote this little hotel was, we had a partial view of the water from our window, it was very peaceful. The view of the sun coming up in the morning and the haze over the water was outstanding. I also liked the mints on the pillow, a good touch. I would happily stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Location very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hired a boat from the hotel. Boat conked off midway. Hotel should have checked it well before giving it to us. Only one type of boat wad available so you dont have a choice. The given boat was very slow and hence we lost lot of time and also money (@30Euro per hour ) for no reasons.

    Location very good. A little bit away from the town and Giethoorn but quiet. Staff had been good. Only knowledge of English should have been better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    comfortable rooms cozy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast and dinner a bit expensive.

    comfortable rooms cozy hotel. nice and quiet location convenient if coming by car and exploring surrounding towns. we rented a bike for 4 euros and wandered around the whole day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.0
    Quiet location. Food in the restaurant is expensive though, and there is no supermarket close by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the restaurant is expensive and no supermarket close by...

    The staff was not helpful. He told us for the boat in Giethoorn, we don't need to book beforehands, which is not true... The 4 people boats are super popular, so you have to book early. Otherwise, with 2 people you may end up a 8 people boat. we figured this out right before we leave the hotel, so we quickly booked the boat...We (2 people in total) end up a 6 people boat.... and that was the last 6 people boat online....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    A must go if you want to relax for a while at a gorgeous spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no wall sockets beside the bed and only one in the bathroom. They didn't change our bed sheets in 7 days. The view from the room is a street. There are two restaurants in the facilities, both with good food, however one of them is expensive. They didn't explain what options we had and led us directly to the expensive. They have no international TV. Either you understand dutch or can watch no TV. The heating can't be regulated from the room, therefore the window becomes your temperature regulator... There is no fridge in the rooms or safety box.

    The beds are very comfortable! You can rent a bike for 7.5€/day (riding the sorroundings proved an unforgettable activity!) The terrace is the perfect spot to relax. Having breakfast at the hotel is a great option. The bathroom has both a shower and a bathtub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    Overnight for the Giethoorn village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi Internet is not stable, doesn't work most of the time. No elevator (but I understand because it's an old building). You need a car to get here and to get to the Giethoorn village. Plain breakfast @11Euro per person.

    Quite spacious and clean family suite room. Value for money. Surrounding environments are peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    This is a family run hotel with restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a family run hotel with restaurant. It is excellent for family or couple for leisure and relax holiday. Although the hotel is old and the room is only standard size but the cleanliness is supreme! Bathroom is clean with big bathtub! We had our last night dinner at the restaurant. They served fabulous meals with great hospitality.All we can say is Wonderful! This place is highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    The environment is really beautiful, we can see the water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The environment is really beautiful, we can see the water and grassland from our window. Drive to giethoorn free parking is very convenient, just 10 minutes. Parking area in hotel is very big. We also walk along the road next to the hotel, very relaxing experience as well. The kids love his experience a lot. Just a remind, the restaurant is closed on wednesday, make sure to avoid this day if want to taste their food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful environment, ideal location when warm & nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception not so often staffed.

    Beautiful environment, ideal location when warm & nice weather. Close to one of Netherland's most charming villages.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    Local hero
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you get there and it isn't to your taste then you are in trouble. There's nothing around for miles.

    This is a 'locals' type place, so lots of fun for an outsider to experience. Thatched roof, painted timber floors, canals... low key and gorgeous. Nothing even remotely high tech and all the better for it. Note that the local mobile service is 4G so lack of dedicated internet isn't really an issue.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    The venue owned by the family, who warmly welcome you on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The venue owned by the family, who warmly welcome you on arrival. Excellent pub and restaurant by the river. Feel-like-home relaxing atmosphere. No rush on checkout. If you wish to discover the Netherlands, that is the place to visit .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.8
    Good place and romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems that the manager is the old man usally old people are nosey that man allways following us and and his sights were unfriendly but the youth were great

    In front of the river

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.9
    Nice little hotel at the riverside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the rooms have no air-conditioning. It was very hot in our room and the ventilator was not working, so it was difficult to sleep.

    Het hotel is very nicely located at the riverside where you can also enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.3
    Pretty location next to canals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was expensive. Our children are very young and don't eat very much, and they would be charged.

    Pretty location next to canals. We had dinner in the cafe and it was delicious. The room was standard.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    So wonderful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the place where we had dinner with very nice view and river ! It's wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff was friendly and food was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and food was amazing Everything was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really comfortable. It was clean and the staff was very gracious. There was s nice breakfast as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    amazing dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no

    dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    non

    it was excellent holiday. The host is very kind and helpful. We had a very nice stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    4.6
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is not friendly at all!!

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Lovely get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, beautiful, quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    It was a fantastic restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a fantastic restaurant. Excellent view and excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, close to Giethoorn! We definitely encourage you to try the hotel's restaurant, good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view, delicious food, friendly staff, spacious and clean room. Will definitely come back again if there is a chance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Cheap place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive dinner

    Rooms are clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel to introduce to your friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hope they could talk English better.

    I like the view and lanscape of this hotel so much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    We had a very nice and cozy stay at Geertien
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very nice and cozy stay at Geertien

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    The location and atmosfeer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room temperature, to hot

    The location and atmosfeer

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.0
    Not clean but the staff is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was not clean and a lot of spider net

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.8
    ok. nothing more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    people are very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is a little small.

    people are very nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    spacy, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    spacy, clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Hotel location is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast isn't free

    Hotel location is beautiful parking is free staff are friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Great terrace with a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great terrace with a nice view Restaurant with very good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Absolutely beautiful location, the attached restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful location, the attached restaurant and bar is fantastic, great food and great atmosphere. Spacious comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    staff was very professional and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff was very professional and helpful. they had bikes to just ride at our leisure, which was a huge bonus and we used them into the evening because we had so much daylight. It was quiet and restful place to be, out of the fray of Geithoorn, but very accessible. Perfect, really.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    5.0
    space is enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    mattress uneven, mattress too soft. pillow too soft. street light into room. too close to street, noise and exhaustion gas. No switch near bed, I have to use flash lights of my phone. Toilet door cannot be closed from the outside, Toilet fan is on all night, not possible to turn off. (I lived in the two-rooms suit)

    space is enough. clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.9
    The view was nice, good location, close to Giethoorn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    During the weekends the local bus does not run and the hotel is only reachable by car or bike (if you don't have a heavy luggage)

    The view was nice, good location, close to Giethoorn. Bikes to rent

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.7
    I notice that many people complain about their Wi-Fi service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Don't come here on Sunday if you are planning to come here by public transportation!!!!!! The bus is not in service on Sunday and it will cost you a fortune to take a taxi here. Plus, it is in the middle of nowhere, so the only choice is to eat in their restaurant. Food is good, but pricy.

    I notice that many people complain about their Wi-Fi service,but actually they improve this part already. Wifi is pretty good, I enjoy watching my favorite TV show on line very much. The environment here is really nice, quiet and beautiful. The room is clean. The breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendly owner;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location but in the middle of nowhere; no conveniences nearby; only restaurant in the area is the hotel's restaurant; you need to head to Blokzijl for more variety/access to grocery store

    Friendly owner; large room with separate sitting area; very clean; quiet; great value for your money

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.3
    The restaurant was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurant was fabulous. Fun atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    The staff was extremely helpful, the food was delicious, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was extremely helpful, the food was delicious, the view was incredible and there was ample parking! We loved it!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    10
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice place Good restaurant Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    4.2
    Dinner and food are marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is vey old and extremely cold.They closed heater whole day

    Dinner and food are marvelous

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.6
    Beautifully situated, the hotel was perfect and the bistro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautifully situated, the hotel was perfect and the bistro food excellent. The hotel staff made us and our dogs feel very much at home. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    lovely house with beautiful screen, perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    lovely house with beautiful screen, perfect!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    6.7
    Nice peaceful location alongside the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi is not working. Breakfast good but basic

    Nice peaceful location alongside the river. Comfortable clean room.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    great Location, great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    great Location, great people

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    nice location, surrounded with comfortable nature and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi was not run well.

    nice location, surrounded with comfortable nature and view.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    5.4
    Location is acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can not access WiFi in my room

    Location is acceptable

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.9
    The bistro is pretty nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bistro is pretty nice

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.1
    Location and natural
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi iInternet poor

    Location and natural

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    10
    Location, excellent dinner and the sunrise view from room 31.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, excellent dinner and the sunrise view from room 31.Great experience. We will definitely recommend this property.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Geertien traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: