Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Noord-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Amsterdam hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Generator Amsterdam

Reviews of Generator Amsterdam

Mauritskade 57, Oost, 1092 AD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#227 of 443 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 5493 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.2
    Best place ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Downstairs in the disco there was not coctails 😂😂😂 Everyting was great!

    I liked the nice park front the Hostel, greal chill out lobby with chairs, sofa, foodballtable, the old machines for game(metal slug 2) 😁, reception open and you can buy beer or something else, underground there is club with bar with verry good prices cheaper than the whole city, nice meals in the lobby lounge bar, ... Everyting waa great👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.8
    very good location, the park around it is absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room is very small

    very good location, the park around it is absolutely stunning beds are small but extremely comfortable bed contain usb, light, power socket

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.3
    The staff was very helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like that having a coffee after 10 pm is impossible. So for instance one who's waking up after midnight to go to the airport can't have a coffee before leaving. No way of accessing the balcony of ur room, which in the first place attracts you to rent a delux room.

    The staff was very helpful and nice. I liked the decoration and the interior.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.9
    Omg !
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really .

    Omg ! I loved that there is this beautiful park within the hostel. It’s safe at night, but still just pay attention. I liked that the toilet was separate from the shower and the sink. My bed was clean and confortable. I was warm. The washer and dryer was good too. Close to line 14 tram that will take you right into the center.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.1
    For that price good valoue
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not so clean...Room and bed stuff not very clean..Reception some polite and helpfull some rude and no care of custemer..

    Inside of Nice park..Just 5 min.walk you can rich to Trum..Loby is also good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.8
    The hostel was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They do not provide free towels. So it's best to pack your own

    The hostel was comfortable. Not too far from central the tram stop was less than 10 minutes away. The pancakes were to die for i will stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    5.8
    Cool hotel, more of a hostel, near the university. 15 min tram to centre. 5/10 mins walk to the tram
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No room cleaning on our 5 day stay. Night club and main bar were closed. I think the Hotel was quiet as it was November.

    The cafe, our room was quiet with great view over the park. I can imagine this would be a great place to stay in the summer.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Few choices for food, including breakfast, that I don't think it's worth 7~8,50. They overcharged us €10 and didn't explain why. We asked for a twin room, but the bed was double with two single mattresses.

    It's close to the main tourist points. There is park next, so you can even go for a walk or run.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a cozy restaurant in the building and you can get a beer/coffee after a long tiring touristic day and chill. Rooms are cleaned every day. Also they let me make a phone call from hostel phone when I got a problem and they were really kind. Thank you again!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    7.1
    As Expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows were a little bit uncomfortable, but overall the place was as expected, nothing to complain about.

    The private rooms were quite nice, small but that was expected. The burger at the restaurant were amazing! I highly recommend the "Big Cheese" burger.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great if you want to explore the less travelled path
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower leaks to the floor, not really a problem, just not expected. Rooms are a bit small.

    The restaurant was very nice and chill Beds were pretty comfortable and decently sized. Beer was cheap!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    Its ok, but for a women be careful. You may want to stay in the female dorm.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - It could have been a little bit cleaner. - That there is no control and because guys tend to smoke or take drugs they can have bad behaviours: my bed was broken while I was away on first room and on second one a guy was touching himself.

    Amazing location in the center of the park and close to all public transport. Very friendly staff who took care of me when things went wrong: some guys first destroyed my bed and other man was touching himself when I entered the dorm. The staff provided first a new room and when the second event happened they moved me to a female dorm and help me move with a guard.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great for a group of people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location wasn't the best and we had to get a taxi to and from city centre at night time.

    Great for a group of people. Beds comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The towels were a bit old and there was no soap on the shower

    The place is very clean and well maintained. There is an young and vibrant atmosphere. The staff is cordial and always available. Location is great, it sits in a beautiful park, very relaxing. Although not in the center, it s a quick tram (or bike) ride .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.7
    I wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attention.

    The common areas are great, but the room was not in the best shape. The charge you if you want to leave your bags for the rest of the day. In general, they will charge you for everything. I wouldn't recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    7.1
    good location, recommend for those who wants to have low budget trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no towels and if you wanted one you had to pay 5 euros and not have the towel!!

    The location was very good, close to Metro and tram lines. Rooms were clean. Very comfortable bed, clean sheets and a clean bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    Great stay at Generator Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel can have complimentary breakfast.

    Great view into the ossterpark. It is housed in a university building which adds to the charm. It was a great stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    It’s a great place!
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a great place! The building of hostel is a former university facility situated in a park area, it has a library and a big auditorium, rooms are tidy and well designed, also they have there a breakfast which is typical for hostels but still good, canteen is very spacious. Last but not the least, personal is really friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend this hostel to stay while you’re visiting Amsterdam!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    We absolutely loved this hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We absolutely loved this hostel. Fantastic staff, great rooms, location amazing not too far from anything but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Everything was clean and comfortable. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.2
    Probably the nicest hostel i've stayed in to be honest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Probably the nicest hostel i've stayed in to be honest. Had everything you would need. About a 20 minute walk to central city area. PLace very clean and plenty of amenities. Overall very nice place and would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Best hostel ive stayed in so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Premium Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Commodities being sold at the hotel were expensive.. €3 for a 500ml bottle of water

    Staff were friendly. Foosball and arcade machines in the lobby Quick checkin/checkout Near a tram stop In the middle of a park Rooms and bathroom were very clean and spacious, even if the hostel has many rooms, they did not stinge out on space. Everythin was well thought out, with the guests' comfort in mind.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hostel, in an historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kitchen for the guests would be amazing!

    The dormitory are amazing, very well thought, with enough privacy, light and plugs. The whole hostel is charming, situated in a historic building, where you can seat everywhere, like the library or the coffee.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.5
    Cool place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No movies time. No kitchen area

    The bar/common area is really cool. The receptionist Ben was really welcoming and attentive to my needs and has a genuine smile. He showed I am a receptionist too and I always appreciate smily people that take time to have a short conversation with guests especially if you are a solo traveler. Cheers Ben!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.5
    Cheap cheerful and modern, ticked the righboxes. Wish I had been there more other than just sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been cleaned better. I don't expect to find used tissues in the bed storage net next to the pillow. Other than that no complaints. I slept really well and its all I needed

    The room was larger than I was expecting and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel design was pleasing although I regret not spending more time there to sample it properly. Tram stop is a 5 min walk from the door and metro 10 mins

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.2
    stayed previously with my family and enjoyed it,re-booked in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    stayed previously with my family and enjoyed it,re-booked in November with my friend and enjoyed it just as much,have everything you could need from food and drinks to toiletries,bikes and penny boards.y

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    5.4
    Nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very clean room, dust on the floor, dirty spots on bed You have to pay for everything: towel, luggage room etc Location not the best, it takes time to get to the city center

    Nothing special..

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    8.3
    I stayed in a few places over a period of a few days. If I was returning to Amsterdam I would book i
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Premium Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked on the day of staying and had to fork out three times the amount my roommate paid as she booked ahead.

    The walls were very colorful and there was a lot of art.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    7.1
    Its my first time out in Amsterdam and everything went well, so its a good experience including this
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First, the mattress was not good and was ripped off on some places. Second, the location was quite far from Centraal and every time I had to take a tram to reach here and pay extra bucks for it. Please check it.

    The place was nice, quiet, clean and full of greenery. I stayed for 2 days. I have not tried breakfast over there, so no comments about it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant, will definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel is great I love it there but there was black mound in the shower.

    Great staff, Ben was very helpful and kindly called me when I forgot my wallet.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.2
    Overall, I would always recommend this place and come back again on my future trips to Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only issue I had was the Wi-Fi. The connection was mediocre and would break often. Each time you try to reconnect it would ask to sign in with an email by actually going to an email they send you. Maybe I am an isolated case, but that was my experience.

    The staff is fantastic - friendly, courteous, very helpful and always available. The place is beautifully decorated, surprisingly cosy for a hostel, and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Great location - close to a park and city center. Very good money for value. Really liked the common spaces - various types and you can always find the one that suits you best. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    3.8
    Poo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist were defo high because i aged waiting to be booked in, the room was not a deluxe room it was standard. Every room has windows and balconys but dosnt specify that no windows actually open. The room didnt have a TV. In what age are we living in when a room dosnt have a tv my spare bedroom at home has a tv. Overall very dossapointed the room wasnt cleaned as we were there for 3 days and there was no window to let dust out our room was just a smog ball with the ac unit throwing dust around. All i can say is its a good job the weed in dam is strong for me not to complain like this when i was there!! Overall wont go bak ill look for a shaq next time wil be more suited. Thankyou goodbye!!!

    The hotel was warm when i entered thats about it for the plus side

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.8
    Prefable for Bad & Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you need cabinet lock or a towel, you have to pay 5 Euro. It's understandable that , all extras can be charged just because of it's a hostel but the rental prices are really so high!

    A nice building, nearly located to Oosterpark. Easy to find the place. Clean and well equipped rooms. Affordable price..

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.2
    This is a really good hostel and my stay here was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 4 person room might be a little cramped and if your roommates have a lot of luggage you may find it difficult to move around.

    This is a really good hostel and my stay here was great. It is not located on the city centre but that is not a problem: you can easily access both the hostel and city centre with a 15 minutes tram ride, so it's not a problem at all for whatever you have planned. Also the area and park where the hostel is located is beautiful and quiet. The breakfast is not included but go for the breakfast buffet, the price is cheap and the food is great. My room had its own bathroom and shower and everything was clean. Beds have lights and plugs.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.1
    Good location and good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size of the communal rooms is very small - prepare for some loss of personal space. Mattresses can be quite uncomfortable

    Good location and good price. Lots of information and activities at the main hall.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Food was good and relatively cheap, I liked the nearby park...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Premium Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I booked a few extra days the price went way up because of a university event.

    Food was good and relatively cheap, I liked the nearby park and local scene

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Confortable hostel with great interior design in front of a beautiful park
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise insulation of the bathroom doors inside the rooms is not great. It would be a big improvement if every bed had its own reading lamp.

    Great facilities and interior design in front of a beautiful park. The room was comfortable with a private bathroom and shower. I liked the different public spaces including a cafe, and a library that was perfect for work.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.8
    The room was very clean and the facilities was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not so many choices for the breakfast and the restaurant in the hostel is a bit overprice.

    The room was very clean and the facilities was good. The toilet and the shower room was separated which makes it convenient for people to use.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing experience! Would come back for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because the hostel is located near a park, a few random people wandered in to sleep on the couch in the shared space at 2-3am and creepily hit on girls there. But when I told the staff they were very good about fixing the situation.

    I stayed in the 4-person all girls dorm with a private bathroom. The room and bed was very clean and comfortable. The room was a comfortable size with a the toilet and shower separated so no one had to wait. The staff were amazing, helpful and friendly and there was so much shared space to sit and read, have coffee, even practice a few dance steps. The location was great - just a 4 min walk from the tram and just a few stops away from the city center. Overall I loved it so much! The rooms were great value and I would definitely stay here again when i come back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.5
    Easy, lovely and scenic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The queue to book in and to check out. They definitely needed more than one person on reception!

    The location of this hostel is beautiful! It is situated right on the park. It's a bit of a walk from the centre but a really pleasant walk and very doable if you have time, took us about 40 minutes. The hostel itself is clean and spacious and has good facilities, food is great as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.1
    Backs onto a beautiful park and walking distance to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way too expensive for the dorm room. We only stayed on a weekday and it was still extortionate, and they charged us almost €30 to park our car there overnight.

    Backs onto a beautiful park and walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.1
    Really cool building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds had hair on and were a bit dirty as well as the floors. Location Is nice but it’s a 45 minute walk to and from the main centre (red light district etc). We didn’t hire bikes or go on transport so all the walking was pretty painful after 5 days.

    Really cool building. Style is unique and edgy. Our room was great, bunk beds were so comfy. Staff are quite friendly. Would stay there again as it was mostly good and you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    6.3
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Premium Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They nickle and dime guests for pretty much everything. No outside food allowed, their food is passable but way too expensive. No extra showers outside the room for when many people want to bath. Dryer broke down at just the wrong moment.

    Bed was comfortable. A/C worked well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    It's the best hostel where I stayed so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although, it was a little bit cold in the room (windows are blocked and couldn't be opened).

    It's the best hostel where I stayed so far. The staff was friendly and very helpful, the room was cozy and exceeded my expectation (it looked more like a hotel rather than hostel). So, if you're looking for a place to stay in Amsterdam, I'd definitely recommend to book a place in this hostel. 10/10 :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    Very convenient location and well-maintained facilities with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't really think of anything in particular. I was able to check-in early, so I had no problems with checking in or out.

    It was in a pretty good location, in that it was close enough to the city center by several public transit options and was far enough away to be less crowded. The rooms were much cleaner than I have seen in a hostel before and the staff was very nice and helpful. It was nice how they had food options available on-site, but I didn't really take advantage of them aside from grabbing coffee in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.6
    Amazingly comfortable night in a cool hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No locker or TV in the room. Which isn't THAT bad, but the only thing I could think of.

    Beautiful room with a beautiful view. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.5
    very nice, I liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The distance from the center. it is well communicated, but to go and come back every day it was a little bit far

    I was very modern an relaxed. The most i liked is that in the living room was very noisy but when we entered to the room area was totally quiet

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    6.3
    Unique place just expensive whilst there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive alcohol £5-6 for a half. Cheaper to drink out of the hostel which is odd. Quite out the way from main centre.

    Good beds, unique facilities and had nice social area. On tram 14 route.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Nice Hostel - Good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints. Did the job. Breakfast was a little on the expensive side and you can't BYO food, however but there are plenty of cute cafes in the area if you dont feel like eating there.

    A really big hostel, to be honest all I did was sleep there but it seemed to have a lot of things available to do/events. I.e. a pumpkin carving contest etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.1
    A really nice place, slightly more expensive then most hostels I stay in and no towels in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t provide free towels or soap or shower gel.

    It was a nice building, lots of space. I loved the library and the auditorium bar. Quite a cool place.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.5
    Nice location near beautiful park, not far from the city...
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a party place, with discos all night. And I came to run a marathon. I could hear the music in the room, but thankfuly not too loud. But still not so comfortable to sleep. If I new beforehand, I would have chosen another place

    Nice location near beautiful park, not far from the city center. Breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.6
    The best hostel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No words to say, AMAZING, the best hostel I’ve been!! The building is unbelievable, amazing space and style, private room like hotel, best staff, i was with my grandma and she loved! Her first hostel and she wanna come back, me too off course. In front a lovely park, quiet, amazing!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.6
    Bedrooms were lovely and so was the hostel overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think the breakfast could have been better but I only ate there once so wasn’t overly bothered.

    Bedrooms were lovely and so was the hostel overall. Staff were so nice as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    9.2
    Very modern hostel, helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kitchen for guests or tea/coffee facilities outside of the bar opening hours.

    Very modern hostel, helpful and friendly staff. The beds are comfortable, have individual sockets, lights, lockers. Good shower. Next to a lovely park.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    The property was stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was stunning! It was something one would not see everyday. Everything from the Auditorium, the library up to the walls was top notch. Credit where credit is due :-)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.5
    Location within the park and close to Javastraat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Premium Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The clanliness of the overall fascilities. The bedroom was not cleaned during my two nights stay, The tables at the restaurants and outside terrace are not clean often enough to keep up with all they are selling.

    Location within the park and close to Javastraat. The international environment and restaurant serving brekfast lunch and dinner. Also the bar opened until late.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    8.3
    It's very good hostel!
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Premium Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's hostel with the most expensive towels where I stayed ever

    It's very good hostel! I Recommend visit this fantastic place! Nice location in the park. you can walk to the city center

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.2
    The price the food and the room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That they didn't offer an secure area to lock bike and panniers up in so had to remove all items from bike and lock bike out the front of the accommodation. They did have cameras located out over the bike area.

    The price the food and the room was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    10
    I will come there again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Premium Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be careful in the park cause there are a lot of people who could steal your bag

    I liked all. Super clean. Super nice people around . Very nice location in the park. Nice bar . Even I stayed with other people in the room . It felt like I’m alone

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    It's the very nice expireinc I'd like to live there again if I will have another trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the price is a littile bit high

    The hostle located in side of the beautiful park, both of the staff and the travellers were freindly, it's clear, peacful and the traffic is very convinient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.5
    Ok if you don't mind the stink of cannabis
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Premium Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It did the job for a few nights but prepare yourself for the onset of the smell of weed, especially around the entrances where the smokers also leave lots of buts and rubbish (at least during my visit). It's a friendly enough place like most in Amsterdam, but the smoking of weed very close to the entrances makes the whole reception area inside stink at times (evenings notably). That's just not my thing, so I won't be staying there again sorry to say.

    The Generator Hostel is in a great location in the centre of a park, quiet too. The whole set up is pretty functional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    Very satisfied - Not the a usual hostel - You will like it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that I had to pay the city tax at the reception on my arrival. It was not mentioned on the website and I am not sure if it's Booking's fault or the Hostels'. In any case not okay I have to say. Maybe the food at the restaurant was a bit pricey, like 13€ for a burger was kinda too much in my opinion. But the cappuccino was around 2.5€ and the beers around 5€ which was very reasonable!

    The hostel is excellent, clean, comfy, I had a great sleep, the location is good enough with tram connections and night buses but some walking is required though. The building is amazing, the facilities excellent and the stuff super helpful. Only the restaurant stuff aren't so friendly buy also not rude, somewhere in the middle.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    5.8
    Good location on the park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a 4 man private room, the place was filthy. Dirt and clumps of hair on the floor. Lots of hair throughout the beds and bathrooms.

    Good location on the park.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    3.3
    Noisy and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t stay here if you are planning to get some sleep. Bedrooms are basic, I had to wipe dried snot off the wall next to the bed. Private bathroom was below average

    Sociable area is OK

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were much more expensive than any other hostels I stayed in during my 5 weeks in Europe. There was also no kitchen which made me quite annoyed because the only other close option was to buy food from your overpriced cafe. Sure, it works great for you because you make a lot more cash. But for someone on a backpackers budget, having a kitchen to cook in is essential!

    The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were great to have one in your room rather than having to share with other rooms

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    6.7
    The showers weren't that good and the location a bit far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The showers weren't that good and the location a bit far from the center. The trams in Amsterdam stop running at 12.30 am so post that can be quite a walk. Rest all was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.9
    Modernly designed hotel, comfy beds, clean, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not notice anything bad. Too expensive beer in cafe.

    Modernly designed hotel, comfy beds, clean, very good atmosphere, youngsters 100%, no businessman, good food in cafeteria, excellent location to city - metro or tram is just 7-8min walking. Definitly will recommend or visit again when in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.8
    I stayed 4 people female only dormitory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was expensive, and the hostels location was little bit far from city center. And I lent the towel, that price was expensive....

    I stayed 4 people female only dormitory. Bed was comfortable, room was cozy. And toilet and bathroom was very clean. In front of hostel, there is a big park. There was really peaceful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.3
    Good quality hostel with nice rooms and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a particularly social hostel as there were no organised in house entertainment where you could meet other guests. Wouldn’t necessarily recommend it to a solo traveller but would be perfect for a group.

    Good quality hostel with nice rooms and facilities. And great location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast option was greatly convenient, especially for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location limited walkability to the downtown area.

    Breakfast option was greatly convenient, especially for an early morning departure flight. Rooms were clean and well laid out.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    7.9
    It was a fun trip.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They don't have a kitchen.

    I really like the stuff there and also the location. It is in a nice park where it is very peaceful and chill. I also met some nice people during my staying there!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.1
    Clean and tidy but didn't feel value for the high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Priced as high as a chain hotel but very basic facilities in private room. Advertised as providing amenities but only provided wall-dispenser soap and shampoo (no separate toothpaste, conditioner, bodywash etc) and no TV. Wifi was unreliable, insecure and required email-verification. If you try to contact through booking.com the email goes to a central office that closes in the evening and not the front desk.

    Good location, clean and tidy. Functioning AC that is not too loud. Private rooms seem well away from any source of noise.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    8.8
    College Dorm Feel! Very nostalgic and fun to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish there's someone cleaning the rooms daily. I'm *not* sure if we missed some sign that need to be put up though.

    The place is very near the park. At first it's not "easy" to find until you walk around the park and see the huge "G" sign pointing to the hotel. The place is strategically located near the Alexanderplein Tram station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    6.7
    Not really worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in Female Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At my first evening, I had a terrible fever and headache and asked the receptionist for a Paracetamol/ibuprofene and I was told that they don't have any. I wonder if they have an emergency kit at all... They don't mention that you need to bring your own padlock if you want to use the container in your room. And if you ask for one at the reception, they charge you 5€ for it. 8,5€ for breakfast with such few options is too much. Check out is at 10 and you can have an extra hour if you pay 5 extra euros. They rent bikes for 17,5€ / day (2,5€ as deposit/insurance). What you can get for less in bike renting companies for much less. Considering the price of the rooms, one would expect other servcies to be affordable. In conclusion the price was too high for what it is.

    “The hostel is located in a park, far from the noisy city, which is quite pleasant. It has an auditorium and a bar, and where they usually play music and serve drinks if you want to have some fun without going to city center. The rooms are indeed soundproof. They organise free city tour everyday at 10 am.”

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.6
    My 4 day stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room conditions are above a hostel average, of course it is Generator brand. The staff is helpful. The location is great, there is a big park to chill out and roll, especially at nights. You can take tramway 14 to go to Centraal or Rembrandt.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Generator Amsterdam Traveler Photo Gallery